Dauntless Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Discover a shattered world, forge powerful weapons, and hunt the ferocious behemoths threatening our survival.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dauntless Intro Cinematics And Hunt Tutorial Full Gameplay
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 2, 2019
    90
    Overall, Dauntless is a ton of fun and a great game to play alone or with friends. It occupies realm of easy to pick-up hard to master perfectly and offers a ridiculous amount of gameplay for free. There are seven different weapons which you can freely switch between, and all of them offer a unique playstyle and abilities to master. Dauntless is the perfect game to run around with your friends in or to play by yourself focusing on your goals.
  2. May 24, 2019
    90
    Dauntless has plenty of room for growth, but it’s already one of my favorite free-to-play games. I initially overlooked Dauntless as another Monster Hunter clone and I was wildly wrong for thinking that. Whether you’re a newcomer to the genre or just looking for an alternative while you wait for Iceborne, you can’t go wrong with Dauntless. As the West’s first foray into the monster hunting genre, Phoenix Labs’ Dauntless is an absolute triumph.
  3. May 31, 2019
    85
    What Dauntless lacks in layered complexity it makes up for with tightly crafted combat and rewarding progression, proving you don’t need to cram every possible feature into a game for it to be great.
  4. Aug 7, 2018
    80
    Dauntless is a great foundation for a rollicking monster-mashing time, but without the critical component of a compelling endgame, your journey has no satisfying destination. Only time will tell if the swirling islands around Ramsgate can provide something more.
  5. Jun 19, 2019
    79
    Dauntless offers a lot of content, especially for a game that is free. The combat starts off a bit slow, but give it some time and you will thoroughly enjoy yourself with Dauntless.
  6. Oct 15, 2019
    75
    I wanted very badly to love Dauntless, and for a time I think I did thanks to the fantastic combat and weapon variety. But the lack of any real storytelling makes the repetitive questing structure a glaring issue in desperate need of some TLC. If you’re looking for a new go-to F2P experience, you could do much worse — just don’t expect a world drenched teeming with lore and compelling characters.
  7. Oct 4, 2019
    50
    A game with unapologetically singular focus, its distillation of deeper MMOs' elements nevertheless results in an experience that all too often feels barren.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 78
  2. Negative: 34 out of 78
  1. May 8, 2019
    10
    Best MH Ever, I find that this game is much easier to take in hand than Monster Hunter, much more dynamism, the graphics are really juice
    Try
    Best MH Ever, I find that this game is much easier to take in hand than Monster Hunter, much more dynamism, the graphics are really juice
    Try before judging, you will not be disappointed
    Expand
  2. May 10, 2019
    10
    trés bon jeu de farme. Mais tres rapide a finir, je l ai fini moi en 2 jours en farmant intensivement.
  3. Jun 2, 2019
    9
    After reading the bad reviews I saw that some people are blaming the game when it is their slow computer or taking a hit at free to play gamesAfter reading the bad reviews I saw that some people are blaming the game when it is their slow computer or taking a hit at free to play games pushing the only way they get to make money. I never played the console monster hunter but did play the psp version. Is it similar? To be honest I don’t remember anything from monster hunter as I was carried through everything. Now this game is super fun, especially when all the other games out right now are awful. The player based is huge thanks to cross play. The best part is it gets more difficult as you progressed and I love it. What if I finish all the quest lines? Well there is plenty to do with mastery, when you accomplish everything with one weapon type, you can do it all over with a different weapon. (Way different experience with every weapon type.) I also love being able to fail and work my way to avoid that failure. So many times I had to redo a boss because we literally had a lot to learn. Then I also enjoy being the last one alive and once I finally clutch it for the squad, I hear the screams of my team being amazed. This game is paving memories and the more I play it the more I love it. As much love that I have for this game, I also dislike parts of it. Like not having a full 4 man squad sometimes and not being able to just exit the hunt. We need to quit the whole game in order to exit. That is literally the most disliked thing I could think of. To wrap it all up it is really worth your time for someone looking for a solo game to grind meanwhile watching your favorite streamer, or a game to play with friends. Expand
  4. May 31, 2019
    5
    The game has potential but it falls flat when compared to Monster Hunter World. As a free to play it's okay, in-game store shows up too muchThe game has potential but it falls flat when compared to Monster Hunter World. As a free to play it's okay, in-game store shows up too much in my opinion. If you have 60 bucks to drop or whatever price Monster Hunter World goes on during sales just get that and you'll have a better experience.

    P.S the holding interact button in the game is just terrible. Half the time it doesn't work when mining or even sometimes when talking to NPCs.
    Expand
  5. May 24, 2019
    4
    actually, getting onto the game can be a pain (I'm putting it down to beta servers since that waiting list had 3,000 others on before me)actually, getting onto the game can be a pain (I'm putting it down to beta servers since that waiting list had 3,000 others on before me)
    this is an issue as the times I've attempted to play the game I'm unable to which is a bit annoying, to say the least as the game looks great but the devs haven't put up enough servers (or large enough) for the people who want to play to the beta.
    Expand
  6. FGM
    Sep 29, 2019
    3
    Utter crap, game managed to freeze 3 times in 30 minutes from starting it. Including me spawned in middle of the world textures. ConstantUtter crap, game managed to freeze 3 times in 30 minutes from starting it. Including me spawned in middle of the world textures. Constant disconnects, long loading times, sorry but no. Mediocre graphics. Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2019
    0
    Boring and annoying... j'ai test ce jeux a ses débuts et rien n'a changé... Amusant durant quelque heure mais ne Monster Hunter estBoring and annoying... j'ai test ce jeux a ses débuts et rien n'a changé... Amusant durant quelque heure mais ne Monster Hunter est inégalable. Obligé sur EGS :s un app bugué ceci dit. Allez a oublié ! Expand

See all 78 User Reviews