User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 245 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 245
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ClaudioB.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Sure this isn't the best FPS ever (more on that later), BUT, my friends: a) the plot, the visual & the mood come from Clive Barker, a writer that I personally adore: to be honest the idea of an ancient evil radicated into the history of man so that you can change scenario with a meaning sounds good to me, while you go deeper you go past historical eras and forgive me but this is a Sure this isn't the best FPS ever (more on that later), BUT, my friends: a) the plot, the visual & the mood come from Clive Barker, a writer that I personally adore: to be honest the idea of an ancient evil radicated into the history of man so that you can change scenario with a meaning sounds good to me, while you go deeper you go past historical eras and forgive me but this is a fantastic idea; at the same time, you can (and must, to survive) control a whole squad with specific weapons and powers and this is also a great idea (instead of "oh i've found a new great weapon" of the others FPS!); b) levels are linear, enemies come out from spots...but when they do so, emerging from the myst, or a dark tunnel, well, my heart always lose a beat or two: I really don't understand other comments all over the net, this game scares me! (but again maybe its ME); always after a combat I think "wow thanks god there is a save point-that one was pretty hard"; c) bad things: powers aren't always easy to use (you have to place the character with extreme care, in THAT place and not two millimetres away!), an open ending (eh eh, space for a sequel-that's business my friends) and -but that's MY problem- the language translation in italian (totally sucks, I just play in english). To me, this game rocks: if you read Barker, buy it; if you enjoy a game with a marvellous mood, great characters and great plot and don't mind little repetitive schemes... buy it! It's worth it. Expand
  2. PhilH.
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Needless to say Jericho is not without a few problems, the controls take some getting used to and sometimes the checkpoints feel a bit far apart, but on the whole I thought it was a fantastic game. I didn't buy it expecting something I would go back and play again or anything like that, I bought it to chew through the story and have a good nights (well about eight hours on normal) Needless to say Jericho is not without a few problems, the controls take some getting used to and sometimes the checkpoints feel a bit far apart, but on the whole I thought it was a fantastic game. I didn't buy it expecting something I would go back and play again or anything like that, I bought it to chew through the story and have a good nights (well about eight hours on normal) killing. The story and characters are the best part of the game and I was thoroughly hooked from the start. It's a bit like a sort of cross between Rainbow Six and the Hellraiser movies, with some top boss fights added for good measure. The graphics and sound are great, not just in their quality of construction but also the artistic concept, and this conceptual intelligence carries on to the powers of the main characters, which are great fun to use. Typically for a Clive Barker game (Undying went the same way) it seems to have been somewhat underrated by journalists but I didn't think there was much, if anything, really wrong with it. Expand
  3. MattL.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    I love this game another game that the reviewers messed up on take my word get this game.
  4. FrancoisB.
    Nov 6, 2007
    9
    Pure fun, no need to crush crates all the time to get some ammo or health kit. The story is awesome and toons abilities give depth to the gameplay.. I want more!
  5. WebsterB.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    You'll love or hate this game. Games are often not reviewed as other media is. While many people are happy with movies that don't win awards or treasure books that no literary scholar will ever critique or recommend, every gamer seems incredibly defensive about their favorite games and outright hostile about games they dislike. This is very unfair, for this game excels at what You'll love or hate this game. Games are often not reviewed as other media is. While many people are happy with movies that don't win awards or treasure books that no literary scholar will ever critique or recommend, every gamer seems incredibly defensive about their favorite games and outright hostile about games they dislike. This is very unfair, for this game excels at what it is. Nothing is broken about the game, it accomplishes exactly what it sets out to do- create allot of action against Cenobite-like enemies in an interesting setting with a fun squad-based game mechanic. The game feels like a cooperative class based multiplayer game, with the player primarily taking the part of the medic but with the option to play all the other classes- soldier, heavy, sniper, spy etc. It's as linear as an on-rails shooter, but that doesn't stop it from being allot of fun- which is the point. The writing is not Shakespeare, it's Barker, and it feels allot like his fiction in parts, in fact the inventiveness( or you may feel corniness) of the concept is classically Barkerian. Don't listen to the reviews, try the demo, read some Clive Barker, and think for yourself. This game won't please all, but for those that it does, it will please allot. Remember to have fun with your games. Expand
  6. JoshuaC.
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    Great FPS! I don't know what these low reviews are talking about. If you expect a survival horror game you'll be disappointed, but if you want one of the coolest action FPS's to come along in years then Jericho should make you happy.
  7. MoisesH.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Good Graphics,cool timetravel,cool memberswitching,short but worthwile game.
  8. JustinS.
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    I am enjoying Jericho and think it is one of the better shooters out this year. The characters are interesting and graphics are top-notch. This squad based game is the best i have ever played. I have yet to encounter any bugs which is a rarity in most new releases. Highly recommended.
  9. JacobS.
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    A good shooter with a great Barker storyline. The intro may be over the top, but the rest of the game is great. The game looks great and is a total gorefest. Jericho is also quite challenging at times, you are not given the ability to save at any point in the game, and so, must clear entire areas to advance. The controls take some getting used to, but are interesting and offer a variety A good shooter with a great Barker storyline. The intro may be over the top, but the rest of the game is great. The game looks great and is a total gorefest. Jericho is also quite challenging at times, you are not given the ability to save at any point in the game, and so, must clear entire areas to advance. The controls take some getting used to, but are interesting and offer a variety of ways to dominate your foes. All in all it's a good time, I'd suggest turning off the lights and turning both your volume and your suspension of disbef up. Expand
  10. valveboy
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    Truly a Clive Barker fans wet dream....Shades of Hellraiser, mixed with a bit of nightbreed and lord of illusions. Good Barker script mixed with some excellent graphics(fantastic shaders and lighting!!!) Abit repetitive, but if you like Barker his style and his writings, this is your game........
  11. ChrisA.
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    Top game really enjoyable 9/10 Tis getting a bit repetative but hey! Tis fun :D
  12. CL
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    Amazing game. Every character is unique, useful, and has plenty of depth. While gameplay may get repetitive at times, I wish more games had the gameplay of this. Well worth the money, I would of gladly paid more.
  13. Jan 12, 2011
    7
    While it doesn't really push any gameplay boundaries, there is much to like about this game. While a short game there is a LOT of voice work. The art design is exceptional and you never see the same thing twice in the level design. The engine is beautiful. The squad combat, while non-essential, diverts one's attention from just how linear the game is. A small detractor, but the timedWhile it doesn't really push any gameplay boundaries, there is much to like about this game. While a short game there is a LOT of voice work. The art design is exceptional and you never see the same thing twice in the level design. The engine is beautiful. The squad combat, while non-essential, diverts one's attention from just how linear the game is. A small detractor, but the timed button pressing sequences were broken on PC without default controls. It's a different kind of game. The major strength is the atmosphere, similar to games like Amnesia, and Call of Cthulhu: Dark Corners of the Earth. Like these games, there are some serious flaws to the gameplay, but the experience still manages to be highly enjoyable, and unique. Expand
  14. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    This game was AWESOME! I have NO IDEA why some people would pan this game, let alone some of the unforgiving reviews here or a steam meta-score of 63. This was one of my favorite FPS games to come out in a Long time, and I've played a lot of them. Got it as a value title on steam and I played it to the hilt in a couple of days, got more than my money's worth -- it was a STEAL! While It'sThis game was AWESOME! I have NO IDEA why some people would pan this game, let alone some of the unforgiving reviews here or a steam meta-score of 63. This was one of my favorite FPS games to come out in a Long time, and I've played a lot of them. Got it as a value title on steam and I played it to the hilt in a couple of days, got more than my money's worth -- it was a STEAL! While It's not perfect, it doesn't need to be and I can be truly unforgiving to some games with profound enough flaws. The Good: Interesting and novel elements for FPS's can be found here. Lots of Abilities and gimmicks that many other games think sufficient to rest on their laurels with one or two of, this game has a whole suite of them thrown in with the kitchen sink (14 total, including bullet-time, Healing, Tele&Pyro Kinesis, bullets you can guide in flight as well as spell-like effects.) You can freely switch between the 7 characters in your squad for most of the game, each accommodating different play-styles, to keep the game fresh, or to overcome specific challenges. Need the whole squad to take something down? Go with your support classes. Just want to mow everything down and don't overthink it? Go heavy. Puzzle time? Switch to the clairvoyant. Time to get personal? One of the characters is a melee badass. The environments and characters as well as enemies are really immersive and sometimes truly horrifying. There are a few quick time events sprinkled into the game -- but where in most titles this feature is repetitive, punishing or annoying -- they REALLY shine here. I won't ruin them all but there is one where you have to use quick-time button-mashing to perform an EXORCISM! Very cool. The gore, language and violence are VERY graphic and even disturbing in places -- but appropriately so. The story is historically inspired and TRULY different. What's cooler? As the game progresses your futuristic squad moves further and further back in time and interacts with folks like 1942 British Occult soldiers (and their nazi counterparts), Corrupted Crusaders, Roman Legionaires... all the way back to Sumerian Priests! There is good character development and achievements unlock info about various heroes and villains -- in most games this is extraneous or cursorily interesting, but for this game I read and examined them all THOROUGHLY. The backbone concept alone is awesome -- Military Occult Warfare team assembled from Witches and Chaplains in the US army? The story is AMAZING. The Bad: Really... I have to work to give equal time for deep criticism, because the game is awesome especially for the price, but here goes... No multiplayer -- and in a squad-based game like this it is TRULY a shame -- if it did it could have potential for amazing multiplayer action akin to games like left 4 dead, because the characters are so different and would mesh SO MUCH BETTER if a variety of people were talking and driving them (though the AI is adequate for single-player) Perhaps dare I say considering the 7 different classes it could have been a great mesh of Left 4 Dead and Team Fortress 2... sadly, it was not to be. A second gripe would be that once you are able to rapidly switch between the entire squad things can get a little overwhelming at first. They DO try to acquaint you with each character in turn and introduce the powers, but before long you find yourself in situations where 1 or 2 powers are the best (or in a couple of circumstances the only) solutions before you are fully familiar with all the tools at your disposal. Thankfully the game is long enough so that before long you know what you've got and can switch it up to handle anything you need to deal with. Also, while the character selection menu uses squad members last names to identify them, in many situations the squad-members voices refer to characters by their first name. Sure, before too long you'll catch up and learn that you need to switch to Black (the Sniper) when somebody is asking "Simone" to take a critical shot or use telekinetics, or know intuitively that when people are yelling that "Billie is Down!" that you need to go help (Billie) Church as referred to into the menu. I got the idea, they wanted you to have a first-name basis and identification with the characters... but it was a little difficult at first, like being at a dinner party and being nervous about remembering everyone's name to whom you were introduced... still, by the third mission I assure you I was good friends and on a first name basis with all of them. Lastly, where some games can be annoying or punishing in putting you in situations where there is no obvious way or counter-intuitive way to proceed, it seems the dialogue in this game was almost in a hurry to give things away -- You never get to a point where you want to hit your head on a wall because in some situations the puzzle is telegraphed to you before you know there's a problem! Beats the alternative though.
    9/10
    Expand
  15. Jul 24, 2018
    9
    Clive Barker does it again! Although Jericho is not a masterpiece like Undying, it still has amazing atmosphere, great visuals, soundtrack and fun gameplay. Yes, the game is repetitive and it might annoy some people, but it didn't bother me that much. Story is interesting and there should be a sequel... bois do the sequel! Pickens approves.
  16. SL.
    Oct 27, 2007
    8
    Fun game like the abilities and of course headshots are the best in any game i've played .Story was cool and dialog rocked actually alot of funny sayings from the caracters ,although be warned this game will not keep you entertained for weeks ,it took me about 14 hours to beat .(i hope some good mods come out of this the engine is sweet)All and all good stuff.
  17. ChristopherH.
    Oct 28, 2007
    8
    A decent game with a few flaws, in particular the "autosave" points are too far apart in some areas.
  18. Resse
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    This game is visually stunning. its beautifully made. ive played few games like it. it is truly an amazing game.
  19. Resse
    Feb 6, 2008
    7
    The Game itself is actually really great. Lots of fun and I think, that the system of more or less free character control is very innovative.

    the negative points, that drop the rating are: - no real end sequence (-1 point) - often very hectical fights without the possibility to control the team into the right direction (-0.5) - defined savepoints <= damn console games (-0.5) - death
    The Game itself is actually really great. Lots of fun and I think, that the system of more or less free character control is very innovative.

    the negative points, that drop the rating are:
    - no real end sequence (-1 point)
    - often very hectical fights without the possibility to control the team into the right direction (-0.5)
    - defined savepoints <= damn console games (-0.5)
    - death or live situations are very annoying (-1)

    I had much fun with the game, but can't give more than 7 points for it.
    Expand
  20. Obiwan
    May 18, 2008
    9
    At first the controls seem a little clunky, as you plough your way through the array of monsters and hi res environments. As you get to know the controls, moving people around and utilising the various team based tricks to complete a mission you start to get into the adult storyline which i found refreshing. I found you really have to gel with the style of game but if you do you'll At first the controls seem a little clunky, as you plough your way through the array of monsters and hi res environments. As you get to know the controls, moving people around and utilising the various team based tricks to complete a mission you start to get into the adult storyline which i found refreshing. I found you really have to gel with the style of game but if you do you'll be glad and soon find the evenings vanish. The use of in game scripts and cut sequences worked well with the in game as a whole and added to the sense of story, although i'll admit some area needed a little more work. There is also real use o f team based combat as well as the odd single and sub sets of the team, having said that i did tend to stick to a few members but definately found them all useful along the way. Including that consession i seriously suggest this game, especially at today's prices. Expand
  21. princepersia
    Feb 13, 2009
    8
    the game is awesome. Dont judge the game by the first few levels as i myself hated it, but after that the game rocked.This is a real good start by mercury steam entertainment
  22. MinbasM.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. I came here after purchasing it and waiting for it to download and was stunned by the low scores. It slightly discouraged me at first but after playing the game it was clear that they were unfair. The game is a bit linear in the sense that it plays out like a movie... but what would you expect from Clive Barker? It's a very interesting story and the ending wasn't Amazing game. I came here after purchasing it and waiting for it to download and was stunned by the low scores. It slightly discouraged me at first but after playing the game it was clear that they were unfair. The game is a bit linear in the sense that it plays out like a movie... but what would you expect from Clive Barker? It's a very interesting story and the ending wasn't as disappointing as some folks made it seem. There are definitely some problem solving moments where you must figure out how to take down a specific monster and decide which team member to use. The graphics are amazing as well. The game does a system check and fits the graphics to your system. The "none none" guy who gave it a 1 must not have that great of a system. Dont let the bad reviews discourage you if you were thinking about buying the game. In my opinion it was money well spent and one of the best games Ive played. I hope he makes more games. Expand
  23. dja
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    I don`t now what profesional reviewrs smoke, but Jericho one of the best shooters for past few years. It`s not scary and it`s not tactical, but otherwise deep and smart
  24. Aaron
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    This is an excellent game, the story line is gripping, the graphics intense and the gameplay is action packed. However the only thing wrong with it is the ending, very abrupt, doesnt conclude sufficiently and is quite puzzling. Otherwise an excellent game well worth purchasing
  25. Brovo196Commander
    Oct 28, 2007
    7
    Graphics:7/10 Sound:9/10 Storyline:6/10 Acting:3/10 stabibility:8/10 You can't teach an old dog new trick's,This is a perfect example.
  26. Aeschylus
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    The first squad based shooter in which characters are actually "individuals". Now, place this inside an exhilirating crimson red carnival ride through Hell with Z-Grade scripted events that have the cheesiest one-liners this side of Predator. How the hell could you not have a good time with this game? THIS GAME IS BEYOND QUOTABLE. If you're a fan of 80s action films, and have the The first squad based shooter in which characters are actually "individuals". Now, place this inside an exhilirating crimson red carnival ride through Hell with Z-Grade scripted events that have the cheesiest one-liners this side of Predator. How the hell could you not have a good time with this game? THIS GAME IS BEYOND QUOTABLE. If you're a fan of 80s action films, and have the faintest interest in Barker's gothic creations, do not question a purchase. The imagination present in character design is very impressive. The environments are a little drab and smoldered beneath the dark skies of a hellish landscape, but they still work in the context of Barker's imagination. The little details in the special fx make this game even more appealing to the eye. Some of the special powers come off weaker than others, but the way they're executed is excellent across the board. Particularly, the ghost bullet, which allows you to control the trajectory of a bullet through several enemies at once. The variety of weapons at hand is solid, nothing particularly new, but solid. However, special mention needs to go out to the slow motion katana slices and the sniper rifle equipped with grenade rounds. All in all, a highly entertaining ride that ends too abuptly. One point shaved for the ending. Expand
  27. GrayR.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    One of the best shooter for last few years. Twisted plot, solid charasters, excellent directing . Fan`s of Undying will love it. I think reasons of such low score is pre-release version of game that most of reviewrs played. Demo of Jericho also was not perfect, but team fixed most of its issues in release.
  28. SlayeR.
    Oct 27, 2007
    8
    This is a fun ,brutal,bloody game ,also short it would have been cool to have a few more hours of gameplay and multiplayer but oh well .Good story and characters and the most satisfying headshots of any fps i've ever played.
  29. HugoB
    Sep 29, 2009
    9
    It's fluid, it's entertaining, it's interesting and it's one of the few FPS games I truly enjoy.
  30. Aniqiewan
    Oct 29, 2007
    7
    A surpisingly solid shooter with some satisfying weaponry and plenty of scumbags to mow down, however the squad controls are pitiful and basically useless in any case. Squad members enjoy getting left behind or running ahead for no reason at all only to get knocked out. This is a huge shame since there is so much potential for real tactics and the like. Great graphics, Awesome firefights A surpisingly solid shooter with some satisfying weaponry and plenty of scumbags to mow down, however the squad controls are pitiful and basically useless in any case. Squad members enjoy getting left behind or running ahead for no reason at all only to get knocked out. This is a huge shame since there is so much potential for real tactics and the like. Great graphics, Awesome firefights but severely let down by the horrific squad system. Expand
  31. REB
    Nov 10, 2007
    8
    This was a solid game that was clipped at the heels by the industry for some reason. The switching elements were great, as every character plays completely different throughout the game. Yes, some places are a bit repetitive but these demons are mindless ZOMBIE- like characters! What do you want, non-zombie characters? Then we complain it's too tough! The squad consists of six This was a solid game that was clipped at the heels by the industry for some reason. The switching elements were great, as every character plays completely different throughout the game. Yes, some places are a bit repetitive but these demons are mindless ZOMBIE- like characters! What do you want, non-zombie characters? Then we complain it's too tough! The squad consists of six members; do you want them to be machine-accurate all the time? Then you could just send them ahead and have thme fight for you! If people are complaining that their squad dies too quickly then that's bad management of the team. The only bad thing about the game is that it doesn't explicitly teach you how to control the two squads, causing one area in particular with switches on the floor to seem like an impassible glitch. Wverything was great and fun and entertaining. Only downfall: The Ending. Don't expect anything at all from it. Overall, a solid game that I hope sells well in spite of the horrible, undeserving reviews, so we may get a sequel in this novel, entertaining game that creatively hits new ideas. Thanks Codemasters! Expand
  32. JohnD.
    Nov 27, 2007
    7
    The first half of the game is mediocre, but then the game opens up becoming pretty good... It would have been nice to have a better control over your team (set some default action for each character like in Summoner or KOTOR). Also the game is on the short side, there's no variety in monsters type and the story is kind of generic. Boss fights and puzzles are pretty good... What can I The first half of the game is mediocre, but then the game opens up becoming pretty good... It would have been nice to have a better control over your team (set some default action for each character like in Summoner or KOTOR). Also the game is on the short side, there's no variety in monsters type and the story is kind of generic. Boss fights and puzzles are pretty good... What can I say, it has all the ingredients to be a great game, but instead it ends up being a good game. Expand
  33. ChrisI.
    Oct 29, 2007
    8
    Severly underrated game that has been caught in a negative maelstrom. Looking through several forums I find that a lot of people love this game, but since negativity rules the 21st century, lots of people who have not actually played the full game will banter and rate this game a 1 or 2. Simply put, I have quite a lot of fun playing this game, the hours fly by and I find the characters, Severly underrated game that has been caught in a negative maelstrom. Looking through several forums I find that a lot of people love this game, but since negativity rules the 21st century, lots of people who have not actually played the full game will banter and rate this game a 1 or 2. Simply put, I have quite a lot of fun playing this game, the hours fly by and I find the characters, setting and gameplay well executed. What on earth went through some reviewers heads when they gave this game scores in the 3 region I will probably never understand. Please people, dont fall into the trap of not buying this game because of these reviews. Expect a fast shooter in the lines of "multiple squad members gone Doom in the realm of 21st century gaming", and youll be fine. Expand
  34. DaveL.
    Oct 31, 2007
    7
    A wonderfully twisted shooter. sure its a no brainier point and shoot game, but its implemented perfectly. each squad member has unique skills that add a nice dimension to the game. so when things start to get boring just switch your player and go. the graphics are beautiful, sound design is great, although the acting is a little weak. sure it could have been a lot more but for what it is A wonderfully twisted shooter. sure its a no brainier point and shoot game, but its implemented perfectly. each squad member has unique skills that add a nice dimension to the game. so when things start to get boring just switch your player and go. the graphics are beautiful, sound design is great, although the acting is a little weak. sure it could have been a lot more but for what it is i sill really enjoy the game. then again i love all kinds of horror and grotesque. i look forward to more clive barker games. Expand
  35. ThiagoS.
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    Nice graphics and a good squad-based gameplay... but its kind of repetitive, has a poor AI and the ending doesn't make any sense at ALL... However it doesn't diserves those low scores from the critics.
  36. Jun 14, 2013
    7
    Overall I thought the game was pretty good. Graphics and gameplay are solid while the story also keeps you interested. The high repetition and poor ending bring down the score.
  37. Feb 17, 2013
    7
    The designer must be quite creative, so that they managed to produce this all-new game play method. Changing and combining different characters together is really a great fun. But the shooting part feels awful, the bullet just absorbed by the monster and this seems weird. And we can not jump, some bugs still affecting game experience.......so 7 is a good score in my point of view. BTW, theThe designer must be quite creative, so that they managed to produce this all-new game play method. Changing and combining different characters together is really a great fun. But the shooting part feels awful, the bullet just absorbed by the monster and this seems weird. And we can not jump, some bugs still affecting game experience.......so 7 is a good score in my point of view. BTW, the story line is attractive :P Expand
  38. Aug 19, 2017
    7
    Having an interesting history, entertaining characters and excellent graphics, the game, nevertheless, rather quickly leads to boredom the monotony of the gameplay, reduced to a banal sweep of the halls. But the game deserves attention.
  39. Jun 17, 2018
    8
    Игра с первых минут цепляет своим геймплеем. Не слабо затягивает.
  40. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    Underrated gem and fun to play if you don't mind grinding through the same types of enemies. The game has it's bright moments and if you manage to get to the bottom of the story you'll enjoy most of it. The concept to switch between characters further enhances the experience and is necessary to survive. Well that's all I can tell and I hope someone finds this helpful.
  41. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    Positive:
    Story, gameplay and graphics are awesome. Every squad member have his own special ability and its upon you to combine them.

    Negative:
    There isn't CO-OP mode. If there will be CO-OP mode, it will be awesome to play with friends.
  42. May 18, 2011
    5
    The game isn't bad for a shooter, but it doesn't top the list either. A half decent story combined with the ability to switch characters having different skill sets make it mentionable, but the flaws really outshine the strengths. Poor level design with essentially linear corridors allowing only one way in and one way out alongside poor sqaud AI and one dimensional monsters. For the $1.69The game isn't bad for a shooter, but it doesn't top the list either. A half decent story combined with the ability to switch characters having different skill sets make it mentionable, but the flaws really outshine the strengths. Poor level design with essentially linear corridors allowing only one way in and one way out alongside poor sqaud AI and one dimensional monsters. For the $1.69 I paid, it was money well spent. Expand
  43. Jan 1, 2016
    10
    Great game. Enjoyed it thoroughly. Graphics were good, plot was good, dialogue was good, voice acting was great, music was good, atmosphere was excellent. It has excellent replay value. The team who put out this game had their ducks in a row, unlike too many of these epic games put out by big name distributors which are buggy as hell. It's just too bad a sequel never came out
  44. MatthewW.
    Oct 26, 2007
    6
    I found it to be fun but I couldn't play it on anything above the absolute lowest settings and I have a dell E1705 with a 7900gs 256mb video card, 2gb of 533mhz ram, and a 1.83 core duo processor. The game looks like quake 3 quite frankly, I can turn bioshock to nearly the highest settings but even at the lowest in jericho I get 20fps max.I think it may be an issue with the go vieo I found it to be fun but I couldn't play it on anything above the absolute lowest settings and I have a dell E1705 with a 7900gs 256mb video card, 2gb of 533mhz ram, and a 1.83 core duo processor. The game looks like quake 3 quite frankly, I can turn bioshock to nearly the highest settings but even at the lowest in jericho I get 20fps max.I think it may be an issue with the go vieo card, some devs don't know how to prgram for them there must be something special about them cause shadowrun did the same thing but most new games run great on it. bah... ohh well. Expand
  45. Nov 23, 2010
    6
    Vastly underrated in every sense of the word, but no deserving of any other merits other than the intense cinematic shooting, lovely optimized graphics, truly dark storyline. The gameplay is polluted by strangely stiff mouse aim controls, nearly useless 'tactical' elements, overlly difficult battles, and the lack of depth in ammo management or side areas to explore. However, it's still anVastly underrated in every sense of the word, but no deserving of any other merits other than the intense cinematic shooting, lovely optimized graphics, truly dark storyline. The gameplay is polluted by strangely stiff mouse aim controls, nearly useless 'tactical' elements, overlly difficult battles, and the lack of depth in ammo management or side areas to explore. However, it's still an intense, awesome experience! Expand
  46. Oct 27, 2013
    6
    Mechanics are acceptable, the plot (sadly as it comes from clive barker) sounds more like the plot for a generic TV show than a game and well, I suppose 6 years after the fact it's starting to look a little creaky.
  47. Nov 15, 2015
    10
    Me pareció un excelente game, tal vez no está optimizado 100% ni creo que a esta altura lo parcheen, pero ese toque de terror, ese toque fps, la temática del anticristo, los diferentes personajes, la ambientacion. Es un gran juego de verdad.
  48. Mar 30, 2013
    6
    All the pc games remember CLive BArkers Undying, it was an amazing piece of art and game. Mabey one of the best PC horror games every produced. But Jericho is disappointment. Story of the game feels too basic and the gameplay is all about running and shooting enemies. Sometimes the gameplay is interesting but there is not much depth into the fights and it gets boring after a while. BossAll the pc games remember CLive BArkers Undying, it was an amazing piece of art and game. Mabey one of the best PC horror games every produced. But Jericho is disappointment. Story of the game feels too basic and the gameplay is all about running and shooting enemies. Sometimes the gameplay is interesting but there is not much depth into the fights and it gets boring after a while. Boss fights are fun but theu arent as challenging as they should be. Art direction of the game somehow is impressive, environments are design very nice and they have a dark atmosphere which will definetly creep you out. Enemies designs are one the best i have ever seen, they have much of details in them and truly they look like DEMONIC things. Technically graphics are not that much good. Most of the game is actually dakr and you can see the technical hiccups lol Expand
  49. Jun 11, 2014
    6
    Nothing to see here people just another average military shooter. Walk around a corner, shoot some aliens. Walk around a corner, shoot some more aliens. Nothing innovative here in any way. Not worth it unless it's $1. Also, lots of long boring cutscenes which you can't skip and which repeat themselves if you die. Also, some sacrilegious stuff happens in this game, which I realize couldNothing to see here people just another average military shooter. Walk around a corner, shoot some aliens. Walk around a corner, shoot some more aliens. Nothing innovative here in any way. Not worth it unless it's $1. Also, lots of long boring cutscenes which you can't skip and which repeat themselves if you die. Also, some sacrilegious stuff happens in this game, which I realize could strongly offend some people. This was a real stinker in an otherwise decent series. Expand
  50. Nov 9, 2015
    6
    I really shouldn't have enjoyed this game, even for the ludicruously low price I paid. It's brown, dull, and disgusting to look at and presents itself with a laughable, tough-guy attitude that sounds like something a fifth-grader would make up when boasting about how violent his older brother's games are. It's five or so hours long and is almost entirely a trek through generic darkI really shouldn't have enjoyed this game, even for the ludicruously low price I paid. It's brown, dull, and disgusting to look at and presents itself with a laughable, tough-guy attitude that sounds like something a fifth-grader would make up when boasting about how violent his older brother's games are. It's five or so hours long and is almost entirely a trek through generic dark hallways that lead to more generic hallways, often leaving me turning around without noticing. The plot is a complete throwaway and it cuts to credits before any sort of ending comes about. Your teammates go down constantly and need reviving, often getting you killed and forcing you to restart the whole repetitive segment. While it does have some unique ideas, especially with special powers and character swapping, they're too poorly implemented for any credit to be gained.

    And yet, I played it through and had a weird kind of fun, revelling in how ridiculous it was and how hard it tried. It's a big dumb shooter but at least it's a unique one, leaving a somewhat lasting impression on me and the wish that it was so much better. Creative and stupid, a combination that's almost always worth experiencing
    Expand
  51. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Most amazing show I have ever watched. Just wrapping up season one on netflix and about to start the second. Very unfortunate that a third season isn't getting made. This should change Forsure.
  52. KevinF.
    Oct 30, 2007
    4
    Would have given it a 5 if it weren't for the non-existant ending. This game simply lacks action, the enemies are slow and predictable and the interactive cut-scenes are extremely annoying due to incredibly short delays. Not sure why they thought it would be fun for you to watch nearly every possible ending until you can memorize the exact key strokes. The CGI trailers for this game Would have given it a 5 if it weren't for the non-existant ending. This game simply lacks action, the enemies are slow and predictable and the interactive cut-scenes are extremely annoying due to incredibly short delays. Not sure why they thought it would be fun for you to watch nearly every possible ending until you can memorize the exact key strokes. The CGI trailers for this game would have you believe that there is intensive and suspenceful action, this is sadly not the case. The puzzels in the game are also extreamly annoying, mainly because they tell you exactly what to do... honestly the hardest thing about any given puzzel is trying to figure out who you are supposed to take control of... this is thanks to them giving you the first name only of the character and the possession menu only having the last name, nice touch. The voice acting is only OK, no standouts here... the lip syncing between the characters is done exceptionally poorly however. As for having 6 characters you can swap betweem... pretty much the only one you will want to use is Black, the other 6 simply are not effective. The other issue going around just playing Black is that none of her weapons require any skill. There are 4 generic enemies in this game, and another 7 boss types. Most of the enemies are annoying and require that certain weak spots be assulted... bosses with the annoying cutscenes are constantly repeated where you play the same annoying cutscene over and over in exactly the same sequence. The graphics were good atleast. Expand
  53. ThorendalSolberg
    Oct 24, 2007
    5
    Strictly from the demo*
    The good: The graphics are pretty great, though I had to play on lowest to even use it. The characters are really different and the voices are well done. The powers LOOKED awesome, especially the tentacled energy thing (you'd know it if you saw). The characters are balanced, but not so much that you won't have a favourite.
    The bad: I didnt find this game
    Strictly from the demo*
    The good: The graphics are pretty great, though I had to play on lowest to even use it. The characters are really different and the voices are well done. The powers LOOKED awesome, especially the tentacled energy thing (you'd know it if you saw). The characters are balanced, but not so much that you won't have a favourite.
    The bad: I didnt find this game scary at all... the darkness of some parts were more annoying than scary. The flashlight barely helps. The controls are alright but the firing system really pissed me off... you have to hold down the trigger to even fire one shot. It made sniping impossible!! To do so you have to aim at an enemy, hold down the trigger, release and repeat... it would be infinitely better to just click to fire, no hold. You can imagine that I didnt use the sniper after trying that out. Holding down the trigger for automatic weapons isnt bad though. The absolute worst thing in this game was the action-cinematic parts... a la Resident Evil 4. If you dont understand, it is like pressing buttons in a sequence to not die. RE4 did it very well. Jericho did not. You have 1/10th of a second to press a direction or you die...missing one means you miss them all. And by all there are 10 or more in a row. The part of the demo where you fall down the well demonstrates this. I have never been angrier playing a game before... its impossible to beat this part the first time. The only thing to do is die and replay it, anticipating the keys that you missed. Its more like a memory game. It took me 16 tries to get through a 20 second bit. The idea is there but it plays out terribly... just give more time to press the keys! (like .5 of a second even!)
    Expand
  54. MarkSilver
    Oct 25, 2007
    4
    This has to be the worst game to ever come out with a sticker price the same as most people's water bill and well mines paid and next time hopefully they wont release a demo that shows just how crappy a game shouldnt look. I purchased "The Settlers" instead I had to buy something but I wont purchase trash!!!! Or ever go see a Clyde Barker Movie or read a book becouse if he actuallyThis has to be the worst game to ever come out with a sticker price the same as most people's water bill and well mines paid and next time hopefully they wont release a demo that shows just how crappy a game shouldnt look. I purchased "The Settlers" instead I had to buy something but I wont purchase trash!!!! Or ever go see a Clyde Barker Movie or read a book becouse if he actually let his name be on this title then he either has too much money or just doesnt give a crap.. If you just purchased this "Do Not UnWrap It!!" Take it Back NOW! Expand
  55. CSP.
    Oct 26, 2007
    3
    I am afraid this game is just another console shooter. I have tried playing the pc version but it is clearly and poorly ported from console. The way your view is taken control of allot of the time is very annoying. The twitch mini game sections are frustrating and not at all entertaining. The variety of powers and weapons is large but you get no sense of variety. This game I am afraid is I am afraid this game is just another console shooter. I have tried playing the pc version but it is clearly and poorly ported from console. The way your view is taken control of allot of the time is very annoying. The twitch mini game sections are frustrating and not at all entertaining. The variety of powers and weapons is large but you get no sense of variety. This game I am afraid is not for me and feels like a generic FPS. I prefer games that require more thought. If your a fan of twitch gaming and mindless shooting then perhaps just perhaps you may enjoy this. If your thinking of getting this get it on the console not the pc. Expand
  56. EricL.
    Oct 29, 2007
    3
    Wish i could get my money back. It's one fo those movie games were you the player do have any control on prety mush anything. It's liek watchign a movie. The only thing you control is what you shoot and how you shoot it. Infinite ammo ect bleh. But it did have a ok storyline wich was somewhat interesting. This game strogn point is in the eye candy that that is the best part of the game.
  57. MarkT.
    Nov 11, 2007
    5
    For the most part I enjoyed Jericho. There are however a few issues. The console feel, namely the button sequence sections. No quick saves, only checkpoints. Short game. That pathetic doesnt answer a question ending, which isnt an ending at all, I hope the dev'spublishers dont expect me to be paying for a sequel to answer it. Whats with the extra's ring this phone number now For the most part I enjoyed Jericho. There are however a few issues. The console feel, namely the button sequence sections. No quick saves, only checkpoints. Short game. That pathetic doesnt answer a question ending, which isnt an ending at all, I hope the dev'spublishers dont expect me to be paying for a sequel to answer it. Whats with the extra's ring this phone number now menu!!!! The game is pretty much on rails the entire time with the only freedom being who you use during the fights. I also do not like losing control of my character during some of the scenes as it detach's you from the action. On the good, the graphics are top notch, i really like the effect of the flashlight on your team mates in the low light areas. Some of the team work can be interesting which is one of your only freedoms in the game so make the most of it. My recommendation is if your interested still, wait until its a budget title, its not worth the full price tag. Expand
  58. nonenone
    Nov 11, 2007
    1
    One of the worst FPS shooters I have ever played. it's just a port of a console game with horrible graphics and dull boring enviornments. try the demo...it's a joke. Anyone who buys this deserves what they get and the 3 80% reviews are from places that sell the game!
  59. MattF.
    Nov 15, 2007
    2
    The Graphics are good, but so is everything else nowerdays. Easy on the eyes, but thats only because the majority of it consists of Brown, and nothing but. The storyline without the use of profanity can only be described as confusing. Contains the standard "press left, now right, now up" button mashing boredom that all games have seem to think is now law. The final insult is that whenever The Graphics are good, but so is everything else nowerdays. Easy on the eyes, but thats only because the majority of it consists of Brown, and nothing but. The storyline without the use of profanity can only be described as confusing. Contains the standard "press left, now right, now up" button mashing boredom that all games have seem to think is now law. The final insult is that whenever you kill something, it's sibling will appear to take its place, followed by another, and another. A lot of work has been put into it and its by no means terrible, but unfortunately it isn't good work and just lacks the criteria that would keep anything above a casual player from wanting to play it. Expand
  60. MarkB.
    Oct 31, 2007
    2
    Undying was a much better title to carry Barkers name. This is on the rails all the way through, no exploring or innovating allowed. Dumb enemies, dumb squad behaviour, forgivable if this was a 3 year old game, but it's not.
  61. JohnyA.
    Oct 30, 2007
    2
    Bah its a hard to control mess. Boring old characters you have to run round reviving all the time, no fun in my book.
  62. NigelU
    Apr 30, 2008
    1
    Put simply does not work. The PC port does not work under Vista. Got it for £10 retail, and imo was ripped off. If you remap the keys you can no longer press left or press right when required too. This means you spend about 30 minutes dying around 400 times falling off the ledge before you realise your key mappings dont work. The next time this occurs you are unable to use any keys Put simply does not work. The PC port does not work under Vista. Got it for £10 retail, and imo was ripped off. If you remap the keys you can no longer press left or press right when required too. This means you spend about 30 minutes dying around 400 times falling off the ledge before you realise your key mappings dont work. The next time this occurs you are unable to use any keys for left and right (remapped or otherwise). Combined with multple reload bugs where characters get stuck on the environment meaning you cant reach checkpoints and need to reload, this is just about the worst port I have ever seen. Would give it 0, but the graphics are quite good. Frustrating and rubbish. Expand
  63. JohnQ.
    Nov 15, 2007
    1
    Terrible. Simply terrible. I don't know how people enjoyed this game. Looks horrible and feels horrible. Stupid twitch games and amazingly repetitive, I mean you just stand whilst your idiot team-mates shoot their own feet holding the shoot button while enemies reappear from the same place again and again. I am just talking from the demo but I have never played anything that I have Terrible. Simply terrible. I don't know how people enjoyed this game. Looks horrible and feels horrible. Stupid twitch games and amazingly repetitive, I mean you just stand whilst your idiot team-mates shoot their own feet holding the shoot button while enemies reappear from the same place again and again. I am just talking from the demo but I have never played anything that I have not enjoyed so much as this. Expand
  64. RonaldS.
    Nov 16, 2007
    2
    Poor team AI (its a good job you can revive team mates), bugs if you change from default controls (like you cannot pass survival events), railed gameplay. Less than average overall - I had high hopes due to Clive Barkers tag on it, but alas it doesnt come close to what I feel it could have with a little more development, and some valid PC testing.
  65. DraconisB.
    Dec 26, 2007
    0
    Wow what to say? Repeative encounters where enemies spawn 10 times or more from the same spot. Squad AI is simply lacking and merely spray and prays. Bland level design with small pathways from point A to B. Awful reaction mini games where you have to push buttons in sequence to progress through the cut scene. Speaking of which, currently I am STUCK on the crusades (second) level and Wow what to say? Repeative encounters where enemies spawn 10 times or more from the same spot. Squad AI is simply lacking and merely spray and prays. Bland level design with small pathways from point A to B. Awful reaction mini games where you have to push buttons in sequence to progress through the cut scene. Speaking of which, currently I am STUCK on the crusades (second) level and unable to finish the game since the reaction game is bugged. My options are to either PAY MONEY for a cheat code for my copy of the game which will bypass the reaction event. Or I can possibly tweak my graphics card and hope the event works correctly. I am utterly aghast at this abomination of a game. not only is it a shooter on a rail but it insults you by forcing encounters of kill X enemies until you can pass. Not only does your squad do nothing to protect themselves or avoid splash damage. The biggest gripe is they are trying to milk this filth by forcing you to buy the cheat codes. BUY THE CHEAT CODES, for some people like myself we are having to bypass a infinite loop reaction cut scene or we cant progress. They expect us to pay for a code to bypass this ensuring a couple of dollars extra on top of the price. Remember who made this and remember how bland and bug infested it was. Dont forgot how they try to use buggy scenes and overly hard sections to generate cash through a pay to cheat system. Most of all remember to not support barginware gussied up with a famous persons name. P.S. Why couldn't this have been more like Undying? WHY? Expand
  66. Jun 10, 2014
    5
    A nivel narrativo interesante y también algunas de las mecánicas, pero falta acabado cuidado en los detalles. La historia es muy de Baker y eso se agradece pero la jugabilidad a veces bloquea. Tampoco a envejecido muy bien.
  67. Nov 22, 2017
    6
    Jericho's kind of a love/hate affair.

    Theres pretty cool religious and dark premise. A lot of work and detail put into world characters and villains that cause a real disgust and fair amount of fear from their ominous looks. Game just oozes great and unsettling atmosphere in levels which shift from modern setting down to sumerian times 3000 years BC with good detail added to portray
    Jericho's kind of a love/hate affair.

    Theres pretty cool religious and dark premise. A lot of work and detail put into world characters and villains that cause a real disgust and fair amount of fear from their ominous looks. Game just oozes great and unsettling atmosphere in levels which shift from modern setting down to sumerian times 3000 years BC with good detail added to portray each time period as well as possible. The way you can play as 6 characters with seemless jump to one another also was something quite unique that i had simililarly seen only in a 6 years younger game GTA V, not mentioning how it expands gameplay variety with each Jericho soldier having unique guns and magical abilities. All Jericho members also suprisingly are kinda likeable, each feels somewhat unique with their own backstories, they can crack childish, but funny jokes at times.

    On less positive side is the gameplay itself. Game is very linear, nothing wrong with linear games of course, but even good linear games can pull of sense of grander scale, Jericho doesnt do that, its just leads you thru tight corridors and paths to boss encounters which have more arena style layouts. its Gunplay can be a very mixed bag, something like Delgado's hand cannon can feel pretty beefy and powerful, while his mini gun just feels weak and piss poor to use, much same can be said about other guns other characters have. Not helping that aspect is the very generic sound design guns have, utter majority of them just have no impact and Black's sniper rifle could be worst offender sounding very poor like ripped from a B action movie generic sound FX library. Also story itself doesnt really do a good impression, there are certain highs and lows, but what really hurts is the damn ending of the game, it just ends without any aftermath explanation and doesnt show what happens with the Jericho squad, just rollis the credits and thats it, no post credits scenes, nada, nothing.

    Good thing is game is very well optimized, it has very dark, brown look to its graphics, but it really suits the game's style its pulling off, i cant imagine it having actual other vibrant colours, for a 2007 not really a triple A game it looks pretty good and runs very well, i only had 1 weird game crash during my time with it. Plus it takes very little space on storage drive, below 4 GB
    Expand
  68. Peter
    Aug 28, 2008
    7
    Jericho is more fun than most people give it credit for, I think. The combat may be repetitive and the colors banal, but the unique weapons and abilities of each squad member held my interest through to the end. To be fair, I picked it up at Gamestop for only $10. If you can get a deal like that, Jericho is worth it. Don't pay more unless you really like occult shooters.
  69. Nov 4, 2018
    9
    Clive Barker does it again! Although Jericho is not a masterpiece like Undying, it still has amazing atmosphere, great visuals, soundtrack and fun gameplay. Yes, the game is repetitive and it might annoy some people, but it didn't bother me that much. Story is interesting and there should be a sequel... bois do the sequel! Pickens approves.
  70. Feb 20, 2019
    9
    Clive Barker does it again! Although Jericho is not a masterpiece like Undying, it still has amazing atmosphere, great visuals, soundtrack and fun gameplay. Yes, the game is repetitive and it might annoy some people, but it didn't bother me that much. Story is interesting and there should be a sequel... bois do the sequel! Pickens approves.
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. I can't promise you a perfect horror FPS in Jericho, in fact I can promise you that it won't be, but somewhere between the dense oppression of its atmosphere, the unapologetically, almost decadently horrific nature of its production design, the satisfaction of its gameplay when it's firing on all cylinders, and some rather broken protagonist characters who I was surprised to grow rather attached to by the end despite the script not making the most of their backstories, I find myself unable to write it off.
  2. 40
    The action and violence are satisfying enough to make the game marginally recommendable, but only barely. Add in the complete lack of any multiplayer options, a terrible ending, and Clive Barker’s Jericho feels like a game where the good parts are overwhelmed by the shortcomings.
  3. PC Format
    69
    Utterly unremarkable. [Jan 2008, p.72]