Botanicula Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 363 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Botanicula is point'n'click exploration game created by Jara Plachy and Amanita Design.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Botanicula - Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    100
    Botanicula is a wonderful tale in which one loves getting lost; a real puzzler to have fun with; and a genuine visual and sound art piece.
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    90
    A creation of obvious love and care, Botanicula is a must-play for those seeking a truly imaginative and entertaining adventure game
  3. Apr 30, 2012
    90
    A wonderful experience that will please us, blending nature and videogames, creating a beautiful and captivating atmosphere that we want to see in more games.
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    82
    A different kind of adventure, in a very different kind of world that wastes no time before growing on you.
  5. May 23, 2012
    80
    A wondrous surrealistic adventure on and through the living branches of a "magical" tree, Botanicula is a beautiful addition to Amanita's game roster.
  6. May 2, 2012
    80
    It's difficult to explain with words what makes a game so great that actually doesn't use them at all.
  7. May 8, 2012
    60
    Solve puzzles in a bizarre colorful environment, using different characters with different abilities. But the puzzles are too easy and too illogical for this game to be much more than mediocre.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 63
  2. Negative: 3 out of 63
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    Another masterpiece from Amanita Design. Great visuals and stylization with breathtaking sounds and music from DVA band and funny puzzles. IAnother masterpiece from Amanita Design. Great visuals and stylization with breathtaking sounds and music from DVA band and funny puzzles. I am glad for preordering. Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    This game is pure amazing. Aside from portal 1 and 2, this is the only game that has made me actually laugh out loud. I feel happy whileThis game is pure amazing. Aside from portal 1 and 2, this is the only game that has made me actually laugh out loud. I feel happy while playing this game and yearn to see whats next around the corner for the group of freinds. Amanita Design keeps one upping itself with its games from that first one (forgot name) which was a great little adventure with great art, to machinarium which is still one of my all time favorite games due to its charming story and excellent art style and the way the story is told, and now with Botanicula, its greatest game yet. The story is told perfectly through small blurbs from other creatures, the puzzles are not too challenging which is perfect for this game, there is a lot of variety in the actions you take and the options you have for a point and click game, but most of all, the MUSIC AND ART ARE SIMPLY AMAZING. Perfect color scheme, perfect x2 music and an amazing story make this game of of the most enjoyable experiences Ive ever had gaming and you should really purchase this game to support Amanita Design so they can keep one upping themselves. Awesome job. Collapse
  3. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    This is one of the most imaginative, sweet, and endearing games I've ever played. It's not that much of a challenge, but the enjoyment of thisThis is one of the most imaginative, sweet, and endearing games I've ever played. It's not that much of a challenge, but the enjoyment of this game, for me, was in the exploration and interaction with the beautiful environments. Expand
  4. May 22, 2012
    9
    Rarely does a game hold any type of facination, Botanicula is simply amazing, its so original and so unique its hard to put into words, theRarely does a game hold any type of facination, Botanicula is simply amazing, its so original and so unique its hard to put into words, the sound effects are excellent, the visuals are inspiring to say the least, the gameplay is point and click (some may or may not like this). I was just in awe the whole way through this game, never knowing whats comming next, never really understanding what im doing, but i dont think the 5 friends knew either, its a journey of uncertainty...its all so strange, but intrigueing at the same time....10 bucks for this game is a steal, if you like point and click games this is a MUST! Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    In its genre (point-and-click adventure) it's pretty good. The artwork is an absolute masterpiece. The sounds, too. Giving it 9/10 because I'mIn its genre (point-and-click adventure) it's pretty good. The artwork is an absolute masterpiece. The sounds, too. Giving it 9/10 because I'm just not that much into adventure games and find their gameplay not really fun enough: just click at all places to try everything out until something randomly fits. But if you like the genre and this type of games, you will like it. Frankly, when seeing such games, I pity the artists. So much talent and so much astonishing artwork simply don't deserve to be put into a game, because games are just a different type of medium. It's just like using Rafael's paintings as illustrations for a detective story the levels are just so different. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    At first glance a very simple 2D game. Simple, both in graphics as in gameplay. But it's not. Graphics have been thought over very well andAt first glance a very simple 2D game. Simple, both in graphics as in gameplay. But it's not. Graphics have been thought over very well and they match the old animations from the Monty Python animated sketches(youngsters Google is your friend :D). Gameplay is not adventure as the game is labeled I'd say, but rather a puzzle game, and a good one as well. Find items (some very well hidden) to get your progress in the game.

    Honestly, I didn't think this game would be much in terms of fun to play, but it really had me amazed!
    Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2014
    1
    This game is amazing nothing can beat it perfect game no game better best point'n'click game ever and beats all else in every genre can't getThis game is amazing nothing can beat it perfect game no game better best point'n'click game ever and beats all else in every genre can't get a game better than this one. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews