User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3350 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 26, 2019
    6
    Campaign: 9/10

    One of the best if not the best campaign in a CoD ever. Sadly the pc version has laggy cutscenes and the playtime is a bit too short Multiplayer: 4/10 The most important part of a CoD is in this CoD pretty **** bad. SBMM ruins the whole experience, the worst maps we have ever had and also the fewest, communication from IW sucks, ground war .s just not fun after a
    Campaign: 9/10

    One of the best if not the best campaign in a CoD ever. Sadly the pc version has laggy cutscenes and the playtime is a bit too short

    Multiplayer: 4/10

    The most important part of a CoD is in this CoD pretty **** bad. SBMM ruins the whole experience, the worst maps we have ever had and also the fewest, communication from IW sucks, ground war .s just not fun after a few rounds...

    Spec Ops: Not played but is received as extremly bad

    CoD: Modern Warfare [6,5/10]
    Expand
  2. Dec 11, 2019
    5
    Very mixed for me. Gfx are great, efects, music are super but for the most part I cannot even contect to the server. The balance is off, spawn kills are an often thing and a lot of maps are to prone to camping.
  3. Nov 25, 2019
    6
    Cambio la mia recensione dopo circa 40h di gioco online.
    Che dire, stanno iniziando a sistemare i problemi di sbilanciamento, il ché è un bene: i passi sono stati diminuiti di volume, le armi OP sono state depotenziate, le armi inutili potenziate, qualche mappa è stata aggiunta, qualche idiozia tipo il "negozio" tolta. Diciamo che dopo circa 1 mese dal lancio il gioco inizia ad essere
    Cambio la mia recensione dopo circa 40h di gioco online.
    Che dire, stanno iniziando a sistemare i problemi di sbilanciamento, il ché è un bene: i passi sono stati diminuiti di volume, le armi OP sono state depotenziate, le armi inutili potenziate, qualche mappa è stata aggiunta, qualche idiozia tipo il "negozio" tolta. Diciamo che dopo circa 1 mese dal lancio il gioco inizia ad essere "giocabile". Il problema è che chi ha speso 60€ ( o 70€ ) per il gioco al day 1, non è giusto che faccia da beta-tester per un mese.I beta-tester vanno pagati, non bisogna sfruttare gli utenti. Per il resto il gioco ancora presenta parecchie lacune, a partire dalla pazzia delle porte chiudibili, all'arma posizionabile che riduce il rinculo a 0 ( cosa che andrebbe anche bene se fosse equipaggiato l'accessorio BIPEDE come avviene su battlefield ), ai carri-armati a cui è concesso arrampicarsi sulle montagne ( bastarebbero 2 muretti invalicabili ), alle mega-patch da 20gb ogni settimana ( per persone con una linea internet normale significa non giocare per almeno 1 giorno a settimana ), ai bug nelle sfide che non si completano ( e che comunque sono un po' inutili date le armi tremende che danno dopo richieste talvolta IMPOSSIBILI ). Sicuramente c'è ampio margine di manovra, ed il fatto che ogni tanto aggiungano delle mappe gratis è lodevole, ma sempre il prezzo pieno è stato pagato. Allora fatelo pagare 30€, con un abbonamento da 5€ mensili, ha più senso rispetto al chiedere una batosta da 6070€, per ritrovarsi un gioco a metà.
    Rimane la vaccata del single player politicizzato in maniera ridicola, ma quantomeno chiunque ha una coscienza e può andare su internet a cercare i fatti reali.
    Ottimizzazione sempre ridicola e fatta con i piedi, 3440x1440p con una 2080ti, passo dai 60 ai 120 fps a seconda non della mappa, ma DEL VICOLO. Un'esperienza frustrante di sali e scendi di fluidità che mi fa saltare direttamente alcune mappe. Appena compare qualche gioco di luce gli fps crollano.
    Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2019
    6
    Shortly: Campaign is great and fun despite the clearly unrealistic picture it portrays about both Western and Russian soldiers

    Multiplayer: just as fun as playing the old one when it came out

    Co-op: just an empty experience and have no idea why is it even in the game, a disgrace to the franchise
  5. Nov 25, 2019
    5
    People will literally camp in one spot the whole game, not even joking. The maps have 100s of hiding spots, way too many. Hopefully they release the original MW maps soon because I don't think I'll want to keep playing these long term. Would be nice to have some maps where you can just run and gun without having to worry about campers like Nuketown. The gunsmith attachment perks arePeople will literally camp in one spot the whole game, not even joking. The maps have 100s of hiding spots, way too many. Hopefully they release the original MW maps soon because I don't think I'll want to keep playing these long term. Would be nice to have some maps where you can just run and gun without having to worry about campers like Nuketown. The gunsmith attachment perks are downright stupid, overly complicated, and confusing, seems like they get worse the further you go down the list. Should've just left it like Black Ops 3, way better setup. The low and mid tier killstreaks are trash making it almost impossible to obtain the actual good ones. The UAV rarely pings enemies and Lightning Strikes are useless when you have to mark coordinates with binoculars instead of a map. The killstreak cost needs to be lowered by like 1 or 2 for each one. Most people never make it past 3 or 4 in the games I've played so far. It would help speed up the match pace. Almost every game I've played ran out of time because the pace is too slow. Also, just get rid of the compass. Having 2 radars is overkill, makes it way too easy to locate enemies. Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2019
    5
    This game is a great example of being tricked and lied to. Especialy after playing MW remastered.

    1. Campaing. The most borring and uninteresting campaing. Im affraid even Ghosts was more creative. Almost no epic scenes, not many interesting ideas or short side mechanics. The trick here is that it feels and look absolutely great at first. But later during gameplay you realise it is the
    This game is a great example of being tricked and lied to. Especialy after playing MW remastered.

    1. Campaing. The most borring and uninteresting campaing. Im affraid even Ghosts was more creative. Almost no epic scenes, not many interesting ideas or short side mechanics. The trick here is that it feels and look absolutely great at first. But later during gameplay you realise it is the same corridor and maximum restrictive gameplay. Sometimes you are not allowed to step aside 10 meters left or right. It will be game over and start over. Graphics and sound and voice actors are wonderful though. Story is the worst in the series. No gray colors. Strict black and white. You can say a lot about making russian soldiers animals, it is not the main problem. The problem is that it is just generic story without any strong thoughts. Usual, blunt and with plenty dull tries to rewrite modern history events. Game litterary takes you as an idiot. Combining with a dull gameplay it is just unacceptible. 2 - Multiplayer. Feels differently, fun and loyal to newcomers. Cross play is a great feature. But at the same time multiplayer lost its unique face. It feels like Medal of Honor 2010. Better, but it is not by all means a COD experience. Veterans might be dissappointed. In the end COD MW 2019 is not a terrible game. It is even not a bad one. It is just very and very mediocre. For one big step forward it makes two misserable steps back.
    Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2019
    5
    This game is not that good in its current state, there are a lot of problems that make the game not fun to play. If Infinity Ward fixes these issues its a good game, the problem is there is not much flow and the SBMM makes every game feel like my IRL life is on the line.

    The problems I have with the game are: - The maps, I get it they wanna do something different than a 3 lane map
    This game is not that good in its current state, there are a lot of problems that make the game not fun to play. If Infinity Ward fixes these issues its a good game, the problem is there is not much flow and the SBMM makes every game feel like my IRL life is on the line.

    The problems I have with the game are:

    - The maps, I get it they wanna do something different than a 3 lane map but these maps are way too big and promote camping.

    - The SBMM, strong SBMM is good but not for a casual gamemode. Atm the casual gamemode is ranked but without you being able to see the ranks and if you do bad for a few games you get put with the no so good players and if you do well again you get put in this campfest. It is really annoying because testing new weapons is just impossible for 5 games.

    - The sound, footsteps are way too loud. This also promotes camping because as a camper you dont make much noise when moving and you can just hear the enemy coming from 3 miles away.

    - The callouts, these just need to be fixed ASAP, what was Infinity Ward even thinking when making these. Everytime you sneak up on someone your character yells ''CONTACT'' or "ENEMY SPOTTED". This wouldnt be a problem if only your team can hear the callouts but unfortunately the enemys can hear them too and it blows your cover every single time.

    - The CO-OP mode is way to hard if you solo queue, why do the enemys have infinite respawns and why do they spawn so **** fast? I also dont understand why the juggernauts are so strong, I understand that they need to be stronger than your avg enemy but these guys just take a century to kill.

    The good things:

    - I really enjoy the campaign, the missions are actually fun and its not completely filled with bs missions and cutscenes.

    - The gunplay is really fun.

    - The graphics are good.

    If you are thinking of buying this game, go for it but dont expect a game with no problems because there are a lot of problems.

    I give this game a 5/10
    Expand
  8. Oct 27, 2019
    5
    Its really good game, but not a its story. There r no “grey” characters.. only good EUs and bad Russians.. Its not right. Devs lying like always.., but mechanics and technologies are on the high level. Only 5/10. F*ck this **** Im out!
  9. Nov 3, 2019
    7
    I just came here to see how Russians **** about this game. Anyhow, this game is not 0 of course, 7/10.
  10. Oct 31, 2019
    7
    It's Call of Duty, so if you like a game where players run around in circles to shoot each other in the a$$, look no further, Infinity Ward has you covered and then some. The game has two major problems. First, the frame rate isn't locked at anything (at least on my PC, and I'm running a GTX 1160 Ti). It lurches from 60 to 35 to 50 fps for no apparent reason and then stops. MyIt's Call of Duty, so if you like a game where players run around in circles to shoot each other in the a$$, look no further, Infinity Ward has you covered and then some. The game has two major problems. First, the frame rate isn't locked at anything (at least on my PC, and I'm running a GTX 1160 Ti). It lurches from 60 to 35 to 50 fps for no apparent reason and then stops. My suspicion is that it's related to the streaming of assets because I'm not seeing any pegging in CPU, GPU, mem, or disc IO. As I understand it, CoD:MW 2019 performs best on the PS4 Pro, but even then it's not locked. Personally, I think Infinity Ward was too ambitious with their tech, it may turn out in about a year that its new tech runs amazingly well, but today not so much. I could write pages about the single player campaign, but I'll spare you; it's not great. And since this game is a reboot of a game that stood out for its quality, this is particularly disappointing.

    And still, there's quite a bit of buzz over this game on Twitch, so it's clear that people are loving it. It's a beautiful game, but I wish I understood the mind of a person who's able to endure a game like this for 5 or 6 hours per session. In the end, it's the same game as always and it must resonate with many people who just have to have more of it. Just not with me.
    Expand
  11. Nov 4, 2019
    6
    Well then... The hype for this game was so damn big, but not anymore unfortunately.

    Multiplayer: 6/10, The multiplayer in COD: MW honestly doesn't feel that great on PC, the maps are horrible and made for just camping... The game doesn't feel finished and 75% of the content the game should have had on launch were missing in the first 30 hours! Guns shoot nice but aiming down sight is so
    Well then... The hype for this game was so damn big, but not anymore unfortunately.

    Multiplayer: 6/10, The multiplayer in COD: MW honestly doesn't feel that great on PC, the maps are horrible and made for just camping... The game doesn't feel finished and 75% of the content the game should have had on launch were missing in the first 30 hours! Guns shoot nice but aiming down sight is so so slow without the right atachments so that it is impossible to do anything but camp in the beggining. Even with the right atachments it is a struggle to be able to aim fast enough if you are moving a lot, and you still get killed from campers sitting in windows anyways... The multiplayer have got some hope going forward if they change some stuff, but right now it is not something I recommend playing!

    Campaign: 9/10, The campaign is really good! One of the best Call of Duty campaign ever and even one of the better FPS campaigns of all times!

    Spec Ops: 2/10, There is not much to say about this because there is not much in this mode... Also, it is really hard and almost impossible for casual players to succeed in this mode! Honestly I don't know what Infinity Ward were thinking with Spec Ops, it is nothing like it used to be in the old games and right now the best words to describe it is ''Kind of a Disaster''!...

    With all that being said, the game isn't bad. It is just not what it should have been...
    Expand
  12. Oct 30, 2019
    6
    Игра хороша,но нового контента нет.Кто-то подумает чтонет,веть добавиль режим "наземная война" и "огневой контакт",да,но в том то и дело что это все.
    Абилие оружия,как бы не так.Реализм и тактика-никак нет.
    Зато,донат,просяды фпс когда системные требования подходят,Графон,который как бы есть но он на уровне первой батлы которая в 2016 вышла.Кому-то может понравится,но многим-нет
    Игра хороша,но нового контента нет.Кто-то подумает чтонет,веть добавиль режим "наземная война" и "огневой контакт",да,но в том то и дело что это все.
    Абилие оружия,как бы не так.Реализм и тактика-никак нет.
    Зато,донат,просяды фпс когда системные требования подходят,Графон,который как бы есть но он на уровне первой батлы которая в 2016 вышла.Кому-то может понравится,но многим-нет
  13. Oct 25, 2019
    6
    This review is for Multiplayer only. Big Call of Duty fan since Modern Warfare 2. I love COD. COD WW2(2017) is one of the best COD Multiplayer experiences there is IMO. I just love it. Black Ops2 comes close because its a classic. I still own MW2 and MW3 and play those regularly (Multiplayer) on PC same goes for Ghosts and Advanced Warfare. I love Multiplayer gameplay for COD games, justThis review is for Multiplayer only. Big Call of Duty fan since Modern Warfare 2. I love COD. COD WW2(2017) is one of the best COD Multiplayer experiences there is IMO. I just love it. Black Ops2 comes close because its a classic. I still own MW2 and MW3 and play those regularly (Multiplayer) on PC same goes for Ghosts and Advanced Warfare. I love Multiplayer gameplay for COD games, just something about them but the New Modern Warfare just feels very bland and boring. It doesn't live up to its hype. I bought this for Multiplayer and I got a good deal for it $40 and I feel like I got cheated for my money. Multiplayer is just very bland and boring. I'll just keep playing COD WW2. Buy at your own risk. Multiplayer kinda sucks tho. Expand
  14. Oct 30, 2019
    5
    The campaign is great....when it actually runs. Multiplayer is kinda meh. Same old CoD experience. Nothing really new here except Ground War which seems sort of duct taped onto the side. If you're looking for a new CoD experience you won't really find it here.
  15. Oct 27, 2019
    5
    This is no longer Call of Duty, it reminds me more of an army simulator akin to Arma. You will die in a blink of an eye, every time, it feels like you're always playing hardcore. This is a big problem due to the fact the maps are now huge and complex, there are literally 100 different angles to die from, more often than not you will not see who killed you. Because of this everyone camps,This is no longer Call of Duty, it reminds me more of an army simulator akin to Arma. You will die in a blink of an eye, every time, it feels like you're always playing hardcore. This is a big problem due to the fact the maps are now huge and complex, there are literally 100 different angles to die from, more often than not you will not see who killed you. Because of this everyone camps, it's way too dangerous to move so the gameplay is extremely slow and boring. They've also removed gun fire showing up on the map, and Ghost now makes you immune to UAV even when not moving, so there's just no reason to move ever.

    They've improved almost every aspect of the game, the visuals, audio, animations, performance are all top-notch, but the map design and gameplay are a huge step down, if you're going into this expecting CoD you will be disappointed.
    Expand
  16. Oct 29, 2019
    7
    The story is 5/10 as it's way too short. It's lacking a lot of details. You're just thrown into a war with the goal of capturing the Wolf. No background story about how it all leads to that, so it feels kinda empty.
    I will also mention that the Russians are portrayed a bit too harsh in this game, though I'm not incredibly impacted by it (I'm neither russian nor american). Multiplayer is
    The story is 5/10 as it's way too short. It's lacking a lot of details. You're just thrown into a war with the goal of capturing the Wolf. No background story about how it all leads to that, so it feels kinda empty.
    I will also mention that the Russians are portrayed a bit too harsh in this game, though I'm not incredibly impacted by it (I'm neither russian nor american). Multiplayer is great, loving the gunplay. Spec ops is decent but the most **** part is that it a gamemode has become ps4 exclusive.
    Expand
  17. Oct 29, 2019
    7
    Russian why spoil the evaluation of the game really not playing it it's just a game not that more and then say that you are evil really not playing the game # defense call of duty
  18. Oct 27, 2019
    5
    Graphics. Game looks good.
    I like the story line and the campaign.I however noticed alot of frame drops and stuttering during the campaign so the game is not optimized and 120 gigs or so REALLY ?
    Multiplayer .I never played the beta and last cod i played was ghosts . Ground war has 2 maps on current rotation. 2. The game crashes literally every 4th or fifth game .There have been no
    Graphics. Game looks good.
    I like the story line and the campaign.I however noticed alot of frame drops and stuttering during the campaign so the game is not optimized and 120 gigs or so REALLY ?

    Multiplayer .I never played the beta and last cod i played was ghosts . Ground war has 2 maps on current rotation. 2.

    The game crashes literally every 4th or fifth game .There have been no improvements ttk and the netcode is the same.

    Another grindfest so called multiplayer cod that really lets its superb campaign down .Good thing i never bought this game for the multiplayer .
    Expand
  19. Oct 28, 2019
    6
    Half of the reviews here are butthurt Slavaboos upset that Mother Russia isn't the hero of the story. The game has performance issues on PC, with stuttering being the star of the show. UI is horrendously unusable and often gets below 5 FPS, with being worse on launch but it slowly gets better the more the game is used in a session.

    Graphics are surprisingly good for a CoD game. Gun Play
    Half of the reviews here are butthurt Slavaboos upset that Mother Russia isn't the hero of the story. The game has performance issues on PC, with stuttering being the star of the show. UI is horrendously unusable and often gets below 5 FPS, with being worse on launch but it slowly gets better the more the game is used in a session.

    Graphics are surprisingly good for a CoD game. Gun Play is awesome, guns feel like they are actually doing damage, not tickling the enemy to death. Ground War is awesome, but it only comes with 2 maps and only 250 tickets, so games don't last that long. Great for those wanting a Battlefield-type game without the **** that comes with a Battlefield game.

    Cutscenes in the Single Player are choppy as all hell and are just plain unwatchable with it getting below 5fps.
    Expand
  20. Nov 3, 2019
    6
    Love the campaign, the brutal reality of it and the aggressor Russian forces shown pretty well as well. I thought its going to be another soft approach but its solid. I've noticed Russians having hard time to look at themselves as being an aggressor but you're guys :) you still are a force of evil in this world. I can recall Ukraine and Georgia intervention wars as a recent aggression fromLove the campaign, the brutal reality of it and the aggressor Russian forces shown pretty well as well. I thought its going to be another soft approach but its solid. I've noticed Russians having hard time to look at themselves as being an aggressor but you're guys :) you still are a force of evil in this world. I can recall Ukraine and Georgia intervention wars as a recent aggression from you and many other smaller before that. As a modern warfare subject this game nails it. I actually love how Russians go nuts over it - truth hurts lol. Multiplayer is mediocre - for 12 years old. No strategy just pew pew camp camp pew pew and thats it. Wish campaign would be 6 hrs more longer - to hell with multiplayer. Expand
  21. Oct 31, 2019
    5
    Cool game. I like storyline in the mission. Fantastic gameplay and realistic person.
  22. Oct 31, 2019
    5
    Говно выпустили недопиленным. Присутствие постоянных вылетов и кривая оптимизация не дают возможности получать фан. Вот бы не просто хотеть, а поиграть.
  23. Nov 4, 2019
    5
    You know guys? Yes, creators are quite politic, but if you have a view at that COD without politics and russophobia that game have quite a good story (i see all characters as a bunch of pixels) and normal MP. And yes, I am from MOTHER RUSSIA XDDD))) But I'm against of changing the History
  24. Nov 14, 2019
    6
    Multiplayer review updated: Can't vote on maps still. The developers have been pushing out updates to fix many issues one of those being the gun balance. I still think they have a long way to go but things are getting better. The Skill Based Matchmaking has divided the community quite a bit but I don't mind it at all. I prefer always playing against sweaty players but I would like to seeMultiplayer review updated: Can't vote on maps still. The developers have been pushing out updates to fix many issues one of those being the gun balance. I still think they have a long way to go but things are getting better. The Skill Based Matchmaking has divided the community quite a bit but I don't mind it at all. I prefer always playing against sweaty players but I would like to see them fix the weapon balance more so 50% of the sweats stop running overkill + shotguns. The M4 is still a laser and can still out snipe all but the best snipers. If they buffed Focus perk that would change, right now the focus perk is almost usless because it only offers flinch resistance and not 100% flinch nullification. With guns like the Kar98 and MK2 you live and die by the first shot, at medium and long distances an M4 will smack you with enough bullets to cause a flinch significant enough to throw off your first shot, if your shot hits anywhere besides the upper chest or head then you are 95% of the time a dead person. Focus definitely needs a buff to make the single shot rifles more viable. Footsteps sounds are improving. 50% of the weapon attachments are still useless when all that matters are high ADS speed and controling horizontal recoil (Recoil Stablization). Camping strategies are still annoying and rewarding as hell because of claymores and shotguns. They need to move the Overkill perk to another perk class or take shotguns out of the game. After putting in a lot of hours into the semiautos and bolt actions (FAL, Kar98, MK2, EBR) the hit reg issues have become more obvious. At least 2-3x a night I will fire the Kar98 or MK2 into the chest of a stationary enemy and I will get no hit registration, the same thing will happen for headshots at least once a night. The hit reg issues are less obvious with full auto weapons but I've had nights where half of a mag will not register.

    Singleplayer review: I finally got around to playing the singleplayer or playing as much of it as I could. At one level/mission I ran into a critical error that keeps happening, after reading about the issue it seems that the only solution is to resinstall the game but since I'm on DSL and the game is 120+gb I won't be doing that anytime soon. What I have played of the singleplayer ranged from typical and boring call of duty missions to interesting reality simulations. The intro to piccadilly square and clearing some house with night vision were insanely immersive and much more unique than the typical COD gameplay of having a bunch of bots run at you. Regarding the propaganda that many of these reviewers are unhappy with, I don't know what to say other than Call of Duty has most likely been a recruiting tool for the DOD since the original modern warfare so you're going to get tons of DOD bull****.
    Expand
  25. Dec 3, 2019
    7
    This is only about singleplayer because the multiplayer is not for me. I love the feeling of the gameplay. It has some really good missions and some not as good. I'm not fully into the story but it's ok. I get what they were trying to do but it fails to get me fully into it. Many russians have complained about the story and I get what they are saying but it's still a game. Russians canThis is only about singleplayer because the multiplayer is not for me. I love the feeling of the gameplay. It has some really good missions and some not as good. I'm not fully into the story but it's ok. I get what they were trying to do but it fails to get me fully into it. Many russians have complained about the story and I get what they are saying but it's still a game. Russians can create whatever game story they like without me complaining about it. I think it's silly to take such offense by it.

    The campaign had some really nice missions with nice graphics and gameplay. I just wish there were more of them because Spec Ops is not fun for singleplayer.
    Expand
  26. Nov 7, 2019
    5
    Campaign is controversial, fun but unrealistic. I wish the American's were painted in a dark light with the Russians, there are plenty of terrible things they have done to syria to try and combat terrorists.

    It is worth playing through once for the shock value, but it is just **** on Russia. The missions where you play as the British characters are amazing though, wish there were more
    Campaign is controversial, fun but unrealistic. I wish the American's were painted in a dark light with the Russians, there are plenty of terrible things they have done to syria to try and combat terrorists.

    It is worth playing through once for the shock value, but it is just **** on Russia. The missions where you play as the British characters are amazing though, wish there were more ones like it, you could make a gamemode out of it (no spoilers).

    The multiplayer is mediocre, a campers paradise with no teamplay, you get punished for run and gunning and capturing objectives and rewarded for camping and getting kills for killstreaks. If I wanted this I would go play MW2 as it's maps are great. it will keep you entertained till you realise the games maps are crap. I was interested for a week or 2 but I'm now back to battlefield as it just plays better.
    Expand
  27. Nov 15, 2019
    6
    Campaign is brutal and fun but feels propaganda-ish rooting for USA-UK and make you hate Russia. Honestly
  28. Nov 16, 2019
    5
    Awesome gameplay with lackluster story. There are some cool missions here and there, but the entire theme is just problematic.

    The most ironic part is that the dev introduced you to "Highway of death", claiming that "The Russian bombed it during the invasion, killing the people trying to escape", while the real "Highway of death" in real world was bombed by US allied forces. Like some
    Awesome gameplay with lackluster story. There are some cool missions here and there, but the entire theme is just problematic.

    The most ironic part is that the dev introduced you to "Highway of death", claiming that "The Russian bombed it during the invasion, killing the people trying to escape", while the real "Highway of death" in real world was bombed by US allied forces. Like some comments said, "Americans being Americans: Blaming the Russians". The political theme is just absurd. There is no "both sides of the story" as mentioned by producer before game release. The game clearly depicts war crime as one side, and justice as the other.

    Multiplayer part. To be honest, this is probably the first CoD multiplayer I have ever played seriously. The ground war is just full of campers.

    Battle Field has longer TTK, and does not have kill-streak, so campers in BF really cannot make a huge difference. They are just some nails that can be easily dealt with. It is balanced.

    In this game, however, Time To Kill is much shorter, and there are kill-streaks that allow players to use all sorts of war machines to melt enemies. Therefore, the dominant strategy in ground war is just to stay in place, grab high-alert perk in case of appearance of backstabbers, grab a sniper or DMR, kill a bunch of enemies, and summon some missiles or VTOLs to melt enemies for your team. The mode is infested with campers, and that forces players to quit or become a camper. Especially the district map, the entire game just becomes Call of Duty: Rooftop Warfare.

    You can expect campers to snipe you from rooftops. You can expect campers to make a camp in an abandoned building. You can expect campers to stay next to an enemy point to kill new spawns. In BF, TTK is longer, so you have time to react, and have counter measures to deal with that. In this game, if campers got their crosshair on you, you are dead.
    Expand
  29. Nov 12, 2019
    6
    + Solid gunplay, there are lots of weapon customization options, multiplayer is pretty good.

    - Graphics looks unimpressive, even battlefield 4 has better visuals imo, single player mode requires internet connection
  30. Nov 25, 2019
    6
    я изменил отзыв, так как раньше у меня сложилось мнение что игра сушествует только для кемперов, прошло время, я изучил карты, теперь все хорошо, кемперы вымераюший вид.

    также мне понравилась тактическая составляюшая, раньше я только рашил в предыдуших частях, сейчас мне нравиться использовать карты в свою пользу, это приятно, и скорость прицеливания не являеться проблемой, когда я
    я изменил отзыв, так как раньше у меня сложилось мнение что игра сушествует только для кемперов, прошло время, я изучил карты, теперь все хорошо, кемперы вымераюший вид.

    также мне понравилась тактическая составляюшая, раньше я только рашил в предыдуших частях, сейчас мне нравиться использовать карты в свою пользу, это приятно, и скорость прицеливания не являеться проблемой, когда я прокачал пушку то запросто мог ускорить прицеливание модулями.

    плохо что нет браузера серверов, и выделеных серверов, я не хочу играть с пингом 60>, из-за этого 6/10

    игра хорошая, но я хочу играть на чьем нибудь сервере где бой длиться дольше, не люблю короткие бои.
    ---------------------
    I changed the review, because earlier I had the opinion that the game exists only for campers, time passed, I studied the maps, now everything is fine, campers are extinct.

    I also liked the tactical component, I used to only rush in the previous parts, now I like to use cards to my advantage, it's nice, and the aiming speed is not a problem, when I pumped the gun, it could easily accelerate the aiming with modules.

    it’s bad that there is no browser of servers, and dedicated servers, I do not want to play with ping 60>, because of this 6/10

    the game is good, but I want to play on someone’s server where the fight lasts longer, I don’t like short fights.
    Expand
  31. Dec 10, 2019
    5
    The campaign is great, but far too short, spec ops is an absolute joke in every way imaginable and the multiplayer goes back and forth between being a ton of fun and an absolutely miserable God awful bug ridden experience that will make you question why you ever bothered playing this game past the first hour, the latter more frequently than the former.
  32. Dec 8, 2019
    6
    Oh man... After getting this game I can see why Russians are really upset about this. It's blatantly about the Syrian war and randomly paints Russians as psychopathic killers who must be killed.... It never really mentions the Syrian regime itself. Then it paints white helmets and the resistance fighters as good guys. Then of course it has a terrorist group closely resembling IS but theirOh man... After getting this game I can see why Russians are really upset about this. It's blatantly about the Syrian war and randomly paints Russians as psychopathic killers who must be killed.... It never really mentions the Syrian regime itself. Then it paints white helmets and the resistance fighters as good guys. Then of course it has a terrorist group closely resembling IS but their name is basically Al Qaeda.

    It's kind of **** up to make a game about a current conflict. It's also **** up to just paint one side as evil and one side as good. Conflicts are always full of grey areas.

    I don't really know what they were thinking with the campaign... It's **** crazy honestly. It's like someone kind of read some articles about the Syrian conflict and made some very well made game about it that has very little to do with reality.

    The game itself is polished and online/single player are both well made. But yeah, now I know why russians are up in arms about this game. Its **** up. America committed plenty of war crimes in Afghanistan/Iraq. But I guess you're SAS so you're english and don't get blamed for that? This game is all over the place.
    Expand
  33. Dec 25, 2019
    6
    Single player campaign is great but short. Co-op feels tacked on and is just waves of enemies, but it's not terrible. Multiplayer is such a mixed bag. The guns feel great, and the attachments are robust, but the maps range from horrible to mediocre. These are some of the worst maps I've played in a multiplayer shooter. You will find yourself often just leaving lobbies when certain maps popSingle player campaign is great but short. Co-op feels tacked on and is just waves of enemies, but it's not terrible. Multiplayer is such a mixed bag. The guns feel great, and the attachments are robust, but the maps range from horrible to mediocre. These are some of the worst maps I've played in a multiplayer shooter. You will find yourself often just leaving lobbies when certain maps pop up.. more than likely PIccadilly or Euphrates Bridge, both IMO the worst maps ever put into a COD game.

    Other major issues include the use of SBMM, skills based match making, which results in long wait times for matches and poorly balanced games. You will often find yourself getting crushed by sweaty players, then in a lobby full of bad players you stomp on, then back to the lobby full of MLG pros. You won't get a chance to just chill and enjoy the game because you're constantly sweating. This game was made for streamers, basically.

    All in all, it's a very mediocre game with some really great production value. The SBMM and maps just ruin it. I do not recommend paying full price, but if you could grab it on sale for like $20, it might be worth it. Don't buy the battlepass, it takes a stupidly long time to level up.
    Expand
  34. Jan 8, 2020
    6
    Сюжет то еще говно, куда интересней сетевая составляющая игры. Карты просто убожество, везде кемперы, имбовые ганы не фиксят, режим Наземная война то еще калище, особенно для тех, кто хоть раз в жизни играл в BF, техника крайне убогая, выглядит так же, как и управляется, убого. Однако оружие, как по ощущениям, так и по анимациям, внешке, просто супер. Ни в одной игре такого классногоСюжет то еще говно, куда интересней сетевая составляющая игры. Карты просто убожество, везде кемперы, имбовые ганы не фиксят, режим Наземная война то еще калище, особенно для тех, кто хоть раз в жизни играл в BF, техника крайне убогая, выглядит так же, как и управляется, убого. Однако оружие, как по ощущениям, так и по анимациям, внешке, просто супер. Ни в одной игре такого классного оружия не было. Карты хоть и убоги, но есть и нормальные, к сожалению, разрабы голосование за карту убрали, видимо хотят, чтобы мы играли на всяком говне, ведь если не будем, то они зря его клепали. Кастомизация оружия так же лучшая, что когда-либо я видел в шутерах, однако зря они убрали систему престижей, качаться теперь менее интересно, ввели кучу монитизации, скинов в платном магазине очень много и они очень дорого стоят, конечно же, куда без боевого пропуска( офк платного), королевскую битву до сих пор не ввели. Комьюнити просто убожество, полно глиномесов - кемперов и тех, кто бегает с дробиками или мп-5. На данный момент у игры больше минусов, чем плюсов, играть не советую. Expand
  35. Feb 3, 2020
    5
    Multi Player Review

    Activision greed strikes again, ok to start with there is once again no dedicated servers, and the netcode is once again a problem due to them not spending anymore then bare bones on server bandwidth despite having 1 BILLION in revenue. And every second or third game lobby i have entered has teleporting/connectivity issues for everyone throughout the entire game.
    Multi Player Review

    Activision greed strikes again, ok to start with there is once again no dedicated servers, and the netcode is once again a problem due to them not spending anymore then bare bones on server bandwidth despite having 1 BILLION in revenue. And every second or third game lobby i have entered has teleporting/connectivity issues for everyone throughout the entire game.

    Activision once again has predatory gambling elements incorporated into a shooter every aspect of the game is for sale weapons pay to progress XP boosters & tier unlocks are so slow it literally takes you 10 hours of actual game play to progress 10 tiers, and of coarse you can spend well over $100 AUD dollars to unlock them all at once. the "season pass" is locked behind their pedocashe currency which will cost you $30 AUD to acquire. They also drip feed you every 5 tier unlocks 100cp points to further entice you to spend money.

    There is no map selection, every game is followed by 5 minutes to organize another lobby because instead of being able to just choose the game mode you wish to play there is multiple selections causing you to constantly be reassigned to a new lobby.

    Manipulative Matchmaking causes anyone who starts the game as a new players and manages to get over a 1 KD will be placed with level 155 sweaty gamer's who have been playing the game since launch and utilize the mostly pay 2 win weapons and yes this game also pins the people who don't pay 2 win against people who use pay 2 win weapons to psychologically manipulate them into spending money on acquiring them.

    the only thing people commend them for is making it cross platform but they are not doing this for player convenience it's for profits you can not milk the "whales" that pay big on PC if the game is dead 3 months after launch.

    Black Ops V will need to remove / go back to earlier call of duty's multiplayer where the player is in control of the game and is not preyed upon like a catholic priest to a child. This however will not happen as it is too profitable to push gambling upon the young and the addicted adults mind. The new generation of gamer's have no idea what a real online game was before 2007 and therefor will continue to buy any slop that is heavily marketed and or falsely advertised and or as being suitable for children/teens despite the -gambling- "surprise mechanics" that are placed into the game after the games initial release.
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Dec 6, 2019
    81
    It’s hard to tell why there was so much ado about single-player campaign: controversial topics aside, it’s completely mediocre. On the other hand, the multiplayer mode is one of the best in latest instalments of Call of Duty series. [Issue#241, p.49]
  2. CD-Action
    Nov 25, 2019
    85
    It’s undeniably well-made albeit controversial part of the series. One that tries to break the mold and open itself to another kind of player. It’s worth of praise, even if just for that. I recommend it especially to Battlefield players – you may be pleasantly surprised. [13/2019, p.50]
  3. Nov 11, 2019
    79
    Modern Warfare is not a stellar game, but decent first-person shooters about modern conflicts are so few and far between that it’s surprisingly satisfying.