Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Oct 2, 2018
    71
    That's why it's all the more annoying that the game cannot decide what it wants to be in the end. For an Arcade racer with offroad attitude it is too complex, for a race simulation the physics are too exaggerated, the control too spongy and the navigation too imprecise.
  2. Oct 17, 2018
    67
    Praise to Bigmoon for the courage to take on this difficult to implement racing game genre. The small studio has also mastered the big task properly, especially the challenging navigation is authentically conveyed to the player. However, Dakar 18 weakens in one decisive discipline: driving physics. In times of a Dirt Rally 2.0, which will appear next February, racing fans expect more from a game with a simulation claim. Also the missing vehicle tuning as well as the spartan damage model should be offensive to simulation fans. But if you don't let this spoil the fun, you'll get an off-road game of a different kind, which also creates a Dakar atmosphere thanks to the pretty graphics and the authentic navigation system.
  3. Oct 4, 2018
    65
    Everything works quite well, except for one of the most important parts: the control. It's a shame such a good concept hasn't had a better execution, because with a better control it would've been a much better experience.
  4. Oct 3, 2018
    63
    A game only for hardcore players, and one with too many problems.
  5. Oct 8, 2018
    55
    Superficial both from a playful and technical point of view.
  6. Oct 8, 2018
    55
    Dakar 18 was a promissing title that might had over-promissed. Its numerous technical flaws and its poor physics are too much to overcome, despite some good ideas, such as its navigation system.
  7. Oct 4, 2018
    55
    A title that aims to simulate the orientation difficulties tipical of the Dakar stages, but can’t reach his goal due to an unconvincing driving model.
  8. Oct 15, 2018
    50
    There's some cross-country joy to be found in Dakar 18, but it could have been much more rewarding and successful considering the unique brand of rallying it represents. It is fun endlessly launching over sand dunes, hopping out of the car to be sporting by towing a competitor out of a jam, and finding one's way back on track after getting lost. Unfortunately, the fundamentals are out of whack.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. Oct 5, 2018
    5
    In a word, disappointing. This is my first review and I wish I could be positive. I have been waiting for this game for so long, ButIn a word, disappointing. This is my first review and I wish I could be positive. I have been waiting for this game for so long, But it’s just not finished.

    The bullet notes read like this,

    The co- driver doesn’t shut up, then he does and you don’t know where to go, Then he yells at you to get back to your last marker but he doesn’t give directions and there’s no map marker to follow.

    If you crash through a waypoint and it ends your race it gives you the option to start from last waypoint, so it starts you .2 seconds from your crash, So it actually never shows your car it goes straight from pressing A to withdrawal again in an endless loop.

    The bike handling is on rails but the two wheel drive car is totally uncontrollable at full throttle

    The strangest things cause massive damage but huge dune jumps don’t. It’s like you hit nothings in the world. If you want to know what nothings are play vanishing point for the ps1 and you’ll know what I mean

    It truly feels as though the game is unfinished, the visuals the map size and the navigation style all are so promising and the base of a good game is in here. But they sent it out half baked and so I can only give it a half score
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 30, 2018
    1
    Great ideia, but hideous gameplay. The graphics are oki. The physics are the other bad aspect of the game. Didn't find to change the keys -Great ideia, but hideous gameplay. The graphics are oki. The physics are the other bad aspect of the game. Didn't find to change the keys - well the keys I want Full Review »
  3. Sep 28, 2018
    5
    Intrseting stages cars everything here , but physics and gps are chaotic controls ,somewhat i dont feel driving looks lik e unfinished game.