Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 7, 2021
    100
    I was still, however, absolutely blown away by the tabletop RPG experience that Demeo offers. Not once did I experience any sort of motion sickness, meaning I can play Demeo for extended periods of time – far more than any other VR title can boast with me. I can’t wait to play Demeo with my regular D&D group as we ease our way back into in-person sessions. As a solo adventurer, though, Demeo is perfect for when I’m in need of a quick-play session with other players from around the globe.
  2. May 6, 2021
    100
    Demeo is not a perfect tabletop RPG. Its turn-based combat isn’t especially deep and its difficulty stems from brute force. But it is instantly graspable and endlessly rewarding even when the odds are stacked against you. More importantly, though, it’s a near-peerless social VR experience, polished to such a degree that it transforms the kinks of its systems into enjoyable, suspenseful quirks. Facing its brutish hordes with friends at your side is a thrilling, collaborative endurance test; defeat is met with entertained cries of anguish while victory — rare as that may be — is celebrated with the sort of group-wide elation you might have been missing in this tough past year. Not built for parties of one, then, but if you have a group of three or four ready to raid, Demeo is one of VR’s best.
  3. May 17, 2021
    81
    Brilliant simulation of a traditional dungeon crawler board game with a decent variety of enemies. I can’t wait for the release of the next dungeon.
  4. Jun 18, 2021
    80
    If you like old-school RPG, you need to try Demeo. It needs more content at the moment, but the foundations are incredibly solid and there is lots of fun to be had.
  5. May 7, 2021
    80
    If you are a fan of miniature RPG board games and tactical turn-based gameplay wrapped around a simple to play ruleset, there is a lot to like in Demeo. Combining the VR environment, voice acting, sound effects, and animations make for a great experience, especially when played with friends. While it currently doesn’t replace a tabletop RPG, I can see the potential, and it is a big step in the right direction. With a few balancing tweaks and more updates/content, this will be an amazing game.
  6. May 6, 2021
    80
    Demeo continues Resolution Games’ run of well-crafted VR titles, moving away from the frantic gameplay of Cook-Out: A Sandwich Tale and Blaston into a far more laidback experience. As Demeo is entirely tabletop-based there are no comfort issues to worry about (best played seated), plus as you complete runs you level up and unlock new customisation options, encouraging repeat gameplay. Its slower style isn’t for everyone yet as an example of D&D in VR, Demeo excels.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Mar 29, 2022
    0
    I played this on the VR. One more game that had a lot of potential but is ruined by poor design choices.

    You can never clean a dungeon from
    I played this on the VR. One more game that had a lot of potential but is ruined by poor design choices.

    You can never clean a dungeon from monsters because do they spawn infinitely.

    I've noticed more monsters spawning from cleared rooms than occupied ones. It's really dumb. Especially since you tend to have every enemy coming at you after your first room...

    That is a reeeeeeeeeeally poor design decision if true. Game breakingly poor tbh! Would not accept a DM just placing new mobs out of thin air in an already cleared room. That’s not how it works?
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2021
    10
    The game on oculus quest yet. A returning game even if you play solo. Just try it you will love it.
  3. Jul 2, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. esse jogo é um sonho de consumo. parabéns. é tudo que eu sempre quis. nota 10 para o jogo. obrigado. Full Review »