Chivalry: Medieval Warfare Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 936 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: CHIVALRY: Medieval Warfare is a first-person medieval combat game that seeks to deliver the intensity of epic hollywood medieval block busters to the hands of a gamer. CHIVALRY hurls the player into a fictional yet realistic medieval world where the Agathian Knights are battling against theCHIVALRY: Medieval Warfare is a first-person medieval combat game that seeks to deliver the intensity of epic hollywood medieval block busters to the hands of a gamer. CHIVALRY hurls the player into a fictional yet realistic medieval world where the Agathian Knights are battling against the newly formed Mason Order for control of the lands of Agatha. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Chivalry: Medieval Warfare - Release Date Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    90
    I'm rather enamoured by the unique flavour of online combat presented by Chivalry. It's fresh and fun, and like the very best games is easy to get into yet incredibly hard to master. I've honestly not had this much competitive online joy since Battlefield 3, and to think a $25 indie title can provide a level of enjoyment up there with a $100 million game like Battlefield is testimony to the skill of the developer.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Dec 12, 2012
    85
    Excellent multiplayer slasher, full of sound, fury and blood. More object maps, please. [Dec 2012]
  3. PC Gamer
    Feb 1, 2013
    81
    Chivalry is Quake to War of the Roses' Battlefield, and those seeking a faster-paced bloodier experience will undoubtedly prefer Chivalry's type of steel. [March 2013, p.65]
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is up to a better start than War of the Roses. Torn Banner Studios have shunned any historical accuracy or character editing options, but their fighting system is easier to learn, while at the same time offering a surprising amount of depth. Dynamic rather than authentic, these skirmishes are much easier to enjoy.
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    78
    It offers loads of fun and a simple but deep at the same time fighting system. Still far from perfect, but it could get closer to it with a few patches or updates.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    75
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is an interesting first person melee combat simulation, quite similar to the Mount & Blade series. The game made by Torn Banner Studios is funny and beautiful but doesn't have its own identity.
  7. Nov 9, 2012
    59
    Compared to the similar War of the Roses you get tighter controls and more game modes, but it lacks in entertainment value.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 309
  1. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is awesome if you like the genre, buy it! This game make me laugh to death every times I play it! In my opinion,Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is awesome if you like the genre, buy it! This game make me laugh to death every times I play it! In my opinion, this game is a bomb of fun and laughing! I bought it one year ago and still play it, what to say more... FORR AGATHAAAA!!! (charge and chop a head off with your sword) LOL :) Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing! I haven't had this much fun playing video games in years, and I play a lot. Its not a complex game, nor does it takeThis game is amazing! I haven't had this much fun playing video games in years, and I play a lot. Its not a complex game, nor does it take itself too seriously, but the game is better for it. Charging into battle while your character shouts a war cry, or laughs like a lunatic is hilariously awesome. I find myself laughing with a big smile on my face the whole time I'm playing this game. Like I said, it is not complex, but there is enough depth for characters to learn new skills and practice techniques to become terrors on the battlefield, and yet not make the game aggravating for other players. If you die, its usually pretty clear how you made a mistake and offered yourself on a silver platter. Anyways, I could go on and on. Do yourself a favor and at least look into this game. Watch some reviews on Youtube, and ignore the haters on this site. Its awesome! Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Buy this game! The combat is better than any other melee game I've played. its hard to believe this is from an indie studio. If you like fastBuy this game! The combat is better than any other melee game I've played. its hard to believe this is from an indie studio. If you like fast paced, smart, melee combat, this game is for you. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    Really good game,Combat system is very simple but sufficient,maybe archery is more difficult to learn but if u prefer close combat u should beReally good game,Combat system is very simple but sufficient,maybe archery is more difficult to learn but if u prefer close combat u should be happy,Is fast,brutal and gore.Tons of blood and chopped limbs.Graphic is average in my opinion and is far away from new high budget games.If u like simple and brutal but very intense entertaintment this game is for u.There is still few bugs and problems but next patches should solve the problem. Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2013
    7
    I' m playing with unity , blender and udk myself, and from an indie developer perspective, I'm really impressed by this title: VisuallyI' m playing with unity , blender and udk myself, and from an indie developer perspective, I'm really impressed by this title: Visually stunning, great concept, great mechanics. What it lacks , for me, is about polishness. That you can feel from the tutorial : I stucked there for ages, before understanding that to start a training in the class session I had to press "i" instead of "e" , as displayed in the game tips messages. I'm also playing in italian, and some sentences are translated, while others not. I would have honestly not having the "italian" option, then (but steam setted automatically). About attacks etc, I feel everything is a bit buggy. To me, this could have been a really great title, if only coders had spend little more time on it, before actually selling the game. . My best compliments to the 3d artists and animators (animations, to me, looks great). I'm giving this opinion on the current version of the game, so I'm sure the title will improve. Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2018
    6
    This is a game I would have rated much higher, had I stopped playing after outranking the low rank (level 1-15) servers. As a kickstarterThis is a game I would have rated much higher, had I stopped playing after outranking the low rank (level 1-15) servers. As a kickstarter backer, I liked almost everything about it. The melee combat felt good, the sound design and graphics were great considering the game's age. It was my go-to game for stress relief and most people would agree that there is something relaxing about chopping some heads or limbs off from time to time. The only thing that I disliked was its toxic community, yes Chivalry: Medieval Warfare has one of the worst communities you can find in a video game.

    I've had read some reviews in the past about people abandoning the game after level 15 and my assumption was that skilled players overwhelm the high rank servers. My assumptions proved to be correct, but the thing is I do enjoy games where more skilled players have a clear advantage over the so called "noobs" and if the game is enjoyable enough, it only motivates me to get better. The main problem with Chivalry is not the fact that low rank players are "owned" by players with hundreds of hours of gameplay time. The problem is what you need to learn in order to play better....

    As soon as I landed on the high rank servers (the game doesn't let you join low rank ones when you reach level 16), I started seeing other players doing moves that I had never seen before, basically butchering some other players. My initial thought was to learn how to do those same combat moves. I checked some youtube videos and that's when the game was instantly killed for me. Over the time, players found hit box and movement glitches which -if you use them well- either cannot be blocked or give you a clear advantage. It still does require skill to exploit those glitches, but unfortunately the very existence thereof killed all the immersion and enjoyment I get from Chivalry. If you want to know what I'm talking about, just search keywords such as "reverse overhead", "rainbow", "dragging". It is a shame really, designing a game with obvious glitches and not fixing them, because there is a player base enjoying their time from the exploitation of such glitches. It is a shame, because Chivalry would otherwise be a great game, for what it is.
    Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2014
    0
    Can you believe that after four years of beta, this game might actually be worse than what they started with? If you didn't like what consolesCan you believe that after four years of beta, this game might actually be worse than what they started with? If you didn't like what consoles did to Call of Duty, you can find more of the same in this game. This game STILL has bugs galore, and it is now being altered to drastically in time for an Xbox/Playstation release. They have nerfed the archer class to the point of complete uselessness, and the death knell for the class came over two patches AFTER they released data showing the archer class was already by far the least played class in the game. Presumably all in an attempt to create a fair environment for consoles and "auto-aim". Amazing concept marred by inept, amateur developer that lacks the resources to create a separate gaming experience on console and pc. Expand

See all 309 User Reviews