• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2006
Company of Heroes Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1249 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A real-time strategy game set in World War II, Company of Heroes brings to life, in full cinematic detail, the greatest war mankind has ever known. Company of Heroes is built on Relic's next-generation Essence Engine and also utilizes the Havok Physics engine, delivering cinematic visualA real-time strategy game set in World War II, Company of Heroes brings to life, in full cinematic detail, the greatest war mankind has ever known. Company of Heroes is built on Relic's next-generation Essence Engine and also utilizes the Havok Physics engine, delivering cinematic visual detail in a world completely driven by realistic physics. Gamers will experience the journey of the brave men of Able Company in a deep single-player campaign that begins with the invasion of Normandy through their fight across Europe, all set against the most dynamic battlefield ever seen in a game. Company of Heroes' completely destructable environment means no two battles ever play out in the same way. Advanced squad AI delivers startling new realism and responsiveness, bringing soldiers to life as they interact with the environment and execute advanced squad tactics to eliminate the opposition forces. [THQ] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Company of Heroes Official Movie 2
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    In Company of Heroes, destruction is a component of the game in a way that we haven't seen since "X-Com" let us root out sectoids by bringing down entire farmhouses.
  2. It’s a gritty Second World War caper that loads the gaming experience to the hilt, leaving players battered, bruised and thoroughly stirred.
  3. Building upon the impressive Warhammer engine and tweaking it for historic warfare, Company of Heroes is easily the best strategy game of 2006 and sets the bar extremely high for future RTS titles.
  4. There's just the right amount of micromanagement to start without feeling like you're "fixing" bad AI by controlling every single movement.
  5. There have been lots of World War II RTS games, but this is the one that finally gives the subject matter its due - it's nothing short of brilliant. [Nov 2006, p.78]
  6. The gameplay is widely addictive and chaotic in Company of Heroes, and that's something you don't see very often in RTS titles these days. Relic continues to redefine themselves as a top RTS developer, and with two solid franchises under their belt, they're up there with Blizzard as the masters of the genre.
  7. Not surprisingly, some liberties were taken to reconcile logistics with gameplay. Call in the airborne and your paratroopers arrive immediately, with no need to plan the air drop in advance. But that is where the suspension of disbelief ends.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 284
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Still playing it inStill playing it in 2012!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2018
    10
    One of the greatest RTS games ever made. Eschewing classic base-building, COH delivers tense tactical gameplay set in a mostly destructibleOne of the greatest RTS games ever made. Eschewing classic base-building, COH delivers tense tactical gameplay set in a mostly destructible map. Asymmetric maps and a strong online community make this one for the ages. Expand
  3. R.Hill
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    Ok for all of those negative reviews lets get some things straight here... The game is similar to Dawn of War but NOT the same thing. Company Ok for all of those negative reviews lets get some things straight here... The game is similar to Dawn of War but NOT the same thing. Company of Heroes is a fast paced, intense, TACTICAL game. Dawn of war is more about spamming mass units and attacking in big waves. I tried Faces of War (which people seem to compare Company of Heroes to), it Expand
  4. IanC
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Company of heroes is one of the most enjoyable game I have ever played, and that's without its expansion. The AI is astounding in my Company of heroes is one of the most enjoyable game I have ever played, and that's without its expansion. The AI is astounding in my opinion, making combat decisions to better keep themselves alive. The cover system is very flexible and interesting, and lastly, the accuracy and presentation of the units in the game is near god-like. I highly recommend purchasing this game! Expand
  5. S-T-S
    Sep 16, 2006
    9
    Indeed, this is good RTS. Many talk about Close Combat being realistic.. I think Combat Mission series is THE most realistic WWII game to Indeed, this is good RTS. Many talk about Close Combat being realistic.. I think Combat Mission series is THE most realistic WWII game to date (granted that it's turn based, but when you press go it moves all players at once, so its kinda mixed RTS and turn based). It says something about Combat Mission, when even antitank weapon damage is calculated from the angle it was shot. Troops have wery realistic morale and efficiency based on how close leaders are. And the tactics play far more important role than in any game i have seen. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    Great game, although I never got into the competitive multiplayer because I was busy with Age of Empires 3 at the time. The graphics, soundsGreat game, although I never got into the competitive multiplayer because I was busy with Age of Empires 3 at the time. The graphics, sounds and visual effects were just stunning and the combat feels very realistic. The online is still up and running and quite alive (through Steam) for anyone looking for a new RTS to play competitively. Expand
  7. MikeW.
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    Its just not realistic, whats with you people? Can we please get away from unit damage/power bars? If a units hit its either killed or Its just not realistic, whats with you people? Can we please get away from unit damage/power bars? If a units hit its either killed or damaged & not able to repaired on the spot! In the real world a commander fights with what is available to him, he has to look after his men & equipment not just build a new tent that will produce fresh solders. Micromanaging all this resource nonsense and building units is total rubbish! Close Combat 1,2,3,4,5 and the new Cross of Iron from Matrix Games are the way forward, although i must admitt they could do with being made more pretty to look at like Company of Heroes. Expand

See all 284 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Computer Strategy Games

    Ranked: Best and Worst Computer Strategy Games Image
    Published: July 26, 2010
    How good must the new "StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty" be to crack our list of the best PC strategy games of all time? Here's how our top ten list currently stands.