Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Apr 6, 2020
    98
    For the most part I loved/am loving the expansion with the only issue I have being a pretty major one. At the point of writing this, I was quite happily playing along and have had the game crash twice, the first I was able to escape from by using a bit of Alt Tabbery… but the second time that would not release me from the game, no crash report, nothing. Control Alt Del did very little but by using the windows key I was able to bring up the start menu and though I couldn’t do much there I was able to restart the computer. I’m not currently keen to jump back in, preferring to wait to see if there’s a patch, but I would love to continue playing in the world of Control and that’s testament to the game world Remedy have created. If you share my love for the game world, the story, the whole feel for Control then I’m sure you will want to get The Foundation!
  2. Mar 26, 2020
    90
    The Foundation doesn’t totally solve Control’s issues, like its checkpoints, because it is fundamentally more Control. But unlike some other story-based DLC add-ons, it maintains that same high level of quality throughout and builds upon the, well, foundation of the main game without feeling like a superfluous chapter in Jesse’s new life. By adding a couple more powers that slightly improve frenetic combat and having collectibles and a story that continually outweird themselves in inventive ways, Remedy has shown that Jesse is fit for the job of director and hopefully just getting started.
  3. Mar 31, 2020
    84
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Mar 26, 2020
    84
    Polished DLC at a Remedy-like quality standard – and that's a huge compliment. The ability to modify the environment doesn't leave a mark, but the narrative, the new floor and the gunplay more than compensate for that minor drawback. Waiting for the Alan Wake DLC, The Foundation is an excellent reason to visit the Oldest House again.
  5. Mar 31, 2020
    80
    Ultimately, The Foundation is more of the same, but in the best ways, and if Remedy can maintain this level of quality I'm in for whatever comes next.
  6. Mar 28, 2020
    80
    The Foundation is a decent expansion that greatly enriched the gameplay and background story. It definitely worth trying if you enjoy Control.
  7. Mar 27, 2020
    80
    The new visit to the Oldest House is thoroughly enjoyable, while expanding on the strengths of the main game.
  8. Mar 26, 2020
    80
    The Foundation delves into the roots of the Oldest House, disclosing hidden truths about the Hiss and The Bureau.
  9. Mar 26, 2020
    80
    By The Foundation’s end, I didn’t come away with a seismic shift in my feelings on Control. It continues to nail what worked in the base campaign, adding more of what first captivated my attention. In trusting Remedy to take me down corridors I didn’t expect to walk, I received a few new, fun powers, some wacky side challenges, and world-building that offers satisfying answers and intriguing questions that have me eager to return yet again to its world.
  10. Mar 26, 2020
    80
    If you love Control, definitely consider picking it up.
  11. Mar 26, 2020
    77
    The Foundation is a (too) linear and fun end game mission for Control. The setting is very weird and fascinating and it's really amazing to unleash the full Jessy potential. On the other hand, the new power, Shape, is less creative and game changing than it should have been, and the result is that the exploration and gameplay feels a little bit railroaded.
  12. If you liked Control, you should definitely get this DLC. You will learn more about the history of the Bureau and get some answers you were looking for in the main game. In addition, new regions to be discovered with new skills are waiting for you.
  13. Mar 26, 2020
    75
    If you enjoyed what Control had to offer then you should be fairly satisfied with this first expansion. The Foundation doesn’t really do a whole lot new, and it doesn’t seem to learn from its mistakes, especially considering it has one of the worst checkpoints for a boss encounter yet. But if you want to get even more lost in this enthralling world that Remedy has created, then it will be hard not to pass this one up. Just stay clear of all the cats.
  14. Mar 26, 2020
    72
    The Foundation is an honest DLC, which extends the main adventure opening a narrative parenthesis that is not exactly explosive, but still solid and convincing.
  15. Mar 30, 2020
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  16. Mar 28, 2020
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  17. Mar 26, 2020
    70
    It's a pleasure to dive back into Control, and that's why I genuinely enjoyed my time with The Foundation. I still love hunting down every research note and every minute-long audio file -- anything to fill in more of the lore gaps in this bizarre, enigmatic world. This expansion does all of that even if it's ultimately left feeling inconsequential. Ironically, The Foundation fails to build on the excellent structure Remedy already built with Control.
  18. Apr 6, 2020
    60
    The Foundation is a decent expansion to Control, as it gives us a reason to be Jesse Faden again, but it lacks something really new, fresh, challenging and spectacular to be considered as a memorable time.
  19. Mar 30, 2020
    60
    The world of Control has its hooks in me, but I still don't particularly enjoy playing it. The platforming isn't any kind of challenge or thrill, and the combat fills me with rage and despair. It's interesting that a game called Control can make me feel like I have no control over my character or the battlefield. Traps help, but they only go so far.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 26, 2020
    The Foundation wins in filling out the world of Control. The additional lore and answers about various facets of the Oldest House like Control Points and Power Boxes is exactly what I want from Control. That was what pushed me forward, deeper and deeper into the DLC. Of the two major new powers, Shape makes you feel like the superhero you are, while Fracture is a pretty boring addition. I just wish those powers could be brought back into the base game, for further new combat or exploration opportunities within the Oldest House. If the world of Control is your thing, the Foundation delivers.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Mar 31, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Interesting narrative, nice new enemies and cool new skills.
    now, I DO care about 'former'.
    Full Review »