User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 119
  2. Negative: 19 out of 119

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 10, 2014
    7
    Depth is an interesting game,it represent the fantastic atmosphere of the ocean.I really love the underwater view.But I think this game can do better,like more kinds of predator fish,more kinds of weapon,more kinds of tools,If Depth can give players more options,It can really be a masterpiece
  2. Jul 12, 2015
    8
    Game is easy to learn, so you can instant go to playing.
    There are 3 modes blood and gold, megalodon hunt and hide and seek.
    You will probably play most of time blood and gold, it is 4 divers v 2 sharks, divers must protect robotic machine which opens treasures for them and sharks can only damage it to slow mining operation. As diver, you earn money by killing sharks, or collection gold
    Game is easy to learn, so you can instant go to playing.
    There are 3 modes blood and gold, megalodon hunt and hide and seek.
    You will probably play most of time blood and gold, it is 4 divers v 2 sharks, divers must protect robotic machine which opens treasures for them and sharks can only damage it to slow mining operation.
    As diver, you earn money by killing sharks, or collection gold from bottoms, or when mining robot open the treasure.
    You mission is open 4 treasures and then deliver it back to boat.

    As sharks you have to kill divers and gain points for killing them, which can be spend to your shark abilities.
    Also you can lose by runing out of tickets, each team has limited tickes for spawning.

    Game is original by diving and sharks and it is funny, but there is not to much content, like maps and modes, i won't expect this game play for long time.
    Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2014
    9
    This game is exhilarating and nerve wracking. Watch some Youtube videos of people playing it and you will instantly agree. better yet, go and grab a copy. I couldn't disagree more with the GameSpot critic. That does not shock me at all, but playing as a Diver does. The gameplay is and balance between the two sides runs deep and although everyone says its all about being a shark, I preferThis game is exhilarating and nerve wracking. Watch some Youtube videos of people playing it and you will instantly agree. better yet, go and grab a copy. I couldn't disagree more with the GameSpot critic. That does not shock me at all, but playing as a Diver does. The gameplay is and balance between the two sides runs deep and although everyone says its all about being a shark, I prefer to play as the diver. If you enjoy your heart pounding and pure violent hysteria, than Depth is your game. Expand
  4. DMO
    Dec 16, 2014
    10
    This game is absolutely brilliant!! Continually entertaining, unprecedented concept, and very well thought out. Both Sharks and Divers have unique strengths and weaknesses and the best way to succeed is to master the tactics that play off of those unique attributes. This forces players to really think strategically but doesn't compromise the FPS design. Regarding "Erazor's" comments, IThis game is absolutely brilliant!! Continually entertaining, unprecedented concept, and very well thought out. Both Sharks and Divers have unique strengths and weaknesses and the best way to succeed is to master the tactics that play off of those unique attributes. This forces players to really think strategically but doesn't compromise the FPS design. Regarding "Erazor's" comments, I remember seeing early developer requests and their offer was extremely generous (i.e. well paid), so not sure what he's on about - probably just trolling. Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2014
    9
    Great game, even for early access. Scary but fun as divers, and fun as heck as a shark. They are still balancing the teams some, but that's all part of an early access game.
  6. Oct 18, 2015
    9
    Depth is a great mixture of a suspenseful thriller and a multiplayer game. 2 players control a variety of sharks well 4 players are divers attempting to retrieve treasure and defend themselves. This makes for a extremely terrifying experience at times or extremely fun depending how you look at it. Playing as a Diver you are able to choose from pistols,rifles and harpoons to use once youDepth is a great mixture of a suspenseful thriller and a multiplayer game. 2 players control a variety of sharks well 4 players are divers attempting to retrieve treasure and defend themselves. This makes for a extremely terrifying experience at times or extremely fun depending how you look at it. Playing as a Diver you are able to choose from pistols,rifles and harpoons to use once you can afford them. Learning all the weapons and finding what works best for you and on what level is necessary but very enjoyable. You can also buy temporary items like motion sensors,mines,Health etc. Sharks also have many different ways to spend there points as they level up and depending on what type of shark they are some abilities may be more essential then others. The game is fairly balanced if the teams are working together and the map is forgiving at times, Some rounds may feel bit one sided for the sharks if your team isn't cooperating.
    Depth is a great Multiplayer Shooter for anyone looking for something slightly out of the normal for the genre.
    Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2016
    10
    Depth est un jeu convaincant de par ses magnifiques maps et DLC et de sa qualité graphique, mettez vous dans la peau d'un plongeur ou d'un requins et apprécié ce jeu qui mérite cette note 10/10.
  8. Nov 9, 2014
    8
    I guess if you not a big company who pays professional reviewers you wont get a good and honest review. If you take a really bad game like Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare you see there is a huge difference how users rated the game and critics. Im not sure how it works? Do they really get paid or is it advertisement which they wont get if the review is bad?
  9. Nov 5, 2014
    10
    This game has quite a big following already on Steam. Over 100 user reviews, general rating is "Very positive". I absolutely love it too! I think it could become one of the biggest indie hits of the year.
    Depth is in essence an asymmetrical multiplayer-only game about treasure hunting divers and sharks trying to kill them. It's polished for indie, and very well balanced. Playing the shark
    This game has quite a big following already on Steam. Over 100 user reviews, general rating is "Very positive". I absolutely love it too! I think it could become one of the biggest indie hits of the year.
    Depth is in essence an asymmetrical multiplayer-only game about treasure hunting divers and sharks trying to kill them. It's polished for indie, and very well balanced. Playing the shark is absolute blast, but playing a diver is fun too, scary kind of fun.
    There are two Great White sharks (played from 3rd person) pitted against four human divers (1st person). Sharks have superior speed, vision and strength and razor sharp teeth, but divers have waterproof guns and other gadgets. The game takes place 100% underwater, in 5 different maps (free DLC maps coming later). Divers are trying to escort a safe-cracking ROV robot through waypoints, collect treasure, sticking together and trying to fight back sharks lurking in the darkness. A heartbeat sound indicates how close a shark is, but not it's direction, which creates paranoia and fear in diver players. Sharks can destroy some roofs and walls, to create new attack routes. Divers are slower than sharks, but have assault rifles, pistols, nets, harpoon, mines, flares and such. Even a small vessels, which can be used to drive around. Sharks have "Evolutions", which mean unlocking faster speed, better vision etc, but both sides start every round with nothing (Counter-Strike style) and must earn their unlocks. Divers use treasure they collected from safes (+ some extra laying around), sharks get an Evolution Point for each kill. Humans need to stick together, and getting separated from group usually means that you're going to be shark food, especially against competent shark players. Sharks work together too, for example other one creating distraction by thrashing a wall to draw attention.

    All of the maps are mostly very dark since it's deep sea, and flashlight + flares light the way. The game is very polished in both visual and gameplay sense, only thing I could nitpick about is the system to join and search for games. It has had occasional joining problems at launch, I'm sure they will fix that ASAP.
    I highly recommend this title. It has fairly unique idea, visceral and tense action, scary atmosphere (for diver team) and lot of teamwork... kind of Left 4 Dead vibes here, but different. High polish, good balance and it seems to have strong community and support from devs. Ready up your wetsuit and jump in!
    Expand
  10. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    Don't follow mainstream media who just put 18 or 20 to Call Of, BF and Co. This game is simply awesome, remember you fear after Jaws and you can imagine the feel when you play Depth :)
  11. Jun 18, 2015
    10
    The Steam summer sale finally convinced me to buy the game. I have wanted it for quite a while, I love the PvP concept with different species. I was blown away with how good it is. My time with it has been very well spent. This game is INTENSE! This is what I wanted from Evolve, which was disappointing. Does Depth still have some rough edges? Yes. Does it matter when you're playing?The Steam summer sale finally convinced me to buy the game. I have wanted it for quite a while, I love the PvP concept with different species. I was blown away with how good it is. My time with it has been very well spent. This game is INTENSE! This is what I wanted from Evolve, which was disappointing. Does Depth still have some rough edges? Yes. Does it matter when you're playing? NOT ONE BIT! :D

    Playing as a diver is stressful, in a good way. They've done a great job on the atmosphere and feeling of it. Hearing your heartbeat speed up is a great indicator of the increased danger, I love it. It's never a completely one-sided battle, sharks are fast, divers have tech. Currently no difference in the divers that I can see, it's all about your load-out.

    The sharks all have different strength and weaknesses. Playing as a shark is fantastic, really gives you that "hunting" feel. Find a shark you're good at and stick with it, there are a lot of differences. I go Great White, my friend I played with goes Tiger Shark.

    I honestly enjoy both modes equally, they give such different experiences, it's almost hard to believe it's the same game.

    Developers seem to be putting good work into the game, updates are well-stocked with features and fixes.
    Expand
  12. Jan 7, 2015
    8
    Depths got potential, rhythm and magnificent atmosphere. It's practically up to the developers on how far they want to take this excellent cat and mouse shooter.
  13. BMF
    Nov 6, 2014
    10
    The guy who reviews games for gamespot is obviously retarded as 50% is way to low a rating for a game with so much fun to give. Playing as a shark is a tense game of cat n mouse where you have lots of ways to feel like a deadly predator but if you don't play smart your **** Playing as a diver is like a FPS horror game where no one is truly safe and only teamwork will save you from aThe guy who reviews games for gamespot is obviously retarded as 50% is way to low a rating for a game with so much fun to give. Playing as a shark is a tense game of cat n mouse where you have lots of ways to feel like a deadly predator but if you don't play smart your **** Playing as a diver is like a FPS horror game where no one is truly safe and only teamwork will save you from a horrible death. Both sides are very fun to play and the swimming is the best I have seen in a game to date. Expand
  14. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    Is a challenge fight vs great white shark under the water , and vs 4 armed divers, good rendering, need more maps, and would be nice with other species of sharks !!
  15. Dec 13, 2014
    8
    Screw the critics! For the price this game is awesome! Sure, there aren't that many maps and yeah, there's some content deprivation, but other than that, this game can get nerve wreckingly fun in an instant! xD

    Me and my buddies, after watching a couple of YouTube videos, decided to all chip in and buy the 4 pack. We pretty much went crazy from there, and we practically played this game
    Screw the critics! For the price this game is awesome! Sure, there aren't that many maps and yeah, there's some content deprivation, but other than that, this game can get nerve wreckingly fun in an instant! xD

    Me and my buddies, after watching a couple of YouTube videos, decided to all chip in and buy the 4 pack. We pretty much went crazy from there, and we practically played this game every time we met up after class. We laughed, we cried, we conquered. Even now, we're still playing!
    Even if you don't have friends to play with, the community has tons of people (or at least in my experience), so finding someone to play with shouldn't be a problem.

    For $25, I think this game is worth it. If you're THAT cheap, just wait for the Christmas sale in a few weeks.

    Hopefully, they'll add more content like extra sharks, gear, and player models, but still, I had a blast, and I highly recommend this game to anyone and their mothers.
    Expand
  16. Jan 12, 2015
    9
    Fast paced challenging multi player.

    The game is impressive and I'm sure there will be more updates. It's a lot of fun and should be called heart attack simulator.
  17. Jan 29, 2015
    9
    This game is very entertaining and continues to grow as the developers add more and more content. They added megaladon hunt, and they added more items, as well as more maps than the original game as well. The original game was also very fun, starting with a lot of items and 5 new maps, and they continue to add more things. I recommend this PC game highly. The only fault is that there areThis game is very entertaining and continues to grow as the developers add more and more content. They added megaladon hunt, and they added more items, as well as more maps than the original game as well. The original game was also very fun, starting with a lot of items and 5 new maps, and they continue to add more things. I recommend this PC game highly. The only fault is that there are not many game modes. and even if they were starting out with only one and will continue to add more, i think that they should have added more to the original game. Still, I highly recommend this game and this should be added to more people's steam libraries. Expand
  18. Nov 22, 2014
    0
    These guys were looking for UNPAID 3D artist on the UDK forums. They deleted the thread probably long ago to hide their cheap skate, sleazy asses. Seriously not even a offer of royalties, I'm guessing they found the freebie idiots, hope they enjoy their name in the credits of a **** game whilst you guy's cash in on the steam sales. Have a free bad review on the house, and stick it in yourThese guys were looking for UNPAID 3D artist on the UDK forums. They deleted the thread probably long ago to hide their cheap skate, sleazy asses. Seriously not even a offer of royalties, I'm guessing they found the freebie idiots, hope they enjoy their name in the credits of a **** game whilst you guy's cash in on the steam sales. Have a free bad review on the house, and stick it in your credits lol. Expand
  19. Dec 21, 2014
    7
    Game is quiete fun, but the duration of a round could be improved. A standart round ends to quick.
    Maybe in more profesional play the sharks survive longer and the divers need to work together like a team with a role for everyone (damage dealer, disabler something).
    t's very good that the shark is not alone and btw a very cool character to play, and i hope they improve the game up to
    Game is quiete fun, but the duration of a round could be improved. A standart round ends to quick.
    Maybe in more profesional play the sharks survive longer and the divers need to work together like a team with a role for everyone (damage dealer, disabler something).
    t's very good that the shark is not alone and btw a very cool character to play, and i hope they improve the game up to more sharks / divers per scenario.
    One of the major weaknesses in the similar game evolve which i only played an alpha, is the fact that every mod is the same 1vs4 and this got me bored very quick.
    So i hope the ame will improve further because the setting is really interesting.
    I
    Expand
  20. Jan 8, 2015
    8
    Fun game to play with friends in short bursts. Won't keep you playing for hours at a time, but definitely gets the heart pumping for a nice 30-60min session here and there. Playing as a diver is all about sticking together with your team and trying to collect treasure as quick as possible so you can upgrade to better weapons/gear. Shark gameplay is more stealth, sneaking up, attackingFun game to play with friends in short bursts. Won't keep you playing for hours at a time, but definitely gets the heart pumping for a nice 30-60min session here and there. Playing as a diver is all about sticking together with your team and trying to collect treasure as quick as possible so you can upgrade to better weapons/gear. Shark gameplay is more stealth, sneaking up, attacking quick and getting the heck out of there before the rest of the divers see you. All in all, definitely worth the $15 price I paid for it on Steam! Developers seem to be continuously adding more stuff such as Megalodon mode too which is awesome considering it's a free update for anyone who already owns the game! Expand
  21. Jul 10, 2015
    0
    What a joke, firing guns underwater. Bet they think the easter bunny is real, or pigs really do have wings and can fly. Don't quit your day jobs. .Guess this is their first game or a late April Fools day
  22. Jul 25, 2016
    10
    increible este es el mejor de todos no puedo comprarlo de steam por que soy de argentina y son euros y en argentino solo pesos menos mal que existe mercado libre pronto tendre el juego :) mi puntuacion:10 lo recomiendo plenamente a todo el mundo y sello de oro muy bueno para sacar risas y un poco de miedo
  23. Nov 14, 2014
    8
    This is a great asymmetrical multiplayer game.
    But there is a big setback for some people in this game,
    It suffers from a lack of content in this current state.
    But the developers Digital Confectioners have promised to keep adding content to the game.
    So overall I enjoyed it a lot but the lack of content within Depth must be fixed to give the game a longer lifetime.
  24. Apr 14, 2015
    9
    Great game! It is fun to die in this game, they have some problems with balance but the fact that dying is fun here makes this balance problem so sweet.
  25. Jun 13, 2015
    10
    I swear every game journalist experiences reality incorrectly, never listen to anything they have to say.

    Pros: -5 shark species with unique active abilities and passive stats -cool counter-strike like weapons and perk system -spooky atmosphere, great visuals, is OPTIMIZED (something which is rare in PC gaming nowadays, oh how the mighty have fallen) -FUN AS **** people saying it
    I swear every game journalist experiences reality incorrectly, never listen to anything they have to say.

    Pros:
    -5 shark species with unique active abilities and passive stats
    -cool counter-strike like weapons and perk system
    -spooky atmosphere, great visuals, is OPTIMIZED (something which is rare in PC gaming nowadays, oh how the mighty have fallen)
    -FUN AS **** people saying it lacks variety? you could say the same thing about every modern game but it's never a point that's brought up on other game reviews, just goes to show that game journo's are payed out

    Cons:
    -no singleplayer campaign (well the game is $20, I'd gladly pay for some campaign like DLC)

    Buy this now if you love sharks and shooters.
    Expand
  26. Jul 15, 2015
    8
    MULTIPLAYER ONLY GAME. I like this game so much that I wrote my very first review of it on Steam. See it as a assymetric multiplayer horror game with fast paced gameplay. Some say it is better than Evolve and I can`t really disagree. As of now you can buy this game because the player numbers are substantial for good mp experience. You don`t need elite players to enjoy this game. Anyone canMULTIPLAYER ONLY GAME. I like this game so much that I wrote my very first review of it on Steam. See it as a assymetric multiplayer horror game with fast paced gameplay. Some say it is better than Evolve and I can`t really disagree. As of now you can buy this game because the player numbers are substantial for good mp experience. You don`t need elite players to enjoy this game. Anyone can pick it up, play with people who they don`t know and still have a great time. It is very hard to break the experience because most of the people are focused on having fun toghether. I did not encounter any cheaters or exploiters.

    GAMEPLAY
    Gameplay quality surpasses most other games in my opinion. Digital Confectioners made it a bulletpoint for a good reason. A mouse with two buttons and few keyboard keys is all that is needed. Everything is smooth and fast. Controls of both sides : sharks and divers are simple and work very well, povs are good. Everything is easy and intuitive. Anyone can play this game with success.

    GRAPHICS
    A bit dated. Textures are very low quality here and there but that concerns mainly the maps. This is visible particulary in shipwrecks and on ground (sand) textures. Other than that the player models are well made, have some nice details and move exactly like they should. Divers swim like humans do, sharks wiggle like they really do. It really feels like swimming under water, All the colors are there. As a diver you WILL get scared and as a shark you feel like a perfect killing machine. The higher you go, the more sunlight there is. Personally I`d add a bit more turbidity and take away some light. Overall graphics do not limit the experience, the game is scalabe and works well even on weak PCs.

    MAPS
    10 maps so far. Makes for good entertainment but the devs need to add some more otherwise it can become boring a bit. In multiplayer the maps are randomised so typically 3-4 make for most matches.
    The environment is ok, the sharks can crack some walls to make new ways for themselves. There are few routes to get into the same location. One of the maps (a flooded mine) is a labirynth. There needs to be some more variety or mp numbers will shrink quickly.

    MUSIC/FX
    A little weak. Should be better. I do like the interface sounds though the player sounds, the water effects, the gun effects need some work. For me it is of low quality like listening to a bad recording. A shame because if the sounds were as good as the graphics, the horror of fighting sharks would be simply breathtaking, maybe even unbearable. As of now you know you are playing a game and you get used to it.

    MULTIPLAYER
    So this is only multiplayer game.
    Very cool idea wrapped in a game that everyone will understand and be able to have fun with. Main type of match is 4 divers, 2 sharks and 30 tickets for either teams. Two other modes are not so good and are usable only when you want to take a break from the usual stuff. So the main match mode is very addicting. You do some treasure hunting, you do some shark hunting, you do some fighting for your life, you do some diver hunting. Interesting stuff. 50 hours of multiplayer is easy to break in this game.
    Many people online daily so far. Time between matches is about 5 minutes. Easy to find fluid, lagfree games. The casual nature of the game however results in lack of coordination in most matches. Most of the things is improvised although the game is so simple that everyone gets the point and knows what to do and how. Newbies are apparent but don`t get to ruin matches too often. I also spotted some balancing issues which should be resolved. Some skills imo are just fillers whereas many many cool ideas simply didn`t get implemented.

    Devs still support the game. Some new mode has been added few days ago. Bugs, as few as they are, are being worked on. I hope this game will still grow. A one of a kind multiplayer experience.
    Expand
  27. Jul 18, 2015
    10
    I like this game, it features an unusual underwater feature which enables 3d movement ( swim up / down ) . This adds a bit more depth to the game (sorry). It is surprisingly well balanced for such an unusual deathmatch model. You could check the amount of players on steamcharts.
  28. Jun 29, 2016
    10
    süper bir oyun gerçekten çok eylenceli hiç sıkılmadan oynayaycağım b,r oyun .........................................................................................
  29. Apr 29, 2018
    9
    A fun and intense multiplayer game where you can play as a shark or a diver. The divers need to gather treasure whilst the sharks need to stop them. There are also bots available for both teams.
  30. Apr 14, 2019
    9
    Great idea, but the balance is not the best. The game is already five years old, and it's still interesting to play, the developers still support their offspring, but there are very few players at the moment ... I love Depth. Thank you Digital Confectioners
  31. Nov 6, 2019
    8
    Depth is an indie game being developed with unreal engine 3 by several of the original minds behind 'Killing Floor'. Play as a shark or a diver in a dark aquatic world and overcome your enemies by employing cunning, teamwork, and stealth.

    The game has many skills for sharks. For divers weapons and improvements. A sufficient number of maps and interesting modes, as well as frequent
    Depth is an indie game being developed with unreal engine 3 by several of the original minds behind 'Killing Floor'. Play as a shark or a diver in a dark aquatic world and overcome your enemies by employing cunning, teamwork, and stealth.

    The game has many skills for sharks. For divers weapons and improvements. A sufficient number of maps and interesting modes, as well as frequent events and many cool skins. Good graphics and physics, interesting gameplay that always keeps you energized. Almost everything is fine in the game, but not the best balance repels most of the players... Depth is slowly but surely developing.

    Thank you Digital Confectioners for a great game!

    8/10
    I highly recommend it!
    Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 21, 2015
    70
    Depth delivers thrills, making you feel like a dangerous hunter or a target. It's a nice change of pace from more traditional multiplayer games. It's only a shame that there's not more content.
  2. Nov 26, 2014
    50
    Depth is certainly a game with an interesting idea but developed in a rather rough manner, leaving more than a doubt not only on the production value but also on the idea of the asymmetric gameplay, which is apparently riding the wave of enthusiasm born with Evolve.
  3. Nov 23, 2014
    58
    Depth is a Left 4 Dead clone sunk by its sea of flaws.