Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
Buy On
  1. If you're looking for a ground-breaking experience or a robust selection of multiplayer modes- BlackSite's don't offer much more than a weekend distraction--this isn't it. However, if you find the idea of fighting aliens in your own backyard appealing, you won't do better than BlackSite's relatable, the-truth-is-out-there experience.
  2. While the game was well paced, there wasn’t much depth to the individual gameplay facets used to break up regular running and gunning, and the lack of variety in weapons was disturbing for a shooter.
  3. I can see FPS fans having fun with BlackSite since it provides all the standard FPS rollercoaster thrills, but most of us have been up and down those hills a few too many times.
  4. Whole levels look like they've been done between first and second breakfast. The name seems appropiate though - the sloppyness and laziness of execution may cause players to black out.
  5. With a disappointingly forgettable story, solid but unremarkable action, and with little else to look forward to in the multiplayer mode, there's not much of a reason to dig for the truth behind this particular conspiracy.
  6. The game is too linear and the freedom of movement is limited, while Crysis, for example, offers a wider environment to explore. At least if this linearity was sustained by a good gameplay, things might have been different.
  7. 65
    The game underperforms in every aspect, and although that doesn't make it bad, it certainly makes it a major disappointment for everyone who was anxiously awaiting this game's debut.
  8. BlackSite: Area 51 is an ordinary first-person shooter that's held back by a collection of bugs and other issues.
  9. VideoGamer
    60
    Other than the odd set-piece, Blacksite has nothing to warrant recommending it above the other big hitters and some severe technical issues drag it down considerably.
  10. Apart from exciting moments that are few and far between, the game is dull and uninspiring.
  11. PC Zone UK
    59
    It's a shame this isn't a hopelessly bad game, otherwise I could've called it "BlackShite" and been done with it, but instead it teeters on the edge of being a worthwhile purchase before deciding it's comfortable being ordinary and forgettable. [Feb 2008, p.72]
  12. Blacksite's biggest issues aren't in the controls, but the lack of what you can do with them, not to mention the horrible enemy A.I.
  13. PC Gamer
    56
    If BlackSite were merely bland, it might be a good time waster, but it has a large helping of technical issues, too. [Feb 2008, p.76]
  14. BlackSite: Area 51 features a handful of fun moments blasting giant aliens, but there’s too much time spent in forgettable shootouts, the story fails to engage, and it’s so riddled with bugs that not even the Orkin Man can feel safe purchasing it.
  15. PC Gamer UK
    53
    Repetitive, old-fashioned. [Jan 2008, p.86]
  16. Good potential wasted. There are much better shooters out there than this.
  17. PC PowerPlay
    50
    It’s the gaming equivalent of a made-for-TV SF movie in more ways than one, then. Your hoity-toity intellectual forebrain knows you’re too good for this candy floss, but your theme-park glands respond nevertheless. [Jan 2008, p.45]
  18. PC Format
    43
    Five or six hours of totally joyless shooterage. I played this game so you don't have to. Don't let it all have been in vain. [Feb 2008, p.110]
  19. 40
    BlackSite the narrative and BlackSite the game never meet in the middle.
  20. Edge Magazine
    40
    Blacksite is a thoroughly unexceptional title for which unrealistic promises were made, and one that is further let down by a wide assortment of bugs and design issues. [Jan 2008, p.83]
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 51
  2. Negative: 20 out of 51
  1. BraydonS
    Aug 10, 2009
    7
    A great story but i must admit the freedom was limited and the graphics could have been better. The Multiplayer modes are really fun aswell.
  2. TerryD.
    Aug 4, 2008
    7
    BlackSite: Area 51 is just a nice little diversion until some of the big titles materialize a little later. Nothing new here, but fun BlackSite: Area 51 is just a nice little diversion until some of the big titles materialize a little later. Nothing new here, but fun nonetheless - the aliens are disturbing looking things and a blast to kill. Plus there's some fairly humorous dialog along the way. Not bad, just not great. Full Review »
  3. May 27, 2018
    9
    Old school style first-person shooter that plays on the Area 51 urban legend. I like the game and it gives that sci-fi action movie vibe likeOld school style first-person shooter that plays on the Area 51 urban legend. I like the game and it gives that sci-fi action movie vibe like Battle LA. But if there was an action packed episode of the X-Files filled with government troops and an assortment of aliens both big and small then this game would be closer to that.

    The game has several alien designs and I personally find them really well done. These aliens range from humanoid types, insectoids to gigantic worm and tentacled creatures that looked like they came out of the movie, The Mist. The characters are likeable and the game is set on the present day which is refreshing seeing all these popular "human vs. alien" shooters that are always set in the future in space or in some planet far away. Having to see soldiers in contemporary US military equipment battling aliens in some western desert and small town America is somewhat a rarity in video games with Half-Life 1 from 1998 the only thing that comes close to mind.

    Having played this on the PC the graphics seems to be superior from what I heard with those who played it on Playstation. Unreal Engine is gorgeous and it really comes out with the PC. I also heard the game is notorious for being 'unfinished' because of production problems it faced. This is noticeable during gameplay, with npc soldiers appearing out of nowhere during sequences and then disappearing from the map and when they are killed which I find archaic. A patch or mod could have fixed this but so far in 2018 (ten years later) I have not found any.

    I give the game a solid 9 because I expected a really bad game due to the negative press but was pleasantly surprised instead. Blacksite Area 51 reminds me of games I used to play in the past. It has that old school charm but with nicer graphics and interesting setting. If you are fan of conspiracy theories regarding extraterrestrials and the government give this game a try. Its not that bad its actually quite enjoyable.
    Full Review »