Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Sep 24, 2014
    90
    Dead Rising 3 Apocalypse Edition is a must-have for any sandbox rampage lover.
  2. Sep 11, 2014
    90
    The graphics are just as impressive here as they were on the Xbox One: Witnessing literally thousands upon thousands of zombies on screen at once is breathtaking, as is charging through them with muscle cars.
  3. Oct 31, 2014
    85
    Even though it has a few annoying and erroneous elements and an uncompelling, cringeworthy story, Dead Rising 3 is still an incredibly fun game. If you're looking for something where you can turn your brain off and go ballistic- Dead Rising 3 is going to be a perfect fit for you.
  4. Sep 11, 2014
    85
    Dead Rising 3 is truly a game that is its best when it isn’t trying, it is unapologetic and bloody, and one of the best zombie hack and slash games that has ever been released.
  5. Sep 6, 2014
    85
    Dead Rising 3 had big shoes to fill, following in the wake of two games that had huge impact on the gaming community. While it is by no means a perfect game, and falls slightly behind the original Dead Rising, it is a welcome breath of fresh air into an otherwise stale zombie genre.
  6. Sep 4, 2014
    83
    The same great game it is on Xbox One, but prettier. On the other side of that coin, it includes the same issues with the map design feeling maze-like and confusing, but no other game does huge hordes of zombies quite like this one.
  7. Sep 7, 2014
    82
    Dead Rising 3 is a remarkable game, capable of bringing a lot of fun to fans of open-world games and zombies. Unfortunately the modest technical area and the poor performance even on high-end computers, may be a let off to a lot of gamers who would like to try it.
  8. Sep 4, 2014
    81
    Dead Rising 3 on PC has got higher resolution and more details than the Xbox One version, but also some frame rate issues if you don't have a beast of a PC. It still is a very good third episode for the Capcom series.
  9. Sep 8, 2014
    80
    Dead Rising 3 is a step forward for the series as it finally finds the confidence to expand its setting, which is mostly down to better hardware being available.
  10. Sep 7, 2014
    80
    Great for the PC crowd, provided you have a controller.
  11. Sep 5, 2014
    80
    Dead Rising 3: Apocalypse Edition is a beefy port of a great Xbox One game and its decent post-release content.
  12. Sep 4, 2014
    80
    After cutting loose with a pair of chainsaw swords, or giving zombies a devastating Street Fighter "Shoryuken" Dragon Punch, you can wash the blood and gore off your boots with the knowledge that it was all time well spent.
  13. Sep 10, 2014
    79
    Dead Rising 3: Apocalypse Edition is a solid attempt in the Capcom series and it's rich in content, but in terms of graphics and optimization this port should have been better.
  14. Sep 4, 2014
    79
    The killing-lots-of-zombies genre is overcrowded, but Dead Rising 3 is one of the best, with a lovable dedication to fun, and some of the most inventive, hilarious weapons on PC.
  15. Dead Rising 3 is an enjoyable and fast-paced game. We have many options for weapon, vehicle and suit. However, high system requirement and low frame rate ruins everything. Dead Rising 3 really needs to solve its own technical problems as soon as possible.
  16. Sep 13, 2014
    77
    Dead Rising 3 is funny, and more importantly a riot to play.
  17. Sep 4, 2014
    77
    30 fps, some tearing, improved but still "flat" textures. Dead Rising 3 PC conversion is not as solid as we hoped. The game is still fun to play, but we were expecting more on the technical side.
  18. Sep 29, 2014
    76
    Dead Rising 3 Apocalypse Edition is a confused but enjoyable zombie-killing sim.
  19. Sep 4, 2014
    76
    Capcom has done a great job bringing the game to PC, but there's no reason to play if you've already done on Xbox One, since the additions are merely visuals.
  20. Nov 26, 2014
    75
    For extremely high-end PC gamers who don't have the console in question, this is a great chance to try out a special game. Everyone else should just stick to the original version.
  21. Sep 9, 2014
    75
    Dead Rising 3 is still the same fun, over the top, zombie slashing, open world game we learned to love on Xbox One. Unfortunately, unless you have a high end PC gaming rig, you will have frame rate and gameplay issues. But if you do have one, you will have a blast killing everything in sight.
  22. Sep 4, 2014
    73
    Apocalypse Edition is basically the same experience as Dead Rising 3 on Xbox One adding the Untold stories season pass. Expands the gameplay of the series to a big city, Los Perdidos. Nick Ramos is a mechanic who has to survive with others in a unoriginal sandbox, which is not innovative.
  23. Oct 7, 2014
    70
    Dead Rising 3: Apocalypse Edition doesn’t differ much from the Xbox One version released last year, but it hasn’t lost any of its fun factor since then. A higher frame-rate and slightly better graphics offer some advantages, but the real value is in playing Dead Rising 3 cooperatively.
  24. 70
    Apocalypse Edition is not going to sate anyone looking for a deep narrative experience - The Walking Dead or The Last of Us this is not. However, for those looking for a higher level of action and maybe something a bit more humorous (albeit not kid friendly in the least, just for the record), then Dead Rising 3: Apocalypse Edition could be a real treat.
  25. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 21, 2014
    70
    A beautiful expansion of a franchise hampered by its history. [Oct 2014, p.60]
  26. Sep 16, 2014
    70
    This PC release contains all the DLCs, except the last one. The conversion is not so brilliant and many technical issues still persist. Still, the game offers many hours of insane and funny gameplay.
  27. Sep 16, 2014
    70
    A computer version of Dead Rising 3 has met our expectations. It has brought free downloadable content and generally great fun, already known from the Xbox. But its technical optimization along with a number of overlooked issues are good enough reason to quarter Capcom's staff.
  28. Sep 9, 2014
    70
    Dead Rising 3's world is grey and bland, yes, but those aren't words that can be used to describe the frenetic zombie-culling action which forms the game's core.
  29. Sep 4, 2014
    70
    This Apocalypse Edition is the exact same game that we played one year ago on Xbox One: dismembering zombies is certainly entertaining, but on the long run even that can bore you. The game comes with support to a full HD resolution, but frame rate issues are still there, and the technical requests are inexplicably high.
  30. Sep 4, 2014
    70
    Dead Rising 3 has a better look on PC and will entertain you big time. It is generous and fun, we have never seen so many zombies in the streets, the open world is full of activities, featuring stupid and hilarious ideas... The best game of the Dead Rising saga.
  31. Sep 6, 2014
    67
    But if you have yet to experience Dead Rising 3, then this might be worth a look. But if you value performance over everything else, you’d do well to play the waiting game and see what fixes, if any, the community may produce.
  32. Oct 30, 2014
    65
    It may not have the strongest story in the series, but the gameplay is enjoyable due to the number of weapons and crafting options at your disposal.
  33. Sep 26, 2014
    65
    Even if you play Dead Rising 3 together, it still quickly becomes stale and boring. New gadgets and weapons differ mostly by animation, while zombies are just an annoying obstacle on your road to the next waypoint.
  34. Sep 12, 2014
    65
    Apart from the optimization issues, Dead Rising 3 is still a lot of fun.
  35. Nov 14, 2014
    60
    All in all, Dead Rising 3 is a fun, open world zombie-splattering experience that is notably let down by a weak narrative, derivative boss fights and too much emphasis on using crazy weapons to obliterate scores of undead.
  36. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 13, 2014
    60
    Botched port mires an otherwise interesting title. The game doesn't look as good as it should on the PC and there are heaps of technical issues. Still a fun and absurd ride, though. [Issue#245]
  37. Sep 12, 2014
    60
    With a more engaging story that didn’t solely rely on zaniness and/or idiocy to sell itself, Dead Rising 3 could have been more worthy of recommendation. Instead, accept my lukewarm approval of it as a purchase decision.
  38. Sep 10, 2014
    60
    No game does zombie carnage as well as Dead Rising, but tired storytelling, repetition, and technical shortcoming hamper the experience. What's left is a bland game that leans too heavily on its impressive central combat mechanic.
  39. Sep 9, 2014
    60
    Dead Rising 3 should appeal to people enjoying short, simple fun in a world full of imaginary possibilities (especially when they do it in cooperation). The game definitely will be fun for fans of zombies (it's pretty much a must buy for them). All in all, Dead Rising 3 is a good but monotonous game that had some bad luck. First it had to be finished for Xbox One's premiere (a giant patch followed) and now it's very poorly optimized.
  40. Sep 8, 2014
    60
    The PC version of Dead Rising 3 is the same game as on Xbox One, but with better graphics and a higher frame rate. However, you need a high end PC to get the most out of the game, which makes this version interesting for a select group of gamers.
  41. CD-Action
    Oct 24, 2014
    55
    PC gamers had to wait whole year to get their hands on Dead Rising 3. It’s hard to tell what Capcom Vancouver was doing all that time because the quality of Apocalypse Edition leaves much to be desired. It has all the problems of the Xbox One version, the frame rate is locked at 30 fps and the loading times are disgraceful. [Nov 2014, p.74]
  42. Sep 9, 2014
    50
    With a bit more time in development, Dead Rising 3 for PC could have been the definitive version. Unfortunately, an above-average game is hamstrung by a port that runs poorly on stronger PC hardware. Crashes and framerate issues abound. If you really want to play Dead Rising 3, your best bet is to wait or pick up the Xbox One version.
  43. Sep 7, 2014
    44
    Dead Rising 3's inability to operate without consistently crashing wasn't a simple technical shortcoming, but rather a comprehensive failure that came to damage and define every aspect of its experience. Looking back on my time with Dead Rising 3, I'm not thinking of open-world mayhem under the stress of a cataclysmic time crunch, but rather the ugly and sudden halt of everything I found enjoyable in the intended game.
  44. Sep 7, 2014
    30
    Plot is more of a protracted errand through drab, gray streets that are a chore to navigate.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 359 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Sep 5, 2014
    5
    This is the first game in the series that I played, and unfortunately it bored me quickly. Carnage is great but it needs something more toThis is the first game in the series that I played, and unfortunately it bored me quickly. Carnage is great but it needs something more to hold it together (like some kind of not dreadful story or characters), otherwise it gets old fast. After about the 5,000th zombie that I ran over, I caught myself getting distracted by the TV. Not a good sign. As for performance, this is the most demanding game I've installed on my PC. I suppose you could get 30 fps on a fairly good system if you tone it down a bit, but if you max it and unlock the framerate you're most likely gonna have a problem. On my 4790K, 16 GB Ram and a 780 Ti, the framerate was inconsistent. It fluctuated constantly between 50 and 70, although it usually stayed above 60. That's fine, but the game does not look anywhere near as good as it should for it to drop to 50 on a 2500$ system. It's a marginal improvement on something like Just Cause 2, and that game runs at 4 times the framerate. So, in conclusion, if you have a good PC, and if mowing through thousands of zombies for dozens of hours is enough to keep your attention, I recommend this game. Otherwise, I suggest you wait for some patches and a sale. Full Review »
  2. Sep 5, 2014
    0
    I'm running SLI 770's and an I7 4770k @4.5 and i cant run this game. At some points frames drop all the way down to 15. Was wondering what wasI'm running SLI 770's and an I7 4770k @4.5 and i cant run this game. At some points frames drop all the way down to 15. Was wondering what was happening and noticed that only one of my cards was being used. SLI is not supported on this game. Their are other reviewers who state that even on SLI TITANS the frames drop to below 30 at some points. If 2 Of the most Powerful GPU's in the world have trouble running this game i don't know how other people are. This game should have never been released in its current state. Its a complete rip off. Full Review »
  3. Sep 5, 2014
    8
    a pretty decent game. if you were a fan of the early games in the series, this one is more of the same: more whacky combos and ridiculousa pretty decent game. if you were a fan of the early games in the series, this one is more of the same: more whacky combos and ridiculous hordes to gratuitously gank. the game is a little bit more polished than DR2 but at the same time, unless you are running a beast of a pc, expect frame-rate and v-sync issues.

    game-wise, DR3, is fun and incorporates many RPG-elements incorporated into its levelling up and attributes system (although, there really isn't any need to 'focus' or make a 'build' per se as your character will eventually get enough points to max just about everything).

    the 'time-limit' feature of game play which received such mixed reviews in DR2 is also back. for those who didnt play DR2, this means that you have a set amount of (in game) time to complete the game. while it adds a certain measure of immersion to the game (as some events are obviously of the 'time is of the essence' variety), it also detracts from the whole open-world exploration concept (which DR3 achieves a bit better than DR2). for some like me who like to spend excessive time exploring the game world and just indulge in mindless ganking, it does take away from the enjoyment somewhat.

    the big disappointment was that the developers did not add in a feature to toggle the 'time-limit' game play (as they hinted that they might). that said, the time limit feature may in some instances promote multiple playthroughs (of certain chapters if not the game). it is possibly why in single player mode, you are allowed to restart the game at any point and retain all levels, attributes and recipes.

    i have not yet tried the multiplayer game play and thus have not commented on it. although i can imagine that if you find a good partner/friend to play with, this game can be good co-op fun.

    tl;dr - a solid game for fans of the series and good chance for those who have never played a DR game to get into the franchise.
    Full Review »