Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. May 3, 2018
    71
    Dead in Vinland combines resource management, RPG combat, uneven writing, and a lot of diciness into something I couldn't stop playing until I finished it.
  2. Jul 16, 2018
    70
    Dead In Vinland tries to blend the best of multiple genres, but when combined those once worth-while features become a single idea that many times works, yet at others simply doesn’t.
  3. PC PowerPlay
    May 26, 2018
    70
    Not the greatest writing, but the game's many overlapping mechanics make for some great emergent storytelling. [Issue#271, p.54]
  4. May 4, 2018
    70
    At it's default difficulty, Dead in Vinland is a very challenging game, made up of many interconnected systems, each with the potential to create a fail state if not carefully managed. The combat is pretty simplistic and not as rewarding as simply keeping the characters alive day to day but in general, this is a game with a lot of depth. It's easy to die, and each replay becomes just a little less interesting, so I highly recommend playing through on the easy mode first.
  5. Aug 2, 2018
    65
    The imbalances in the difficulty and an excessively simplified combat makes Dead in Vinland an experience that could be better.
  6. CD-Action
    Jul 6, 2018
    65
    Multitude and diversity of interactions between characters are Dead in Vinland’s notable strengths but excessive impact of RNG on almost everything I did both disheartened me and robbed me of satisfaction. In addition random failures have negative effects on your characters, so you get caught in a spiral of hopelessness. The noose tightens. Despair knocks on your door. Death looks you in the eye. If you enjoy such pressure, give this Nordic tale a try. [06/2018, p.76]
  7. Jul 2, 2018
    65
    For some reason Dead In Vinland is weirdly addictive. I haven’t felt the urge to take just one more turn this strongly since the X-Com reboots. It’s deceptively easy to fall into a routine of assigning tasks, engaging in combat, managing characters’ needs, and exploring their backstories for hours on end. If nothing else, the game is good value for money. So, play it, I guess?
  8. Apr 12, 2018
    65
    Dead in Vinland is a challenging game with fun writing and hours of gameplay to keep you busy. However, repetitive gameplay and a slow-moving plot holds back what could have been a truly fantastic game.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. At its best, Dead in Vinland is compulsive, and a great example of systemic roguelike storytelling. Just be prepared to scratch your beard constantly at some baffling writing decisions. Or, be prepared to buy a fake beard, I guess. All Viking games should now come with beards. New rule. You heard it here first. Also, mead. And an axe. You’d think we’d be able to download axes by now.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Apr 13, 2018
    9
    Really good survival management game !
    The setup is really simple, a family exiled on an island, trying to survive.
    But here is the thing:
    Really good survival management game !
    The setup is really simple, a family exiled on an island, trying to survive.
    But here is the thing: all the possibilities are huge! You can customize your camp, you can fight, you can recruit other lads for your camp (or not, in order to keep more food for the family). I didn't played a lot for now, but wow..!
    Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2018
    9
    Great game! One of the most interesting game, that I have played in my life.
  3. Apr 21, 2018
    9
    Really great game !
    Management of ( 4-->10 ) characters, make them survive against them-self // nature // enemies !
    On 7 game ( each game
    Really great game !
    Management of ( 4-->10 ) characters, make them survive against them-self // nature // enemies !

    On 7 game ( each game take between 5 & 30 hours on normal & hard-mode ), each game are unique ! new random event each time, other character to recruit, other fight & other problem to resolve.
    Full Review »