• Publisher: GameOn
  • Release Date: Mar 3, 2016
Black Desert Online Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1518 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Black Desert is a large scale of sandbox oriented MMORPG that provides you a variety of unique experiences with spectacular action and battle, strategy-based castle siege, sophisticated simulation contents such as trade, NPC-hiring and real estate management.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Black Desert Online - Mediah Part 2 Overview
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Apr 6, 2016
    90
    A beautiful and entertaining new take on the classic MMO, with a strong player driven content path. I welcome that.
  2. Mar 15, 2016
    85
    The biggest issue for me is how dense the complexity makes the game. Crafting, particularly cooking, requires a lot of experimentation or wiki-diving, and finding out the game’s systems isn’t always represented, even in the quests. There are always quests that give you reasons to gather or play the many mini-games—moving a wheel-barrow requires you keep a cursor in between two points, and the fishing system is actually rather fun.
  3. With it's massive and unique open world, Black Desert Online is inviting you to a great adventure.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 9, 2016
    73
    Black Desert Online had potential to be ground breaking, but suffers from a monotous PVE grind and some questionable practices regarding its cash shop. [Oct 2016]
  5. Apr 11, 2016
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Apr 2, 2016
    70
    Black Desert Online is a beautiful game marred by inept tutorials and an impenetrable story.
  7. Mar 18, 2016
    50
    Black Desert Online wants to be distinct from other MMORPGs, but it isn't different enough in the ways which really matter. The game's few innovations aren't enough to make up for its myriad shortcomings, making it come across as just another MMORPG.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 28, 2018
    10
    Black Desert is, since Everquest, the best MMORPG. It really nails the really important things al mmorpg should have and its not buy to win,Black Desert is, since Everquest, the best MMORPG. It really nails the really important things al mmorpg should have and its not buy to win, dont believe it, just play it and see for yourself. For 30 euros and no subscription its a really good investment, this game has content for years. AMAZİNG !!! Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2016
    10
    10/10 Would buy again... well personally its an 8.5 or 9 out of 10 But I'm giving this game a 10 because it truly deserves a much higher10/10 Would buy again... well personally its an 8.5 or 9 out of 10 But I'm giving this game a 10 because it truly deserves a much higher score than a 6 And here are the reasons why:

    TLDR:

    1) Combat - The combat in this game is Fluid, dynamic, and Amazing. When I first saw it on videos I thought "What is this hot mess?" All I could imagine was button mashing for the win. But that is NOT THE CASE AT ALL. You have to be skilled with your combos and time them correctly to pull them off. But if you chain them together you can create a masterpiece of destruction... and it FEEELS SOOO GOOOOOD!

    2) ABSOLUTELY NO PAY TO WIN - Accomplished VIA:

    >> A Semi Fixed Marketplace with anti botting measures
    >> No player trading allowed (very intentional to stop gold farming) Again at first you might shake your fist at the sky and cry "TYRANNY!" but This essentially completely locks down all gold farmers and craps in their faces. I love it so much I could cry.
    c) higher cash shop prices for vanity items (and few character clothing customizations in game) in order to pay for more amazing content.

    The vast majority of the negative reviews on here are people **** about the cash shop costumes being too expensive or that there are no refunds for pre-orders after you play the game etc. But they are truly missing the point as to why the cash shop is the way it is. Think of it as paying to keep the game devs generating amazing content without pay to win abuse and you'll realize it's well worth the cost.

    3) Stable Marketplace economy - At first it might seem too fixed but there are so many complex facets to the economy you'll be thankful you have a stable marketplace at it's central hub. `

    4) Graphics Are Amazing... like ridiculously amazing. They roads even stay wet and have puddles that you can create ripples in for a while after the rain clears and they dynamically go away after a while of the sun drying them out.

    5) Housing System is amazing - While some of you might miss the "claim and concor" aspect of Archeage, BDO takes a different approach. In BDO your housing is a part of your economy. you essentially buy multiple properties to build up your own empire similar to a Sim City or RTS game... its actually pretty badass.

    6) Economy/Trading System. This backpacks off the above and ties in with the crafting system... there is literally so much to this system that it would take a while to explain but needless to say it's in depth and awesome with such variables effecting price as market trends, player relationships, distance travelled, type of location/NPC you are selling it to, environmental factors etc. etc.

    7) Crafting systems - Again these are so large and so expansive I would have to write a book. Needless to say you will invariably end up picking 1 - 3 aspects of the crafting system to focus on and just learn and explore all that you can within that discipline. For me that's fishing and Gawd Damn it's satisfying in this game.

    8) Story and immersion - no fast travel at all... this might upset some... but it's a godsend. Really it's hard to pin point it down but the story is actually good even though it has its translation and voice acting hiccups. there is quite a political war going on between 2 of the main hubs of the world and all in all you feel like you're in the middle of a big ongoing conflict.... hard to lay my finger on it but It's very similar to the Witcher 2 even with all of its flaws.
    Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2016
    10
    Not for people who like to give up, Who dont enjoy spending 100 hours perfecting your play to the utmost and making a name for yourself in aNot for people who like to give up, Who dont enjoy spending 100 hours perfecting your play to the utmost and making a name for yourself in a game that has no limit. You will never forget the days u see your first ents walking through the forest. Or the first time u hammer on a cyclops in a far of forest. The first time u succeed in building a fishing boat and go on the hunt for whales or just see the sun rise above the islands. Cant praise this game enough but its not for people who dont like the grind. This is for people who like to work for their stuff and wait for that feeling when u finnally get that +15 upgrade on your weapon. Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2016
    6
    I have currently played this game roughly about 6 days so far, overall i have to say I am enjoying it. In my opinion you have to approach thisI have currently played this game roughly about 6 days so far, overall i have to say I am enjoying it. In my opinion you have to approach this game slowly - learn how to buy properties, nodes, workers, basic cooking, gathering, crafting, fishing then probably trading. I made a mistake of following my friend grinding the 'main' quest on launch and that just burnt me out.

    The game does feel overwhelming at first but as always you will learn and become efficient. I even managed to convince my friend to stop doing main mob quests and actually explore the game and now hes enjoying it more. I built my first raft and we just went exploring islands for nodes then went fishing (good money maker). The game is what you make of it, you go at your own pace, if you want to max level and thats your thing then do it.

    Combat is good, no alt-tabbing, pretty fluid, flashy moves, and what i appreciate the most (9 out of 10 times) is if the mob doesnt hit you as you dodge or run, it simply doesnt hit you, i know quite afew mmos where once the mob has locked on and was in range despite dodging it will still end up hitting you.

    I haven't touched on PvP yet (i'm only lvl23) which is somewhat important to me (as i aim to do epic castle sieges one day, in hopes to bring back the Lineage2 memories). I have read about the harsh karma system which is not ideal at all, you cannot gank people and steal their trade packs, if open-world PVP is consensual the initiator will still be penalized . Despite what Archeage turned out to be (total trash from a poisonous company Trion) the PvP was FUN.

    This game does require you grind (not just leveling), Strength, Stamina will require you to do certain actions, altho it doesnt 100% hinder you, it will require AFK-ing.

    But yeh overall i have to say i am enjoying this, crafting doesnt feel tedious to a point where i was forced to do it to remain relevant, the scroll bosses actually requires timing and dodging, beautiful world and graphics, fun combat.

    Enough waffling heres a break down:

    Pros
    - As everyone states good face customization.
    - Nice graphics, beautiful world, NPCs actually removing around makes the world feel more alive.
    - Combat system is quite exciting with flashy moves
    - Gathering and crafting is not tedious and i dont feel forced to do it.
    - It is giving me a little Lineage2 nostalgia (which is a huge bonus for me)
    - It feels like im on an adventure, especially when you stop questing and just explore.
    - Castle sieges
    - Mini games are present
    - In other MMos, once you reach a near peak of a mountain you will slide back down, in this game, you can climb

    Cons
    - There is practically no armor variation in the game, they all look the same, dyes will only change the color, i want to see fresh sets.
    - Therefore this leads me to this - as many arguments there are, the cash shop is BS for a b2p game. Pets should be obtainable via ingame, a costume costs nearly the same price as the game?! The ghillie suit is the only p2w element for me, i wouldnt call the cash shop p2w tho (luckily enough).
    - Inventory and warehouse (altho expandable in game) is very tedious for a b2p game.
    - Karma system is too harsh, enough of carebear players, let the players fight (i dont mean grieving for the sake of it but when you're farming, having to look around incase of a PK adds alil excitement)
    > especially if its consensual NOONE should be losing karma from that.
    > PvPing will bring more drama and 'emotion(?)' to guild wars
    - One thing i slightly miss from later MMOs is open world events, this one doesnt exclusively have any (might be wrong, so far it doesnt)?

    probably missed afew points but you get the overall message
    -
    Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2016
    4
    really enjoyed the game at first, but the further along you get the more shallow you realize this game is. the very satisfying combat systemreally enjoyed the game at first, but the further along you get the more shallow you realize this game is. the very satisfying combat system is wasted on terrible pve content (grind the same mobs thousands and thousands of times) and seriously unbalanced pvp (gear > skill, absolutely no question). when you can bring yourself to smash your face against the horribly boring pve grind, you're likely to be pushed out of your spot by the uber geared no-lifers that plague this game. you can be griefed to no end, and even worse, you can lose 1% exp at end game. this doesn't seem like a lot, but it can take hours to grind just a few percent of a level post50. open world pvp is fun at first, but eventually youll realize it doesnt matter how well you know your class or matchups, all the matters is your luck with loot RNG and upgrade RNG. pvp is also plagued by horrible desync and latency issues, as well as significant bugs with certain class-defining abilities. I will say, the gear upgrade system is the least awful system ive experienced in a korean mmo to date, but it still sucks. I really wanted to like this game, especially because of the hundreds of hours I spent playing it just in its first month, but it really sucks. Is it better than ArcheAge? Hell yes it is, but it's still a shallow, grindy mess. spend your time elsewhere Expand
  6. May 28, 2016
    2
    Many people prize this game for being sandbox mmorpg. Well it aint sandbox and feels more like single player online than mmorpg. Have you everMany people prize this game for being sandbox mmorpg. Well it aint sandbox and feels more like single player online than mmorpg. Have you ever seen sandbox mmorpg with no player-2-player trading or fixed market prices?

    When we think of sandbox mmorpg we imagine an opportinity to become whatever we like to be in that world. A warrior, an alchemist, a dedicated blacksmith for our guild, the guy to every guildie comes for a masterfully crafted equipment, part of a trading empire guild, crafting artisans, warriors, mercenaries etc. whatever we like to specialise and dedicate to. In BDO however everyone have to be everything and do stuff for themselves. Most of the time the effort and even ingredients for crafting stuff outweight the price devs fixed for the product on the market (this is just absurd). Its a sad sight to see game with plenty of proffesions have communist-like marketplace with empty shelves, cause naturally noone is bothered to give away stuff for no profit.

    Giving it 2/10 cause it kept me interested untill i realised i am playing an illusion of sandbox mmorpg, that is in fact just content-poor, cheap theme park, old "KAL Online" like mmorpg with tones of grind which is the very same path for everyone. You go the same single-player path of grind all the rest of the players go, like a lemmings. And on top of that the ultra cheap money grabs everywhere, like the retail price wasnt enough for this thing. You dont want to pay more than the retail price? Fine, just do everything 5 times slower than those who did. No pay2win whatsoever, no... Well in fact... it aint pay2win, cause its a single player :D
    Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2020
    0
    this is single player games that just had AFK player around you. You gonna keep grinding endless grinding for just failed enchant or P2W justthis is single player games that just had AFK player around you. You gonna keep grinding endless grinding for just failed enchant or P2W just for failed enchant fail again and again Expand

See all 290 User Reviews

Trailers