BioShock Infinite Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8004 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Initially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soonInitially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soon disappears into the clouds to whereabouts unknown. The player takes on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, sent to the lost city to rescue Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned there since her childhood. He develops a relationship with Elizabeth, enhancing his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt has to learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and harness the power of a myriad of new weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Irrational Games
  • Genre(s): Action, Shooter, Shooter, First-Person, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
BioShock Infinite: The First Five Minutes
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Dealing with themes like religion, racism, and xenophobia, Columbia is a richer and more nuanced setting than even Rapture, and the unveiling of the city’s culture is masterfully executed.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    With the release of BioShock Infinite, developer Irrational has delivered a bigger story, more polished experience, and created two similar-yet-separate games that can co-exist and remain equal in quality. When the history of videogames is written, not one, but two BioShocks will be remembered for pushing gameplay, story, and subject matter to new levels.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Bioshock Infinite is a visionary piece of entertainment where the gameplay, characters, art style and story all come together to make what undoubtedly will be considered one of the best games of this generation.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    95
    The PC version, as run on mid-range hardware, makes no such visual compromises, with gorgeous high-resolution textures, detailed faces, and smooth performance...A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay.
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    91
    The story has stirred me speechless and compelled me to think.
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    For a while it's a frantic shooter game, then it's a touching confession, afterwards it is a parable about the ideological turmoil in America. The others would break it into pieces, but quantum physics and its creators that are hell-bent on going far than other big productions hold it firmly together.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    It is fascinating, and also boring. It is important, yet forgettable. Its world is enticing and unappealing. It attempts to move things forward, yet is in places stuck in the past. For a game that has the potential to open up the franchise up to a multitude of different ideas and interpretations, BioShock Infinite can feel curiously limited.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jul 10, 2016
    10
    La historia y todo el trasfondo que tiene este juego es una pura obra maestra exquisita, es de los juegos mas originales por su historia queLa historia y todo el trasfondo que tiene este juego es una pura obra maestra exquisita, es de los juegos mas originales por su historia que se vieron y se van a ver, Ken Levine es un genio del arte, los gráficos son geniales, la jugabildad muy buena, totalmente rejugable. Obra maestra de juego. Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Possibly the greatest opening I've seen in a video game. Truly inspirational work here. The lighting is fantastic. The shooting is solidPossibly the greatest opening I've seen in a video game. Truly inspirational work here. The lighting is fantastic. The shooting is solid the special abilities are cool and the story is superb. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts withThe graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    This is an absolute artistic masterpiece with characters that will stay in your memory. for the first time in years, I feel that the sequelThis is an absolute artistic masterpiece with characters that will stay in your memory. for the first time in years, I feel that the sequel equaled or surpassed the original. Bioshock 2 was nothing to remember or even care about playing. I never made it past the first few scenes. But This game gripped me from the start and held on till the ride was over. That is what I look for in a good game

    It was a short game, but you can say it's average for a shooter. But the story was deep if you took the time to investigate it. And the ending will grab you by your balls and mind F**K you. One of the best psychological twists I've seen in a game.
    Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2014
    8
    So, to be clear. I was not a fan of the first Bioshock. The twist in that was asinine and completely out of left field, it was something thatSo, to be clear. I was not a fan of the first Bioshock. The twist in that was asinine and completely out of left field, it was something that a washed up Shyamalan would come up with. Infinite was good. The story, although in my opinion far from brilliant, was still very good for a video game seeing how rarely video games have good plots and actually had something of a smart twist in it, unlike the first one. I've seen people complaining about 'low texture quality'. Please, oh please tell me you are joking. The game looks fantastic. If they can make the game look great without destroying people's frame rates, why in any logical world would they not?

    In my opinion, ten hours is too short for any game, as that's all it took me to beat it. Nonetheless, in comparison to a lot of "next gen" (how I hate that word due to the awfulness of a lot of the games it's attached to) games, it's damn near a masterpiece, and definitely worth trying out if it's on sale or whatever. I also had no issues with the game play, all in all I'd estimate I've played at least two thousand hours of first person shooter games and this is far from being terrible. It's not the most creative of shooters (I suppose the first Bioshock had that element going for it when it came out), but it gets the job done, the aesthetic of it all is brilliant and it has two genuinely likable protagonists. Don't overlook this one after seeing what some people have been saying about it as while they're quite justified in wanting more, by our modern game standards this is pretty good.
    Expand
  6. May 14, 2013
    7
    Bioshock infinity is an above average game. It does may things well but not great, many of the games faults are outweighed by it charm, andBioshock infinity is an above average game. It does may things well but not great, many of the games faults are outweighed by it charm, and tenacity as FPS go. I cannot in good conscience recommend it over the original Bioshock.
    Although graphically dated. The original used story, atmosphere and sound to a high and mature degree. That being said Bioshock infinity is a really good game, but if this game didn't use the bioshock legacy and name with it. The game itself would have been better for it. Good game and solid fun.
    Expand
  7. May 10, 2013
    0
    Don't believe the media, this game is just another stylized call of duty clone. The most frequent argument of fans is about storyline, but whoDon't believe the media, this game is just another stylized call of duty clone. The most frequent argument of fans is about storyline, but who cares about it if it's still unplayable? I actually don't want to smash LMB+W for 10 hours just to learn new things about in-game pretty cliche world events. First game of franchise was really awesome, a new word in rpg genre, this one doesn't has anything with original, putting player on railway through copy-pasted bad designed decorations. These pseudo contrasts of blue and yellow colors are also awful, while being crammed on each square meter, making sick after first 10 minutes. Expand

See all 1554 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.