Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Apr 7, 2018
    100
    Bridge Constructor Portal is a fantastic puzzle game, and a thoroughly Portal title.
  2. Feb 26, 2018
    90
    They say that love can build a bridge, but love isn’t GlaDOS’ style, so you’ll have to make do with girders and cables instead. Frustratingly difficult in parts, but a game that you’ll keep coming back to until you master it.
  3. Feb 1, 2018
    85
    Bridge Constructor Portal is practically the best game in the series right now.
  4. Dec 19, 2017
    82
    The well-done, sarcastic style and Ellen McLain as teh original voice complete the overall package well.
  5. Mar 14, 2018
    80
    Bridge Constructor Portal is no Portal, and no one expected it to be, but it's close when you consider the general enjoyment that can be had while playing it. GLaDOS is an extremely welcome resurgence, and it was oddly a pleasure to find myself under her thumb in the Aperture Science world once more.
  6. Jan 24, 2018
    80
    Bridge Constructor Portal is an amusing engineering game. You must exploit physics and gravity and that's exactly the key puzzle logic of Portal.
  7. Jan 21, 2018
    80
    This title successfully combines the diverse characteristics of two classic games. The key puzzle logic of Portal is now perfectly presented in the world of Bridge Constructor. Although we can find some annoying defects, this game is still worth a try, if you are a fan of any one of these two series.
  8. Jan 19, 2018
    80
    If you're looking for a new chapter in the Portal saga, Bridge Constructor Portal won't give you that. There's a little of that trademark GLaDOS dark humor before each level, but the game is really a sequence of puzzles rather than a contiguous story. I didn't mind that, though, I enjoyed the challenge of the puzzles (and to be honest, it was also fun watching everything collapse in spectacular fashion as a convoy was trying to get safely across) and it's always a treat to listen to GLaDOS, voiced as in the Portal games by Ellen McLain. You don't have to be a Portal fan to enjoy the game, just a fan of physics-based puzzle games. And if you are a Portal fan, while the game isn't exactly Portal 3, it's nice to be able to make a brief return to Aperture Industries anyway.
  9. Jan 10, 2018
    80
    It's not Portal, but we have some of Valve's franchise elements in here. Build bridges and lead the driver into a deadly adventure in this puzzle game. Bridge Constructor Portal is challenging and funny, but some of the mechanics have been simplified.
  10. Jan 9, 2018
    80
    For $9.99 this game has a ton of replay value.
  11. Jan 5, 2018
    80
    Bridge Constructor Portal proves to be a very amusing engineering game in which to exploit physics and gravity to help the Bendies find the exit.
  12. Dec 20, 2017
    80
    It might not be as funny as Portal but the puzzles are almost as inventive, in this contrived but entertaining crossover.
  13. Dec 20, 2017
    80
    If you love Portal and build bridges, Bridge Constructor Portal is the game for you.
  14. Dec 19, 2017
    80
    Bridge Constructor Portal is a well-assembled holiday treat. Those expecting Portal 3 will be let down, but if you’re willing to set aside unfair expectations you’ll discover an accessible, flexible puzzle game that avoids many of the genre’s frustrating pitfalls. Bridge Constructor Portal passes the test, and that’s no lie.
  15. Dec 19, 2017
    80
    I can wholeheartedly recommend Bridge Constructor Portal as a rich, challenging puzzler with plenty of brain-twisters in store across its 60 levels. The pacing and methodical iteration it encourages meant it only ever taxed my mind, not my nerves. As a Portal fan’s nostalgia piece, it’s really not much better than a kitschy, amusement park gift shop recreation of the world many of us know and love – but the little nods serve well enough to enhance an already enjoyable puzzle game.
  16. Dec 20, 2017
    78
    Portal's systems, if not its clever humor, are put to good use in this fun physics-based puzzle game.
  17. Dec 22, 2017
    77
    A cool game for in-between, for Portal fans in particular.
  18. CD-Action
    Mar 14, 2018
    75
    Good news: new Portal game! Bad news: it’s just a marriage between Portal and Bridge Constructor. Good news: it’s a happy marriage. Building bridges with GLaDOS might not be as atmospheric and witty as big Portal games, but it sure is fun and it’s definitely not the case of cynical preying on a beloved franchise. [02/2018, p.48]
  19. Mar 12, 2018
    75
    Bridge Constructor Portal is a great way to introduce a newcomer like me to this surprisingly popular genre. It uses the borrowed IP well, and while not every joke hits, the fact that the dev was able to shoehorn that Portal flavor into a completely new genre is commendable. This is probably isn’t the product that Valve fans were wishing for, but let’s stop berating them and enjoy what we’ve received — turning up one’s nose at a surprise gift like this would be silly.
  20. Jan 17, 2018
    75
    Bridge Constructor Portal is not the Portal game many would have been expecting, but with the reassuring presence of GLaDOS and the Companion Cubes (also, coincidently, the name of my new band), it’s nevertheless enough to scratch that ‘fun with portals’ itch left in the wake of Portal 2.
  21. Jan 9, 2018
    75
    As a complete neophyte to the Bridge Constructor series, Bridge Constructor Portal got me surprisingly invested.
  22. Jan 5, 2018
    75
    The franchise hybrid works surprisingly well. With the integration of quite a few beloved Aperture elements (including GlaDOS, of course) the construction puzzles gain an edge. But nonetheless they could have been improved with additional challenges.
  23. Dec 28, 2017
    75
    Portal is kinda back with a clever puzzle, quite enjoyable and engaging. Some aspects need a little bit of extra polishing, but if you like physics-based puzzles, we think you'll like it.
  24. Jan 29, 2018
    71
    Bridge Constructor Portal successfully melds bridge-building with classic Portal gameplay elements, though it fails to emulate the excellent humor of that series. Good value and creative levels with more than one solution make it a slick package for anyone looking to relax while using their brains a bit.
  25. Feb 18, 2018
    70
    An entertaining builder/puzzler for all virtual designers which has recently merged with Portal where it takes its mechanics, stylization and humor. Unfortunately, the game wears off over the time and its emphasis on precision isn’t supported with better tools.
  26. Jan 4, 2018
    70
    Bridge Constructor Portal will not blow you away, but it's a fun puzzle title that makes good use of portals and puts a new twist on a classic formula. For Portal fans, it's an excellent opportunity to revisit the classic world of Portal with a slightly different approach.
  27. Jan 2, 2018
    70
    Bridge Constructor Portal takes some of the best snark from the Portal series and shoves it into a clever little construction game.
  28. Dec 19, 2017
    70
    Even if the game doesn't bring anything wholly new to the table for Portal fans and it leans on some filler toward the end, on the whole, I had a darn good time with this spin-off.
  29. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 16, 2018
    60
    A good logic game that is far from the potential of a great license. It can entertain, but it can also tire you very quickly due to the absence of new elements during the campaign. [Issue#282]
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 20, 2017
    It’s not exactly the Portal experience fans have been longing for, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t great. It has all of the hallmarks of the series — dark humor, mind-bending puzzles, and unsettling robotic voices — but grafts them on to a very different but surprisingly adaptive game. You may be building bridges instead of shooting guns, but this is still Portal.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 8 out of 30
  1. Dec 23, 2017
    7
    It's not portal, but to be fair who actually expected this bridge constructor game to be portal?
    Anyway i still enjoyed it pretty much.
    You
    It's not portal, but to be fair who actually expected this bridge constructor game to be portal?
    Anyway i still enjoyed it pretty much.
    You get to play 60 levels, creating bridges and using portals to find solution to the puzzle.
    Graphics looks same as in Portal ( i mean trailers with stickmans and The Lab)
    Gameplay is okay, but i just hate idea of these cannons shooting plasma balls.
    Trying to aim them is just so random and frustrating.
    Another problem with BC:Portal is uneven level of difficulty. In some levels you immediately
    see the solution, and in some levels you can spend half an hour trying to solve the puzzle.
    I have no problems with difficult puzzles, but its just so uneven. 20 level might be harder then 50.
    But even with this problems, game has great humor and creative puzzles. Its really nice to play, but the game does not engage like a portal and portal 2.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 30, 2017
    3
    After 2 installments of Lord of the Rings did we want Lord of the Rings Bridge Constructor? No.
  3. Jan 30, 2018
    10
    Well i did not ask for this, but we have it , and it is pretty good, i was worth my time and i liked it