Dead Space 3 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1317 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up withDead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up with a friend anytime. Players that choose to take down the terror together experience additional story details, side missions and gameplay mechanics only found when playing as John Carver. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dead Space 3 - Pre-Order Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 21, 2013
    91
    With a weak start, enjoyable middle parts and a great ending, Dead Space 3 is a game not to be missed. With such a heavy emphasis on gore, the game could've used a touch of psychological horror. Still, you can't really fault Dead Space 3 for lack of strong atmosphere. [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    90
    Dead Space 3 for PC is a good port, with plenty of advanced video options but standard res textures and no DirectX 11 support. That said, the game itself is stunning and the fans will not be disappointed.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    81
    Dead Space 3, despite its strengths in presentation, atmosphere and sound remained well below the class of its predecessors. Too bad if you consider that this is probably due to targeting a wider audience.
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    79
    In reality, Dead Space 3 could almost be regarded as a stand-alone expansion pack for Dead Space 2. The single player gameplay is largely identical to the previous instalment. But, since I found Dead Space 2 an enjoyable experience, I find no fault with that at all.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    75
    Sure, it’d be nice to see the kind of PC support title such as Battlefield 3 and Crysis 3 are getting, but Dead Space 3 is more than a straight port and still quite a bit of fun.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Dead Space 3 brings refreshing gameplay options without sacrificing the gritty, believable universe, but scares are few and far between. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    60
    Perfectly decent and enjoyable enough, but the lack of scares hurts it more than you might think.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 256
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Haters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is stillHaters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is still scary if you play it at a higher difficulty setting. Weapon Crafting is handled well and adds a nice layer of customization. For anyone having issues with the FPS being locked to 30: Turn vsync off in the game and force vsync through your GPU control panel. After doing that I was able to play the game maxed out 150fps. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    I am a little over half way through this title and have enjoyed it quite a bit. The graphics are the best yet in the series, the craftingI am a little over half way through this title and have enjoyed it quite a bit. The graphics are the best yet in the series, the crafting system makes sense and allows for a fantastic amount of experimentation, and the openness of the game is a much appreciated addition. That being said, the game does have its flaws. The voice acting is a bit of a mixed bag, as is the story in general. It isn't bad, really, it just isn't as good as you want it to be. There are also pretty much the exact same enemies so far that have been in the series from the start. This was disappointing, but not too terrible as the enemies are on the whole well done despite their familiarity. None of my complaints about the game in any way diminishes what is an otherwise excellent entry ino the series. The game itself runs excellently, with the engine smooth and stable. There aren't even any clipping errors to be found. Very well polished in that regard. As a final note, the DLC is in NO WAY pushed on you. It isn't needed to progress through the game at all, nor do I feel like I am missing out on anything by not buying it. No worries there.

    If you're a Dead Space fan, buy the game. If you're a fan of 3rd person shooters, this is a no-brainer. I wouldn't recommend it to those who aren't fans of the series and genre, though, as DS3 won't make any converts out of non-believers.
    Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    This game is amazing,but it was boring to play first 7 halfs,i have a feling that i already played this before,but the rest of the gameThis game is amazing,but it was boring to play first 7 halfs,i have a feling that i already played this before,but the rest of the game rocks,i also RECOMENDED to play coop,thank you Visceral Games and wait more great games from you guys.Sorry for my vary bad english)). Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2014
    7
    I enjoyed the game, and it kept me coming back, playing hours on end until I'd finished. That said, it's more of the same. Loved DS and DS2,I enjoyed the game, and it kept me coming back, playing hours on end until I'd finished. That said, it's more of the same. Loved DS and DS2, so can't *really* go wrong. Some additions/changes aren't as welcome, however: too much focus on combat, too many enemies that push you into a corner and f**k up the camera, save state problems (no save points - just autosave) and a stupid cliffhanger ending that the DLC simply exaggerated. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    6
    Perfectly decent and enjoyable enough, but the lack of scares hurts it more than you might think.

    is disappointing, stick to 2 and 1
  6. Dec 1, 2020
    5
    They **** up the weapon feel, like how? How can you make the plasma cutter, an awesome and heavy feeling weapon into a pea shooter? Or theThey **** up the weapon feel, like how? How can you make the plasma cutter, an awesome and heavy feeling weapon into a pea shooter? Or the fact that you can only have 2 weapons with side attachments. The game overall was a letdown. Corporate greed, the billion different sub currencies, the ingame shop in a single player driven game? The forced co-op? The game is literally the same game as Dead Space 2, which is sad because DS2 was an amazing game. And the game is no longer atmospherically scary, but jump scare ridden trash. Every single time I got scared in DS2 was because the atmosphere was too unnerving and always made you feel on edge, but in DS3, it is completely gone, the atmosphere is just sad and not scary. The environment is bland, not too many different areas, most of the side missions were weak, not engaging, the weapon blueprints and upgrade scheme felt tacked on, Visceral wanted to make a good game, it shows. But, EA as it is, did not want to make the game good, just mediocre. The enemies were butchered and were mostly boring to fight over and over again while you're using telekinesis on doors and **** like that. And speaking of opening doors with telekinesis, the game has a sound bug where after you open that said door, the game will play a sound. But, there is a catch; the sound never **** ends. So you have to patch the game yourself via a fan modder. EA, or Visceral for that matter did not give a **** about that issue and left it in for the PC release. Overall, a mediocre action game. Not even a scary game, and I'd go as far as to say that the game reminded me of Gears of War even. Trash. Don't play it. Waiting for the fourth game for the next generation. Like a reboot or after the events of DS2 or maybe even between DS1 and DS2, or even a prequel game like the spin-offs. Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2019
    0
    Dead Space 3 this is Call of Duty in the third person. Honestly tried to play the game to the end, but could not stand all this trash.

See all 256 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.