User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 55
  2. Negative: 9 out of 55

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 27, 2022
    9
    This is an absolutely stunning sci-fi game. The setting is intriguing and has solid gunplay. The levitating physics is one of the best I have ever seen. You can almost tear up anything in the world with your power and the splinters flying around the object makes it look hyper-real. The story is twisted, mysterious, and keeps you guessing and wanting more. Exploration is limited till youThis is an absolutely stunning sci-fi game. The setting is intriguing and has solid gunplay. The levitating physics is one of the best I have ever seen. You can almost tear up anything in the world with your power and the splinters flying around the object makes it look hyper-real. The story is twisted, mysterious, and keeps you guessing and wanting more. Exploration is limited till you gain levitating ability since most of the items are locked behind the story missions. The DLC is good as well. Expand
  2. Jan 1, 2022
    8
    Esse jogo é tão rico de detalhes que fica acima do normal, tb o que eles tem de acima do normal é a destruição de cenário simplesmente absurdo. Mas as side são uma bosta e o jogo é extremamente fácil n tem como escolher a dificuldade e as dlc sl nem deu vontade de continuar pq sem uma história boa eu sabia q eu n ia terminar. Então como jogo base ele é muito bom, as partes do labirinto eEsse jogo é tão rico de detalhes que fica acima do normal, tb o que eles tem de acima do normal é a destruição de cenário simplesmente absurdo. Mas as side são uma bosta e o jogo é extremamente fácil n tem como escolher a dificuldade e as dlc sl nem deu vontade de continuar pq sem uma história boa eu sabia q eu n ia terminar. Então como jogo base ele é muito bom, as partes do labirinto e os vídeos do darling pra mim são os pontos altos do jogo. Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2021
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game with a huge focus on story, characters, and world-building. I don't remember the last time when the story absorbed me so much. Yes, there are a few bugs here are there, but nothing game-breaking. Usually minor visual glitches. Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2021
    7
    boring story, boring dialogs, boring characters. cool gameplay but so easy.
  5. May 30, 2021
    10
    Super immersif ! Et une D.A superbe !
    On sent la puissance de l'héroïne montée, et même si les combats, sont sympa, l'IA put paraitre un peu feignante, mais cela reste un TPS de haute volée, avec une histoire intéressante, plus un petit côté "Metroïdvania"... j'adore !!
    Un "must-have" !!!
  6. Apr 11, 2021
    9
    SAM LAKE - ГЕНИЙ

    На первый взгляд кажется, что всё происходящее в игре, - бред сумасшедшего (и в какой-то степени эти люди будут правы, ведь многие гении немного поехавшие :)))) ), но когда ты должным образом во всё разберёшься, ты будешь поражён невероятной проработанностью этого мира, связующего во едино многие игры remedy. Правда способ познания тайн в этой игре очень субъективный.
    SAM LAKE - ГЕНИЙ

    На первый взгляд кажется, что всё происходящее в игре, - бред сумасшедшего (и в какой-то степени эти люди будут правы, ведь многие гении немного поехавшие :)))) ), но когда ты должным образом во всё разберёшься, ты будешь поражён невероятной проработанностью этого мира, связующего во едино многие игры remedy. Правда способ познания тайн в этой игре очень субъективный. Большинство информации находится в записках, которые большей части игроков просто не будут интересны (+ в игре нет русской озвучки, что утомляет игрока постоянно читать субтитры и тексты). Да даже когда ты их прочитаешь, то фиг ты сможешь собрать всё единою картину самостоятельно (я сам воспользовался Ютубом и мягко говоря афигел от всего этого).
    Но про лор и историю мне говорить незачем, если хотите можете сами поиграть или посмотреть разборы на Ютубе (Likoris отлично всё расставил по полочкам).
    Что касательно геймплея, то я полностью удовлетворён. Боёвка простая и ненадоедающая, но тут главное другое. Практически полная разрушаемость в кооперативе с достаточно хорошей оптимизацией (моя 1660s тянет на предмаксималках в 1080p и примерно 60fps) раскрашивают геймплей в совершенно новые оттенки (в прямом и переносном смысле). Ох, как же весело было убивать этих дурачков, попутно разрушая всё на своём пути.

    В общем и целом, если вам интересны игры Remedy и запутанный, сложный сюжет с интересным лором и историй, то вам однозначно сюда. Если же вы больше предпочитаете ПИУ ПИУ, то решайте сами.

    Насчёт двух дополнений. Первое про основание норм, проливает свет на корни самого Бюро и совета, но чтобы прям ВАУ! Не сказать.

    А вот дополнение про Алана Уэйка, то тут уже интереснее. По факту так нам уже намекнули на продолжение писателя с фонариком и это естественно прекрасно. (в конце даже скрытый тизер есть)
    Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2021
    6
    This game can be summarized with the word "bland." The characters and their dialogue are both incredibly generic. The story is equally forgettable. The shooting mechanics are nothing new, and the powers are a combination of Mass Effect Andromeda and the gravity gun from Half-Life 2. There are only a handful of enemy types, and even the named "unique" miniboss enemies have boring names thatThis game can be summarized with the word "bland." The characters and their dialogue are both incredibly generic. The story is equally forgettable. The shooting mechanics are nothing new, and the powers are a combination of Mass Effect Andromeda and the gravity gun from Half-Life 2. There are only a handful of enemy types, and even the named "unique" miniboss enemies have boring names that are almost indistinguishable from one another.

    I have to give credit to the graphics of the game. The game looks fantastic even on PS4/X1, but on PC you get a wealth of ray-tracing options that are all utilized to their fullest. As a matter of fact, some areas of the game feel like they were designed to maximize those sweet RT reflections. I could argue that the graphics are the main selling point of this game, and it might be worth playing just to break in that shiny new RTX 30 series card and see all of its features in a best case scenario.

    Graphics aside, this game is frustrating because it's a "purgatory" title: it's far from bad, but no single part stands out as being really good/great. I would recommend this game ONLY if you get it on a pretty steep sale (>50%) or if you have Game Pass, although Game Pass just has the Standard Edition without the DLCs.
    Expand
  8. Mar 15, 2021
    8
    This game had potential with its setting and story but the acting in the game feels forced. The character models reminded me of Mass Effect: Andromeda and the enemies are repetitive and boring. However, the psychic abilities you have make the gameplay and combat a lot more exciting. Personally, I'd advise the game to be bought on special.
  9. Feb 28, 2021
    0
    Not only they blocked the way to sync saves between pc and xbox versions, bur now remedy went even further and made saves not compatible between PC and PC versions of the game. What would be your next move - make saves from odds days of the week, not playable on even? Remedy guys clearly have some kind of issues.
  10. Feb 2, 2021
    8
    Amazing world building, top notch graphic (run smoothly with ray tracing on my 2080 rtx), and interesting gameplay. New skills and mechanics are introduced gradually to keep the game interesting. The only downside is that a lot of the backstory are being told from texts and recordings that I don't have the patience to read them all.
  11. Dec 26, 2020
    9
    Control is a third person shooter and exploration title with telekinetic powers and a whole of craziness thrown in. Sure, the gameplay is nothing groundbreaking, but what will keep you glued to your screen is the foreboding atmosphere and even stranger story.

    The combat will have you runnin’ and gunnin’ and using your telekinetic abilities to fight your way out of rooms full of
    Control is a third person shooter and exploration title with telekinetic powers and a whole of craziness thrown in. Sure, the gameplay is nothing groundbreaking, but what will keep you glued to your screen is the foreboding atmosphere and even stranger story.

    The combat will have you runnin’ and gunnin’ and using your telekinetic abilities to fight your way out of rooms full of enemies. Does it get repetitive after a while? Sure, but it’s still enjoyable and feels great to launch chunks of debris in a hail of explosions and smoke. But, like I said, the combat isn’t the strong point here; it’s the completely wild story and setting. Things just get weirder and weirder and will have you wanting to see what happens next. With the 2 DLC stories included with the Ultimate Edition, it just sweetens the pot even more.

    I did have some issues though. My biggest one is the map: it’s completely unintuitive. Instead of using something like a 3D map, the developers instead opted to use a flat, top down system. This is an issue because it doesn’t do a good job of showing levels or floors, and exploration being a big part of the game, it’s damn near impossible to track what rooms or areas you missed. The last gripe I have are the mods you find that enhance gun and player abilities. You’ll find tons of them on your play though, but some will feel useful while others not so much.

    Control: Ultimate Edition is an absolutely stellar game. It’s fun, it’s creepy, it’s strange, and I hope we see a sequel sometime soon. If you’re on the fence about this one, just get it and dive into the mysteries of The Oldest House.
    Expand
  12. Sep 18, 2020
    8
    Control is an FPS game with repetitive gameplay and a really bad upgrade system. The main thing going for the game is the story and the lore, which is somewhat interesting. Its world is like a very-neutered and mild version of the SCP Foundation (which is probably too shocking to be published as a AAA game). The artwork in the game is absolutely amazing, but it can't make up for theControl is an FPS game with repetitive gameplay and a really bad upgrade system. The main thing going for the game is the story and the lore, which is somewhat interesting. Its world is like a very-neutered and mild version of the SCP Foundation (which is probably too shocking to be published as a AAA game). The artwork in the game is absolutely amazing, but it can't make up for the repetitive gameplay. By mid-game, all you'll be doing is spamming launch over and over again to kill enemies. The 2 DLCs are more of the same.

    You're better off just reading the amazing horror/sci-fi stories on the SCP Foundation website.

    I do appreciate that you can customize the difficulty because some of the bosses were insanely difficult during the original release.
    Expand
  13. Aug 30, 2020
    10
    Меня редко какая игра может так сильно увлечь интересными загадками и записками, умным фантастическим сюжетом.
    Меня редко какая игра может по-хорошему удивить.
    Этой игре удалось.
    Шедевр.
  14. Aug 29, 2020
    3
    I have bought the Ultimate Edition from Steam after spending 20+ hours with my Epic store version last year. Unfortunately, they did not put enough time into Quality Assurance and the saves are not compatible at all with the other platform - even with a workaround (changing file names) the first mission of the AWE DLC is not being activated. I am very disappointed mostly because theI have bought the Ultimate Edition from Steam after spending 20+ hours with my Epic store version last year. Unfortunately, they did not put enough time into Quality Assurance and the saves are not compatible at all with the other platform - even with a workaround (changing file names) the first mission of the AWE DLC is not being activated. I am very disappointed mostly because the developers should have known that a lot of Epic users will buy the Ultimate edition and test if that will work at all. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 15, 2020
    95
    This game is a masterpiece. It feels good to play, looks absolutely gorgeous and runs like a dream. The setting and story are similarly top tier, and I would have to dig deep to fault CONTROL: Ultimate Edition. It hasn't won a boatload of awards for nothing.
  2. Nov 10, 2020
    87
    Control Ultimate Edition is a great title, especially since the DLC adds more enemies and gameplay mechanics into the mix. If you rush, the complete bundle will take you about 18 hours to complete, but if you take your time and explore and complete side-quests, you'll take at least 25 hours, which is quite meaty for a game of this caliber. If you have yet to experience Control, Ultimate Edition is the best way to do so on the PC. The combat is tight, over the top, and satisfying. The premise is so good that you want to dive deeper, but it doesn't always come together. While it's a great game to play, Control could have been an even stronger experience, and that takes away some of its thunder.
  3. Oct 20, 2020
    70
    Control's combat is repetitive, yet very enjoyable; the story is a mess, yet somehow manages to keep you want to learn more; the graphic engine needs plenty of work, yet the visuals are fantastic. Fascinating masterpiece and disappointing mediocrity, and almost at equal measures, Remedy Entertainment's bizarre piece of software isn't a solid recommendation, yet it remains a one of a kind experience.