User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 42
  2. Negative: 6 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2021
    10
    This game was a complete surprise, and I went from my intial "wtf is this?" to pure amazement. I really enjoyed the fresh approach and the crazy humour. The voices of the actors match greatly to the overall environment. Storyline was well written too. This was one of the gems for me in 2020 and showed me that there is still hope for creative game-development.
  2. Nov 6, 2020
    10
    What a great game! I saw the trailer for this a week before the release and it captured my interest. The game Nior style with animals is very intriguing. The game itself is a detective point and click with a 1930's jazz soundtrack. The character interactions and dialog is funny and has great banter with hints at history and backstory. Every new screen is filled with mystery and you have toWhat a great game! I saw the trailer for this a week before the release and it captured my interest. The game Nior style with animals is very intriguing. The game itself is a detective point and click with a 1930's jazz soundtrack. The character interactions and dialog is funny and has great banter with hints at history and backstory. Every new screen is filled with mystery and you have to play to see what happens next. I highly recommend Chicken Police if you want something new to play or if you enjoy point and click games. Its a blast!. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2020
    9
    Fun. Just pure fun, with clever writing, splendid artwork, astonishing voiceover, and a beautiful (jazzy) score.
    Oh, and it's probably one of the most noir thing, you ever played!
  4. Nov 19, 2020
    10
    One of the best quests I've ever player. So beautiful, so perfect. Very intriguing story, hard puzzles and marvelous graphics. Especially voice acting. And my goodness Jazz soundtrack. I love it.
  5. Nov 18, 2020
    10
    cluckin hell
    i loved every second of this game it has an intriguing story, a loveable cast and an amazing soundtrack
    if you like graphic novels, detective stories and noir settings then this is a must buy! canĀ“t wait for the next adventure
  6. Nov 6, 2020
    10
    So, I don't know what to expect from this, I just loved the trailers, and I tried the demo back in 2019 on Gamescom. But boy... the full game is another league! An intriguing plot within a deeply realized world and super fun characters who you just can't help but love. The voice-acting is superb, the dialog is witty, the music is amazing, and overall, the atmosphere sucks you inSo, I don't know what to expect from this, I just loved the trailers, and I tried the demo back in 2019 on Gamescom. But boy... the full game is another league! An intriguing plot within a deeply realized world and super fun characters who you just can't help but love. The voice-acting is superb, the dialog is witty, the music is amazing, and overall, the atmosphere sucks you in immediately, as you hit New Game. (to be totally honest, it will probably suck you in right as you arrive in the main menu) We need more indie gems like this, with a heavy narrative focus and such a big heart, as Chicken Police has. 10/10. (indie)Game of the Year! Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2020
    9
    Great story graphic is really good, game doesn't take a lot of space, also riddles are really well made
  8. Mar 2, 2021
    8
    I like the art, music and audio a lot, also enjoyed the gameplaying, the only drawback is the ending. It feels pretty plain after going through all the investigations.
  9. Jan 28, 2021
    9
    A good point-and-click adventure with exceptional art-style and voiceacting.
  10. Nov 19, 2020
    10
    The game is fantastic! The artstyle is the best, the story is good, the dialogues are really good and the music.....I recommend it to everyone!
  11. Nov 8, 2020
    10
    Somewhat forgettable puzzles and minigames (that zipper game, though!!!) but one of the best story and atmosphere of the recent years! Hands down! The music is also fantastic, the pacing is great, the overall flow of the game is just ... perfect. The characters are loveable and funny (Ziiiipp is the best!!!), and yet the story is surprisingly deep with a cool world to explore. Do yourselfSomewhat forgettable puzzles and minigames (that zipper game, though!!!) but one of the best story and atmosphere of the recent years! Hands down! The music is also fantastic, the pacing is great, the overall flow of the game is just ... perfect. The characters are loveable and funny (Ziiiipp is the best!!!), and yet the story is surprisingly deep with a cool world to explore. Do yourself a favor, play the game - there is a demo too - support the developers because this is a genuinely unique and lovingly crafted experience! Expand
  12. Nov 13, 2020
    10
    What a fantastic game. Noir, detective, atmospheric. Amazing world, animations, story. Sin City style scenes. Exceptionally humor. Unforgettable voice acting.
    The most pleasant surprise of the year!

    Recommended absolutely
  13. Feb 20, 2021
    10
    an instant classic! visuals and gameplay are wonderful. The story is quite linear but enjoyable to follow
  14. Sep 5, 2021
    10
    Absolutely fantastic little game. It's more of a visual novel than anything else, there are literally just a couple of puzzles, and not very good at that.
    But the noir atmosphere, the dialogs, music and voice acting were just amazing. I literally chuckled through the entire game. Spot on.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. CD-Action
    Jun 9, 2021
    80
    Everything Blacksad: Under the Skin did ineptly, Chicken Police does perfectly. This Hungarian visual novel offers much more than I expected: a feast for eyes, a great duo of detectives, polished and varied supporting characters, and a story that treats social issues (e.g. systemic racism) seriously. [01/2021, p.36]
  2. May 21, 2021
    80
    In my tiny pantheon of visual novel/adventure games, Chicken Police - Paint it RED! has a spot.
  3. Dec 16, 2020
    80
    A classic point and click adventure with an original and iconic art style, as well as presenting a plot that will hook you until it is completely resolved.