User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1357 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2017
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First, the good: The game looks amazing and the music is great. Now the bad: Literally everything else. The plot is shallow, filled with characters that are generic, lifeless, and utterly devoid of any reason as to why you might care about them. The main baddy, Gaul, has no motivation for anything he does other than "he's a bad guy", no backstory, and no reason for doing anything he does. He spends the entire game telling everyone who's around during his cutscenes about how he wants to be "chosen" by the Traveller to receive the light, and then at the end of the game, decides **** it, Ima take the light like everyone's been telling me to the entire game" with absolutely no acknowledgement about this sudden and drastic change of heart nor any justification. The NPC protagonists are lifeless, flat, 2-dimensional objects who serve no purpose except as narrative devices to further what can only generously be called a plot. The voice acting is awful, with the exception of Nathan Fillion, and even he is forced to work with bad, non-sensical writing (robots don't eat, so why a joke about shooting the big baddy in the head and then eating a sandwich?). The strikes are boring and linear. Run here, kill some of them, get to the end, kill a boss that is just a scaled up version of one of the thousands of baddies you've killed up to that point. Rinse, repeat. The gameplay consists of just putting as many bullets downrange as possible while occasionally meleeing when things get too close. There is never any sense of tension or risk in this game, because you can either respawn immediately after you die thanks to having "The Light", or respawn 10 feet further back because the game implemented a checkpoint system for areas where "respawning is limited." Your choice in character class does not matter, as it won't have any impact on how you play the game. Your weapon choice has virtually no impact on the tactics you must employ (as the only viable tactic is "shoot lots of bullets into boring enemies and melee if they're close enough"), and nor does your skill choice, as the skills are on such a long cooldown that they don't impact the gameplay either.

    PVP is just terrible, missing basic features like an in-game scoreboard, the ability to choose what type of PvP contest you engage in, the matchmaking has no regard for power level or skill, and power weapons/power abilities are so unbalanced as to simply be "I win fights for 10 seconds" buttons. This results in a PvP where games are almost always decidedly one-sided. The game doesn't even do basic things as punish people who choose to leave PvP in the middle of a match.

    I could go on and on, but the bottom line is that this game feels like it was made by a committee of people who don't really like video games, and instead of opting for challenge or to take any risks, just mashed together a bunch of elements that "video games are supposed to have". The result is an undirected mess with neither heart, soul, or anything interesting to say. But it is very pretty.
    Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2017
    0
    Pros:
    Free to play ... oh wait it is not.

    Cons:
    Free to play economy in paid game.
    Contains Pay-walls.
    Game is lying to players about XP gains.
    Players are banned for using Discord.
  3. Oct 24, 2017
    0
    One hour before release: "SSSE3 Required: Destiny 2 will not run on processors without Supplemental Streaming SIMD Extensions 3 (SSSE3)" what more is there to say? Never again buying from Bungie/Activision ever again. Refunding my money immediately.

    Don't support businesses with such shady practices.
    Where is the Bungie I used to love?
  4. Oct 25, 2017
    4
    PC version is 10 out of 10, nice graphics, nice sound, good optimization.
    But story and gameplay are bad.
    The game is overpriced and boring, like a bad copy of **** without items, abilities and fun.
    4/10
  5. Oct 25, 2017
    0
    (UPDATE) PC players are getting banned in droves for using things like discord or shadowplay while playing Destiny 2. No real response from bungie and no way to revert the ban. Fresh Windows installs with only destiny 2 installed and people are getting banned the second they log in for the first time. BE WARNED. Do not play on PC right now until you can find confirmation this has been(UPDATE) PC players are getting banned in droves for using things like discord or shadowplay while playing Destiny 2. No real response from bungie and no way to revert the ban. Fresh Windows installs with only destiny 2 installed and people are getting banned the second they log in for the first time. BE WARNED. Do not play on PC right now until you can find confirmation this has been resolved.

    Pro - Great Graphics and Excellent Optimization out of the gate.

    Con - Gameplay: Mindless, repetitive shooting against AI that acts solely as a bullet sponge. The campaign is so poorly written but tries to maintain the appearance of an epic story that after the first couple of hours you are just trying to get through it as fast as you can. Compared to games released in 2017, it is shallow and unrewarding.

    Your hope when playing is that once you hit lvl 20 (a meaningless number) you can finally start the "end game" which is to become more powerful to prepare you for the harder activities like nightfall and the raid. Shortly after reaching 20 the true disappointment sets in - your only options are to run the same handful of public events over and over again to get tokens (which feel so tedious and unrewarding) to get the same reskinned weapons with higher stats until you hit 265 powerlevel. This can take you a few hours to achieve post 20.

    After that the little incentive to play plummets. Your options are to make another character and repeat the same unrewarding, braindead story and just do a few weekly milestones on each character. Or grind the same things pre-265 over and over hoping for an exotic drop. Its a tiny bit of content used over and over again without any feeling of progression or reward.

    Lastly the "customization" present in this game is laughable. Two skill trees that have no options and forces you to use every point in the tree remove all options. Weapon customization is non-existant, you are using the same reskinned guns that you receive all through the early game. The cosmetic items are primary locked behind in-game purchases and are one time use. They ONLY change a color...

    To call this a mmo is an insult to an already dying genre. To call this a shooter is an insult to the few great games that have been released. To call this an RPG is an insult to games like Divinity 2 that have been released this year.

    The game doesnt know what it wants to be, it has the most shallow elements of each genre and the result is a highly polished, good looking game that has no depth or value.
    Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2017
    0
    This game is definitely not worth its price.
    The gameplay is a boring grind with no challenge and has nothing new to offer, the story is full of holes and simply garbage, the characters have no character and are forgettable, the multiplayer aspect is simply not there and half of the game is locked behind a paywall.
    Destiny 2? No, its simply destiny 1.5. This whole series is a lie.
  7. Oct 25, 2017
    3
    Ridiculously boring MMO crap. Stay away.
    Once the prologue story mission is over and you're allowed to free-roam, this game feels like a cheap chinese MMO where all you have to do is repetatively grind mobs over and over. Activities are dull and boring, enemies respawn out of thin air, waiting for you in the very same spots. Equipment system is lame, with lots of COPYPASTE weapons and
    Ridiculously boring MMO crap. Stay away.
    Once the prologue story mission is over and you're allowed to free-roam, this game feels like a cheap chinese MMO where all you have to do is repetatively grind mobs over and over. Activities are dull and boring, enemies respawn out of thin air, waiting for you in the very same spots. Equipment system is lame, with lots of COPYPASTE weapons and armor that just grow in damagedefense. Yes, there are lots of items that are literally THE SAME in terms of visuals and description and just have different stats.
    Compared to D1: no new enemies, no new subclasses, less content, no pvp choice.
    "Please give us more money so we could return what you had in D1".
    Thanks, no.

    Oh, by the way. Great visuals. Kudos to the artists, i feel sorry for you guys working for Bungie :(
    Expand
  8. Oct 24, 2017
    0
    If you love Boring, Slow, Clanky, Soapy, Grindy, FPS shooter programs, that Activision call a Game for almost two full, finished and polished Triple-A game's price, with lots of DLCs each for full game's price, Cash Shop, that will affect gameplay and will include one time use Recolors, then Destiny 2 is for you, but if you prefer fun, interesting games, with not childish and banalIf you love Boring, Slow, Clanky, Soapy, Grindy, FPS shooter programs, that Activision call a Game for almost two full, finished and polished Triple-A game's price, with lots of DLCs each for full game's price, Cash Shop, that will affect gameplay and will include one time use Recolors, then Destiny 2 is for you, but if you prefer fun, interesting games, with not childish and banal stories, with interesting characters, interesting loot mechanics, rewarding farming/grinding, interesting graphics, without blured textures and good and active controls and gameplay, then better stay away from this !@#$ named Destiny 2.
    5.5/10 for OST, but after whole $Overpromoted$ "reviews", can't give this game more, than -5.5/10, so 0/10.
    Expand
  9. Oct 25, 2017
    0
    Aim Assist on PC? Are you **** kidding me Bungie? did you not see the amount of people complaining during PC beta? and how you obnoxiously said "we are listening to feedback regarding aim assist" well CLEARLY you weren't.

    People are running around 2 shotting others with hand cannons because of aim assist, people are running around CHEATING with XIM4 and abusing your stupid aim assist on
    Aim Assist on PC? Are you **** kidding me Bungie? did you not see the amount of people complaining during PC beta? and how you obnoxiously said "we are listening to feedback regarding aim assist" well CLEARLY you weren't.

    People are running around 2 shotting others with hand cannons because of aim assist, people are running around CHEATING with XIM4 and abusing your stupid aim assist on PC.

    You screwed up, getting a refund immediately, your pc PvP community will die stupidly fast because of this.

    Take notes from Overwatch and why they removed aim assist during beta.
    Expand
  10. Oct 24, 2017
    0
    They took away nearly everything that made Destiny 1 great. The end game is non existent and will take months if not years to fix. Highly disappointed with this sequel, and never plan to buy another Bungo product again. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!
  11. Oct 24, 2017
    0
    Destiny is as a series comparable to an empty present box. Its all decorated outside, sparkly and even has a ribbon. The box however, is empty. You'll spend more time opening the box than enjoying whats inside, because there is nothing in the box. Its empty.
    Visually a pretty game with the most boring gameplay I've ever experienced. The story is garbage, the AI is garbage and you'll spend
    Destiny is as a series comparable to an empty present box. Its all decorated outside, sparkly and even has a ribbon. The box however, is empty. You'll spend more time opening the box than enjoying whats inside, because there is nothing in the box. Its empty.
    Visually a pretty game with the most boring gameplay I've ever experienced. The story is garbage, the AI is garbage and you'll spend most of your time doing tedious grinding.
    This game is at most worth 20€. Do not buy this game.
    Expand
  12. Oct 24, 2017
    0
    This is the Destiny 1.1 the Cabal DLC. Its apparent when you fight the same enemy from the first game with the same character classes with 1 new subclass. Campaign is way too short. Once you are near max power level there is nothing for you to do. Bungie recently took their player number tracker off their website due to console player fleeing because they did not want to "feed fake news."This is the Destiny 1.1 the Cabal DLC. Its apparent when you fight the same enemy from the first game with the same character classes with 1 new subclass. Campaign is way too short. Once you are near max power level there is nothing for you to do. Bungie recently took their player number tracker off their website due to console player fleeing because they did not want to "feed fake news." Standard business practice for them the break the full game in to quarters and sell it to us over 1-2 years. Tight controls that looks good graphically (other than 30 fps). Does not make up for the business practices that us gamers need to stand up against. I am not giving this company one more single dime.. Expand
  13. Oct 28, 2017
    0
    Micro-transactions are the cancer of video gaming. This game is made for the sole purpose of robbing you of your hard earned cache.
    Don`t buy this game.
  14. Oct 24, 2017
    0
    The only redeeming quality to this game is the graphics, with everything else being dull and bland. The gameplay is horrendously boring with both PVE and PVP being a total snoozefest.
  15. Oct 25, 2017
    0
    Stupidly to the release of the system and most AMD processors and old Intel have ceased to support SSE4.1, because of what stupidly throws out the game, bravo! And the buns soon in the order when they have already issued all pre-orders have changed the system, the pier is the way it should be
  16. Oct 24, 2017
    0
    this game looks like potato, has no content, and is boring grind, im okay with somewhat entertaining grind like warframe but this lacks variety, no class diversity

    sorry bungie, its not fun :(
  17. iHS
    Oct 24, 2017
    0
    It appears, that even if your Beta run perfectly smooth, with >40 FPS, and basically no negative issues, and taking that into account you preordered - and by any chance you're a owner of athlon or phenom processor - you're out of luck. Because the full game will just crash. And as far as i can tell from Bungie response: "SSSE3 Required: Destiny 2 will not run on processors withoutIt appears, that even if your Beta run perfectly smooth, with >40 FPS, and basically no negative issues, and taking that into account you preordered - and by any chance you're a owner of athlon or phenom processor - you're out of luck. Because the full game will just crash. And as far as i can tell from Bungie response: "SSSE3 Required: Destiny 2 will not run on processors without Supplemental Streaming SIMD Extensions 3 (SSSE3)." they are not going to fix that. If i knew that during beta - i would just cancel preorder. Expand
  18. Dec 10, 2017
    0
    I have just processed my Destiny 2 refund with Amazon because of this expansion. The cut throat greed of Cashtivision these days really is just harming the brands it publishes. Would not buy another Destiny Franchise game until they release the whole game and offer the DLC for the life of the game as one purchase.

    D1 advanced in this direction but the deal I got on the base game and
    I have just processed my Destiny 2 refund with Amazon because of this expansion. The cut throat greed of Cashtivision these days really is just harming the brands it publishes. Would not buy another Destiny Franchise game until they release the whole game and offer the DLC for the life of the game as one purchase.

    D1 advanced in this direction but the deal I got on the base game and season pass was reasonable. D2 is just a huge money grab. Locking paying customers away from content they already paid for.
    Expand
  19. Nov 4, 2018
    2
    It's amazing. I have never seen a turd polished so meticulously that it shines brightly enough to blind you. So many gfx assets wasted on a bland, soul-less corporate cash grab.
  20. Dec 7, 2017
    1
    This game is a joke, its Destiny 1 hardcopied 100% - added a single subclass and made a new "world" where 80% of it is just filler, you need to travel from A to B and back again to get a reward, then redo that 6000 times to gain levels and be able to play the rest of the game. After this has been done, they release a paid expansion - then locks down 60% of the original game and **** overThis game is a joke, its Destiny 1 hardcopied 100% - added a single subclass and made a new "world" where 80% of it is just filler, you need to travel from A to B and back again to get a reward, then redo that 6000 times to gain levels and be able to play the rest of the game. After this has been done, they release a paid expansion - then locks down 60% of the original game and **** over EVERYONE who just bought their game, so honestly were stuck with a demo of the original game, no chance of gaining light levels to follow the people who has bought the expansion and no chance to play with your friends if any of them have bought it. PRECISELY the move that destroyed Destiny 1 for most people... theyre doing it again here and Bungie has become a scumbag company like EA in every way. From now on it seems we need to stay the hell away from their games, they REALLY dont care about their players and they REALLY dont care to actually develop a game, they just reuse content from their last game and expect that none of us notice. Pathetic move really, which honestly deserves a pure boycut of the company. Expand
  21. Nov 27, 2017
    0
    "We are not happy with the results. We thought it would take you at least 8 months to catch on before we had to retool our monetization model." - Velius
  22. Nov 24, 2017
    3
    Pros:
    -this is about half-way to a decent game. the mechanics as a shooter are reasonable to good, asides from warlock jumping being nearly unplayable garbage.
    -the graphics are also pretty nice. Cons: -if you have an AMD processor, the game is constantly crashing. when you do crash, you can't rejoin the activity you were in when it happened. -the interface is a trash fire. maybe
    Pros:
    -this is about half-way to a decent game. the mechanics as a shooter are reasonable to good, asides from warlock jumping being nearly unplayable garbage.
    -the graphics are also pretty nice.

    Cons:
    -if you have an AMD processor, the game is constantly crashing. when you do crash, you can't rejoin the activity you were in when it happened.
    -the interface is a trash fire. maybe this is acceptable on consoles, but it sucks on PC. you never know when your friends are on or when anyone is trying to talk to you.
    -inventory management is better done with third-party web apps. the ingame interface is nearly as bad as vanilla skyrim.
    -half the time you find a public event, you are the only one there.
    -the worlds are tiny.
    -there is no enemy diversity. there are 4 races, and one of those is reskinned enemies plucked from the other 3.
    -all the content is recycled. you do the same **** over and over through the "story", then the "end game content" is replaying that same **** again.
    -the story is barely a story. they paid for voice actors, but then they just had who the **** ever write the script. the constant "witty" banter is forced and uncomfortable, but luckily you can ignore it entirely and still make it through the game.
    -95% of the time, the different classes are totally indistinguishable from one another. asides from hunters being able to jump but they pay for it in having to wait an hour for health regen to kick in.
    -DLC money grab. they cut up the original game and are giving you the other parts as DLC, so you can pay $100 for a game that will never be finished or good.
    Expand
  23. Nov 26, 2017
    0
    The beginning of the game is great. Very fun, despite server disconnects. Must port forward. Then black screens replace cut scenes. Must restart. Until Titan. Black screen replaced with map and screen frozen. Rest of game inaccessible. Bungie support site general recommendations don't work. They say they can't offer support. They should say they "won't". Online searches yield no solution.The beginning of the game is great. Very fun, despite server disconnects. Must port forward. Then black screens replace cut scenes. Must restart. Until Titan. Black screen replaced with map and screen frozen. Rest of game inaccessible. Bungie support site general recommendations don't work. They say they can't offer support. They should say they "won't". Online searches yield no solution. Only redeeming fact is I bought only the base game and on sale. No more Bungie for me. Expand
  24. Nov 27, 2017
    0
    This game purchase was my biggest mistake this year... I thought I get a Destiny 1 remake, but no, this game is crap... no content, no pvp modes, no raids, weapons, all the same, public events are boring like hell, Strikes are the same... 1-2 maps and you do them over and over again, not even difficult to do, just turn off your brain and press the click ... and then comes the optimizationThis game purchase was my biggest mistake this year... I thought I get a Destiny 1 remake, but no, this game is crap... no content, no pvp modes, no raids, weapons, all the same, public events are boring like hell, Strikes are the same... 1-2 maps and you do them over and over again, not even difficult to do, just turn off your brain and press the click ... and then comes the optimization ... with every update they make it even better .... the game has micros frezees.... and with the last update my pc just turns off when it freezes .... after a god year of games like Nier, Horizon, Zelda etc I made the mistake to buy this nothing .... Don't waste your money and time with this game, there is a lot of games of better than this. Expand
  25. Nov 14, 2017
    0
    I would love to write an actual gameplay review of the final released product but, after spending over 40 hours troubleshooting and working directly with Bungie, the game never successfully launched after the official release date. I spent 3 weeks after release waiting for a patch to fix it but it would appear that Bungie either has no idea what they're doing in Windows or they simplyI would love to write an actual gameplay review of the final released product but, after spending over 40 hours troubleshooting and working directly with Bungie, the game never successfully launched after the official release date. I spent 3 weeks after release waiting for a patch to fix it but it would appear that Bungie either has no idea what they're doing in Windows or they simply don't care that they have thousands of customers that purchased a completely defective product. That's bad for business and I have no intentions of purchasing another title that Bungie develops going forward.

    I have since received a full refund on my purchase since Blizzard was able to confirm that I have never logged into Destiny 2 (after official release date).

    I was able to play during Beta and that was enjoyable with decent graphics (not much improvement over Destiny) and the experience was far better than on console. Was it worth the outlandish price they're charging? Absolutely not.

    I don't recommend this game to anyone. Go play the original Destiny and forget about this waste of money.
    Expand
  26. Nov 19, 2017
    3
    I played hundreds of hours in Destiny 1. In many ways Destiny 1 is still a much better game.

    This game just feels hollow there's no point in doing anything. The story was weak there's barely any lore in the game and all the weapons and armor you get feel the same. There is no endgame beside the raid which I played through once, but none of the loot feels unique there's no incentive to
    I played hundreds of hours in Destiny 1. In many ways Destiny 1 is still a much better game.

    This game just feels hollow there's no point in doing anything. The story was weak there's barely any lore in the game and all the weapons and armor you get feel the same. There is no endgame beside the raid which I played through once, but none of the loot feels unique there's no incentive to do it again unless you just like the cosmetic look of the gear to collect.

    The PVP or Crucible game modes are terrible. Your lvl doesn't matter and there are only 2 playlists. There is no ranked matchmaking you cant see any of your stats its just mindless shooting. The servers are awful (They hide this fact by not even showing anyone's connection quality) and because the way the weapons/game are balanced you will just run into the same team fights over and over again. The only "fun" I had was playing Trails of the Nine where you try to win 7 matches in a row to get access to a secret social space and better gear, because it felt competitive and you were actually working towards some goal.

    Conclusion I spent $90 on this game plus the 2 future DLC's coming out. I love Bungie I played all of the Halo games since I was a little kid and I loved all of them, but I honestly feel scammed buying this game. Maybe my expectations were very high but I felt like I would get a year of content and enjoyment out of this game. Instead they made a washed down casual version of Destiny that isn't really interesting or innovative. 3 points just because the environments and the graphics are good and the game is well optimized.
    Expand
  27. Jan 1, 2018
    1
    I VERY strongly advice against buying this game. If you recieved it as a christmas gift, please return or change it.

    The game has become another money-grab for greedy developers, who do not care about players. All the developers care about, is getting as much money as possible. The game is very short, and not worth the $60 price tag. Not because I am greedy. Not at all. I would have no
    I VERY strongly advice against buying this game. If you recieved it as a christmas gift, please return or change it.

    The game has become another money-grab for greedy developers, who do not care about players. All the developers care about, is getting as much money as possible. The game is very short, and not worth the $60 price tag. Not because I am greedy. Not at all. I would have no problem with buying The Witcher 3 for even $100, because of the amount of content it has. But this game has enough content for less then $30, even though I paid a full price for it, hoping that the game would be worth it. It would have been, if there was more content.

    But the game is bad, and it feels like the only purpose of the game is to milk the players out of their money by very overpriced DLC's, cut-out content, and the main game's price (the main game's content is worth less then half of the asked price of $60).
    The story is dull and boring, the characters are not developed enough to make the players care about them, and feel like props which are there just because they "had to be added". The cinematics are full of uninteresting filler in form of meaningless monologues, where dull characters shoot monologues at each other, and have no character development whatsoever.

    I should also mention that DLC's have copy-pasted content, and are not real "Expantion packs". They are pieces, cut out of the original game, sold like DLC's. One of the "Expantion packs" has 90 minutes worth of content for 30 (30 dollars!), and isn't adding anything new to the game. You are also almost nagged to buy it, like it's a piece of the original game... but a cut-out piece, that you need to pay extra shekels for. Bungie's approach to this game is focused 85% on monetization, and 15% on making an actually interesting game. It was made out of greed.

    If you still wonder if you should buy this game, google ""I HATE DESTINY 2 - I'm Done" to see why.

    Do not let the green Metascore of 84 fool you. The game is not worth an "84", the content is not worth the "84".

    This is the worst $60 dollars I spent in the last.. probably 3 years or so.
    Expand
  28. Nov 8, 2017
    4
    Destiny 1 has a soul. Destiny 2 does not.
    It is obvious Bungie didn't have their creative freedom for this game. No wonder most of the team left. Activiision is making Destiny and COD the same game. 4/10.
  29. Nov 9, 2017
    1
    After a week of constant crashes in 30-40 min after starting client got banned w/o any explanation and any option to refund. Not smth to expect from full-price 'AAA' title... At least got main plot-line finished just a day before the ban, which counts as '+1' in my experience with this 'game'...
  30. Nov 23, 2017
    1
    Terrible game. How they managed to take a pretty good game from Destiny 1 and then run it into the ground for Destiny 2, I don't know. P2P PvP matching is still awful, and the bright engram and exp cap are ridiculous. The bones of the game are still great. It's a good feeling shooter. But the greed and poor design choices of Bungie are terrible.
  31. Nov 23, 2017
    0
    This game is flashy and nothing more. There is barely any content and it is not an MMO at all. Not only can the game be boiled down to a four-word phrase, "kill **** get loot", but it is very unrewarding. You grind and grind and grind and progress slowly. Not to mention there is more or less no story at all. Sure there is a big baddy, but his character is pretty bland and when you fightThis game is flashy and nothing more. There is barely any content and it is not an MMO at all. Not only can the game be boiled down to a four-word phrase, "kill **** get loot", but it is very unrewarding. You grind and grind and grind and progress slowly. Not to mention there is more or less no story at all. Sure there is a big baddy, but his character is pretty bland and when you fight him the fight isn't hard at all.

    The PVP for this game is also pretty bad. Not only are there NO DEDICATED SERVERS, but the lag kills pretty much any sort of fun you think you could have. Behind a wall? NOPE! You're dead!

    10/10 don't waste your money or time on this shell of a game.
    Expand
  32. Nov 29, 2017
    0
    MC, how did this get 83?

    The game is absolute garbage, and should be sold by steam in a $9.99 bucket. Story is W+Mouse1 all the way, PVE - is grind same crap, rinse, repeat since day 2. PVP is laughable with enemies shown on the radar (wth?) I wish i could get a refund on this parody on a video game. First and last purchase from bungie.
  33. Dec 4, 2017
    0
    End game is horrible, gearing is horrible. Enemies always scale by your scale so you never feel powerful or never feel the growth. After one month of tedious gameplay you're required to pay more for few more light levels and NO real endgame solution. Skip this garbage game, worst purchase I've ever made in games.
  34. Nov 12, 2017
    1
    Extremely disappointing, much less than I expected out of a studio that once created the great Halo franchise. The single player campaign is short and easy and offers only repeated encounters of mowing down hordes of mobs followed by periods of running through empty corridors and stopping to pull your ghost our and scan stuff... rinse and repeat.

    The story is bland and once its complete
    Extremely disappointing, much less than I expected out of a studio that once created the great Halo franchise. The single player campaign is short and easy and offers only repeated encounters of mowing down hordes of mobs followed by periods of running through empty corridors and stopping to pull your ghost our and scan stuff... rinse and repeat.

    The story is bland and once its complete the endgame is just as rote. Literally no urge to explore or level up the numbers... mindless drivel designed for the biggest net/lowest common denominator.

    The only reason I don't rate it a zero is the graphics and optimization.
    Expand
  35. Dec 7, 2017
    1
    I just gotta say this, if you want to play this game; buy it now.

    By the time the third DLC comes out you'll be locked out of half the content in the base game. Seriously- this game is removing content from the base game, bringing out DLC, and putting the content it just took out back into the DLC, and Actibungle thinks we're too stupid to notice. We aren't- this is disgusting
    I just gotta say this, if you want to play this game; buy it now.

    By the time the third DLC comes out you'll be locked out of half the content in the base game.

    Seriously- this game is removing content from the base game, bringing out DLC, and putting the content it just took out back into the DLC, and Actibungle thinks we're too stupid to notice.

    We aren't- this is disgusting practice and it cannot be allowed to become common in the industry. C'mon, the Battlefront 2 loot chests gave you an excuse to coast through the rest of 2017 unnoticed here!
    Expand
  36. Dec 12, 2017
    1
    The game is absolute trash.
    I honestly played this game for the first week and havent touched it since.
    Lacklustre and lacking content, repetitive, uninspired and whilst they can be beautiful at times, the landscapes are dull. Then came XP throttling to encourage people to spend real money to purchase engrams. CoA DLC which locked original content... Bungie have pulled an EA by
    The game is absolute trash.
    I honestly played this game for the first week and havent touched it since.

    Lacklustre and lacking content, repetitive, uninspired and whilst they can be beautiful at times, the landscapes are dull.
    Then came XP throttling to encourage people to spend real money to purchase engrams.
    CoA DLC which locked original content...
    Bungie have pulled an EA by lying to their customers through encouraging microtransactions through XP manipulation and regurgitating content.
    Expand
  37. Dec 6, 2017
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Patético, en la línea de Blizzard y Bungie en los últimos años. Juego malo, repetitivo, carente de contenido, CARISIMO, aburrido, con micro-pagos, con mil expansiones cada 2 meses para sacar las perras. Lleva apenas 2 meses en el mercado y ya tiene una expansión con sus 20 eurazos. Cogéos los machos.

    No lo compréis, es BASURA. Que se hunda Blizzard y su codicia.
    Expand
  38. Nov 24, 2017
    1
    End of November and game is still Beta - I have seen all the hype and great critic reviews. Marketing got me ;-) So I bought this game on sale. The single player was kind of average. I was hoping to see any special boss or something. But have met only two or three types of enemies. But ok I thought it must come at some point maybe with Multiplayer. Single player was like 1,5 hour play so IEnd of November and game is still Beta - I have seen all the hype and great critic reviews. Marketing got me ;-) So I bought this game on sale. The single player was kind of average. I was hoping to see any special boss or something. But have met only two or three types of enemies. But ok I thought it must come at some point maybe with Multiplayer. Single player was like 1,5 hour play so I thought thats it? After that first error appeared. On internet people wrote something about port forwarding, etc. I checked it and it was OK. After that I wanted to play Mupltiplayer, because thats the reason why I bought the game. But I realized there was no one to play with! Literally no one! I was the only guy in whole game. I found that it is another bug. Anyway I did try to do one mission alone and it was average/boring. I also checked skill tree and customization posibilities. They are super small and basic. Anyone who plans to buy this game go and check forums for fix update status in advance! The game is like in beta stage. Right now the game is wort like 10 to 15 dollars including season pass. Even Overwatch (I know its diff. game) is 10x times more fun. I am dissapointed. Expand
  39. Nov 28, 2017
    0
    Do not buy!!! Do not support these kind dev, let them starve.
    This game is lacking in everything, but graphic.
    This game is design for loot box pure and simple.
    The devs lies like no tomorrow since beta, and continue to lie about shady loot box practice.
  40. Dec 25, 2017
    1
    Simply put: This game is a Scam.
    Activision/Bungie showed that they don't have intrest in making a good game, they just want your money.
  41. Nov 26, 2017
    1
    A step back in rewarding your time investment from vanilla destiny, a huge step back from destiny year 3. Also includes pay to win microtransactions in the form of mods for your gear.
  42. Dec 7, 2017
    0
    APPARENTLY IF YOU DON'T BUY THE DLC YOU CAN'T DO PRESTIGE RAID, PRESTIGE NIGHTFALL OR TRIALS. Seriously? Wow..... I don't know what to say. I mean especially for the PC Players this seems really unfair, and even for the console players, to be gated out of content they paid for and had access to. Just, wow. So I guess not buying DLC isn't an option anymore.... Extremely dissapointing.
  43. Dec 7, 2017
    1
    Pros/ Good gun play, music and nice visuals

    Con/ Once you finish the story that it you cant redo it. There is no reason to run the NF or the Raid past the first time or two. You can not select the PVP mode you want its either PVP with some maps or PVP comp with some different maps, there is nothing else different. I loved D1 spent over 2000 hours in it and still dont have everything I
    Pros/ Good gun play, music and nice visuals

    Con/ Once you finish the story that it you cant redo it. There is no reason to run the NF or the Raid past the first time or two. You can not select the PVP mode you want its either PVP with some maps or PVP comp with some different maps, there is nothing else different. I loved D1 spent over 2000 hours in it and still dont have everything I want and I still log into it. I really have no reason to log into D2 and its really sad.

    Just port D1 to PC and stagger its expansions and everyone that hates D2 can play D1 on PC and damn near all of them will be happy.
    Expand
  44. Dec 1, 2017
    0
    bad spawn rules, team killing is really common, forces you to have pre made parties to do some aspects of the game which is really retarded, bad inventory management.
  45. Dec 12, 2017
    1
    Wieso habt ihr mir mit der Erweiterung Content weggenommen?? Das kann ja nicht sein, ich will mein Geld zurück. Das ist wie wenn man sich ein Auto kauft und nach 1 Monat kommt der Händler und baut den Motor aus und meint Berg ab geht es jetzt noch, für Berg auf musst du eine Expansion Pass kaufen.....
  46. Dec 25, 2017
    1
    Jumped into destiny 2 on a sale only to find shortly after finishing the campaign the expansion drops and any kind of end game grind is pointless to do unless you buy it. That would not be a problem if the expansion was worth the money but it is not, it is very weak and now I am left with a $35 starter copy that requires another $20 to continue playing. Meanwhile content patch afterJumped into destiny 2 on a sale only to find shortly after finishing the campaign the expansion drops and any kind of end game grind is pointless to do unless you buy it. That would not be a problem if the expansion was worth the money but it is not, it is very weak and now I am left with a $35 starter copy that requires another $20 to continue playing. Meanwhile content patch after content patch bungie is deleting content you originally had access too or adding content to be accessed through paid loot boxes. To add salt to the wounds, half of it is re-introduced items from the first Destiny game. Expand
  47. Nov 22, 2017
    3
    suck my dick bungie

    this game is bad. reviewers compare it to vanilla D1 which makes absolutely no sense. the developers clearly haven't learned anything in the past 3 years, and that is depressing. I wanted to enjoy this game, but I just can't. the frame rate is completely unreliable, mostly i'm running 80 fps then all of a sudden I'm on 12. The story is atrocious. just because it is
    suck my dick bungie

    this game is bad. reviewers compare it to vanilla D1 which makes absolutely no sense. the developers clearly haven't learned anything in the past 3 years, and that is depressing. I wanted to enjoy this game, but I just can't. the frame rate is completely unreliable, mostly i'm running 80 fps then all of a sudden I'm on 12. The story is atrocious. just because it is "better" than destiny 1 doesn't make it good. that's like saying since shark tale for the pc has a better story than sonic 06, its the best game ever made. The coldheart pre order bonus is cool, but you don't actually have to pre order the game to get it. as long as you get any of the "editions" you'll get the gun at the end of the game. speaking of the endgame, there is none. there are three different things to do after the disappointingly short campaign: the raid, the weekly nightfall, and trials. All of these things require you have multiple friends who play the game and haven't stopped already because of how boring it is. the raid takes up a ton of time and trials is extremely frustrating if you don't have the same load out as everyone else in pvp. Literally the only thing I like about this game is the music. It's so **** good if the actual game wasn't even included and it was just the soundtrack I would give it a 10/10. so get your **** together sonic team, and go back to making knack HD.
    Expand
  48. Dec 6, 2017
    2
    No end game content, bad story, good visuals, good audio, good gameplay.

    Content you originally had in the base game, no longer available unless you buy DLC. Curso of Osiris DLC was complete garbage, 2 hours of content, and very repetitive because they didn't have time to create any assets, so they just re-used everything over and over. Once you play for a few hours, you are
    No end game content, bad story, good visuals, good audio, good gameplay.

    Content you originally had in the base game, no longer available unless you buy DLC.

    Curso of Osiris DLC was complete garbage, 2 hours of content, and very repetitive because they didn't have time to create any assets, so they just re-used everything over and over.

    Once you play for a few hours, you are locked out of the fun content for the rest of the week.
    Expand
  49. Dec 25, 2017
    1
    Not a bad story if you never played Destiny 1, rest of the game is just to short and repetitive. Nothing to do after 1 week
  50. Dec 1, 2017
    0
    Not enough here to warrant a sequel, should have been DLC for the original game not to mention the XP lies and tricks to get you to buy loot boxes. Bungie has revealed the their true colors and desire to milk their fans for as much money as possible while providing little in return.
  51. Nov 27, 2017
    0
    another example of a company milking users for money while providing a **** experience. instead of providing an amazing experience in which users want to waste money.
  52. Jan 2, 2018
    0
    Lack of content and lack of hats is just overwhelmingly horrible. If you like to play extremely casually, this may be your game. If you are looking for interesting game to play longer than few weeks, ignore this instantly, don't think about buying this.
  53. Dec 2, 2017
    0
    Probably one of the most underwhelming and empty game experiences i've ever had. It's as if they took one of the most beautiful environments ever developed for a video game, and did absolutely everything else totally wrong.

    There is no sense of progression. Maxing out at level 20 means you have essentially the same everything that you had at level 1. All the abilities are gimmicks, the
    Probably one of the most underwhelming and empty game experiences i've ever had. It's as if they took one of the most beautiful environments ever developed for a video game, and did absolutely everything else totally wrong.

    There is no sense of progression. Maxing out at level 20 means you have essentially the same everything that you had at level 1. All the abilities are gimmicks, the enemies are all carbon copies of each other.

    The game pulls you in and you feel like you have to at least complete it in hopes of some big payoff.. but it doesn't exist.

    Much like real life, the journey is the real reward - but in Destiny 2, the journey is boring as hell, and literally as interesting as vacuuming.
    Expand
  54. Dec 11, 2017
    2
    Interesting concept of a game. So you're basically paying for a 4 hours campaign, mindless grinding, everything is behind a paywall or random loot boxes. There have been, and will be, countless more interesting games with more content and less contempt to its buyers, many of which are free.

    Story is bland and clearly all budget went to rendering and voice actors. Well guess what, your
    Interesting concept of a game. So you're basically paying for a 4 hours campaign, mindless grinding, everything is behind a paywall or random loot boxes. There have been, and will be, countless more interesting games with more content and less contempt to its buyers, many of which are free.

    Story is bland and clearly all budget went to rendering and voice actors. Well guess what, your fancy movies and celebrities dont make up for boring narrative, mindless grinding and cash squeezing at every corner.

    No gameplay, no feeling, no feelings, no nothing. You want to buy it ? Well aint much in it for you. it's 2017 guys, and you're killing your own player base because... profits, I guess. Hope you will soon feel the comeback coming.
    Expand
  55. Dec 12, 2017
    0
    Hahahahahahahahahaha what a joke this game is. If this was D1 it was a ok ish game.
    But this sham of a game! NO dont buy it Bungie = the new EA.

    LET THEM ROT
  56. Dec 23, 2017
    0
    - too expensive
    - poor content / single player
    - a lot of missions with group requirement [Major problem] - there is no chat / voice in game [ even this being a requirement to that group missions ] - poor PvP [ for me this is not a problem, I do not like pvp, but the game keep pushing you to that area ] - Graphic is good - Combat mechanics is good - Fun only in start, after finish
    - too expensive
    - poor content / single player
    - a lot of missions with group requirement [Major problem]
    - there is no chat / voice in game [ even this being a requirement to that group missions ]
    - poor PvP [ for me this is not a problem, I do not like pvp, but the game keep pushing you to that area ]

    - Graphic is good
    - Combat mechanics is good
    - Fun only in start, after finish the campaign, you will get angry because apparently to finish the rest of game you need other 5 people with you

    There's no way to this game have this metascore 84, This metascore is totally paid

    not worth it
    Expand
  57. Dec 30, 2017
    0
    This game is just a scam , has a poor story, u can finish the whole game /side missions etc.. in 2 days like i did , and for more u need to pay it, pay it for a 2 hour dlc story, pls this is just a scam , im not proud of spending 50 dollars on this bad game, that a once good producer made , bungie what hapend whit the old bunggie
  58. Jan 3, 2018
    0
    This game optimises every bad part of the gaming industry.

    * The Menu and Party UI is the worst of any game I've ever played. In our attempts to try humour the game we would often spend 15 minutes trying to work out why the game deemed us unworthy to join as a group before giving up. * DLC: Jesus Bungie take me out to dinner before you **** me. There's a special level of arrogance
    This game optimises every bad part of the gaming industry.

    * The Menu and Party UI is the worst of any game I've ever played. In our attempts to try humour the game we would often spend 15 minutes trying to work out why the game deemed us unworthy to join as a group before giving up.

    * DLC: Jesus Bungie take me out to dinner before you **** me. There's a special level of arrogance for a game as boring, mundane and repetitive as this to feel itself worthy of DLC. (More on this in a second), let alone DLC that becomes ESSENTIAL to the game. Was £45 not enough for your Shooter inspired loot simulator?

    * The game is not fun. It's clear Bungie created a nice game engine with some good shooting mechanics, put a lot of thought into how to maximize revenue from the game then released it. I'd love to know who the first was to realise they forgot to actually develop a game in the middle of all this.

    * The Story: Literally the most boring, uninspired **** I've ever had to endure.

    Seriously **** this game, I've never felt as cheated out of £45 in my life. I will never buy anything associated Bungie, their developers or their developers children ever again.
    Expand
  59. Dec 16, 2018
    3
    You would think that a game is designed so that you as a player have an incitement to return, but no, you have to pay yet and yet again to get a complete game (if it's ever will be "complete").

    $60 is not the cost of the game, but no...$100-120 is the "real" cost for a game that is empty, has a level of grind most gamers despite and upon that re-used enemies upon re-used enemies. In
    You would think that a game is designed so that you as a player have an incitement to return, but no, you have to pay yet and yet again to get a complete game (if it's ever will be "complete").

    $60 is not the cost of the game, but no...$100-120 is the "real" cost for a game that is empty, has a level of grind most gamers despite and upon that re-used enemies upon re-used enemies.

    In the end, this is just "Pay to Grind", a complete fraud that has killed Destiny, whatever was left of it.
    Expand
  60. Jun 26, 2018
    1
    Bungie has a real problem allowing network manipulation in PVP modes. Total cheat to win and it is ridiculous. Only after more money, not better playability. Will not purchase another expansion until they resolve this issue.
  61. Nov 20, 2018
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really liked the game. However, there is one problem that spoils everything! Weaken a shotgun weapon class, it's impossible to play Expand
  62. May 31, 2018
    1
    Destiny 2 is the game made by Organization XIII when Square-Enix took a decade and a half to release Kingdom Hearts 3. Much like the nobodies of the Kingdom Hearts universe, Destiny 2 is a game that is superficially beautiful and perfect – outwardly, everything looks okay. It has great graphics, a solid graphical style, and decent gunplay.

    But when you go past the surface, you realize
    Destiny 2 is the game made by Organization XIII when Square-Enix took a decade and a half to release Kingdom Hearts 3. Much like the nobodies of the Kingdom Hearts universe, Destiny 2 is a game that is superficially beautiful and perfect – outwardly, everything looks okay. It has great graphics, a solid graphical style, and decent gunplay.

    But when you go past the surface, you realize that there’s nothing inside – the game has no heart.

    Destiny 2 is basically a Borderlands MMORPG – a looter-shooter, with some PvP arena multiplayer thrown in. It is a MMORPG – you constantly see players around you in the world – which of course makes the game’s single-player campaign, of you being the LONE GUARDIAN who has REGAINED THEIR LIGHT (i.e. their superpowers) into a bit of a farce, what with all those other lone heroes who saved the world running around with you.

    But let’s face it – you don’t care about the story.

    And that’s a problem, really, because Destiny 2, like all games, needs something for you to care about. But the problem is, Destiny 2 doesn’t provide it.

    The world? There’s pretty much no real lore to it – everything feels very arbitrary. You fight some bad guys, but there’s no real coherence to it. You have some allies, but they’re just kind of there. What’s the point of it all? I don’t even know, as I never really got to care about any of them. You don’t spend a whole lot of time around any of them, and they’re mostly about business rather than having any sort of personal character that you’d latch onto. Cayde is the “funny irresponsible one”, and the others are… pretty much just various kinds of military leaders, really. There’s a sniper in one area who is an older guy who wants to be left to snipe in peace, but while he babbles about personal stuff a little (more so than other people), there’s not really enough there to latch onto.

    So what are the stakes? There really aren’t any. Destiny 2 has the shape of a world, but it has none of the form or substance, and it is blatantly there just to deliver on its looter shooter nature.

    You might think that good core gameplay would make up for this fact. Alas, it really doesn’t. The game does have decent variety for a campaign of its (fairly brief) length – you’ve got a reasonable variety of big beefy guys who move around on jetpacks and who are pretty tough, machine enemies with glowy spots in non-standard locations as their weapon point rather than just the head, more slender, agile enemies who spend a lot of time running around, and the “magical” enemies lead by flying wizards. Each of these factions has multiple enemy types, including a few different types that can be made into bosses, and they work well enough for what they are – but the problem is that it all ultimately feels rather hollow. The optimal strategy against all of them is either “stand behind cover and shoot until you’re injured, then go behind it to heal” or “just keep shooting the melee enemies as they keep rushing at you”. It is only in a few places that the game really does anything to mix this up, having enemies spawn in behind you and forcing you to move, or having enemies rush at you to melee you while there’s a bunch of enemies providing covering fire, and these dynamic moments are where the game is the most fun.

    But most of the game is not this, but is instead a bunch of fairly static, stale encounters where you are more or less just gunning down bad guys ahead of you. And while these are actually okay from time to time, the game simply cannot subsist off of these sorts of mechanics for all that long.

    The result is that the campaign is about the right length for what it is, but , meaning that the real focus of the game is to play it over and over again to try and grind for better gear.

    And it is here that the game utterly fails, because the game mechanics simply cannot endure such repeated exposure. The game has already shown the player pretty much everything it has to offer in the main body of the campaign, and by the end of it, the player is maximum level and has a nice set of equipment. All that is left at that point is a bunch of side-quests – which are no different from what came before – and the PvP, which, while decent, isn’t anything particularly remarkable compared to games like Overwatch.

    As a result, the game runs out of steam as the player is about to hit the grind phase, and there’s just no reason to stick around – the game doesn’t really have anything left to show the player at that point, just more of the same, so what is the point of even grinding?

    But the utter lack of any sort of heart to the single player campaign means that there wasn’t any point to that, either. There's just nothing here to actually ENJOY.

    Destiny 2 is utterly inoffensive, but it never actually manages to be good. And without that, there's no reason to play it.
    Expand
  63. Jul 31, 2018
    0
    I had been played some time at weekend in this game (thanks to Blizzard it was the free weekend a I didn't spent money), and I cannot understand people who bought it. The game is boring. I removed it just after fist mission. It's not a good co-op game, like Borderlands or Diablo, so don't waste your time.
  64. Dec 8, 2017
    0
    I got this game for PC. And now the first DLC for another 20 bucks releases and I didnt even finish the maing ame. But also they make content of the main game unavailable for those who do not have the DLC... wtf is this?! Is this now common practice, **** over customers? At least I got the game with a Nvidia 1080 deal and I didnt pay the full price for it but still, it is not ok to treatI got this game for PC. And now the first DLC for another 20 bucks releases and I didnt even finish the maing ame. But also they make content of the main game unavailable for those who do not have the DLC... wtf is this?! Is this now common practice, **** over customers? At least I got the game with a Nvidia 1080 deal and I didnt pay the full price for it but still, it is not ok to treat customers like that... DO NOT BUY THE DLC, I'M TELLING YOU, SHOW THEM THAT YOU DO NOT SUPPORT THIS **** Expand
  65. Nov 3, 2018
    0
    Bad graphics, male human's face looks like an Asian woman with a really jagged head; every lip color looks like lipstick rather than changing the color.... Cutscenes are all prerendered making the game file size massive while degrading image quality on high end hardware
    Game takes a long time to load.
    Game doesn't have a digital signature so firewall applications like Kaspersky will
    Bad graphics, male human's face looks like an Asian woman with a really jagged head; every lip color looks like lipstick rather than changing the color.... Cutscenes are all prerendered making the game file size massive while degrading image quality on high end hardware
    Game takes a long time to load.
    Game doesn't have a digital signature so firewall applications like Kaspersky will block the game from connecting, and the game is an always online DRM so you have to do some things to get the game working.
    Game launches full screen from the start, and rearranges all other windows on your computer.
    A garbage moba shooter; tons of different editions and micro-transactions aka the usual Activision garbage. Do not support these business practices.
    Also tons of reports of their anti-tamper banning people for running common applications in the background...
    Battle.net client is very slow in updating 10mb/s vs steams
    Expand
  66. Dec 9, 2017
    0
    I bought this game on release date and have been fairly entertained (like 7/10)

    But the fact the I have to dish out 20 euros within 2 months of the release date for a DLC which, if not bought, locks me out of 90% of end game play make this game a total scam. If I had know this game was basically a subscription based game, I would never have bought it. It will be a while before I
    I bought this game on release date and have been fairly entertained (like 7/10)

    But the fact the I have to dish out 20 euros within 2 months of the release date for a DLC which, if not bought, locks me out of 90% of end game play make this game a total scam.

    If I had know this game was basically a subscription based game, I would never have bought it.
    It will be a while before I purchase another game from Activision / Bungie...
    Expand
  67. Dec 8, 2017
    0
    Unless you are a complete *insert* why would you buy the same game on a PC, XBOX and PS4? This review system is complete *Insert*.

    This game is *insert*
  68. Nov 13, 2018
    4
    I'm glad the bots praising this game like the Second Coming didn't persuade me to actually buy this. Because it kind of sucks. Somewhat "in depth" review to follow. PVP and strikes can be fun, but get boring if that's all you can do after some point.

    Positives: It's an interesting world to behold. Only Visually though. The designs are great, interesting to watch in action and mostly
    I'm glad the bots praising this game like the Second Coming didn't persuade me to actually buy this. Because it kind of sucks. Somewhat "in depth" review to follow. PVP and strikes can be fun, but get boring if that's all you can do after some point.

    Positives: It's an interesting world to behold. Only Visually though. The designs are great, interesting to watch in action and mostly consistent in quality. As i come late in the game, i can't say what state it was in when it first released some years ago, but now it runs like a tight ship. Loading times could be better, but that's minor. Occasional comedic moments were also a plus.

    Negatives: It feels like a Freemium Borderlands 2 Clone. Paywall here, Lootbox there. There's a ridiculous level limit that can be reached with 4-6 hours of grinding Public Events. I hadn't touched the main quest and yet i was already level 20 in vanilla. The story verges on nonexistent as it has no interesting characters or anything not seen in better games. There's a big bad guy that has a big weapon and wants to destroy the sun. Great. Super. Problem is, i finished the main quest in less than 2 hours and the last boss was an actual joke to beat. Also, they don't really expand on the story. Or maybe they do, in the 40$ DLC. or in the 59.99$ DLC, i can't really know as i didn't buy into this obvious scam. I also can't fault Bungie for what looks like blatant Publisher meddling. What Bungie made looks great and works on many levels. Too bad it's been hacked to pieces to milk more money out of the average consumer. Activision should take a step back for a minute and reevaluate their position on making a profit. There are ways to do it without having to resort to "get rich quick" scams involving dubious lootbox methods and constant churning out of half-assed DLCs. Then again, taking into account that Destiny 2 sales were appalingly low, i think they got the message.
    Expand
  69. Dec 8, 2017
    3
    Destiny 2 was good and quite funny... but then... here it comes the DLC Paywall for vanilla content of Destiny 2: if you own Destiny 2 and you don't buy the DLC Curse of Osiris you can throw the game in the trash. ARE YOU SERIOUS Bungie? I need to pay another 20 bucks for a recycled copy paste - and 2 hours campaign after paying the full price of the main game?
  70. Dec 2, 2017
    2
    boring, unimpressive, even graphics are average.
    After The Division came out I was really hooked up by gameplay and visuals and while I stopped playing after I reached max lvl I still come back to this game from time to time.
    Destiny 2 is just below any other shooter I played this year.
    just waste of time
  71. Dec 14, 2017
    3
    One of the most boring games I have played. 60€ is an unbelievable price for nothing. The game has pretty beautiful graphics and cool shooting mechanic, and first 2 hours seemed interesting. But it so boring to kill thousands of aliens every boring and similar quest.
  72. Nov 30, 2017
    4
    The graphics are quite nice, but that is about all positive feedback I can give to this game.

    The writing is boring, the level design is horrible, absolutely empty levels with some brainless enemies,
    they ll just crouch behind cover and do nothing even though you just shot 2 guys next to them...
  73. Dec 6, 2017
    2
    Beautiful to look at and the guns and specials feel great to use. Those are the only things I can say positively about this game, beyond that it is a hollow shell of a game that is focused on players buying bright engrams (Their version of loot boxes). This game is not worth your money or your time.

    Returning players know how poor of an effort developer bungie put into this game, tons
    Beautiful to look at and the guns and specials feel great to use. Those are the only things I can say positively about this game, beyond that it is a hollow shell of a game that is focused on players buying bright engrams (Their version of loot boxes). This game is not worth your money or your time.

    Returning players know how poor of an effort developer bungie put into this game, tons of features are missing from the core game that were in the original. One of these missing features is heroic strikes, harder missions that are meant to challenge the player in the endgame grind we all loved in the original. They are now selling this as a new feature in the DLC Curse of Osiris (another horrible effort), this DLC was planned for three months after initial release, about a month after the PC release. When destiny releases DLC they lock all of the good features from the core game behind a paywall making the core game almost unplayable.

    They have a ton of recycled content in this game such as the famed exotics, don't get me wrong I appreciate classics being brought back but as the best features of the core game is just lazy. The most important gun in PvP is the MIDA multi tool for instance, without it you don't really stand much of a chance in PvP. They told us our vaults and all the old equipment was destroyed and now the new meta is a gun we all had in our vaults... that is so disappointing in a sequel.

    When playing the other content such as the raid and public events it just feels like a boring grind, the enemies are too easy, its like they just stand there and wait for you to kill them. Wave after wave you grind the exact same mechanics from the original game and it all for nothing, maybe a token or two. Turn those in and the odds of you getting the same thing you already have are very high. You rarely get anything cosmetic that is very good because that is all locked behind the bright engram system.

    The bright engrams are what rattle most of the community to its core, they are blatantly rigging the system to get you to buy them (don't believe me? well, they admitted it). Once you hit level 20 every time you level up you get a bright engram instead, this is a very slow grind however. So slow the community complained so bungie introduced a double XP weekend making them easier to obtain but then secretly slowed down progression the more you played. A user on reddit exposed this and sent the community into an uproar, they apologized and "fixed" it but they actually doubled the amount of XP required to level up and where caught again. A lot of the cosmetic gear is again recycled from the first game, this system is disgusting and should not be tolerated from any game. Three pay models, full priced base game, paid DLC that locks out content a couple months after release (another to follow in another couple of months) and engrams that cost real dollars to buy, this is the sad low point the industry was trending towards.

    I will give credit where it is due, this game is beautiful, one of, if not the best looking games out there for sure. The guns feel really great to shoot and player movement is really great. It is just not worth it though, the loot systems, gun mods, changes to PvP and absence of quality strikes make it feeling like it is lacking any real quality gameplay.

    Destiny 2 is a failure, a failure to build off of what ended up being such a great game and a failure in providing anything significantly new to what should be a proper sequel. It feels like bungie exploited its old fans loyalty and excitement to make a ton of money with the hopes they could grab a new, casual players to make even more off of. Its great to look at but thats probably best done through screen shoots in this case. This game should be a hard pass for anyone thinking of buying it.
    Expand
  74. Dec 31, 2017
    3
    Destiny 2 promised a lot. After playing through most of the games, I can say that I expected more. The characters are horrible - all trying to be funny constantly. It would be fine if it was Cayde-6 only, but it isn't. How am I supposed to take a game serious if it doesn't take itself serious? The graphics are good, and it is a well optimized game. Performance wise, there is nothing wrong.Destiny 2 promised a lot. After playing through most of the games, I can say that I expected more. The characters are horrible - all trying to be funny constantly. It would be fine if it was Cayde-6 only, but it isn't. How am I supposed to take a game serious if it doesn't take itself serious? The graphics are good, and it is a well optimized game. Performance wise, there is nothing wrong.
    The gameplay is boring. It is the same over and over. You run through a similar, small map. Enemies appear. You shoot the enemies. Your ghost or some of the characters says something cheesy. Enemies appear once again. You shoot them once again. And it just goes like that. I have finished Destiny along with it's expansions, and except for the graphics, Destiny 2 shouldn't be a new game. They have a lot in common, not just the same atmosphere, but also the same gameplay, enemies, map system, quests and all that.

    On top of that, the game is a cash grab. Just look into all the frauds the developers have made. For example, they reduced the amount of XP you would normally have received for activities in max level. And they kept it hidden! Why? So it would take you longer to get those bright engrams (loot boxes), and that would increase the chance of you buying them for real money.

    So yeah - I am disappointed.
    Expand
  75. Dec 6, 2017
    2
    The positive:
    Awesome graphics! Cool weapons!

    The negative:
    Horrible story! The writers must have gotten really used 5 mins to create the whole story. Horrible gameplay with endless slaughter of "sheep". After playing 1 hour I was really bored and glad I only had the demo and not bought the full version.
  76. Dec 12, 2017
    0
    Campaign is boring (no surprises here), the game removed the special weapons we had in D1 with another primary gun making the dynamic of gunfights repetitive as hell. The new DLC came out and it cut me out of content i could do prior to the DLC, the DLC sucks and is boring. The raid only has one boss fight, the RNG perks are gone from guns and all the perks are boring. There is nothing toCampaign is boring (no surprises here), the game removed the special weapons we had in D1 with another primary gun making the dynamic of gunfights repetitive as hell. The new DLC came out and it cut me out of content i could do prior to the DLC, the DLC sucks and is boring. The raid only has one boss fight, the RNG perks are gone from guns and all the perks are boring. There is nothing to work towards in the endgame and the exotics feel bland and weak. Bungie didn't learn a f'cking thing from Destiny 1 Expand
  77. Dec 8, 2017
    0
    Bungie used to be good. Back when they did Halo Reach. Activision used to be good. Back when they made games on Atari. 60 dollar big budget games used to be good. Back when I still liked Fallout 4. Now there's o͘҉̴̙̮̭̗̬̹̦̼̙̠̼̞̞̭̖̟͖͉ņ̸̵͎̭̙̲͕͖̤̹̲̯̱̻̝̭͜ͅļ̸͏҉͎͎̰̤̤̮̲͖͚̦͙̀ͅy̛̫͇͍̜͍̘͟͝͡Bungie used to be good. Back when they did Halo Reach. Activision used to be good. Back when they made games on Atari. 60 dollar big budget games used to be good. Back when I still liked Fallout 4. Now there's o͘҉̴̙̮̭̗̬̹̦̼̙̠̼̞̞̭̖̟͖͉ņ̸̵͎̭̙̲͕͖̤̹̲̯̱̻̝̭͜ͅļ̸͏҉͎͎̰̤̤̮̲͖͚̦͙̀ͅy̛̫͇͍̜͍̘͟͝͡ ̦̼̘̭̭̤̰͎͖̼̥̘͇͘M̶̷̢̪̙̟̹̞͉̼̩̘̼͔̳̱͜͡ơ̸̶̖̣͎͇̪͚̫͚̝̝̝͕̣̺̲̼̦̗̺̕͠ņ̨̥̩̰͓̳̠͉̠̹̹̳̯͎̻̻̟̞̖̕̕͠i̸̵̱̻̯̻͉̘̣͔̖̘̦̱͚͡͡ͅk̨͈̘͈͕͕̤̀͠a͎͕͈̻̮̰͘͟͜͞ Expand
  78. Dec 8, 2017
    0
    0% PVE/PVP
    empty and pointless game.. 3 planet - aka small open maps (all storyline and other activity here), 5 map for PVP, 1 dung. really stupid plot -_-
    0% MMO no chat/ no GUILD chat/ strange "mirror" system 0% NEW content but I have HU-UGE hope for new content/fun in DLC... aa-and - felling like D* in your mouth, for your money O_o p.s I have only one question - what this *game*
    0% PVE/PVP
    empty and pointless game.. 3 planet - aka small open maps (all storyline and other activity here), 5 map for PVP, 1 dung. really stupid plot -_-
    0% MMO
    no chat/ no GUILD chat/ strange "mirror" system
    0% NEW content
    but I have HU-UGE hope for new content/fun in DLC... aa-and - felling like D* in your mouth, for your money O_o
    p.s
    I have only one question - what this *game* doing in Blizzard neighborhood?
    Expand
  79. Dec 12, 2017
    0
    WHAt the hell bungie? The base game is just OK the R&G loot systems totally sucks. Makes getting armor sets too hard and the grind is ridiculous ! I did not buy the DLC and I am so glad I didn’t. I am still looking for a refund on the base game.
  80. Nov 24, 2017
    3
    PVE

    + nice visuals and great music + satisfying gun play - short and bland campaign - very limited amount of content - repetitive and boring endgame - party limited to 3 ppl PVP Probably worst PVP experience on PC, considering price. - lot of "cheesy" mechanics, not involving aiming or any skill to make one touch kills (swords, grenades, supers) - you can't choose game
    PVE

    + nice visuals and great music
    + satisfying gun play
    - short and bland campaign
    - very limited amount of content
    - repetitive and boring endgame
    - party limited to 3 ppl

    PVP

    Probably worst PVP experience on PC, considering price.

    - lot of "cheesy" mechanics, not involving aiming or any skill to make one touch kills (swords, grenades, supers)
    - you can't choose game mode you wish to play (fixed playlists)
    - very laggy games (regardless of internet connection quality)
    - very often disconnects (regardless of internet connection quality)
    - aim assist enabled on PC (yes, seriously)
    - very bad matchmaking system
    - poor level design (cluttered maps, horrible visibility)
    - very bad ability/super balance (between character classes)

    D2 is clearly made for console market and very far from average quality and standards of PC shooters. Don't waste your time and money.
    Expand
  81. Dec 11, 2017
    0
    Boring shooter. You can't even imagine HOW BAD single player(or coop) company is. Lots of grid without any point.
    PC players are getting banned in droves for using things like discord or shadowplay while playing Destiny 2. No real response from bungie and no way to revert the ban.
  82. Nov 24, 2017
    4
    Like a "turd wrapped in a fancy paper" - this game looks good,
    but has nothing interesting inside, when you look closer.
    It reeks of poorly written story (although slightly better than first Destiny). Game is filled with poor voice acting and sometimes cringe-worthy dialogues (hi FailSafe) are doing no favor to this game. Boring, uninspired and repetitive gameplay, would disappoint
    Like a "turd wrapped in a fancy paper" - this game looks good,
    but has nothing interesting inside, when you look closer.
    It reeks of poorly written story (although slightly better than first Destiny).
    Game is filled with poor voice acting and sometimes cringe-worthy dialogues (hi FailSafe)
    are doing no favor to this game. Boring, uninspired and repetitive gameplay,
    would disappoint even die-hard Destiny and Bungie fans.
    Multiplayer matches don't have much to offer either, other than a few boring modes,
    network problems and long matchmaking.
    This is not a sequel, it's even worse than the original and feels like a cashgrab.
    Bungie should be ashamed of themselves, they could have done so much better.
    Expand
  83. nbr
    Nov 30, 2017
    4
    While For Honor was a multiplayer game without multiplayer, this is a 50% pvp game without pvp.
    1) Lags are too big for a shooter that wants to be competitive
    2) Poor matchmaking: you often happen to play against people with much higher elo each than any of your teammates. Inevitable 1+1+1+1 vs 4-premade also shows that Bungie learned nothing about pvp during past 3 years. 3) Poor
    While For Honor was a multiplayer game without multiplayer, this is a 50% pvp game without pvp.
    1) Lags are too big for a shooter that wants to be competitive
    2) Poor matchmaking: you often happen to play against people with much higher elo each than any of your teammates. Inevitable 1+1+1+1 vs 4-premade also shows that Bungie learned nothing about pvp during past 3 years.
    3) Poor weapon balance: several weapons are superior while most others are far worse

    Destiny 2 in general: while every game journalist (never believe them) yelled before the release that the game is perfectly optimized, in fact - optimization is ok at most. There is almost NO antialiasing.
    Soundtrack is great, storyline is not bad, but this doesn't help much.
    Expand
  84. Dec 6, 2017
    4
    I want to love this game really bad but I just cant. Bungie messed up on so many levels. The endgame is just not there and it doesn't feel rewarding or enjoyable to play. All the ''good'' content which infact is extremely mediocre is stuck behind a paywall, the exotics are extremely easy to obtain and not even that good, there is no cool cosmetic drops from the raids or the harderI want to love this game really bad but I just cant. Bungie messed up on so many levels. The endgame is just not there and it doesn't feel rewarding or enjoyable to play. All the ''good'' content which infact is extremely mediocre is stuck behind a paywall, the exotics are extremely easy to obtain and not even that good, there is no cool cosmetic drops from the raids or the harder contents, the pvp has horrible matchmaking and isn't that fun to begin with. Bungie has created an extremely casual and mediocre game and haven't learned a thing the past years developing destiny 1. Expand
  85. Dec 7, 2017
    3
    The game feels very repetitive. The weapons and enemies all feel the same. In the case of enemies, they are mostly humanoids and feel quite lacking in character. The same goes with weapons. Almost none of the tons of weapons I use seem to stand out. The class progressions are also too short for me.

    Also, they quietly put exp cap to milk players' money via lootboxes. Very sneaky. Glad
    The game feels very repetitive. The weapons and enemies all feel the same. In the case of enemies, they are mostly humanoids and feel quite lacking in character. The same goes with weapons. Almost none of the tons of weapons I use seem to stand out. The class progressions are also too short for me.

    Also, they quietly put exp cap to milk players' money via lootboxes. Very sneaky. Glad the community found out about it.

    Overall, this game makes me realise why the Borderlands series is such a great gun-loot game.
    Expand
  86. Dec 7, 2017
    0
    The game is way too short, with little incentive to actually play, and now with the DLC removing a lot of content from the base game and locking it behind a pay wall its even worse. Bungie is tripping over its own greed so much it can't even make a game. They have dedicated more of their efforts into how to nickel and dime customers for the same content over and over rather than make aThe game is way too short, with little incentive to actually play, and now with the DLC removing a lot of content from the base game and locking it behind a pay wall its even worse. Bungie is tripping over its own greed so much it can't even make a game. They have dedicated more of their efforts into how to nickel and dime customers for the same content over and over rather than make a decent game with some sign of innovation or evolution from the previous title. And they had no problem rigging the XP system to try and sell more loot boxes(bright engrams) while lying to players about the actual experience they were receiving. When they got caught they turned around and "fixed" it by doubling the XP requirement. Shady, greedy, and obviously not interested in making a good product but instead Bungie would rather charge you multiple times for the same content. Expand
  87. Dec 10, 2017
    0
    Pro: Smooth, crisp, satisfying play.
    Cons: Artificial advancement system where a power level 50 and power level 300 deal the same damage to the same enemy when they're standing next to each other. Also, negligible endgame content.

    Worst of all, they removed content from the original game and put it behind a DLC paywall!

    Scum of the earth video game developers.
  88. Dec 11, 2017
    0
    Pure money scam, not worth a buy. Whole game is being locked behind paywalls and forces you to buy DLC, and content that was in Destiny 1 has been cut out and is now nbeing sold back to us.
    DONT BUY BUNGIE GAMES ANYMORE, they arent the same company they used to be
  89. Dec 11, 2017
    0
    Destiny 2 does not deserve your money. Here are the quick reasons why:

    1.It is a game that charges $60 dollars and then attempts to push microtransactions on its players. 2.It is a game with microtransactions in the form of "loot boxes", randomized reward crates that you can buy for real money designed to prey upon people with addictive personalities. 3.And finally, it is a game that
    Destiny 2 does not deserve your money. Here are the quick reasons why:

    1.It is a game that charges $60 dollars and then attempts to push microtransactions on its players.
    2.It is a game with microtransactions in the form of "loot boxes", randomized reward crates that you can buy for real money designed to prey upon people with addictive personalities.
    3.And finally, it is a game that removed content that anyone who bought the game already paid for and now it forces players to pay up again if they want to access it.

    Even if you think the game is good, and that's fine if you do, I hope you can agree that we, as a community, should not tolerate the exploitative practices being pushed by Destiny 2.
    Expand
  90. Dec 11, 2017
    0
    Well i had some fun with the strikes but end game is generally horrible bad, raids are complete garbage a shooter should not be about shooting buttons, picking up pollen and other seriously bad ideas. the campaign is hillariously short and the "expansion" is not worth picking up and now people get locked out from base game content, we might see some fix for this but just the fact that itWell i had some fun with the strikes but end game is generally horrible bad, raids are complete garbage a shooter should not be about shooting buttons, picking up pollen and other seriously bad ideas. the campaign is hillariously short and the "expansion" is not worth picking up and now people get locked out from base game content, we might see some fix for this but just the fact that it was put in place is stupid.

    I really wanted to like this game but the content is horrible at end game, and other than the strikes there is nothing fun to do.
    Expand
  91. Dec 12, 2017
    3
    I get that we live in times of Hype-Culture the worst thing that ever happened to our society. I also understand that people invest and hope for the next IP will save their lives. But the simple truth is that hope is nothing but a cheap currency and this game has to be the most lazy thing I've encountered in the last years. This game is living proof that the gaming is not about innovationI get that we live in times of Hype-Culture the worst thing that ever happened to our society. I also understand that people invest and hope for the next IP will save their lives. But the simple truth is that hope is nothing but a cheap currency and this game has to be the most lazy thing I've encountered in the last years. This game is living proof that the gaming is not about innovation or an player experience anymore, It's about making a buck without any effort. The devs and publishers should feel ashamed. Expand
  92. Dec 12, 2017
    0
    Bland yet enjoyable shooting, but unexcusable company policy and treatment of players. First scaling back XP earned for bright engrams, then removing that but increasing your total amount of XP required, and finally gating off end game content unless players buy the DLC.
  93. Dec 12, 2017
    0
    This game is a huge step back from the first one. The only thing that has improved is more cut scenes, but they offset this by literally destroying the established lore, and its pretty clear they have no clue where they want to take the game. Lastly almost no reason to play the endgame content, and skill weapons feel terrible and unrewarding.
  94. Dec 19, 2017
    0
    govnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovnogovno
  95. Dec 20, 2017
    0
    This game for 60$ dont have anything for this money. You can do all content in one week.
  96. Dec 20, 2017
    0
    Do not buy!!! Do not support these kind dev, let them starve.
    This game is lacking in everything, but graphic.
    This game is design for loot box pure and simple.
    The devs lies like no tomorrow since beta, and continue to lie about shady loot box practice.
  97. Jan 13, 2018
    0
    Overall downgrade from Destiny 1.

    Complete slap in the face to all fans.

    Old Bungie > New Bungie.

    0 Respect for their playerbase, they only care about Eververse money now.
  98. Jan 26, 2018
    0
    It not Destiny 2, its Destiny 1,5
    trash. PVP here its a ****. Bungi start do this **** in 2014, and even not they do this ****
  99. Feb 15, 2018
    0
    its a cash grab, stay away from it. DLC pay walls, Copy-paste content, Loot-boxes and ofc my personal favorute, NO-DEDICATED SERVERS.
  100. Feb 16, 2018
    0
    Yay destiny for pc! Except it's not even close to as good as destiny 1, even though they just reused almost every game asset except gun models and landscape. They managed to ruin PVP and complete laziless and lack of vision results in a really sad product.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Feb 6, 2018
    70
    While Destiny 2 has a solid foundation and a robust story campaign, its endgame content feels a little lacklustre. The sandbox doesn't have a whole lot of depth, and plumbing each of the hub worlds for secrets doesn't feel that rewarding. Grinding Public Events, Raids, and Strikes with friends is definitely a lot of fun, but there's a huge disconnect between content being cleared and your character strength increasing. There's still a lot of room for Destiny 2 to grow but, for now, it's still got a few kinks to work out.
  2. CD-Action
    Jan 10, 2018
    95
    In a nutshell, Destiny 2 for PC is the same outstanding game we played on consoles, but even more enjoyable thanks to spectacular visuals, masterful optimization and much more suitable controls. [13/2017, p.75]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 2, 2018
    80
    Play this great shooter with your friends, it pays off. Then it will offer hours and hours of great fun without the stereotype. But be prepared the endgame will thoroughly test your patience and willingness to grind. [Issue#280]