User Score
2.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 16 out of 20

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 10, 2022
    0
    One of the most beloved games from my old now PlayStation 1 just got an "Remastered" launch for PC and boy oh boy, once again Square Enix prove to be just lazy money grabbers. This is not a remastered version is just an horrendously ugly upscaled game with bad fps worst even then the old PlayStation game. Such a shame of what you have become Square Enix, you used to be my hero, i own everyOne of the most beloved games from my old now PlayStation 1 just got an "Remastered" launch for PC and boy oh boy, once again Square Enix prove to be just lazy money grabbers. This is not a remastered version is just an horrendously ugly upscaled game with bad fps worst even then the old PlayStation game. Such a shame of what you have become Square Enix, you used to be my hero, i own every single game of Square Soft i love them all but lately you abandoned the path of quality and think only about profit. That's it, this was the last SE game i bought. Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2022
    0
    When your game not only runs worse than free, open source emulation, but the dusty old Playstation 1 Original running on original hardware? That is a complete failure. 0/10.
  3. Apr 9, 2022
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You don't put HD models on **** upscaled backgrounds that look smeared and smoothed to death. Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2022
    4
    I really have no idea how they manage to screw their ports up this badly. This port has loads of problems. First of all, the FPS is terrible. There is no in-house vsync option unless you go into the control panel. The main battle theme still sucks and is annoying. The combat feels sluggish due to the FPS issues. The movies look horrible.

    Now there is a caveat that may actually make
    I really have no idea how they manage to screw their ports up this badly. This port has loads of problems. First of all, the FPS is terrible. There is no in-house vsync option unless you go into the control panel. The main battle theme still sucks and is annoying. The combat feels sluggish due to the FPS issues. The movies look horrible.

    Now there is a caveat that may actually make this worth a purchase. Mods. Mods literally do Square Enix's job for them and fix it. With mods you can have better video quality, 4k backgrounds, replace that terrible battle theme and fix the FPS issues. Is it worth it if you don't mind modding? Actually, it goes from a 4/10 to a 9/10 with mods BUT this really shouldn't be something we have to fix. Square Enix should take their time, take at least six-eight months and actually deliver a great remaster but they never learn... so it's up to you if you think it's worth fixing via mods. If you plan on playing it vanilla, just find a PS1 copy or use emulation because this is not the way to experience it.
    Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2022
    5
    Getting 404 when I try to leave a longer review. 5/10 because it runs worse than original.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. May 4, 2022
    78
    In all Chrono Cross is an intriguing cult classic brought back for fans old and new alike. Even despite the touch ups the graphics are clearly that of an older game thanks to the specific style that they chose when originally making Cross, and it isn’t a perfect remaster, some issues do appear in performance (FPS drops occur occasionally). It has an intriguing story and concept that provides a fascinating spin on the classic time travel tropes of ‘saving yourself’ since in Cross, it's already far too late, and you don’t even know why.
  2. May 2, 2022
    80
    Chrono Cross: The Radical Dreamers Edition on PC feels more like an enhanced port offering both Chrono Cross and Radical Dreamers with some quality of life improvements on Steam. The classic graphical style is how I enjoyed Chrono Cross, and it has been a joy to finally experience this game after all these years. The new graphical style sadly has too many issues to bother with right now on any platform sadly. I've also enjoyed checking out Chrono Cross on Steam Deck over the last week or so where it runs quite well after some tweaking, and it's a great way to play it if you have the option.
  3. Apr 9, 2022
    60
    Chrono Cross is an incredible game that has been deserving a remaster for far too long. It's a shame that, after all these years, it had to arrive in such a sorry state. The Radical Dreamers Edition does some minor work in improving and upgrading the experience, but with such poor optimisation, it's a headache to enjoy the experience. Longtime fans might be able to forgive the issues and savour the incredible visual novel side-story Radical Dreamers, but a game as iconic as this deserves better.