Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Nov 25, 2014
    80
    Costume Quest 2 is a classic JRPG, stripped of all the tedious baggage and wrapped in Double Fine’s impeccable writing and sense of whimsy.
  2. Nov 13, 2014
    80
    Costume Quest isn't about providing a challenge; it's about rekindling the magic of Halloween we all experienced when we were younger, and it does an incredible job.
  3. Oct 9, 2014
    80
    Lightweight but inventive, Costume Quest 2 feels like a Pixar adventure masquerading as an RPG. It goes out of its way to keep things simple... perhaps too simple at times. But its simplicity is redeemed by its terrific art and wry sense of humor, and most importantly, the sheer fun of its premise.
  4. Oct 7, 2014
    80
    Costume Quest 2 fits in wonderfully as a Halloween tale, but its RPG mechanics and whimsical quests fit in just as well at all times of the year. It's charming and sweet enough to induce cavities, which really should be what Halloween is all about.
  5. Oct 7, 2014
    80
    Costume Quest 2 still has that Double Fine charm and any game that includes a Blazing Saddles joke in 2014 is okay in my book.
  6. Oct 7, 2014
    80
    Overall, Costume Quest 2 is one of those rare occasions where I can say that more of the same is just what the doctor ordered. With the right level of new polish to shore up some of the first game’s rough spots, along with a funny and interesting new story, this is one sequel that might be better than the original in every way. If, like me, you love the Halloween time of year and are nostalgic for the days of trick or treating and sugar-fueled nights… pick up Costume Quest 2 for its budget price of fifteen bucks and make it a new tradition every year. You’ll be glad you did.
  7. Oct 15, 2014
    79
    A more than welcome return of Double Fine's hallmark sense of twisted humor and absolute cuteness, Costume Quest 2 expands on its combat model, bringing welcome tactical depth to the proceedings, but still not quite escaping end-game repetition fatigue. A strong offering nevertheless, that can very well be my favorite annual gaming tradition, on cuteness factor alone.
  8. Oct 7, 2014
    76
    A few weird design choices in regards to the health system and navigation meant that just a bit too much of that time was spent backtracking and squinting at a map, but its humor and personality shine through to make this a good Halloween bounty.
  9. Oct 28, 2014
    75
    Costume Quest 2 has better quests and a more interesting story, and a better designed world. It’s still got the excellent writing, sound, and music that’ll keep most people happy, but it was the battle system that needed an overhaul most and it hasn’t had it.
  10. Oct 16, 2014
    75
    It has its missteps, but overall Costume Quest 2 is an improvement over the first game, and a pretty entertaining game that fans should really enjoy.
  11. Oct 31, 2014
    72
    You can wrap up the story in about 6 hours. There are 12 costumes to try on and 27 cards to collect. Whether you can handle the grind or not Costume Quest 2 is a shallow game. It’s also a celebration of this sacred holiday that you may find yourself replaying next year. If there’s still time before the sun rises on November 1st, you may not regret buying this game.
  12. CD-Action
    Jan 9, 2015
    70
    A new, better Costume Quest. If it wasn’t for the short and easy campaign I would recommend it to everyone, not just fans of the first game. [13/2014, p.53]
  13. Edge Magazine
    Nov 5, 2014
    70
    In short, it's sweet. [Dec 2014, p.118]
  14. Oct 27, 2014
    70
    While fans will certainly enjoy the "more of the same" nature of the new title, those looking for more new things might have to go elsewhere.
  15. Oct 22, 2014
    70
    An almost apathetic sequel that accomplishes nothing more and a little less than its predecessor.
  16. Oct 20, 2014
    70
    Costume Quest 2 is both fun and charming, with clever puzzles and a cute story. However, its RPG elements are somewhat lacking, and the original game’s magic feel is not entirely here.
  17. Oct 20, 2014
    70
    Costume Quest 2 is a funny RPG with Double Fine style.
  18. Oct 14, 2014
    70
    Costume Quest 2 is a lot like the bags of candy Wren and her fellow Halloween heroes collect: often sweet, sometimes sour, and (for the most part) worth the occasional tummy ache.
  19. Oct 13, 2014
    70
    Costume Quest 2 retains the child-like irreverence and genuine heart that make it a game worth becoming something like your favorite Halloween movie: an experience to revisit every holiday.
  20. Oct 10, 2014
    70
    Adorable, amusing, colorful and well-animated, but the combat is too simplistic and repetitive to remain interesting throughout the game.
  21. Oct 7, 2014
    70
    Costume Quest 2 is more treat than trick. Some unfortunate repetition means it’s best enjoyed in moderation, but it’s still colourful, sweet and slightly addictive.
  22. Oct 7, 2014
    68
    I hate feeling like a buzzkill here, but I can’t recommend this to anyone who wasn’t evangelical about the original Costume Quest. The changes to the game are a stride in the right direction, but it still has quite a ways to go if it wants to be seen as anything other than a series of funny skits divided by boring combat intermissions. I don’t feign enthusiasm when I see a kid wearing a mediocre costume, and I’m not going to do it here.
  23. Nov 7, 2014
    67
    For now, Costume Quest does exactly what it needs to, giving us more of the same while letting us relive the spirit of Halloween and trick-or-treating.
  24. Oct 7, 2014
    60
    Costume Quest 2 is occasionally heartwarming and more than a little charming, and it would make a fine introduction to the genre for budding gamers. But its lack of imagination, challenge and variety keep it from being really great.
  25. Nov 3, 2014
    55
    Costume Quest 2 is a likeable game; just not a very good one.
  26. Oct 16, 2014
    50
    Shallow and repetitive, Costume Quest 2's winsome appearance and occasional wit never quite obscure the busywork at its core.
  27. Oct 31, 2014
    40
    A disappointing sequel that only compounds the failures of the original, while also featuring Double Fine’s least amusing script so far.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 6 out of 36
  1. Fuz
    Oct 22, 2014
    7
    Basically the same as the first game. It's a light rpg with a combat system based on halloween theme with costumes. Cute and fun, but nothingBasically the same as the first game. It's a light rpg with a combat system based on halloween theme with costumes. Cute and fun, but nothing special. Not a bad game tho. Full Review »
  2. ave
    Oct 23, 2015
    6
    The main difference between the two Costume Quest games mostly lies in story and settings, and not much on gameplay that is very similar.The main difference between the two Costume Quest games mostly lies in story and settings, and not much on gameplay that is very similar.

    Since I really liked the first episode, I should have appreciated this one; because once I have found an engaging gameplay, I really like to play it again in sequels. But in a strange way, Costume Quest 2 had a complete opposite effect on me.

    Maybe it's because of the long launch, the counter-intuitive main screen, the "knock on doors for candies or combat" part or the "too-fine / too hard" controls, I don't know. I felt the pleasurable experience from the first Costume Quest somewhat vanished.

    Even if I do appreciate hard and punishing games that presents tough challenges, doesn't help you a bit, and reward your efforts with mastery; I wasn't expecting Costume Quest 2 too challenge me that much when I only wanted a laid-back, relaxed play time.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 29, 2020
    7
    I´ve played the predecessor on Xbox 360 and was amazed about the cute art style and the addictive gameplay. And Costume Quest 2 doesn´t makeI´ve played the predecessor on Xbox 360 and was amazed about the cute art style and the addictive gameplay. And Costume Quest 2 doesn´t make any experiments. On the one hand this is good, because the first part was really enjoyable, from gamplay to graphics. On the other hand, I expected at least some changes. Don´t get me wrong, this game is fun. But the whole experience seems a bit warmed up. Full Review »