Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Mar 15, 2021
    82
    In all Freakpocalypse is a point and click adventure filled with shenanigans that captures the dark, twisted soul of Cyanide and Happiness impressively. It breathes life into the genre once again through its satire tinted lens on the world. If any gamers love humour that ranges from dark to gross with everything in between, then Freakpocalypse is poised to deliver.
  2. Mar 12, 2021
    80
    Cyanide & Happiness - Freakpocalypse embodies all the series has to offer. The M rating is well earned, but if you’re of an appropriate age, the humor is excellent. Despite the short main story, this is a game I’d recommend if you’re in the mood for a laugh. It saw great support from its early days on kickstarter, and is likely to see more support in the future.
  3. Mar 29, 2021
    78
    If you don’t mind the price tag for a portion of a game then there is a decent bit of fun to be had here… maybe treating it as a semi interactive story rather than a puzzle or adventure game as such… otherwise maybe wait till all the parts have been released and see if they offer a “complete” collection.
  4. Mar 11, 2021
    76
    Cyanide & Happiness: Freakpocalypse is a game made for C&H’s fans, rather than point&click lovers, and it’s okay. The game’s mechanics act as a stimulus, prompting the player to talk to all the characters and examine every single part of the setting, enjoying the surreal dialogues and absurd descriptions that dot the game. I don’t know if everybody can appreciate it, but if you like dark humor and you’re not afraid of BDSM teachers, bullies and delusional weirdos, this is a point&click adventure that may fit your lovely taste.
  5. Mar 24, 2021
    70
    The writing has its fair share of material that’s worth a few sharp exhales through the nose and sensible chuckling but the committed delivery of the cast is a nice surprise and adds value. If you’re a fan of the Explosm! webcomic series and shorts, then Freakpocalypse is bound to hold a measure of interest. Just don’t go in expecting too much.
  6. Mar 11, 2021
    70
    Freakpocalypse moves the Cyanide & Happiness universe into the gaming sphere much more effectively than its predecessor. Its main story arc of finding a prom date for its hero Coop works well as a narrative thread to hold together all manner of tasteless nonsense. The game is being advertised as the first of a trilogy and has enough to see and interact with to satisfy its core audience. The relatively low price and time investment of around ten hours are inviting, but I suspect the subject matter and confounding frustrations brought on by genre design tropes will put off the general gaming audience at large. Easy to recommend to Cyanide & Happiness fans, but all others should check out the comics before proceeding.
  7. Apr 22, 2021
    60
    Simply put, if you are not a die hard fan of Cyanide & Happiness, you will most likely not enjoy Freakpocalypse.
  8. Mar 29, 2021
    60
    While I can’t say I’m invested in Coop’s tired journey through his senior year in high school, I may be enticed enough to take the next episodes for a spin. But that would only be the case if the second half of Freakpocalypse maintains its quality in my memory. For all I know, I was lulled into a stupor or a kind of Stockholm Syndrome. One of the costs of reviewing for a site like RPGFan is that we try to finish every single game we review, and this one put me to the test.
  9. Mar 21, 2021
    60
    Extremely easy puzzles and full of "un-politically correct" jokes in the first short chapter of a point 'n' click adventure, which maybe later ends up as a decent game.
  10. Mar 19, 2021
    60
    A webcomic-based 2D point and click adventure that focuses on its adult humor, but offers little in terms of challenge.
  11. Mar 16, 2021
    55
    You'll have to be a die-hard Cyanide and Happiness fan to appreciate Freakpocalypse.
  12. Apr 4, 2021
    50
    Although the episode ends with an interesting cliffhanger, the game itself turned out to be mediocre, so we have no desire to wait another couple of years for the second episode to appear.
  13. Mar 23, 2021
    50
    This experience will be worthwhile only for the most hardcore of Cyanide & Happiness fans. It’s not a very good adventure game and it’s not very funny.
  14. Mar 11, 2021
    50
    Cyanide & Happiness - Freakpocalypse nails the look of a comic strip, but its gameplay is just as paper thin.
  15. 50
    Ultimately, I cannot recommend Freakpocalypse to anyone who isn’t an established Cyanide & Happiness fan. This isn’t the sort of point-and-click adventure that bridges gameplay issues with an engaging story, since it relies on crude humour to see it through. If you enjoy C&H, this will be right up your street, but it does nothing to court players that aren’t part of the existing fanbase. I wouldn’t call this a bad game; it’s just a very average one, and there are much better alternatives out there for point-and-click fans.
  16. Mar 15, 2021
    30
    The Cyanide & Happiness team is generally hilarious, but the jokes in Freakpocalypse fall flat throughout the short amount of time spent in it. There is an abundance of references to old C&H comics and shorts, but they feel more like rehashes than homages. Much like South Park: The Stick of Truth, the look and style of the game is absolutely spot-on, it definitely feels like playing a Cyanide & Happiness cartoon.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 23, 2021
    Although Freakpocalypse – Part 1: Hall Pass to Hell ends a little prematurely, this pun-packed and polished traditional point-and-click series debut should appeal both to fans of the Cyanide & Happiness web comic and genre aficionados looking for a fun cartoon-styled adventure.