User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 31
  2. Negative: 16 out of 31

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 29, 2017
    3
    An absolutely dreadful reboot to a venerable game series. The game looks and plays like it was made some 10 years ago. The camera is awful and so are the controls, even though I was using a gamepad. The story is incredibly bland and the only good thing about it is that it's short (around 4-5 hours of rather lazy gameplay). The inventory is broken on so many levels. And most of all the gameAn absolutely dreadful reboot to a venerable game series. The game looks and plays like it was made some 10 years ago. The camera is awful and so are the controls, even though I was using a gamepad. The story is incredibly bland and the only good thing about it is that it's short (around 4-5 hours of rather lazy gameplay). The inventory is broken on so many levels. And most of all the game is very poorly optimized for PC (at times it feels like a poor console port). Black Mirror reboot will most probably be a huge disappointment for all Black Mirror fans like myself. I strongly advise you to stay away for this one. Expand
  2. Mar 30, 2019
    0
    Blasphemy -
    Showing hatred against the cross, abusing a cross as a mere tool like a hammer: Even pagans must be disgusted by those blasphemies.
    And even if you do not care about morality: This "game" is rather an interactive movie. A normally boring, at times annoying and frustrating "puzzle" design. Avoid.
  3. Mar 12, 2018
    1
    What made a great story and atmosphere of Black Mirror series it's now gone. Instead of embracing the foundation of that rich story and enhance it with the new technologies nowadays, they decided to "reboot" it with entirely different characters and vision. I was looking forward so much to seeing another game with great feeling that previous ones left in me, playing them over and overWhat made a great story and atmosphere of Black Mirror series it's now gone. Instead of embracing the foundation of that rich story and enhance it with the new technologies nowadays, they decided to "reboot" it with entirely different characters and vision. I was looking forward so much to seeing another game with great feeling that previous ones left in me, playing them over and over again trough the years just to sense that nice feeling of playing good story line game. Today, everything is about money and 3D or VR. Point and click is considered as old-fashioned obsolete technique, but I am still wondering how it gave me so much more enjoyment and still does...That's why there are rarely good games now, everything is about big fancy realistic graphics and motion methods, reality enchanters - like VR or other, but they fail in my opinion big time whilst simple 3rd point and click can feel so much more alive..even in 2018. Hope to see a game one day related to Black Mirror as we all fans knew it, remade, remastered without killing the reach story and atmosphere which the 3 games managed to build. Expand
  4. May 7, 2018
    3
    I really loved the first Black Mirror game, also quite liked the second one. Third one was just okay. But this... I'm going to be honest I only played for about two hours because I couldn't stand how clumsy it felt how the story felt. It feels like a terrible fan fiction. They removed everything that made the originals so good. Now it's just a generic gloomy game with ghosts and a castle.I really loved the first Black Mirror game, also quite liked the second one. Third one was just okay. But this... I'm going to be honest I only played for about two hours because I couldn't stand how clumsy it felt how the story felt. It feels like a terrible fan fiction. They removed everything that made the originals so good. Now it's just a generic gloomy game with ghosts and a castle. The old spirit is away. If you haven't played the trilogy go and play it. It's old but it's still amazing and the mood will fascinate you. Stay away from this unless you really like this kind of console influenced wannabe advanture games. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. CD-Action
    Mar 14, 2018
    30
    The puzzles are decent sometimes and David has a very nice coat, but that’s about all Black Mirror’s advantages I can think of. [02/2018, p.38]
  2. Feb 13, 2018
    45
    Black Mirror has potential to be a decent horror puzzle adventure, but its technical limitations and pacing issues prevents that from ever becoming apparent. Its £25 entry fee is steep for the short experience you’ll be getting, and the end product feels like a shadow of its former self.
  3. Jan 28, 2018
    55
    The original game was akin to an epic novel. The remaster feels like an abrupt, kitschy fanfic.