User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1152 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Very high quality action game. Unique story and excellent game mechanics. Beautiful graphics! PC with RTX on is just pure candy for your eyes!
  2. Aug 27, 2019
    9
    Remedy proves once again that they are one of the best studios in the industry

    + Great Visuals and Effects
    + Immersive Story
    + Addictive Game-play
    + Soundtrack (and music from Poets of the Fall) Is awesome.

    - Lip sync and animations in some of the conversations (cut-scenes) are little bit bland, and it
    sometimes seems that side characters are much better looking than the main character.
  3. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Game is awesome! Is mysterious triller like Alan Wake but even better. Best game of year 2019 so far.
    Just buy it.
  4. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    The game graphics were pleasant and delightful. The story was weird even so made me laugh many times. Unlike Remedy's previous games, Control is open-world game and i think Remedy made it work well!
  5. Mar 15, 2021
    8
    Control is a third-person story-heavy metroidvania action game that draws obvious inspiration from the stories of the SCP Foundation – which itself took inspiration from various secretive government agencies containing the paranormal, like the MIB.

    As a fan of SCPs, I was excited to see other groups play around with this idea, as it is one that is very ripe for exploration. Here, the
    Control is a third-person story-heavy metroidvania action game that draws obvious inspiration from the stories of the SCP Foundation – which itself took inspiration from various secretive government agencies containing the paranormal, like the MIB.

    As a fan of SCPs, I was excited to see other groups play around with this idea, as it is one that is very ripe for exploration.

    Here, the main “feature” is that a lot of the “Altered Items” are, rather than being fantastic things, instead extremely mundane. The central premise is that something is granting seemingly ordinary objects extraordinary power (possibly the collective belief of humanity in these icons), and they do various fantastical things as a result.

    The mixture of the mundane and the fantastic works quite well; when you see a rubber duck in a cage behind a thick sheet of glass, you know that it is dangerous, despite its innocuous nature.

    You play as Jesse Faden, a young woman who is looking for her brother, who was taken by the Federal Bureau of Control years earlier. As the game unfolds, you learn that she and her brother were involved in some sort of Altered World Event, where a seemingly innocent item created major problems, and in the process of the event, the pair of them gained extraordinary powers.

    Jesse’s main ability is to bind herself to Objects of Power – a particular type of Altered Item that grant paranatural abilities to those who build some sort of connection to them. These abilities range from hovering in the air to telekinetically throwing objects to making a shield of stone around yourself.

    And it’s a good thing she has these abilities, because she walks into the Bureau of Control while it is in a crisis. The bureau is located in the Oldest House, an imposing building that hides itself from the eyes of normal men, and whose insides are constantly shifting and changing, and it is under lockdown – some sort of horrible otherworldly thing, called the Hiss, has entered it, and taken a bunch of agents under its control.

    Jesse, blind to all of this, walks straight into the Director’s office – ordinarily impossible due to security, but instead all too easy because of the devastation wrought by the Hiss – and finds him dead on his desk, his weapon – the Service Weapon, an object of power that looks like a gun that identifies you as the Director of the Bureau – right next to him. Naturally, she binds herself to it, and in the process realizes that this is far, far bigger than her search for the brother – and that the Bureau needs her.

    This is a really neat premise for the game, and as you go through the game, you gradually uncover the history of the Bureau. In truth, the Bureau’s background is really the main thing that makes this game work – reading about all the events and altered items, then dealing with the various issues they’re causing, works really well. These are often rather funny, but in a rather dark sort of way, and the contrast of the mundane-seeming items and the mundanity of government work is contrasted with the ridiculousness of the items they’re trying to contain and the danger that they represent.

    Pretty much everything about this is fun, but sadly, the rest of the game doesn’t quite hold up to it.

    The combat is only okay. For being as fantastical as it is in some ways, virtually everything you fight is some variation on “dude with gun” or “dude with telekinetic powers who chucks stuff at you”, along with a couple melee enemies. There’s really not that much variety in terms of what you’re facing, and as a result, you will spend the whole game doing more or less the same thing in combat – even more so as you get your best power, telekinesis, very early.

    The game’s dearth of bosses also hurts it – there’s really only three bosses that aren’t some variant of “dude with gun” (though one “dude with gun” boss does have a nice array of powers), and so, despite the seemingly fantastic setting, there’s really not that much fantastic about the combat. In a game that is 20+ hours long, that is far too little variety.

    The game also suffers from its Metroidvania aspects. The problem with Metroidvanias is that they encourage backtracking, but backtracking through the Bureau isn’t much fun – the main fun of the game is discovering new things, and this is pretty boring.

    The sidequests, too, are a mixed bag; some of them are nothing but filler, while others are some of the best content in the game, including several of the more interesting bosses.

    Finally, the game’s ending is quite lackluster. There is no final boss and you are left with a number of dangling plot points – and while that’s not entirely a bad thing it still feels unsatisfying in many ways.

    All in all, Control is a game that I was very enthusiastic to play, and felt great about playing for about 3/4ths of it, but was good but not great in the end.
    Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2020
    8
    Excellent game, good story although it is easy to get lost on the map and not achieve the objectives easily, after finishing the game I did not want to continue doing the secondary missions because I got bored
  7. May 1, 2021
    10
    Not best from Remedy, but still solid game and i love connection with one of my favorite games "Alan Wake". Bonus points for good looking main character.
  8. Jun 2, 2021
    9
    Unlike Naughty Dog, Remedy Entertainment actually knows how to write good and likable female main characters. Solid game!
  9. Aug 30, 2019
    9
    Short:

    In my opinion Control can be a real piece of Art, if you are into these kind of Games. It manages to balance story and gameplay just right for its purposes and delivers a truly immersive experience, if you can attach yourself to its genre. If not leave it or refund it. its one of those games that you either love or hate, i believe. In either case a 6.6 at the time of writing
    Short:

    In my opinion Control can be a real piece of Art, if you are into these kind of Games. It manages to balance story and gameplay just right for its purposes and delivers a truly immersive experience, if you can attach yourself to its genre. If not leave it or refund it. its one of those games that you either love or hate, i believe. In either case a 6.6 at the time of writing doesnt do it justice. its a well executed concept, although its hungry and will make your rig sweat.

    in Detail:

    Control is a Game with a weird Story. For the better part of your playthrough it will be confusing and thats what is was deliberately made to be. The plot line, the ever-shifting environment, the lack of evident explanation or guidance. Slowly you will learn more about the Bureau, your Characters purpose, motives and origin and what the **** is happening in this odd place.

    The Gameplay is enjoyable but not strong enough to carry the game, if youre not bringing an affinity for the Genre (Soft Sci-fi/Mystery). The telekinesis abilities remind me a lot of force unleashed just with a better physics engine. After completing the main plot I for my part am still fascinated by them, mainly because the more you progress the better you can rely on them. I rarely use the Gun anymore. The Gunplay is only on average maybe below, but thats not the reason im into this game. The bosses can be challenging when underestimated, but thats no competition to real boss fights, like in for example soulsbourne games. The Enemies are repetitive, but everything else wouldnt be story cohesive.

    The Atmosphere created is absolutely great, although from what i read you will need to have pretty good specs to fully taste how this game is meant to be played. I played it maxed out on 2k and found that through the exceptional use of lightning (even without ray tracing), particles, detailed mapdesign and physics i could really immerse myself into the environment.

    Additionally there has been put great effort into writing all those memos/audio tapes/Clips, that can be discovered around the map. In most games you get the feeling those were just placed as random fillers and didnt get much attention in the development process. Here they are mostly entertaining in addition of being a crucial part in understanding the story as a whole piece by piece a little bit better.

    What i dont get about reviewers ranting on this game, is the fact, that they are obviously not the targeted group of gamers this game was developed/written for. If youre not into exploration dont buy subnautica, if youre not into blunt Shooters dont buy DOOM, if youre not into story driven games and/or mystery as a genre dont buy Control.
    Remedy games have pretty much always been strongly story focused. Alan Wake, Quantum Break, Max Payne relied for the most part on an immersive Story. Those Games are "one time playthroughs" and thats it and only as that they deserve to be judged. At least in my opinion. A product is not to be judged as what you want or expect it to be, but what it was meant to be. You dont go into a Starbucks ordering coffee, only to go on a rant on how **** this kebab tastes.
    Expand
  10. Aug 27, 2019
    8
    This is an atmospheric game. It's a looker and a sounder (the ambience is beautiful, sound, music cues, it's just spot on). While I personally never found any character in Remedy games more likable than Mr. Wake, I don't feel bugged by Jesse. Not as much as by almost the entire Quantum-Break-cast which just oozed Hollywood-by-numbers. An intricate web of information and details is woven.This is an atmospheric game. It's a looker and a sounder (the ambience is beautiful, sound, music cues, it's just spot on). While I personally never found any character in Remedy games more likable than Mr. Wake, I don't feel bugged by Jesse. Not as much as by almost the entire Quantum-Break-cast which just oozed Hollywood-by-numbers. An intricate web of information and details is woven. The narrative feels right. Timing wise, content wise. It's presented beautifully. There's a certain colour curve and grain over everything, that lends itself fittingly to the 60-70's-ish interior and feel of the Bureau. Gunplay feels quick and responsive, there's lots of physical game mechanics that are rally fun to learn and use. Feels very potent. Highly recommended. Get on it, you. Expand
  11. Jun 27, 2020
    10
    Fantastic Sci-Fi mindbender. My personal GOTY. Give it a shot. I don't think you will regret it if your computer can run it. Good luck Director.
  12. Oct 29, 2019
    8
    Watched through a walkthrough video series. Unique story as always from Remedy.
  13. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Love this game.

    For some reason this game gets a lot of hate and those negative reviews seem to be totally out of place. From my point of view at least. I hope too many people don't skip this game just because of negative spammers. It's pretty much 10 or 0 from the reviewers, which is hilarious. Anyhow... I run at 1080 resolution with all graphics maxed and it has worked like a
    Love this game.

    For some reason this game gets a lot of hate and those negative reviews seem to be totally out of place. From my point of view at least. I hope too many people don't skip this game just because of negative spammers. It's pretty much 10 or 0 from the reviewers, which is hilarious.

    Anyhow... I run at 1080 resolution with all graphics maxed and it has worked like a charm. (Remember to use the latest drivers dated aug 27.) So with RTX 2070 max Q I can get all the raytracing and oh my it is a noticeable technology. All the see throughs and reflections etc. Very nice. Looks fine without them as well but it really is some cool and new.

    Gameplay has had no hiccups. For me everything works like it should and the telekinesis with the shooting is very enjoyable. I do not recommend to play it in one go, just take your time and explore. Story is good, enjoyed much. Haven't read ALL the documents etc. YET and I can see how this game is not for all todays fast food consumption gaming addicts. To say the plot and story is not good most likely means you really haven't taken your time to even understand it but just rushed through the game. If you have played it through in 8 hours, you have missed a lot! The whole game.

    So it is not a game for everyone but that is what makes it interesting. You either get it or you don't. Usually the best kind of games!

    The world is amazing. Weird, enchanting, surprising and there's always something totally unexpected coming around the corner.

    I will be spending a lot of time exploring the world even the game is finished. Waiting for additional content already.

    GO WATCH SOME VIDEO REVIEWS AND DECIDE THEN. Seems those are legit at least, whether they gave anything from 0 to 10.
    Expand
  14. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    Посмотрел значит первый стрим мэда. Он как обычно ныл и искал проблемы во всем. Смотреть это более было невозможно и я решил попробовать поиграть сам... и знаете что? давно ничего из сингл проектов так меня не цепляло.
    -Великолепный стиль ар-деко прошлого века, окутанный таинственностью секретных служб США. Все это существует на проработанном движке с шикарной графикой. Иногда просто
    Посмотрел значит первый стрим мэда. Он как обычно ныл и искал проблемы во всем. Смотреть это более было невозможно и я решил попробовать поиграть сам... и знаете что? давно ничего из сингл проектов так меня не цепляло.
    -Великолепный стиль ар-деко прошлого века, окутанный таинственностью секретных служб США. Все это существует на проработанном движке с шикарной графикой. Иногда просто хочешь скриншотить все подряд.
    -Лучшая физика что я видел в играх. Качайте телекинез - не пожалеете.
    -Приятный геймплей и отличные анимации.
    -История не прям 10/10, но я если углубиться и не бежать сломя голову чтобы поскорее закончить игру(привет медовый), то она вас не разочарует уж точно.
    п.с. миссии с зеркалом и особенно с лабиринтом просто вышка.

    Играл на 1060(6g). Стабильные золочёные 30 fps.
    Expand
  15. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    I love this game! The atmosphere of the game is amazing. You can really get immersed in the world.
    - Graphics to this game look fantastic, even on low settings
    - Weapons feel good, shoot good, and make you feel powerful with each shot. Also includes bullet speed, and one-shot headshots
  16. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Wonderfull game, having tons of fun, pretty good story, very atmospheric and stylish, love Jesse. Solid gameplay, maybe little repetitive.
    Has some problems with optimization.
  17. Aug 31, 2019
    8
    This is a really good game that's held back by some really obvious flaws. A few more months of tweaking gameplay and story, and this could have easily been a 9/10 or even 10/10.

    PROS Amazing world-building (amazing lore, amazing atmosphere, fully-realized bizzaro-office complex, etc.) Decent core gameplay (guns and powers feel good in general) Graphics and sound are really good
    This is a really good game that's held back by some really obvious flaws. A few more months of tweaking gameplay and story, and this could have easily been a 9/10 or even 10/10.

    PROS

    Amazing world-building (amazing lore, amazing atmosphere, fully-realized bizzaro-office complex, etc.)

    Decent core gameplay (guns and powers feel good in general)

    Graphics and sound are really good (plus, amazingly almost-fully-destructible environment)

    CONS

    Main plot is not so good (player character constantly narrates explanations for major plot points which you would NEVER EVER intuitively figure out on your own)

    Braindead AI and extremely basic enemy variety (this is offset a bit by fun guns and powers)

    Acting is hit and miss (this is also due to the writing not really giving the actors room to breathe or express themselves)

    Almost no mission variety (offset by the occasional good story mission or puzzle mission)

    Pacing is hurt by the semi-open world structure (this game would've been much better as a linear, super-focused game); lots of time wasted backtracking and wandering around for the objective

    8/10. The world and the core concepts are there, but execution needed a few months more polish. It saddens me cause this really, really could've been a wildly amazing game.

    Read on for a deep-dive:

    The pacing of the game is really bad. For the most part you're doing fetch quests for 3 characters. And then, suddenly the game cranks it up to 11 in the final act and you're left thinking "darn, I wish the earlier parts of the game had this much scenic variety and plot developments". On top of bad pacing, the plot points don't really make much sense. The main character keeps explaining things for you as they happen and you're just meant to nod along. In contrast, Alan Wake's plot was clear as day and easy to follow. Plus, for Alan Wake, his narrations were deeply woven into the style and direction of the game so it felt natural. In Control, Jesse's narrations feel off; the narrations feel as if they're just there to compensate for the nebulous plot. Additionally, in Alan Wake, the plot and the gameplay were so intertwined that it felt like you were watching a movie; the game kept you razor-focused on the main plot. In Control, it's very easy to forgot the main plot as you do fetch quest after fetch quest. In Control, the main bad guy, The Hiss, is always talked about, but never really explained; in contrast again, The Shadows in Alan Wake were straight up explained by Wake himself as the game progressed. In Alan Wake. you can appreciate what you are fighting. In Control, the game just tells you "The Hiss is the bad guy. It's a mystery why they're bad. Why? Because. Deal with it.". Additionally, Control's ending is SO BAD. Yes the bad guy is beaten, but it doesn't feel like anything significant happened. Compare this to Alan Wake's ending which was amazing and monumental and clear. It really feels like Control's story was so focused on being weird and unique that it forgot to be a good story in the first place. Wasted potential.

    The core gameplay is decent but needs work. In general, combat is too simple and too easy. This game could've used difficulty modes. The game should have also made its resource system more complex. They should have added cooldowns to abilities on top of the energy bar. They should've lengthened ammo recharge time, but made two separate ammo pools that recharge independently. Why make these changes? So that you're forced to diversify your approach. I'm not kidding when I say you only need the Launch ability to kill everything. The only reason you'll use your gun is because you're waiting for more energy to cast Launch. Launch is too powerful and everything else is so weak in relation that it makes the combat extremely simple. Add to this the extremely simple AI and enemy variety, and I can easily see a lot of people getting bored with the game after a few hours.

    Lastly, the level design. It's semi-open world, which is a bad thing for this game, honestly. All the backtracking it makes you do is not fun. It's a shame because the wow-factor of each new area is great; but it diminishes rapidly the third time you revisit the area. I have to compare it to Alan Wake again. Alan Wake was linear, but it was better for it. When the game is linear, you can polish each enemy encounter. You can polish each platforming section. You can polish each vista and scene. When the game is linear you can make awesome one-time scripted events. In this semi-open world, wonders of the office complex fade away greatly with every re-visit. The only good thing about the semi-open world design is exploring for secrets; but again, this is also something you can also do in a focused linear game.

    If they make a sequel to Control, I hope the review their past wild success with Alan Wake, and re-focus Control to try and recapture Wake's mix of charm, mystery, levity, and gameplay.
    Expand
  18. Sep 1, 2019
    9
    One of the best action games of this year with the most spectacular implementation of ray tracing yet. While the fighting mechanics with its same enemy types became repetitive near the end game the story will keep you on edge. I wasn't particularly impressed by the trailers of Control but couldnt stop playing once i started the game. The FBC and all of its secrets and collectible documentsOne of the best action games of this year with the most spectacular implementation of ray tracing yet. While the fighting mechanics with its same enemy types became repetitive near the end game the story will keep you on edge. I wasn't particularly impressed by the trailers of Control but couldnt stop playing once i started the game. The FBC and all of its secrets and collectible documents are one of the most interesting locations i have visited in a game. This is Remedy in its old form. Expand
  19. Sep 3, 2019
    9
    Im a fan of CONTROL. First thing I say is this game is awesome. I just registered on Metacritic just to post my review as I see this great game is getting undeserved bad reviews.
    Played the game on pc at launch, bought it on Epic Store, finished it in 20 hours aprox, on my Intel i5 9600K, Vega 56, SSD, 16GB RAM. Locked to 60fps in Ultra at 1080p.
    Graphics: Photorealistic mixed with
    Im a fan of CONTROL. First thing I say is this game is awesome. I just registered on Metacritic just to post my review as I see this great game is getting undeserved bad reviews.
    Played the game on pc at launch, bought it on Epic Store, finished it in 20 hours aprox, on my Intel i5 9600K, Vega 56, SSD, 16GB RAM. Locked to 60fps in Ultra at 1080p.

    Graphics: Photorealistic mixed with fantasy. Some structures are crazy in a good way, particle effect blowed me away and in general felt like a next gen game (PS5, Scarlet). Could have use some color variation on enemies. 9/10

    Gameplay: just great, Jesse moves, shoot, and throw things beautifully. The game is a mix of metroidvania, with dark souls, with classic 3rd person shooter. 9/10

    Stability: Found one silly bug in my 20hs playthrough, which I reported to Remedy. Game is super polished. Most polished game I played in years.

    Story: convoluted as hell and a really different to all AAA games, this is the type of stories that I think before I go to bed, tell my friends about it, discuss online and see videos just to undestand more. It's a great mess, but its great. Many things to watch, read and listen. 8/10

    Content: has many missions, some suits and skills to unlock, personal and mod weapons. Has an upgrade system for weapons which I find it nice. There also random events. Missions are varied and a nice change to classic AAA games. 9/10

    Sound: oh my god. I played the game with headphones and ambient sound and music are oppresive, it got to my nerves many times. Also sound effects are top notch. Loved it. The guys that hang from the ceiling talking like crazy made me cringe. 10/10

    All in all, the game is a 9 for me. This game is a nice change of style and play.

    Things that Id change if I could:
    -Enemies could use color variation, specially for high level enemies.
    -More varied attack skills to Jesse woudl be great as shoot and throwing stuff is super repetitive.
    -Endgame content. Random event encounters are not sufficient.
    -Photo mode (already planned by developers).
    -I miss achievements/throphies. Developers should make them internal for PC [using a menu] (like some other games) as Epic Launcher doesnt have it.
    -There are no internal statistics for the game. I dont know how many items I still have to collect, hidden rooms undiscovered, missions undiscovered, boxes to open, etc.
    -Epic store is crap and exclusivity to it bothers me. I dont hate it but lacks achievements, hours played, game blog (to know developers news and updates), unable to locate installed game or move it to my ssd, fps counter, and more.

    Please like if it was helpful.
    Expand
  20. Sep 2, 2019
    9
    +
    Игра очень хорошо сделана со стороны окружения.
    Разрушаемость это красота. Мрачный геймплей. Приятная мимика лица. Главный персонаж, который не молчит!!! Сверхспособности в совокупности с левитацией превращают игру в наслаждение. Взмываешь в небо и раскидываешь ящики во врагов или врагов во врагов. Под конец оружием почти не пользовался. Огромное пространство для изучения, что
    +
    Игра очень хорошо сделана со стороны окружения.
    Разрушаемость это красота.
    Мрачный геймплей.
    Приятная мимика лица.
    Главный персонаж, который не молчит!!!
    Сверхспособности в совокупности с левитацией превращают игру в наслаждение. Взмываешь в небо и раскидываешь ящики во врагов или врагов во врагов. Под конец оружием почти не пользовался.
    Огромное пространство для изучения, что вдоль горизонтальной плоскости но и вертикальной.

    -
    Мы играем не за спецназ а за "простого" человека, получаем низкий процент попадания в противников.
    Очень запутанный сюжет игры. Я прошел игру и Я не вкурсе кто это или что это внутри головы находится у персонажа.
    Очень много текстовых документов. По началу это радует. Когда половина текста скрыта, в голове дописываешь, додумываешь. Но, под конец идут разные отчеты, письма сумасшедших. И это уже начинает раздражать.
    Беготня по одним и тем же локациям, по причине поэтапного открытия доступов и возможностей персонажа.
    Скомканный конец игры.
    Expand
  21. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Brilliant and intriguing thriller that keeps you hooked! One of the best games in 2019 so far!
  22. Sep 5, 2019
    9
    Отличная игра, давно не получала такого визуального удовольствия, единственный минус для меня стрельба, а в целом очень достойно похвалы.
  23. Sep 8, 2019
    8
    Very good game. The setting is mainly what is so interesting here. Gun play is also lot of fun. I can recommend this.
  24. Aug 28, 2019
    9
    While everyone **** about rtx and egs, this game is actually pretty good.
    Don't expect very deep plot from it, but gameplay-wise it's awesome.
  25. zi0
    Aug 27, 2019
    9
    great atmosphere and physics, well made mechanics, first game shows real RTX solutions.
    in other hand, game looks unfinished (face animation gradient from ugly in some scenes to about perfect in others), AI is too dumb, most weapons is about useless.
    Also bad localisation, but it's last in the list. Looks like game use adaptive difficulty level, which have not good algorithm. Still I
    great atmosphere and physics, well made mechanics, first game shows real RTX solutions.
    in other hand, game looks unfinished (face animation gradient from ugly in some scenes to about perfect in others), AI is too dumb, most weapons is about useless.
    Also bad localisation, but it's last in the list.
    Looks like game use adaptive difficulty level, which have not good algorithm.

    Still I gave 9 points as game could be tuned with some patch.
    Expand
  26. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Hands down the best game Remedy has made so far. As a Finn, I gotta give some extra credit for Ahti character.
  27. Sep 4, 2019
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. I played for like 30 hours, finished all side missions and I'm still hungry for more. I expected a Ray Tracing demo and I got one of the GOTY.

    The level design is great, and while the map it's not very helpful sometimes, I actually had fun looking for secret rooms and hidden corridors. The combat is a blast, especially when you're fully upgraded. I just wish
    Absolutely amazing game. I played for like 30 hours, finished all side missions and I'm still hungry for more. I expected a Ray Tracing demo and I got one of the GOTY.

    The level design is great, and while the map it's not very helpful sometimes, I actually had fun looking for secret rooms and hidden corridors. The combat is a blast, especially when you're fully upgraded. I just wish there was a Game plus, as I would love to replay some difficult optional boss battles with my fully upgraded character. The story is quite convoluted, with many crazy flashbacks. Some missions and sections were absolutely trippy. Loved it!!!!

    BTW, the combat starts slow, so the game requires some patience until it gets more intense. If you like single player games with a rich story, great setting and fun combat get it!
    Expand
  28. Sep 1, 2019
    8
    A very refreshing action shooter. Even though the story could have been better the gameplay was innovative and fun. Also the world building was amazing. Remedy shows that your can build great gameplay world in closed environments. Also big pops to the maze level, one of the most innovative game level design I have seen in that mission.
  29. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    Very high quality action game. Unique story and excellent game mechanics. Beautiful graphics! PC with RTX on is just pure candy for your eyes!
  30. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Стильно. Отличный звук и визуал. Интересная история, которая возможно даже больше уходит в состояние передачи ощущений, нежели конкретно поданной истории, что необычно и смело для игры. Если интересен Линч, то обязательно игратьСтильно. Отличный звук и визуал. Интересная история, которая возможно даже больше уходит в состояние передачи ощущений, нежели конкретно поданной истории, что необычно и смело для игры. Если интересен Линч, то обязательно играть
  31. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    I am delighted with this game and can not find almost any reason for criticism. For me, there is a fascinating story, an interesting world so that it does not bother to collect information and read documents, and in addition - fascinating gameplay. I saw complaints about weak enemies that miss shots, but I have never encountered anything like that - all opponents are deadly dangerous. II am delighted with this game and can not find almost any reason for criticism. For me, there is a fascinating story, an interesting world so that it does not bother to collect information and read documents, and in addition - fascinating gameplay. I saw complaints about weak enemies that miss shots, but I have never encountered anything like that - all opponents are deadly dangerous. I play this game with pleasure and I will surely do it a couple more times. Expand
  32. Sep 8, 2019
    9
    Very fun game, good physics are rare in modern projects, thanks for good time Remedy
  33. Aug 27, 2019
    9
    This game is simply amazing on a good pc setup. Just wow! This is game of the year material
    Right here. I’m the kind of person who gets bored with games easily and just moves on to trying the next new thing, but not with this one. This game grabs you and doesn’t let go. Not sure why some on here gave it anything below an 8. Maybe they are used to Fortnite?
  34. Sep 15, 2019
    8
    It reminded me the old superb game "Psi Ops the mindgate conpiracy" but i think although Control is a good game is not so good as that one.
    PROS: easy to control + the abilities makes you feel powerfull + it's much funny to explode things and levitate + detailed and breakeable scenary + nice to play + well done game
    CONS: confusing map (all floors are in one map) and difficult to see
    It reminded me the old superb game "Psi Ops the mindgate conpiracy" but i think although Control is a good game is not so good as that one.
    PROS: easy to control + the abilities makes you feel powerfull + it's much funny to explode things and levitate + detailed and breakeable scenary + nice to play + well done game
    CONS: confusing map (all floors are in one map) and difficult to see where are you in it + confusing story + totally manual camera + boss checkpoints a bit far + bad voice spanish actors
    Expand
  35. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Love this game. atmosphere is haunting and creepy, story stays pretty vage but i love it for that, the combat is really fun, and there are soo many secrets.
  36. Aug 31, 2019
    8
    This game is too clean. Its the opposite of Quantum Break which was nice and colourful. Its also very black, grey and white and the world is quite dull and lifeless. From the PC point of view, graphics are great and control -via keyboard of-course- is precise and excellent - WAY better than Quantum Break which had a dire PC control set up. Graphics are crisp an...dull. There's the oddThis game is too clean. Its the opposite of Quantum Break which was nice and colourful. Its also very black, grey and white and the world is quite dull and lifeless. From the PC point of view, graphics are great and control -via keyboard of-course- is precise and excellent - WAY better than Quantum Break which had a dire PC control set up. Graphics are crisp an...dull. There's the odd bit where you break out of concrete into the "real" world of rocks and caves and it feels so refreshing; but its not long before your back into concrete and pipes. The shooting is a bit of a frantic panic - perhaps that's just me - but keep on the move and you'll b ok. Upgrading is the usual frequent need to visit the menu system which I still haven't really sussed out yet. Why they have to make these upgrade menus so complicated defeats me. The boss fights (wow how I hate boss fights) are tedious as usual, their SOLE aim being to slow you down so that the developers say it'll take X hours to play the game, when, without boss levels, you could do it in half the time. However, its a great effort by 505 Games. Gamestyle-wise its a mix of Aiien Isolation (on your own in a pretty life-less world) + Prey (strange shaped alien creatures) and Inception (yes, the film - you'll know what I mean after paying it for 10 minutes).
    Plot-wise - who cares if it doesn't make much sense? The missions are quite clear and progression is obvious. 8/10.
    Expand
  37. Aug 31, 2019
    8
    Довольно неплохая игра, с несколько репетативным геймплеем. Негативные оценки оттого, что геймдизайн, делающий фокус на окружении и ЛОРе, понравится далеко не всем. некоторым подобное скучно и не интересно. Субъективно, 8 из 10.

    Pretty good game, with a few repetitive gameplay. Negative ratings are due to the fact that not everyone will like a game design that focuses on the
    Довольно неплохая игра, с несколько репетативным геймплеем. Негативные оценки оттого, что геймдизайн, делающий фокус на окружении и ЛОРе, понравится далеко не всем. некоторым подобное скучно и не интересно. Субъективно, 8 из 10.

    Pretty good game, with a few repetitive gameplay. Negative ratings are due to the fact that not everyone will like a game design that focuses on the environment and Lore. Some people find it boring and not interesting. Subjectively, 8 out of 10.
    Expand
  38. Aug 28, 2019
    9
    It is really wierd place to explore, game have very specific feel and I like i a lot. It plays very well and lot of collectibles everywhere to learn about of location and story.
    Game looks really great, nice office building representation combined with abstract locations. I like all those paranormal abilities and game mechanics.
    Ray Tracing makes game absolutely different, full of
    It is really wierd place to explore, game have very specific feel and I like i a lot. It plays very well and lot of collectibles everywhere to learn about of location and story.
    Game looks really great, nice office building representation combined with abstract locations. I like all those paranormal abilities and game mechanics.

    Ray Tracing makes game absolutely different, full of realistic details. Graphics with RT on is another level of player experience. It even perfroms very well with DLSS which do not make game too blurry. Only indirect diffuset lighting do some wierd artifacts especially on light colored surfaces.
    Expand
  39. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    This is the best game of 2019 for me so far. It is a great gift for all gamers who love "The X-Files", "SCP Foundation" and "Alan Wake". It really breaks my heart to see that this game get negative reviews from people who have don't understand the concept of this game. I'm sure, this game will become cult and "Hidden Gem" status in the future.
  40. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Absolute gem, Remedy does it again! Couldn't stop playing, highly recommended!
  41. Aug 30, 2019
    9
    I have finished playing the game and I must say it is a great game. One of the best single player games I have played for some time now.

    The combat system has a great flow. The way how characters powers and ammunition are restored, the way you pick up health makes the combat very fast paced. The graphics are astounding, especially with the RTX turned on. Physics great, the setting
    I have finished playing the game and I must say it is a great game. One of the best single player games I have played for some time now.

    The combat system has a great flow. The way how characters powers and ammunition are restored, the way you pick up health makes the combat very fast paced.

    The graphics are astounding, especially with the RTX turned on. Physics great, the setting interesting. The game is technically polished. There was one crash for an over a dozen hours of playing. The frame rates are solid. I have played all the game with the fps overlay. On my i7 6700K, GF 2080 and 32GB of RAM on maxed settings 1080p and RTX turned on the frame rate oscillated in the 50-60 fps range. Rarely dropping below 50 fps. With RTX turned off 60+ fps of course. But the RTX is worth it. It looks amazing!

    The maps are interesting, complicated, well planned. It is enjoyable to traverse them, especially later on with levitation.

    The story could be told a little bit better. There were times where I felt confused. I liked the idea for the story but I think that story in Quantum Break and Alan Wake was told better.
    Expand
  42. Sep 7, 2019
    10
    Easily the best SP experience since the Witcher 3. Mindblowing, epic raytracing visuals showoff too. Wish games like these could last much longer.
  43. Sep 5, 2019
    10
    Perfect 10! Control is easily the top game of 2019. Interested to see what DLC comes out in the future (they elude to it in the game).
  44. Sep 25, 2019
    10
    Очень не плохо, поставил 10 так-как рейтинг занизили хейтеры.

    Игра получилась вполне хорошей и стоит прохождения ,но есть небольшие НО. Получилось немного затянуто, игра заметно становиться лучше после 60-70% прохождения сценария, прям улёт! Вопрос зачем нужно было так затягивать? А затянуто тут многое, крафт оружия и дорогая цена модов, мало материалов, да и преимущества модов
    Очень не плохо, поставил 10 так-как рейтинг занизили хейтеры.

    Игра получилась вполне хорошей и стоит прохождения ,но есть небольшие НО.

    Получилось немного затянуто, игра заметно становиться лучше после 60-70% прохождения сценария, прям улёт! Вопрос зачем нужно было так затягивать? А затянуто тут многое, крафт оружия и дорогая цена модов, мало материалов, да и преимущества модов слабое, так и враги становятся сильнее т.е. получаться много бесполезного гринда. Я на середине игры чуть не забросил прохождение, но сделал супер вещь, хакнул материалов и получил то что и должен был по идеи в игре. Ушёл тупой гринд, подбор модов стал более интересным (но количество 3 секций для модов считаю малым, нужно было поднять до 5.). Всего-то надо было увеличит число падающих материалов для модов х5 х10 особенно с секреток! Дать возможность их крафтить в большем количестве, а не так что за пол часа игры можно 1 мод. Из 10 модов 1 - 2 которые подходят, зачатую даёт моды на экономию патронов, с чем в игре нет проблем вообще.

    В целом это всё наверное что напрягло и считаю эта тупняком разработчиков к которым остался вопрос "Зачем так тупо?".

    Разрушения от перестрелок 10 из 10, подача, сценарик, атмосфера, гэм дизайн 8 из 10. Рекомендую!
    Expand
  45. Nov 4, 2020
    9
    Excelente história, principalmente para qu m gosta de ficção científica no estilo Arquivo X. Jogando com Ray Tracing ativado a sensação é que está se jogando um game de nova geração, gráficos sensacionais acompanhando de trilha sonora bem trabalhada.
  46. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    It's a my kind of game...
    I think not everybody likes this game but SOMEONE shall.
    hope 2 will come out.
  47. Sep 3, 2019
    8
    Pros:

    * Good performance. Really smooth without lag on max settings and full RTX and DLSS (2k) using a 2080 Ti. * Graphics are superb. * Gameplay feels really polished. * Very unique setting/story. Cons: * Enemy variaty is lacking and it does get repetitive eventually. * Weapon variaty is lacking and I felt little reason to use anything but the standard pistol. * Most story
    Pros:

    * Good performance. Really smooth without lag on max settings and full RTX and DLSS (2k) using a 2080 Ti.
    * Graphics are superb.
    * Gameplay feels really polished.
    * Very unique setting/story.

    Cons:

    * Enemy variaty is lacking and it does get repetitive eventually.
    * Weapon variaty is lacking and I felt little reason to use anything but the standard pistol.
    * Most story is explained through collectables, meaning lots of reading if you want to understand the bigger picture. It's not for everyone.
    * Some of the side quests are really dull (although a few are really cool).
    Expand
  48. Aug 29, 2019
    9
    Love the setting. Smooth and fun gameplay too. Don't rush it, people, take your time.
  49. Sep 19, 2019
    9
    Fantastic game play
    Very good story
    Good boss fights
    Disgasting map Good art graphic
    Medum technichal graphic
  50. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Amazing game, one of the best in 2019. Story and atmosphere keep you interested through the game. So sad that people are rating this 0-2 even there is no big problems, kids just want to protest and downvote. Definitely worth to buy and let also others to know about this game!
  51. Aug 31, 2019
    8
    После мерзкого Квантума рад, что у Ремеди получилось сделать хорошую игру. К сожалению, нет сигнатурного замедления, ну да и ладно.
    Понравилась игра за геймплей, лор, да и сюжет неплох. Среди минусов: дисбаланс способностей (телекинез - самое сильное оружие в игре, тогда как щит из камней зачастую бесполезен и неудобен в использовании); 2 активных слота оружия - хотелось бы больше;
    После мерзкого Квантума рад, что у Ремеди получилось сделать хорошую игру. К сожалению, нет сигнатурного замедления, ну да и ладно.
    Понравилась игра за геймплей, лор, да и сюжет неплох. Среди минусов: дисбаланс способностей (телекинез - самое сильное оружие в игре, тогда как щит из камней зачастую бесполезен и неудобен в использовании); 2 активных слота оружия - хотелось бы больше; система модов, как в какой-нибудь игре-сервисе/дрочильне, уродует годный и динамичный геймплей; слишком много записок. Лор основан на SCP, так что тут все в порядке (более менее). В плане сюжета - им не успеваешь насытиться и хочется еще.
    Крайне неприятно, что Control - игра, которая на голову выше прошлого творения Ремеди - имеет рейтинг сравнимый или даже ниже Quantum Break'а. Несправедливо. Исправляю.
    Expand
  52. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Game looks and feels awesome. Story is cool and quite weird but in a good way. Definitely best game for me of this years so far.
  53. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Awesome game by Remedy. They make interesting and fun games. Maybe the best game of the 2019.
  54. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Okay, this game is incredible. First, let me say that this game runs beautifully on my RTX 2060 SUPER completely maxed out at 1080p. The ray tracing is gorgeous - easily the best use of the feature I’ve ever seen. The difference is night and day. Haven’t tested 4K yet, and FRAPS doesn’t work for some reason, but it seems to hold a steady 60 FPS with occasional and very minor frame dropsOkay, this game is incredible. First, let me say that this game runs beautifully on my RTX 2060 SUPER completely maxed out at 1080p. The ray tracing is gorgeous - easily the best use of the feature I’ve ever seen. The difference is night and day. Haven’t tested 4K yet, and FRAPS doesn’t work for some reason, but it seems to hold a steady 60 FPS with occasional and very minor frame drops (barely noticeable). I’ve been waiting for a game like this since “Psi Ops” - so it’s been a loooong wait. “Control” may be the best game of the year so far, better even than “Sekiro” (and I’m obsessed with From Software games). The user and critics scores are not reflective of the game’s true quality - the reviews up on YouTube are far more accurate. Definitely a 9.5/10 (deserves to be at least an 88 on Metacritic), and possibly better than Remedy’s claim to fame, Max Payne. I’m an actual parapsychologist, and the developers have clearly done their research on the subject. Be it Jungian psychology, astral projection, or real-life experiments on telepathy and psychokinesis, this game has it all. If you’re a fan of the paranormal or even just the X-Files, this is a MUST BUY! Thank you Remedy. Expand
  55. Aug 28, 2019
    8
    I liked the game, in general it’s hard for me to please, as I have been playing games for several years, but this game was able to impress me. Good graphics, good shooting and combat. Great sound and visual effects. At the moment, there are a sufficient number of bugs, but in the near future they are likely to be removed.
  56. Sep 1, 2019
    9
    Finished it in one go. Lovely graphics and atmosphere even without RTX on PC. The destructible environments are the best I've seen in a game so far. There's also that special feeling that lights up inside of you after demolishing your enemies by throwing a forklift at them.

    Some extra performance polishing, few hours more of content and a more easy-to-follow/explained narrative at times
    Finished it in one go. Lovely graphics and atmosphere even without RTX on PC. The destructible environments are the best I've seen in a game so far. There's also that special feeling that lights up inside of you after demolishing your enemies by throwing a forklift at them.

    Some extra performance polishing, few hours more of content and a more easy-to-follow/explained narrative at times and It'd be a 10/10 from me.
    Expand
  57. Sep 9, 2019
    10
    Очередное неоднозначное произведение непонятное массам, но глубокое в своем повествовании. При том игра попыталась угодить и простым игрокам, предоставляя разрушаемость, красивые отражения и т.д. Но, к сожалению, большинство не поняло эстетику брутализма и однообразные офисные интерьеры, суть которых завязана на повествовании и сюжете. Наоборот, нужно восхищаться как студии с бюджетом в 4Очередное неоднозначное произведение непонятное массам, но глубокое в своем повествовании. При том игра попыталась угодить и простым игрокам, предоставляя разрушаемость, красивые отражения и т.д. Но, к сожалению, большинство не поняло эстетику брутализма и однообразные офисные интерьеры, суть которых завязана на повествовании и сюжете. Наоборот, нужно восхищаться как студии с бюджетом в 4 млн. удалось сделать такую интересную, сложную и глубокую игру. Remedy лишний раз доказали что они все еще на коне. Хейтеров мне сложно понять. Игра по запутанности повествования ни в чем не уступает культовой Alan Wake. Возможно, дело в том что выросло новое поверхностное поколение Fortnite, для которых игры - это всего лишь развлечение. Надеюсь лишь на то, что игра окупится и поможет творцам из Remedy и дальше творить шедевры.
    В иделе - нужно чтобы их купила Sony, дала кучу денег и полную свободу творчества. Тогда может выйти отличная игра. Тот же Quantum Break мне очень понравился, несмотря на технические проблемы на релизе.
    P.S. Проходил игру на следующей системе: Ryzen 2200g, 8 GB RAM, RX 570 Nitro+ 8 GB на ультрах в FullHD. Комфортные консольные 30 FPS получил и очень доволен. При том после прохождения игры мне захотелось исслеодовать её дальше, завершить все побочные квесты. Уж слишком интересен и загадочен мир Control. Крайне советую игру к приобретению тем, кто любит произведения Дэвида Линча и восторгается логикой сна.
    Expand
  58. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    top quality game. very few games these games take the gamble on the strange and beautiful. metroid vania style games with health pick ups. definitely a game ill play again the future.
  59. Sep 1, 2019
    8
    +
    физика
    стрельба
    способности
    сетинг
    графика (хоть и относительно)
    -
    сюжет
    небольшая скука
    карта
  60. Sep 7, 2019
    9
    Great history, great visuals, good physics and fluid gameplay. But the performance could be better.
  61. Nov 26, 2019
    8
    It runs very good and looks amazing for lower settings that I played on. Story is little bit abstract which may be good or bad thing, depending on taste. Atmosphere is amazing and gameplay feels really good. Throwing people around is very satisfying..
  62. Oct 28, 2019
    8
    I loved the game!
    The gameplay is insane.
    The interaction with the environment is something that i did not see in a fps before. The story is good and keeps you on the edge of your seat till the end, though i felt that the end is somewhat anti-climatic. The graphics is good. The soundtrack is kinda repetitive except for one segment in that game which is epic. I think its a really
    I loved the game!
    The gameplay is insane.
    The interaction with the environment is something that i did not see in a fps before.
    The story is good and keeps you on the edge of your seat till the end, though i felt that the end is somewhat anti-climatic.
    The graphics is good.
    The soundtrack is kinda repetitive except for one segment in that game which is epic.
    I think its a really worthwhile game and fps lovers should definitely get this one
    Expand
  63. Aug 28, 2019
    9
    In my opinion, this is a very good story .. i mean game. I love the style, the sound design, the amazing use of colour, lights and shadows. And for that .. this is an amazing game indeed.

    What i do not like so much is - at least on my end - very slow loading textures sometimes, resulting in extremely blurry graphics at times .. which makes the game look genuinely 2004. the VERY
    In my opinion, this is a very good story .. i mean game. I love the style, the sound design, the amazing use of colour, lights and shadows. And for that .. this is an amazing game indeed.

    What i do not like so much is - at least on my end - very slow loading textures sometimes, resulting in extremely blurry graphics at times .. which makes the game look genuinely 2004.

    the VERY inconsistent character design .. wish some characters being amazing in both modelling, mimics and behaviour/animation .. others looking like they belong to another game, a much older one. Sadly, the protagonist herself is one of the models that (in my opinion) is rather one of the bad models (face design - she just looks very non emotional, static and lifeless) ... all the while Emily looks amazing with MUCH better facial structure and expression.

    Run/Jump courses ... this seriously breaks immersion with me. While i like the shiny marble surfaces and abstract design - it just takes me straight out of the creepy

    Some game mechanics are not well enough documented, especially the crafting part (if you can call it that) - in fact .. the crafting part feels very much like it was an afterthought.

    The AI - not very good. quality over quantity would be preferred, also better balancing. I would have MUCH preferred not to have enemies literally spawn on top of me sometimes .. and also .. some "bosses" seem to play dirty with spawning basic mobs all over the place.

    But since i value atmosphere and storytelling over almost anything in a game .. it still is a 9/10 for me .. for someone that looks more at the gameplay side and not the story ... well, it might just be average
    Expand
  64. Aug 28, 2019
    10
    Good game. Interesting story. Works fine at 6700k + 1080ti + 4k(2k render). Gameplay fresh and I like it. I want to buy it in steam :)
  65. Aug 30, 2019
    9
    Control is a beautiful game in terms of art direction and graphics. It is supernatural, but feels real. Grounded in to reality by the brutalistic architecture and other mundane aspects of the world. The story is wonderfully weird and there are some really fun characters (like Ahti) that make me smile. Loved exploring and finding weird stuff hidden from the beaten path. Can't control myControl is a beautiful game in terms of art direction and graphics. It is supernatural, but feels real. Grounded in to reality by the brutalistic architecture and other mundane aspects of the world. The story is wonderfully weird and there are some really fun characters (like Ahti) that make me smile. Loved exploring and finding weird stuff hidden from the beaten path. Can't control my excitement for more content (through DLC's).

    Played with 2070 Super - card, on an SSD and faced no serious frame rate dips or other visual glitches. RTX On.
    Expand
  66. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    Best game of all time!
    Yes, the most enjoyment will come only if you are thorough, but that's what I enjoy in Remedy games - the breath of the world that they develop as a context to the main story.
    There are multiple explanations for every object and for the Bureau as a whole! The graphics and game play are just amazing and the feeling of the unknown that they achieve is something on
    Best game of all time!
    Yes, the most enjoyment will come only if you are thorough, but that's what I enjoy in Remedy games - the breath of the world that they develop as a context to the main story.
    There are multiple explanations for every object and for the Bureau as a whole!
    The graphics and game play are just amazing and the feeling of the unknown that they achieve is something on another level completely!
    My advice - take you time in the world , don't rush it and let all of this environmental detail and story sink in.
    I applaud Remedy for this beautifly crafted masterpiece!
    Expand
  67. Aug 28, 2019
    10
    Brilliant on a high spec machine... time to start upgrading your potato computers.
  68. Sep 15, 2019
    10
    I'm giving it a 10 because it's an important game at a time when games suck. In reality it's an 8 or 9. But still high scored so go buy it on what ever system. Pc is the best but forget running ray tracing as you'll need a beast. I had solid performance at all times with 1080p high settings and vsync off. Best vsync fame I've played. Never screen tears which is amazing.

    So graphics
    I'm giving it a 10 because it's an important game at a time when games suck. In reality it's an 8 or 9. But still high scored so go buy it on what ever system. Pc is the best but forget running ray tracing as you'll need a beast. I had solid performance at all times with 1080p high settings and vsync off. Best vsync fame I've played. Never screen tears which is amazing.

    So graphics are stellar and music and sound as well as voice acting great. Brilliant gun sounds.

    The gameplay is solid. Really fun and creative. So much fun.

    The game lasts about 12 - 20 hrs depending on your play style. Proper single player campaign in 2019.

    Remedy has done it again. Max Payne, Alan wake and more and now Control.

    Can't stress how good this game is but....the beginning is slow and confusing. So give it a chance. By the end you're literally the most badass super hero fighting the xfiles! The ps4 digital dlc is ok. But should be free to all. Support great games.
    Expand
  69. Sep 2, 2019
    9
    At first glance - a dark horse, but give her a chance. Excellent direction, style, gameplay.
  70. Sep 27, 2019
    9
    not the max Payne 1 level but closest one as intend to be. x files payne and story telling again shows with new techncs and most destructable crazy physcs on any game. it felt like akira movie style to when you get crazy ablties but still remains guns to 1st piorty have guns like dead space even. some times fees too lineer some time feels as portal level. enemies here msotly genericnot the max Payne 1 level but closest one as intend to be. x files payne and story telling again shows with new techncs and most destructable crazy physcs on any game. it felt like akira movie style to when you get crazy ablties but still remains guns to 1st piorty have guns like dead space even. some times fees too lineer some time feels as portal level. enemies here msotly generic solders with not best ai but have still enough to fun. story of course xfiles lost kinda even have tapes like lost but dialog not the best here. Expand
  71. Sep 22, 2019
    9
    Great satisfying sand box combat system. Beautiful graphics, character design and environments waiting to be explored. Intriguing world, story and lore.

    Not so great protagonist next to some really good voice actors. Frustrating placement of respawn locations.

    All in all really well polished experience with great combat and gorgeous setting.
  72. Sep 23, 2019
    9
    Really great game. Engaging and interesting story, with a whole lot of mystery and a touch of X-Files. Fun and fluid combat, made different by your powers, although it can get a tiny bit repetitive. Visually this game is just insane and the herald of a new era. This game on Ultra + full RT and 1440p is just something else.
  73. Oct 30, 2019
    10
    Смесь сайлентхилл 3, томбрайдер и Макса Пейна)
  74. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    i think this amazing EXPERIENCE, effects and action - AMAZING
    Level destruction - AMAZING, Graphics - AMIZING.
    Plot - Not bad, but Anyway 10/10 !!!
  75. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    Compelling story, with many hidden details and great humor.
    Combat is fun and it gest more and more entertaining as you unlock new powers.
    Jesse is a very relatable character.
  76. Aug 30, 2019
    9
    Классный экшн. Красивая графика. Сюжет запутанный, но в целом понятный.
  77. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    Игра понравилась! Атмосфера сыграла большую роль. Сюжет слабоват, но атмосфера, и геймплей игры ее разбавили, и получилась поистине интересная игра. Отдельный + за миссию с лабиринтом. Я давно не чувствовал ничего подобного. Те чувства что я получил проходя эту миссию, даже не описать!Игра понравилась! Атмосфера сыграла большую роль. Сюжет слабоват, но атмосфера, и геймплей игры ее разбавили, и получилась поистине интересная игра. Отдельный + за миссию с лабиринтом. Я давно не чувствовал ничего подобного. Те чувства что я получил проходя эту миссию, даже не описать!
  78. Sep 24, 2019
    9
    I really enjoyed this game, The atmosphere is spot-on, creepy, yet not really horror. Kind of like the X-Files, in a sense. I really hope we get to see more of this world.
  79. Nov 6, 2019
    10
    Неплохой сюжет. Но физический движок изумителен.
  80. Nov 17, 2019
    9
    I am yet to finish the game, but so far I have been enjoying it a lot and I can say it is exactly what I expected it to be.

    It is one of the most innovative games to be released this year in my opinion. I don't understand all the average or negative opinions, considering all the titles that got released so far, but anyway. It's got a lot of action, explorations, diversity, some
    I am yet to finish the game, but so far I have been enjoying it a lot and I can say it is exactly what I expected it to be.

    It is one of the most innovative games to be released this year in my opinion. I don't understand all the average or negative opinions, considering all the titles that got released so far, but anyway.

    It's got a lot of action, explorations, diversity, some decent RPG elements. A lot of freedom which, if not available in the beginning of the game, is given to you at some point. The story is interesting and confusing. It is one of the prettiest games to be made and not only that, it contains complex scenes and surroundings that well present the spirit of the game. It is dark and almost scary, but up to a comfortable point. Which is the case with most of Remedy`s games.

    I think the game easily deserves at least a 8 out of 10. It may have issues when it comes to story, gameplay, its technical side etc, but it surely is unique enough to ignore its negatives.
    Expand
  81. Apr 19, 2020
    10
    its is very good game. i like RT and DLSS effects.i really wish for more games like this
  82. Nov 13, 2019
    9
    Bad performance unless you turn to mid graphics.
    Great Gameplay, Great Level Design, Great characters, One of the best action games of 2019.
  83. Nov 3, 2019
    9
    Sometimes missions take too long .
    but other than than this is a really worthy game . very well done by Remedy
  84. Oct 28, 2019
    9
    This game is not a revolution in the genre, but definitely deserves attention. I do not understand why such a good third-person shooter many bypassed.

    The game has nice graphics, unusual visual style of the interior. And most importantly-a good gameplay shootouts with cool manipulation of the space around the player.
    The game has only one drawback -a short storyline.
  85. Nov 8, 2019
    8
    waooo me encanto este juego, jugabilidad casi perfecta pero una lastima que la historia sea tan complicada, que el mapa sea tan difícil de entender pero por todo lo demás es muy buen juego.
  86. Dec 6, 2019
    8
    Good game. Unusual and memorable atmosphere. Nice graphics. There were no technical problems during the game.
  87. Jan 26, 2020
    10
    It's just awesome, everything from graphics to gameplay is good, i loved the story too, would recommend everybody to play control
  88. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Brain crushing game. Remedy the Best. Storytelling, visual, everything on a high level.
  89. Sep 19, 2019
    10
    Great game, don't pay attention to negative reviews, Steam fanboys are review bombing this game because they're angry it's on Epic. Easily GOTY contender
  90. Aug 29, 2019
    10
    Eines des innovativsten Spiele, welches ich in den letzten Jahren gespielt habe. Das Wechselspiel zwischen Waffen und Kräften ist intuitiv und macht viel Spass. Es ist natürlich kein Taktikshooter, aber das ist hier nicvt von Nachteil. Grafik und Physik sind phantastisch.
  91. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    Awesome visuals (if you have an RTX 2080 or better, otherwise it becomes choppy with RT on, even at 1080p) and a really interesting story with an awesome combat system, which is really a breath of fresh air. It's been a long time since I enjoyed a game this much.
  92. Sep 17, 2019
    10
    Absolutely amazing game, with its fantastic protagonist, deep story and great gameplay. I'm totally amazed.
  93. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    People are bombing this game because either they are whining about epic store (which is good too) or they are running this on a very old computer. The game is incredible.
  94. Sep 1, 2019
    8
    Um jogo dificil de se analisar...

    Como um fan dos jogos de Remedy - principalmente Quantum Break, eu estava deveras ansioso por esse game. Sendo assim, as expectativas estavam lá no alto, o problema é que o jogo nem se que atende pontos extritamentes necessarios para um game que se prese funcionar: Gameplay, storytelling e otimização. A gameplay é divertida a principio. Os poderes,
    Um jogo dificil de se analisar...

    Como um fan dos jogos de Remedy - principalmente Quantum Break, eu estava deveras ansioso por esse game. Sendo assim, as expectativas estavam lá no alto, o problema é que o jogo nem se que atende pontos extritamentes necessarios para um game que se prese funcionar: Gameplay, storytelling e otimização.

    A gameplay é divertida a principio. Os poderes, junto com as armas e seu poder de fogo - tanto nos inimigos quanto no cenario, são absurdos. Chega a ser satisfatorio destruir tudo a sua frente. O jogo conta com uma fasica avançadissima. Provavel que seja a melhor atualmente. Enfim, voltando ao ponto... Nas ultimas horas de jogo, simplesmente perde a graça. Tudo se torna muito repetitivo, e o jogo, como um todo, me parece desequilibrado. Há armas muito superiores a outras já existentes, inutilizando o resto. A mesma coisa acontece com os inimigos. Fora que o jogo simplesmente não sabe quando acabar. Com uma gameplay dessa, deviamos passar, no maximo, 8h de gameplay na campanha principal.

    Os graficos são lindissimos. A iluninação é surreal e a fisica, junto com as particulas de destruição, são de deixar de boca aberta. Porém, a otimização é porquissima. Numa RTX 2060, consegui 60fps estaveis quase todo o jogo, mas em momentos de estresse, chegava a cair pra 45/50 no DX12 - que apresenta um problema chatissimo de stuttering, que por sorte, não me incomodou tanto ao passar do jogo. No DX 11, tinhamos menos uso de RAM, VRAM e mais FPS. O problema é que, na minha maquina, apresentava um bug quando eu minimizava o jogo. Simplesmente havia quedas para 30 fps.

    A historia é uma completa icognita. Não acho que seja ruim. Na realidade, acho que antes devo entendê-la a julgar antes, o problema é que o storytelling do jogo é confuso e indeciso. Eu simplesmente não peguei mais de 20% da historia do game - sendo otimista. Há MUITOS arquivos, e como eu não tenho tempo pra ler por conta dos estudos, fiquei a parte dessa camada do jogo. E, se esses arquivos explicam a historia, alguem explica pra REMEDY que textos são para informações adicionais, e não pra historia principal...

    Por fim, é jogavel e vale a pena a compra numa promoção, muito por conta dos graficos apenas.
    Expand
  95. Oct 22, 2019
    8
    A good game with a weird story and solid combat and also some cool powers that makes it a lot of fun to play.
  96. Sep 19, 2019
    8
    Control from Remedy entertainment is a visually stunning technological achievement in graphics that even without ray tracing looks amazing, well optimized that run like a charm in a GTX 1080 ti with max settings. The gameplay and controls are nothing new but once you play it... it fell like if those mechanics were just new. The game has a bizarre and entertaining story and kind off makesControl from Remedy entertainment is a visually stunning technological achievement in graphics that even without ray tracing looks amazing, well optimized that run like a charm in a GTX 1080 ti with max settings. The gameplay and controls are nothing new but once you play it... it fell like if those mechanics were just new. The game has a bizarre and entertaining story and kind off makes you think you are watching a high budget Hollywood movie.
    The game is essentially an open world game that take place in one setting, there are main missions and side missions. Enemies have a level system like every open world that gets release today, you can craft new abilities and upgrades for your weapon to deal better with enemies.
    The art style is amazing, crafted with geometry and lighting, for some it will look simple for it's minimalist level design, but the shadows and lighting creates an artistic level of immersion.
    Unfortunately... Control suffers off a terrible navigation system, yes... the game has a map to guide you, but overall is hard to know in which floor you are and how to get to your objective, this cause me to miss lots of secondary missions, because i never knew which direction or which door was open to get there.
    Still... Control is an enjoyable game, that plays smoothly and looks amazing.
    Expand
  97. Sep 30, 2019
    8
    В этой игре прекрасна физика и разрушаемость объектов, а сюжет не очень.
  98. Nov 1, 2019
    9
    Very interesting sci-fi story. Gameplay is fun, and the graphics are amazing, however you need a beefed up PC to play at the highest quality. If they could just better optimize the game in the next patches, the gameplay could be way more smooth and fluid. My system has a GTX 1080 Ti + Ryzen 2700x I get 60 FPS on High, some occasional dips.
  99. Nov 10, 2019
    10
    Masterclass is story telling and combat. There were moments that felt like I was directing a super hero movie. My 2019 GOTY as of writing this.
  100. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    Best game play 2019, nice graphic and design, love remedy, thanks. Buy ™ max Payne and create max payne new 2020 new game, very interesting
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 28, 2020
    80
    An audio-visual action banquet that will entertain you with physics and flirting with the supernatural. The story could have been better, the enemy line-up can be quite monotonous towards the end, but the great atmosphere overcomes these shortcomings. And most importantly, the gameplay is great. [Issue#298]
  2. Oct 22, 2019
    100
    Control feels like Remedy firing on all cylinders, resulting in a smart and sensational action-adventure.
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Oct 11, 2019
    83
    Control takes a while to get in gear, but overall it’s one of the most memorable experiences of the year. [Issue#240, p.36]