Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 35
  2. Negative: 21 out of 35
  1. Feb 5, 2016
    70
    Bombshell doesn’t seem to have gone down well with other critics, but I had a blast. Solid shooting backs up what I found to be an engaging gameplay loop. By no means the best twin stick shooter around, I had fun during the 8 hours I spent with it, and that’s enough for me.
  2. Jan 29, 2016
    70
    The story is weak, but the gameplay is fun.
  3. Jan 29, 2016
    69
    A fast-paced, energetic, deliberately absurd action shooter that’s mostly competent at everything it tries to do. Stunningly crafted, downright epic environments and tight, responsive gamepad controls steal the show. But it certainly doesn’t pull off anything innovative or revolutionary, and the whole experience is dragged down by spiky difficulty, half-baked RPG mechanics, and poorly constructed (though varied) boss battles.
  4. Feb 5, 2016
    65
    Bombshell is just an old school game that tries some new tricks without having learned them well.
  5. Feb 23, 2016
    60
    Bombshell is an old school action game. It is fun and has a couple of good ideas but it has a lot of mistakes too. A boring interface, a wrong camera.
  6. Feb 11, 2016
    58
    A game based on such tacky and cheap premises that it could have been awesome. Unfortunately, behind the fairly good visuals lie a repetitive gameplay, dull characters, dumb AIs and bad design choices.
  7. Jan 29, 2016
    58
    As much as I wanted to love Bombshell, and in some ways do despite its flaws, I cannot recommend the game in its current state.
  8. Feb 9, 2016
    55
    Considering the team behind the game, Bombshell should've been much better than this. It feels like an Early Access game, so if you really want to play it we recommend waiting a few months, as many of its flaws could be easily fixed in upcoming patches.
  9. Jan 31, 2016
    55
    Bombshell is a relatively decent twin-stick shooter. It most certainly isn’t an action role-playing game, like its marketing claims. It’s also weighed down by its shoddy story delivery and by its tedious stages.
  10. Feb 26, 2016
    50
    The credits promise that «Bombshell will return». Please don’t.
  11. Feb 17, 2016
    50
    While a few will find some genuine fun here, most may wait for a price drop and seek out other titles to satisfy their craving for a twin-stick shooter.
  12. Feb 9, 2016
    50
    Bombshell is an action-shooter which fails in the most important aspect in a game of this genre: whether it's entertaining. The game is often dull and uninteresting, enemies’ AI is awful and missions are boring: it’s a shame, since the game offers interesting gunplay. A multiplayer competitive mode would have helped.
  13. Feb 4, 2016
    50
    The fresh start for 3D Realms has room for improvement. While the foundation is rock solid and the visuals are at least average, Interceptor lost the plot and the grip on the game somewhere.
  14. Feb 1, 2016
    50
    At its best it doesn't do anything right but to kill thousands of enemies, but at its worse it is a repetitive and generic shooter with failed RPG mechanics, plain poor combat and bland mission design.
  15. Feb 1, 2016
    49
    Bombshell is a mess, with tedious action, boring level design and redundant RPG elements. Shelly Harrison deserves better.
  16. Jan 31, 2016
    45
    Bombshell is a broken, boring action game with a tin ear for humour and action that rarely rises above tedium.
  17. Jan 29, 2016
    45
    Bombshell isn’t the worst game I’ve ever played, but it’s among the most dull and uninteresting. From its cheesy, late-90s alien blasting plot to its absolutely repetitive action, it’s tough to pull out any redeeming qualities. Even assuming its bevy of technical issues get ironed out, this one still isn’t worth your time.
  18. Games Master UK
    Mar 19, 2016
    43
    A mildly rubbish shooter. [March 2016, p.80]
  19. CD-Action
    May 1, 2016
    40
    A mediocre twin-stick shooter that tries to be funny and fails. [04/2016, p.48]
  20. Mar 7, 2016
    40
    Supposedly, Bombshell started its life as a Duke Nukem game, yet studio never managed to acquire the license. We're not sure how that game would have turned out, but it probably wouldn't be such an unfinished, bland and painfully unfunny mess as this game.
  21. Jan 29, 2016
    40
    To put it bluntly, Bombshell is a dud. What once began as something that had potential to become a so-stupid-it’s-awesome classic ended up being merely…well, it isn’t even really that stupid as a whole, just dull.
  22. Feb 15, 2016
    38
    Bombshell sadly shows its origins, age and bad design choices. It feels dated on release, has too little variety and requires too much back tracking, though this doesn't mean that you can't have some fun with the action, combined with a great selection of hard rock music.
  23. Feb 12, 2016
    35
    There’s just really not a whole lot going on for Bombshell. The cutscenes look kind of nice, and when you look at the gameplay from a distance it can seem fun, but ultimately what you’re left with is a game that is worth far less than the asking price of thirty dollars.
  24. Feb 2, 2016
    35
    The gameplay is a wreck, the heroine is lame, the story is ridiculous and the humor is cringe-worthy. Already one of the worst games of the year.
  25. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Feb 11, 2016
    32
    There are RPG elements here – as you go on, you can increase your health, energy, armor or gun power – but honestly, they should’ve been scrapped from the get go. Any resources spent on them would be better used on balancing the game or making non-cringeworthy animations. [Issue#206, p.73]
  26. 30
    Bombshell could have been a fine six-hour shooter, but the unfulfilling fetch quests, uninspired firearms, and meddling glitches stretch the story until – like the game’s suicidal aliens – you, too, beg for death.
  27. GameTrailers
    Feb 2, 2016
    30
    No amount of nostalgia can save this train-wreck.
  28. Jan 29, 2016
    30
    An ARPG with weak combat and too many bugs, Bombshell isn’t worth your click-click-clicks.
  29. Jan 29, 2016
    30
    Bombshell is more "bomb" than anything else, with anemic shooting and lackluster exploration—when bugs aren't tossing you back to the desktop.
  30. Feb 26, 2016
    28
    One of the worst games to come down the PC pike in some time, Bombshell isn't a return to form for 3D Realms, but a reminder why the publisher was in so much trouble to begin with. A great idea is wasted off of horrible game design, bad graphic errors and a worthless audio experience. Where's Duke Nukem to kick ass when you need him?
  31. Jan 29, 2016
    25
    As it stands, playing Bombshell for more than an hour at a time is like ingesting a sedative, save for flashes of rage as you fall through the map one more time or are asked to find six more crystals.
  32. Jan 29, 2016
    25
    Playing Bombshell is like a horrible online date. They had a great profile and pictures, but as soon as you sit down with them, you realize that there’s nothing beneath the surface except crazy.
  33. Jan 29, 2016
    20
    Bombshell is an overpriced buggy mess of a game, don’t shell out money for this bomb.
  34. Jan 29, 2016
    20
    I don’t like being disrespected -- and I doubt you do, either. And yet it’s reasonable to feel that way when playing a buggy, bland game with some of the worst writing you’re likely to hear in some time.
  35. Feb 11, 2016
    15
    Bombshell is a failure in every meaningful way, and feels like a barely-functional Alpha build rather than the finished product it's supposed to be.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 29, 2016
    Bombshell isn't an aggressively terrible game. It's just aggressively mediocre for long enough that it starts to seem that way.
  2. This is a steaming pile of shit.
User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 93
  2. Negative: 59 out of 93
  1. Jan 29, 2016
    0
    This game is piece of **** I got key for review for Russian blog, but first try the game didn't work. After contacting developer he told me myThis game is piece of **** I got key for review for Russian blog, but first try the game didn't work. After contacting developer he told me my system not good. I try other game, work perfect. I then finally got game booting and it really play like **** I play Fallout 4 on max settings normal. So I try review, but game not fun and not recommend to buy. Full Review »
  2. Jan 29, 2016
    2
    Here's a tip for game developers. If you know you've made a game that's not very good--don't name it something that can be used against you inHere's a tip for game developers. If you know you've made a game that's not very good--don't name it something that can be used against you in reviews. "Bombshell really bombs" doesn't make a very good review blurb. If you're going to go that route though, you might as well have titled this thing Crapburger. This game stinks. Full Review »
  3. Jan 29, 2016
    2
    I had high hopes for the game but after getting my hands on a key I have to admit it was a big let down. I mean where do I even begin? TheI had high hopes for the game but after getting my hands on a key I have to admit it was a big let down. I mean where do I even begin? The story is dull and the acting is terrible (mind you they recast the actors). As for the gameplay the first few maps are not fun to play and even though the weapons and abilities are cool, the RPG aspect is pretty much non existant. It becomes quickly repetitive and definitely not worth the pricetag. I also experienced a lot of bugs here and there, but I guess they will patch that soon, unless its like ROTT. Full Review »