Dauntless Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 230 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Discover a shattered world, forge powerful weapons, and hunt the ferocious behemoths threatening our survival.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dauntless Intro Cinematics And Hunt Tutorial Full Gameplay
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Oct 2, 2019
    90
    Overall, Dauntless is a ton of fun and a great game to play alone or with friends. It occupies realm of easy to pick-up hard to master perfectly and offers a ridiculous amount of gameplay for free. There are seven different weapons which you can freely switch between, and all of them offer a unique playstyle and abilities to master. Dauntless is the perfect game to run around with your friends in or to play by yourself focusing on your goals.
  2. May 24, 2019
    90
    Dauntless has plenty of room for growth, but it’s already one of my favorite free-to-play games. I initially overlooked Dauntless as another Monster Hunter clone and I was wildly wrong for thinking that. Whether you’re a newcomer to the genre or just looking for an alternative while you wait for Iceborne, you can’t go wrong with Dauntless. As the West’s first foray into the monster hunting genre, Phoenix Labs’ Dauntless is an absolute triumph.
  3. May 31, 2019
    85
    What Dauntless lacks in layered complexity it makes up for with tightly crafted combat and rewarding progression, proving you don’t need to cram every possible feature into a game for it to be great.
  4. Aug 7, 2018
    80
    Dauntless is a great foundation for a rollicking monster-mashing time, but without the critical component of a compelling endgame, your journey has no satisfying destination. Only time will tell if the swirling islands around Ramsgate can provide something more.
  5. Jun 19, 2019
    79
    Dauntless offers a lot of content, especially for a game that is free. The combat starts off a bit slow, but give it some time and you will thoroughly enjoy yourself with Dauntless.
  6. Oct 15, 2019
    75
    I wanted very badly to love Dauntless, and for a time I think I did thanks to the fantastic combat and weapon variety. But the lack of any real storytelling makes the repetitive questing structure a glaring issue in desperate need of some TLC. If you’re looking for a new go-to F2P experience, you could do much worse — just don’t expect a world drenched teeming with lore and compelling characters.
  7. Oct 4, 2019
    50
    A game with unapologetically singular focus, its distillation of deeper MMOs' elements nevertheless results in an experience that all too often feels barren.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 100
  2. Negative: 48 out of 100
  1. May 8, 2019
    10
    Best MH Ever, I find that this game is much easier to take in hand than Monster Hunter, much more dynamism, the graphics are really juice
    Try
    Best MH Ever, I find that this game is much easier to take in hand than Monster Hunter, much more dynamism, the graphics are really juice
    Try before judging, you will not be disappointed
    Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2019
    10
    I play the game since the beta and it is just a very cool game regularly updates synonymous who sometimes there are new problems naber areI play the game since the beta and it is just a very cool game regularly updates synonymous who sometimes there are new problems naber are also resolved after a time.

    who thinks the game is the same as mhw that should not play it.
    Expand
  3. Sep 7, 2020
    9
    A easy fun PvE experience that i would recommend to anyone who wants to try melee action games, diverse weaponry and fun combat make it easyA easy fun PvE experience that i would recommend to anyone who wants to try melee action games, diverse weaponry and fun combat make it easy to play but hard to master. Excellent element and crafting system that is the right amount of confusing and immersive and many behemoths to slay with fun replay ability. You can solo queue for a greater challenge or squad up with your friends, with regular content drops and committed developers with great funding from Epic games. This game is definitely worth your time, also its free so why not give it a try. (Its not like the new overpriced call of duty isn't going to be a broken piece of **** that you'll end up hating in a week.) Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2019
    5
    - Graficos: 6
    - Jogabilidade: 6
    - Historia: 5 - Direção: 5 - Trilha Sonora: 5 - Densempenho (RTX 2060 + Ryzen 1600): Vsync On
    - Graficos: 6
    - Jogabilidade: 6
    - Historia: 5
    - Direção: 5
    - Trilha Sonora: 5
    - Densempenho (RTX 2060 + Ryzen 1600): Vsync On

    Comentario: A gameplay é chata e os monstros não são atraentes.
    Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2019
    3
    Even in this state the game is still completely struck by bugs that should not be permitted, even for an open beta. Besides the content isEven in this state the game is still completely struck by bugs that should not be permitted, even for an open beta. Besides the content is very, very, poor. Expand
  6. May 22, 2019
    2
    A poor clone of MHW. They wanted to cash in on the popularity of Capcom's game, but totally failed to grasp what it is about THAT game whichA poor clone of MHW. They wanted to cash in on the popularity of Capcom's game, but totally failed to grasp what it is about THAT game which makes it fun. The game looks dull, there's no lock-on (a BIG part of MH's intuitive hunting), and hunter/monster attacks are all anemic, slow, and dull. There is little impact to your attacks and hunting a monster feels un-satisfying. Overall, I cannot recommend this game in its current state. It may be free, but as we all know, some things are just worth paying for. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2020
    0
    I remember playing the Beta and while it was rough around the edges, it had much promise in a world where MH:W didn't exist. Sad to see thatI remember playing the Beta and while it was rough around the edges, it had much promise in a world where MH:W didn't exist. Sad to see that when I come back to finally try and get into it, it's exclusive to EGS. Oh well. MHW exists now, anyway. Expand

See all 100 User Reviews