Burnout Paradise: The Ultimate Box Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 489 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Burnout Paradise The Ultimate Box is a special edition release that includes the award-winning Burnout Paradise game, the previously-released Cagney and Bikes downloadable content updates, plus the brand new Burnout Paradise Party pack. The Party pack brings the social fun of BurnoutBurnout Paradise The Ultimate Box is a special edition release that includes the award-winning Burnout Paradise game, the previously-released Cagney and Bikes downloadable content updates, plus the brand new Burnout Paradise Party pack. The Party pack brings the social fun of Burnout Paradise into an offline multiplayer mode where players compete in different stunt, speed and skill events. The mode is designed to allow up to eight friends to “pass-the-pad” in dozens of quick-fire, turn-based challenges. The Party pack also includes a host of new features including a restart option added for racing and easier control of the early vehicles. Burnout Paradise proves that crashing is awesome! Next generation technology has enabled an unprecedented level of crash deformation allowing you to experience the most explosive pile-ups in the series’ history. Now the development team can realize their original vision for the Burnout franchise: an open world environment where you can do anything, anywhere, anytime. Feel the adrenaline course through your veins as you take to the road for the first time in Paradise City, where the action is all around you. Explore the city, discover events, and look for the best opportunities to crash, jump and pull signature takedowns. In Burnout Paradise you're given the keys to the city, but it's up to you to earn the keys to the meanest and most dangerous cars on the street, and earn your Burnout license. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. It’s a rare thing to come across such an excellent game which offers a steady supply of adrenaline and a brilliant sensation of speed. Especially considering that it’s a port.
  2. This generation's best arcade racer in an extra value compendium that really is a slice of driving heaven.
  3. This can be kept rather simple: Any racing fan with a need for speed, who hasn’t already got Burnout Paradise for console simply needs this cool package. The Graphics are great, the sound is amazing, the speed mind-blowing and there’ so much to see and do that you’ll be kept busy for a long, long time.
  4. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    90
    First ever PC version of Burnout is a perfect example of a modern racing game in an open world with all the essentials that players want. No need for C-grade actresses at all. [Issue#174, Jan 2009]
  5. PC Zone UK
    89
    Undeniably fun; a slick arcade racer from an impassioned and talented development studio. [May 2009, p.66]
  6. With a clearer incentive to progress, Paradise would have the cohesion it lacks. But it's still a stupendous amount of fun to play. It doesn't offer a challenge for hardcore racing fans, but instead presents you with a giant island of opportunities for mucking about and enjoying yourself. Which is just fine. [J.Walker]
  7. Good intro to the PC for the Burnout series, but though it’s not meant to be a sim, we’d prefer a bit more meat on our games.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 81
  2. Negative: 22 out of 81
  1. chadc
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    best racing game i have ever played and extras to buy are great to play
  2. Jun 8, 2016
    10
    best game EA has ever made. That should say a lot.

    I really enjoyed this game, it is just truly a blast to play this game, and do crazy
    best game EA has ever made. That should say a lot.

    I really enjoyed this game, it is just truly a blast to play this game, and do crazy flips n' ****
    Expand
  3. JamesK
    Feb 11, 2009
    9
    Very nice game, have been addicted to this for the last 2 weeks or so, I now have my A liscenes and rocking the house. The game looks very Very nice game, have been addicted to this for the last 2 weeks or so, I now have my A liscenes and rocking the house. The game looks very nice on the PC with no hick-ups or crashes, loading times are OK for me, about 1 minute to get the game starting, you just have to have a good PC =] I have been playing with the X360 controller and it really plays fluently, so no problems there. I'm really enjoying the 'mission' structure which you can excess almost anywhere if you're driving around. I'm really just chilling playing the game, doing whatever I want, listening to some nice gaming podcast. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (1/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (1/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (+1)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    6
    I enjoyed the different types of challenges this game presented, though I found myself getting bored of the repetitiveness as well as notI enjoyed the different types of challenges this game presented, though I found myself getting bored of the repetitiveness as well as not seeing a big enough difference in the handling of cars I acquired. I rarely felt challenged on races and stunt areas were either too obvious and restricting or not enough. I also didn't like the fact that I could hit the wrong button and suddenly start tumbling through the air trying to cause damage with my "wreck" that I didn't want to start in the first place. It's worth a sale price, but I wanted more. Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2012
    4
    Unfortunately this game doesn't have anything that the Burnout name has come with gearing more towards racing and less towards the causing ofUnfortunately this game doesn't have anything that the Burnout name has come with gearing more towards racing and less towards the causing of mayhem and destruction. A bitter disappointment in that field alone it only gets a four because the graphics for the time were alright and it isn't an absolutely terrible racing game. Expand
  7. May 11, 2015
    0
    Visually its nice and the driving is awesome but if your looking for a game with some kind of a story, this is not for you. Its great if youVisually its nice and the driving is awesome but if your looking for a game with some kind of a story, this is not for you. Its great if you just want to jump in a game and crash cars.
    Just not my type of game
    Expand

See all 81 User Reviews