Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 18, 2022
    100
    The 70-odd holes have been meticulously designed, the shooting mechanic is wonderfully executed, and it nails that ‘one more go’ urge that only the best rogue-likes manage to accomplish.
  2. Aug 18, 2022
    90
    Every aspect of Cursed to Golf comes together to form a truly special and unique game. With its simple hook, brilliantly designed levels, huge suite of dynamic abilities, and a finely balanced roguelike structure, Cursed to Golf is a constant delight. There have been many great games released in 2022 so far, but Cursed to Golf is easily at the top of my list at this moment. It's one of the best golf games ever made, but you don't have to like golf to enjoy the curse of being forced to play it.
  3. Sep 12, 2022
    87
    The game uses the golf word par to give a number of how many shots a hole has to be completed in. In reality using the word par in place of number of shots allowed is a misnomer because completing a hole under par carries no benefit. That might just be the developers way of making the game be more golf like. However, even though Cursed to Golf really isn't a sports game or a game of real golf, it does hold a whole lot of value when it comes to fun. The graphics aren't the latest and greatest but the feeling of accomplishment of actually negotiating your way past each level is worth the price of admission. It's also worth a bunch of satisfaction knowing that you indeed did escape purgatory, finally!
  4. Aug 18, 2022
    85
    Cursed to Golf is not a sports sim but it will deliver many more thrills than any careful reconstruction of real-world golf can. Getting the ball into the hole using my last shot by carefully using an Ace card and plenty of spin made me scream with joy. I almost cried when two successive shots somehow landed in the water. But players also need to be prepared for a fast escalation of the difficulty level that can lead to frustration. Practice and good planning are always more important than wild swings. Cursed to Golf is a solid puzzle experience with good presentation and some big thrilling moments.
  5. Aug 18, 2022
    85
    Cursed to Golf is a unique game that combines a platformer with golfing. With vibrant, retro-inspired visuals and a fun story, this game offers tons of replayability and challenge.
  6. Sep 19, 2022
    80
    Roguelike, golf and metroidvania in one single package. The mix is as amazing as how well it works. One of those games that you have to try.
  7. Edge Magazine
    Sep 8, 2022
    80
    Cursed to Golf fully commits to its purgatorial theme, and if that occasionally puts you in club-snapping mood, it's hard to deny the euphoric rush when you finally hole out. [Issue#376, p.122]
  8. Sep 5, 2022
    80
    Cursed to Golf really takes golfing to the next level. The wide variety of holes, traps, and Ace Cards really makes you want to play this game over and over again. With a golf game taking a risk to join the Roguelike genre, it swung and definitely did not miss. You will find yourself playing Cursed to Golf many times over just so you can finally see if you can conquer Golf Purgatory and ascend back to the real world.
  9. Aug 24, 2022
    80
    Pacing issues aside, Cursed to Golf is a unique and terrific blend of different genres that makes for a highly enjoyable and fresh spin on the classic sport. Be it through golfing skills, puzzle-solving skills, luck or a mix of all three, each hole presents a multitude of options to try out and paths to take, with each perfect shot providing a sort of golfing high as you soar through a passageway filled with spikes and vines. Throw in charming old-school style and aesthetics, and you get one challenging course that’s a blast to play through.
  10. Aug 22, 2022
    80
    A quite original mix between platform, golf and roguelike... very hard but rewarding. A good game which you'll end up to love and hate at the same time.
  11. Aug 21, 2022
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  12. Aug 18, 2022
    75
    This is a fun game, with solid gameplay but not so solid roguelike design. However, we’ve had a really good time with it.
  13. Aug 18, 2022
    75
    Cursed to Golf is a very unique golf Roguelike, but balance issues and a few too many tutorials will put some off.
  14. Aug 18, 2022
    68
    Chuhai Labs signs an original “golflike” that will delight fans of retro-style two-dimensional platformers.
  15. Sep 29, 2022
    65
    Nicely processed mix of golf, puzzle and unconventional story. The options with tricks and traps are nicely resolved, but the levels are too similar and some are unnecessarily hard.
  16. Aug 19, 2022
    65
    Cursed to Golf will make you sweat, bewitching you with its pixel art, surrounding you with its irony and then annihilating you with its lack of permissiveness. If you want to try to dominate the cursed fields of the Purgatory of Golf, arm yourself with patience and time, if instead you think that your life has already given you excessive stress then maybe you should not look at the original interpretation of Chuhai Labs of the noble sport.
  17. Aug 18, 2022
    65
    Cursed to Golf has so many good ideas that never truly come together. I never really cared about the story; all I was left with was a zany roguelike golf game. Random glitches aside, I could help but feel cheated no matter how much time I invested. Still, it’s undeniably clever, and the puzzle nature of the courses have you mastering your form to get through purgatory as quickly as possible.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 18, 2022
    Even with Cursed to Golf’s punishing difficulty, I’ve found myself getting closer and closer to the vaunted 18th hole on each run, with no desire to stop until I’ve reclaimed my mortality. It’s a testament to the craft of developer Chuhai Labs, which was willing to take such risks with such a proven formula that I haven’t stopped even after several punishing deaths. And I won’t stop until I finally remove this dreaded albatross from my neck.
  2. Cursed To Golf has plenty of visual charm, and elements taken from its Flash game origins feel like a fun throwback. Unfortunately, though, it’s a bit of a swing and a miss for its roguelike elements.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Aug 29, 2022
    7
    The game is very addictive and fun, but I found it excessively hard. It has that old school look and is cute to look at. So you can think it'sThe game is very addictive and fun, but I found it excessively hard. It has that old school look and is cute to look at. So you can think it's for children but no, it is not. The golf mechanic is there but some design on the levels cage you in some very small corners. Which makes the game frustrating and relying on trials and errors from generated levels. You need luck more then skills. I give 68% but I don't want to play it anymore. Full Review »