Call of Duty: Warzone Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 526 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Warzone – a new combat experience where up to 150 players take the role of a veteran Tier 1 Operator and drop in to the dense and sprawling world of Verdansk. Warzone is packed with non-stop action that’s free-to-play and free-for-everyone. You do not need to own the full versionWelcome to Warzone – a new combat experience where up to 150 players take the role of a veteran Tier 1 Operator and drop in to the dense and sprawling world of Verdansk. Warzone is packed with non-stop action that’s free-to-play and free-for-everyone. You do not need to own the full version of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare to download, play and enjoy Warzone. In Battle Royale, fight to be the last squad standing while escaping the deadly gas in the swiftly closing circle with up to 150 players. In Plunder, the race is on to collect the most in-match Cash by looting across the map, taking down enemies to steal their Cash, and completing in-match Contracts. Warzone takes place in Verdansk, an expansive city with multiple named zones and well over 300 points of interest. Each zone features distinct landmarks like the Gorengard Lumber Yard or the Gora Dam; the zones take place across different environment types like cities and rural areas for unique engagements. Change up your drop location in each match to get a better lay of the land and take advantage of what Verdansk has to offer. If you need to get somewhere fast in Warzone, the best method is a vehicle. There are five vehicles all with varying levels of protection, speed, seating, and off-roading capability. Each vehicle has a health meter and when it reaches zero, the vehicle explodes and flames out. Needlessly to say, if the health of your vehicle is depleting, bail out before the impending explosion. [Activision] Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Call of Duty: Vanguard & Warzone - The Pacific Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Mar 23, 2020
    90
    A brilliant battle royale that in many ways copies its competitors but also brings great ideas of its own and doesn’t let you catch your breath for a second. Its connection with the regular Modern Warfare multiplayer mode is just the icing on the cake.
  2. CD-Action
    Apr 17, 2020
    90
    It’s a Call of Duty battle royale which uses the franchise’s DNA better than ever before. From the first match onward it just feels like home. [05/2020, p.46]
  3. Apr 17, 2020
    90
    Activision wisely used his second chance at providing Call of Duty Battle Royale game. Besides great gunplay, players are offered with some pretty interesting innovations in the genre, such as mini objectives and fighting for a chance to get back in the Gulag.
  4. Mar 28, 2020
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Mar 13, 2020
    82
    Call of Duty: Warzone reaches new heights in battle royale by ditching backpacks and throwing me in a Gulag.
  6. Edge Magazine
    May 22, 2020
    80
    Derivative and at times off-puttingly insistent and flimsy unlocks, it's nonetheless some of Infinity Ward's most considered design in years, and a sign it's ready to get back in the fight. [Issue#346, p.102]
  7. Mar 12, 2020
    60
    Warzone is, like its skull-masked, kevlar-tucking “operators”, entirely solid. It bloody well should be, given its pedigree. But there is remarkably little interesting here – aside from flourishes like the sinister gulag section – to command our attention. It’s not particularly beautiful, and makes up for that with enormity. Sure, this is a CoD game we’re talking about, so fantastical theme park aesthetics were never an option, but nevertheless there’s a lack of character here that is in no short supply in other games of this genre.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 239
  1. Mar 12, 2020
    10
    One of the best battle royale, fluid like Apex Legends and kinda realistic like PUBG. A lot of quest in the map and good gameplay... I did notOne of the best battle royale, fluid like Apex Legends and kinda realistic like PUBG. A lot of quest in the map and good gameplay... I did not have any crash or bug, but a lot of people yes. Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2020
    7
    07/10......................................................................
  3. Apr 26, 2020
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was first amazed by the game until i enabled the crossplay. i have over thousands of hours playing games like Battlefield(all of them), Counter-strike 1.6/Source/GO, PUBG(i bought the game on the first day it came out as Alpha), APEX, COD, MOH and many many more i've got over 50% of my free time weekly playing video games, having over 300 games on steam/origin/epic games/uplay/battle.net/PS4/xbox.
    This game got potential to be probably the best of this kind, its still an Beta version, they got a lot to solve/fix: Hackers, Sound, jumping bugs, lag, disconnection problems, the social menu doesnt work properly, the reporting system its a joke, as you gotta scroll down a list of hundreads of players to find the name of that **** that was hacking( Crossplay always off now), i had like dozens of times bugs picking up gas masks, armor, guns...sometimes i cant use armor plates , worst is picking up a weapon and i cant see the gun, the cross or even the arms/hands and i can shoot without any visual over what im holding there. i know its a Beta im happy the game is free because i wouldnt buy another COD in my life yes its true, but if they want me to spend some € on season pass they gotta fix stuff. what about trying to get alone on BR Trios or Quads and only 1 out of 5 times getting squad members??? Fun??? Right??? or just starting with some guys they die and they just leave game and leave you alone even when you had money to get them back!? Some punishment system would be awesome just like Riot does 20min delay on getting the next match...i've over 30 wins on over 300 BR, i still find the BR a good thing to have fun with friends...i just met like dozens of players from all over my country and we play now mostly everyday and chat, the game needs a better social plattform! Report System!!! ANTI-CHEAT!!! PUNISHMENT SYSTEM FOR LOSERS THAT QUIT AND LEAVE OTHERS SOLO!!! BETTER AUTO-MATCHING PLAYERS!!! 1-5 GAMES YOU GET A FULL SQUAD WHILE YOU TRY BR TRIO/QUADS!!! I SMELL ANOTHER PUBG...it was FUN it had potential , but now its a cheap Chinese game.

    STAY SAFE - STAY HOME
    Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2020
    0
    100gig+ and it's completely unplayable. So stuttery and laggy that you can't do anything. Turning every setting to low and changing gfx cards100gig+ and it's completely unplayable. So stuttery and laggy that you can't do anything. Turning every setting to low and changing gfx cards settings didn't change anything. The last time it stuttered, it froze so hard that it kicked me off the server. Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2020
    0
    The game is damn good, however, it seems you're punished for being a good player and not using auto aim, since people that use it haveThe game is damn good, however, it seems you're punished for being a good player and not using auto aim, since people that use it have guaranteed headshot. There are a lot of bugs and the auto aim ruins the game. It should have separate servers for real players and for people that don't know how to aim. I'm really disappointed, this could be a great game. Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2020
    0
    Game is unplayable. My friend is having the same issue. Game crashes to desktop with no error for no reason. We've found loads of threadsGame is unplayable. My friend is having the same issue. Game crashes to desktop with no error for no reason. We've found loads of threads where other people are having the same issue. Waste of HD space until they fix it. Going to uninstall for now until I hear it's been patched. Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2020
    0
    game constantly crashes. fixed the problem by updating radeon software, worked fine. shut pc off, turned it on later --> same problem again,game constantly crashes. fixed the problem by updating radeon software, worked fine. shut pc off, turned it on later --> same problem again, except that now everything is updated and i am not willing to make some major changes in any files as described in some 10min youtube videos. even worse than "the division" (1) Expand

See all 239 User Reviews

Trailers