Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 19, 2022
    100
    Chained Echoes is a fresh, smart adventure that celebrates classic JRPGs while not being afraid to push into new directions. It's sometimes hilarious, sometimes heartbreaking - and always fun. It's a must-play.
  2. Dec 7, 2022
    100
    Chained Echoes is without a doubt the best RPG I've played all year, and should be pushed to the top of your backlog immediately.
  3. Dec 7, 2022
    95
    Chained Echoes is a wildly ambitious and impressive turn-based RPG that, aside from minor faults, sticks the landing on all fronts. From its terrific and constantly thought-provoking battle system with well-implemented challenge, to its strongly written cast and masterclass worldbuilding, this is an essential must-play for any fan of the genre that I sincerely hope doesn’t pass anyone’s radar.
  4. Jan 3, 2023
    92
    Chained Echoes is simply one of the best games of the genre, worthy to be remembered like the others iconic classics.
  5. Jan 17, 2023
    90
    Considering the hubris of Chained Echoes, it should not work, but it does, and beautifully. Matthias Linda has created a broad world that is ripe for further exploration. The only worry now is that the bar is set too high, but it's hard to imagine the team creating anything with less passion and polish. After playing through a creative, familiar, yet distinct game that engages players in nearly every way, one can only hope that there will be more from the brilliant team behind Chained Echoes.
  6. Jan 3, 2023
    90
    A product of a 7 years of hard work, Chained Echoes is a very, VERY successful debut game for a game made by a single person. I recommend it not only to JRPG fans, but to anyone who is interested. Who knows, maybe your entry into the JRPG genre will be Chained Echoes.
  7. Jan 3, 2023
    90
    I’ve played many impressive games over the years, but I don’t think I’ve ever been quite as impressed by a game as I have with Chained Echoes. The sheer quality and quantity of content is honestly kind of insane for a solo developer, and while there are some bugs here and there, it all runs pretty damn smoothly too! Whether you’re looking for a nostalgic adventure or just want to play a fresh, new indie RPG, Chained Echoes is a gem that should not be missed.
  8. Dec 19, 2022
    90
    Chained Echoes looks, sounds, and feels good. The 16-bit art looks great and lends itself to a game of this style, the soundtrack is absolutely beautiful, and the game’s exploration and combat systems flow very smoothly. I had a hard time putting it down, and when I wasn’t playing it, I kept wanting to go back. Naturally, Chained Echoes is not without its flaws—there’s no way to review tutorial screens or lore and battles feel more reliant on luck than skill—but I had a great experience. It wears its SNES-era JRPG influences like badges of honor, while also forging an identity all its own.
  9. Dec 15, 2022
    90
    An end-of-year Japan RPG highlight: Chained Echoes from solo developer Matthias Linda is epic, emotional, challenging and gripping. Mechanically to the point and narratively mature - a real JRPG gem.
  10. Dec 11, 2022
    90
    Chained Echoes delivers an almost flawless classic JRPG experience that reminds us of the best parts of the 90s era games. The typical genre problems have been worked around beautifully and the gameplay is kept fresh and masterfully portioned and balanced.
  11. Dec 7, 2022
    89
    If you love classical RPGs from the 16 bit era, you're going to have a big time with Chained Echoes. It takes all that have aged real bad in the genre (random combats, pace...) and updates with an incredible taste, with great plot and gameplay. Not in vain it has been in development for 7 years, and it pays out.
  12. Jan 27, 2023
    88
    Chained Echoes is a well-made turn based RPG with 16-bit nostalgia and classic JRPG identity. Although there are some elements that are not quite fitted to the story as it flows, it is a highly recommended title for those who love JRPGs.
  13. Dec 13, 2022
    85
    Chained Echoes is a deep JRPG that will satisfy fans of the genre but is easy enough to understand to attract novices. The combat system, centered Overdrive balancing, is interesting and pretty fast for the genre. The universe, with its mix of influences and retro presentation, offers plenty of secrets and details. I would have appreciated fewer battles but with bigger consequences and, maybe, increased difficulty. But for anyone who wants a solid party-driven role-playing experience, Chained Echoes is a good choice, made with a lot of love, able to keep players engaged for its 30 hours long story.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 97
  2. Negative: 9 out of 97
  1. Dec 11, 2022
    10
    It's a great game. It is a game with a pretty good fighting method, map design, and above all, high completeness. I think this game could beIt's a great game. It is a game with a pretty good fighting method, map design, and above all, high completeness. I think this game could be nominated for the 2023 TGA Indie Game of the Year. Full Review »
  2. Dec 10, 2022
    10
    The best turned based RPG I have played since persona5. It’s a true throwback that doesn’t hold your hand. Lots of exploration and a funThe best turned based RPG I have played since persona5. It’s a true throwback that doesn’t hold your hand. Lots of exploration and a fun battle system. Anyone giving this game a score lower than an 8 is trolling. Full Review »
  3. Dec 13, 2022
    10
    The creative genius feels especially present. The direction cut from the slaps, the turtle race and the homage to previous RPG legends remindThe creative genius feels especially present. The direction cut from the slaps, the turtle race and the homage to previous RPG legends remind me that I'm not slogging through a cliche. I'm frequently left in these moments, savoring the game's efforts to impress me.

    The source material respects itself as much as its homages respect previous masterpieces. The world building is thoughtful. It is succinctly detailed without excessive exposition; you are informed and then left to either follow along or Google to catch up with the plot. I am reminded of Final Fantasy Tactics not only from character art but from how that plot unfolds through clean dialogue.

    I could go on forever about other stuff but I hate walls of text. I'll say that the characters don't piss me off, the combat is the right amount complex - not overloaded with clutter like Xenoblade 3 and the music I've left idling while making tea/coffee because I've got COVID and feel like hot garbage.

    This is a love letter to Deck 13 and Matthias Linda. Take my money. Thanks for helping me through COVID. I will be watching what you guys do moving forward. This is a hot take but, to me, you are one of the modern greats akin to FromSoftware or Santa Monica Studio.
    Full Review »