Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5612 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to the previous game in the series, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, with a campaign storyline continuing the struggle of U.S. forces against an invasion by the Russian Federation following the framing of an undercover U.S. agent in aCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to the previous game in the series, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, with a campaign storyline continuing the struggle of U.S. forces against an invasion by the Russian Federation following the framing of an undercover U.S. agent in a terrorist attack on Moscow. Together with classic Call of Duty multi-character control, Modern Warfare 3 contains deep multiplayer support, including two-player Co-op Survival mode. The game also contains all-new Kill Streak categories and customizable strike packages that offer more options for player combat styles and strategies. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Operation Kingfish Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    99
    Modern Warfare 3 is pure perfection in gameplay and graphics, and it's only going to get better as more DLC arrives and the game is refined and balanced as the designers analyze real-time data from all the matches being played. There is no fan base more loyal than Call of Duty, and this game is guaranteed to delight all who play now and in the years to come.
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    90
    Despite its flaws, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 takes the fantastic series we've come to love over the years and iterates on it with great success. The multiplayer is hands-down the best it has ever been, with more features, more modes and a ton of new levels. The singleplayer campaign and Spec Ops mode add value to the overall package, creating something that may not be perfect, but is too damn addicting to pass up.
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    85
    CoD:MW3 hits shelves without even the slightest surprise up its sleeve. It packs the exactly same pros and cons as all its predecessors, which officially makes the CoD-Series the FPS-genres FIFA. So: you can always be exactly sure of what to expect, when buying the latest installment: A short Singleplayer-Campaign, that offers some absolutely stunning moments, a great multiplayer, in which little kids at the age of 4 (according to their voices) will probably destroy your self-confidence within minutes and a pretty much non-existent AI. One could like that - or be bored about it. We'd understand both.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    It would have been nice to have seen Call of Duty evolve with more determination over the last four years. Perhaps a newer engine, a longer campaign, or a change of location outside of those already featured. But it's hard to deny that Call of Duty – the Modern Warfare brand in particular – is a product of its own success, and a product of its consumer appeal. It exists in the way it does because it sells, and it sells because it's predictable.
  5. Nov 18, 2011
    80
    Another CoD is a sure thing and a guarantee of high quality fun. The campaign in Modern Warfare 3 is extremely spectacular, unfortunately multiplayer took a step back from last year's Black Ops - small maps and matchmaking issues are very serious problems. You can't overlook the game's old technology as well. Even though it doesn't hinder breaking sales records, which is a strong enough message for Activision, that revolution is the last thing Call of Duty needs.
  6. Dec 5, 2011
    70
    MW3 lives up to the already cemented reputation of the Call of Duty series; however, it appears to be almost like an expensive DLC for Black Ops.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    If you own any previous COD, there's little reason to buy MW3. [Jan 2012, p.50]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Great game. I can say that because I actually played it. I like the new point/killstreak system. It really benefits the objective based gameGreat game. I can say that because I actually played it. I like the new point/killstreak system. It really benefits the objective based game type player. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    From start to finish, Modern Warfare 3 seeks to bring you on a ridiculously explosive and action packed ride. It's campaign brings more ofFrom start to finish, Modern Warfare 3 seeks to bring you on a ridiculously explosive and action packed ride. It's campaign brings more of what is loved by fans of the series to the table, including vehicle sections, a great sense of spectacle and ultimately takes you on a non stop thrill ride around the globe in a variety of (mostly), beautiful environments and locations. I would be lying if I said that the graphics weren't showing their age, but ultimately the fantastically well developed and polished game-play outshines any sense of age. The sound design has received a bit more attention here then in previous iterations of the game, resulting in a more immersive experience then ever before. Spec Ops is back from Modern Warfare 2 and is bigger and better then ever before, it retains the old short, timed missions from last time but also features a new survival mode, reminiscent of Halo's Firefight or Gears Of War's Horde Mode. This mode is really addictive and many will find it competing for their multiplayer time. As you defeat the waves of enemies spawned upon you, you gain resources to spend on air strikes, new weapons, grenades and so on. On top of all this, Modern Warfare 3 sports a multiplayer suite that you can sink literally hundreds of hours into. It's the same as the previous games: you gain experience points to level up and gain new weapons, perks and Killstreaks. Besides being more polished then ever before, there are only a few minor additions here such as weapon leveling and new weapons etc. Overall, this is a really sleek action packed package and absolutely worthy of your money, particularly if you haven't played any of the previous games in the series. No ones calling really innovative but that does not mean it is undeserving of the score I'm giving it. Easily the best arcade shooter to come out this year. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    6
    Let's be honest, no game deserves a 0. Nice single campaign, but the multiplayer experience is practically the same as MW2. So, in my opinion,Let's be honest, no game deserves a 0. Nice single campaign, but the multiplayer experience is practically the same as MW2. So, in my opinion, not worthly of paying $59.99 for basically a cloned game. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    I played this game just to see what happened with main characters. That was quite satisfying but the rest of the game feels very familiar. WhyI played this game just to see what happened with main characters. That was quite satisfying but the rest of the game feels very familiar. Why did they work so long on this game to bring us same old multi and same ols single player campaign. Even some of the environment elements were taken from mw2. I would be happy if this was a mission pack for mw2 but releasing and buying this as a "full price" game was a mistake. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I think my review will be similar to many of the others that have posted. There is nothing new and absolutely zero reason for this to be aI think my review will be similar to many of the others that have posted. There is nothing new and absolutely zero reason for this to be a $60 "new game" as apposed to a $20 downloadable map pack. Hopefully the next iteration will include a new engine or at least a decent amount of tinkering so that it can be worthy of being called a new game. Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2012
    0
    still kicking myself for paying money for this garbage. black ops had better graphics and gameplay. it's amazing they could actually take 2still kicking myself for paying money for this garbage. black ops had better graphics and gameplay. it's amazing they could actually take 2 steps BACKWARDS, in terms of quality, and publish this. also, why are the maps so ridiculously small? 32 pax on a 16 player map? really?

    i've since learned my lesson...STOP preordering games. wait to see the player reviews and comments.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Activision is recycling the same game since Modern Warfare 3, the campaign sucks like everything in the game, even the menu is the same as theActivision is recycling the same game since Modern Warfare 3, the campaign sucks like everything in the game, even the menu is the same as the Modern Warfare 2... Expand

See all 1737 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.