Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Nov 27, 2017
    70
    This entry walks away from the traditional point & click gameplay of the series, but it still offers a very engaging and interesting adventure.
  2. Nov 27, 2017
    68
    Story and atmosphere make the new Black Mirror worthwhile, but the reboot of the series lacks gameplay substance.
  3. Jan 21, 2018
    65
    Black Mirror is a very traditional adventure game. It has some remarkable moments in its narration and puzzle parts, yet boring pace, terrible characterization, clumsy mission design, and tons of bugs have destroyed the experience of the game. But of course, considering we barely can see this kind of games nowadays, we still recommend you give it a try, if you are a big fan of AVGs.
  4. Dec 7, 2017
    65
    With a wonderful story and a great voice cast Black Mirror tries to provide a fresh and original take on the adventure genre. Unfortunately, a myriad of technical and artistic problems keep it far away from its objectives.
  5. Dec 8, 2017
    64
    Despite the gripping story and the intriguing mystery, Black Mirror has a lot of software issues that detract from the enjoyment of the gameplay experience. I can’t help but feel that if the game had been designed from the get-go with a more Book of Unwritten Tales type control scheme and gameplay experience, most of my gripes would be dealt with. If you play games for their story, then do play Black Mirror. Just beware that you will have to suffer through the gameplay to get to it.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Jan 6, 2018
    60
    Some great puzzles and interesting situations can't entirely make up for Black Mirror's shortcomings. [Issue#269, p.59]
  7. Dec 6, 2017
    60
    Black Mirror is a difficult game to recommend. The story falls flat, characters are forgettable, and exploration is tedious because of poor environmental design and wonky camera angles. Despite a few clever puzzles, this emotionless journey into gothic horror left me with more questions than answers.
  8. Nov 30, 2017
    60
    KING Art's take on the series was supposed to introduce it to a new generation of fans, but as things stand, it would be better for those interested in it to get the older Black Mirror games, as the reboot is marred by a variety of issues that prevent from being a memorable experience. There is a decent adventure game hidden somewhere beneath the mediocre writing, bland characters, and technical issues, but it would be better to look elsewhere to get a better experience.
  9. Nov 27, 2017
    60
    It's scary. Unfortunately not in positive terms.
  10. Nov 27, 2017
    60
    After The Book of Unwritten Tales series, Black Mirror feels like a clear step back for the developer King Art Games.
  11. Jan 28, 2018
    55
    The original game was akin to an epic novel. The remaster feels like an abrupt, kitschy fanfic.
  12. Jan 19, 2018
    50
    It is mind boggling how the team behind such a gem like the Book of Unwritten Tales, could take a great series like Black Mirror and release such a poorly designed game. Clunky controls, poor animation, short length, frustratingly many loading screens and an overall lack of polish make us wish the Black Mirror had remained buried underground were it belonged.
  13. Dec 1, 2017
    50
    A brief reboot of the cult classic series, Black Mirror does well to pile more richly atmospheric doom and gloom on the Gordon family, but is hobbled by creaking mechanics and poor design decisions.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 29
  2. Negative: 13 out of 29
  1. Apr 3, 2018
    6
    I suffered through it laddie, aye, that I did. Armed only with me wits, I battled through all them QTEs, all till the bitter end, with meI suffered through it laddie, aye, that I did. Armed only with me wits, I battled through all them QTEs, all till the bitter end, with me wild, trusty psychiatric sidekick lassie, faced things beyond the human ken, and met fair share of them spooks along the way. Rough road it was, like a unpatched kilt, worn and coarse, aye, that it was, but I learnt me limits, and seen what misfortune can a Scotsman meet for the love of his wee dram. Aye. Full Review »
  2. Dec 29, 2017
    3
    An absolutely dreadful reboot to a venerable game series. The game looks and plays like it was made some 10 years ago. The camera is awful andAn absolutely dreadful reboot to a venerable game series. The game looks and plays like it was made some 10 years ago. The camera is awful and so are the controls, even though I was using a gamepad. The story is incredibly bland and the only good thing about it is that it's short (around 4-5 hours of rather lazy gameplay). The inventory is broken on so many levels. And most of all the game is very poorly optimized for PC (at times it feels like a poor console port). Black Mirror reboot will most probably be a huge disappointment for all Black Mirror fans like myself. I strongly advise you to stay away for this one. Full Review »
  3. Aug 20, 2019
    8
    This is not a review, just the only way to keep a list of ratings on my account.