Deus Ex: Human Revolution Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3780 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew aboutIn Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew about your job changes. At a time when scientific advancements are routinely turning athletes, soldiers and spies into super-enhanced beings, someone is working very hard to ensure mankind's evolution follows a particular path. You need to discover why - because the decisions you take and the choices you make will be the only things that can determine mankind's future. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Deus Ex: Human Revolution Explosive Mission Pack Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 30, 2011
    100
    There are only a few games this year we suggest to 16-yrs old gamers and their fathers together. Human Revolution for sure is a Game of the Year nominee. [Oct 2011]
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    95
    With its flowing, open approach to mission structure, thoroughly engrossing story and gorgeous visuals, this is the kind of game that all others should strive to be. While there are some elements that don't feel quite as developed as they should have been, and augmentation is more Hobson's choice than true choice, Human Revolution provides a level of quality that only the most adamant cynic could fail to be impressed by. More importantly, it is everything a fan of Deus Ex could want in a game.
  3. PC Games (Russia)
    Aug 29, 2011
    95
    It's worth every second of these 11 years of waiting. It's a true Deus Ex sequel we all begged for. [Sept 2011, p.16]
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    An imperfect, complex and ambitious reminder of what a game can be when it's unafraid.
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex is, yet again, more than the sum of its parts, one of the most captivating games in years. It's a title that's far from perfect, however it's a must-play for anyone who is passionate for great Sci-Fi stories and action games.
  6. Aug 25, 2011
    87
    Invisible War has finally been atoned for... Deus Ex :Human Revolution is a wonderful step forward for cyberpunk RPG enthusiasts.
  7. Aug 22, 2011
    80
    The best card played by Eidos Montreal is the core of the stealth gameplay, and the vast array of augmentations can change drastically the way the player can solve the most intricate security situations. Ok, the graphics and the combat probably aren't the freshest beverage of this summer, but for 20+ hours of high quality hide and catch, you can drink them anyway and leave the complains for the inevitable DLCs.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 769
  1. Jun 23, 2015
    10
    amazing game. i loved every aspect of this game. You can go in guns blazing, or sneak your way through or a bit of both. the story and plotamazing game. i loved every aspect of this game. You can go in guns blazing, or sneak your way through or a bit of both. the story and plot was really good and satisfying. Also, the soundtrack list by Michael McCann is one of my favorite soundtrack list ever. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    Ahhhh yesss. Now that's the game I love. Cyberpunk climate where you can almost smell the street itself. Great character progression and veryAhhhh yesss. Now that's the game I love. Cyberpunk climate where you can almost smell the street itself. Great character progression and very interesting plot that keeps your attention for the whole game. There was not a single moment where I could feel like being bored by the game progression. Combat is versatile. You can either go and deal with everything rambo style or you can do it silently or even diplomatically or even by making up a smart intrigue. You really will never get bored in this aspect of the game. What is more the dialogue options are very well done and are juast as versatile as combat it. Graphics is good and music fits in perfectly. Also the game is very well optimized.

    I have just a one element that felt a bit weird - a bit like out of the game and that is boss fight. What makes it weird is the fact that if you make your character progression in other way then you might have VERY SERIOUS problems beating the boss.

    Overall that is the kind of game I like and I hope for another sequel in the franchise.
    Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    When I began playing this game I had my doubts being such a big fan of the original. Now, 5 hours into the game I have been able to dig deepWhen I began playing this game I had my doubts being such a big fan of the original. Now, 5 hours into the game I have been able to dig deep into the core and see what play "Human Revolution" is truly like, and it is good. I feel like they captured the original perfectly. From the moment you begin playing HR you realize this REALLY is the new Deus Ex, not some cheap knock of made to make money. The cover system really enhanced the way I was able to go through levels. The tiny details made me feel like I was not only killing and knocking out bad guys, but actually uncovering secrets I wasn't supposed to know. If you are a fan of the original or FPS games in general, I *highly* recommend this game.

    You might ask if this game actually deserves a perfect score. The reason I gave it one is because it does everything a game should, immerses you into a world and allows you to connect with the characters. The action is unyielding and exciting, while the story is better then most movies. This game deserves the 10 I gave it because it delivered on the promise of giving me a new game in the series just as good as the original.
    Expand
  4. Aug 13, 2020
    9
    Juegazo con todas las letras, buena historia, buena jugabilidad, buena dificultad, buen diseño artistico, buena duracion, un must to play comoJuegazo con todas las letras, buena historia, buena jugabilidad, buena dificultad, buen diseño artistico, buena duracion, un must to play como la copa de un pino. Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    Having played Dues Ex (1) I found it to be one of the best, original FPS with RPG elements I'd ever experienced. Dues Ex (2) was a collosalHaving played Dues Ex (1) I found it to be one of the best, original FPS with RPG elements I'd ever experienced. Dues Ex (2) was a collosal let down. Why?... it was exactly the same just not half as good.

    Dues Ex Human Revolutions (3) is exactly the same, but MUCH better than before. FOR -

    In brief, took everything that made the 1st Dues Ex great and did it better.
    Great to look at
    Smooth to play
    Very effectively gives the appearance of being non-linear

    AGAINST -

    The plot feels a little 'seen it, done it'.
    Boss fights are a little boring.
    The game is perhaps an hour or two shorter than you'd like.
    Add-on packs are unnecessary (they add probably 20-45 minutes depending on how you play) and add nothing of any real consequence.

    My biggest thumbs up? - It's the best FPS/RPG since Dues Ex (1) and thats mighty complimentary.

    My Biggest thumbs down? - The ending... without going into details and spoiling it for you. There are multiple endings and how you play the game does not affect these in the slightest.

    To put in another way, you can play game all guns blazing, or be a stealthy as a ninja, this (aside from steam rewards) will not affect the outcome one way or the other, you still get to choose your ending with no limitations. This rather sadly brings the non-linear illusion crashing with a thud. The endings themselves are also rather poor. Without spoiling it, if you've sat through a metal gear solid 'cut scene' where they explain the plot, then you have a pretty good idea how this game will end.

    In conclusion - A great game which ultimately will leave you a little deflated, but it's worth it.
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    Deus Ex suffers from its own brilliance, unfortunately. From the moment i started playing I loved the sense of freedom, playing a Jensen whoDeus Ex suffers from its own brilliance, unfortunately. From the moment i started playing I loved the sense of freedom, playing a Jensen who did not kill if possible, and moved silently through the shadows under his enemies noses had an unexpected thrill, and the world of Deus Ex is brilliantly deep, presenting many interesting questions to the player. However, several relatively petty flaws made this game a bit of a chore to play.
    Human Revolution presents the player with a beautifully realised world at the start of humanity's move towards body and mind enhancement with technology. The cities players travel through are fascinating, with an abundance of hidden areas, side quests and a wide variety of routes into any situation. I never played the original Deus Ex games, but i instantly grasped the world of Human Revolution. The enhancements that humans, including the player character, Adam Jensen, have turned to are not the slick, barely visible improvements of other sci-fi series', they are crudely bolted on as replacements to whole limbs or eyes, or implanted into the brains of users. Despite this lack of subtlety, the enhancements are beautifully and lovingly modeled in game, providing some of the best graphics in the game. Unfortunately, graphics is one of the main weaknesses of this game. The biggest flaw of the game in this department is how demanding it is on your system. Playing on a pc that can flawlessly run both Mass Effect games at max settings and all the Assassins Creed games at fairly high settings without issue, i experienced game breakingly bad performance in Human Revolution until the graphics were set to minimum... therefore any graphical beauty of this game was lost on my PC. The graphical style of the game is undeniably well thought out and beautiful, but it could definitely use some love with smoother, more up to date graphics and an engine that does not eat system resources so badly. The gameplay of this game is a mixed bunch. The RPG elements are very impressive, with every upgrade to Jensen's enhancements having a noticeable effect on gameplay. The inventory is cleverly managed in a system new to me. Having such a limit on inventory space led to a lot of planning how to fit things in, and demanded that i chose my style of play, as i could not carry more than a handful of weapons, and had to leave space for health items and stims if i wanted to survive. This is a huge improvement over the typical unlimited inventories of many great RPGs such as MassEffect1 and KotOR. The stealth aspects of this game are equally well designed, with a wide network of ventilation shafts and secret entrances throughout the game. Moving past patrolling enemies gave a particular thrill, as did stealth kills or knockouts. Unfortunately, i could never really forget that all "secret" paths and entrances are not only in plain sight, they were all designed for that exact reason by the developers. The buildings of Deus Ex do not require the players ingenuity to find the safest route from A to B, the developers designed the building from the start to have a safe route. This is an unavoidable flaw of stealth games. The shooting felt fairly slow and unresponsive, it has not moved on in the era of Call of Duty and other modern fps games. While fans of older shooters may enjoy this, the shooting feels noticeably flawed in the eyes of the modern generation of gamers. By far the biggest weakness of the game is the Boss fights, which are exactly that. There is no way to escape, attack them stealthily etc... they must be confronted in an open fight, leaving stealth players unprepared and horribly outgunned.
    The storyline is well realised, although i got a bit confused at one point in the early game. Most of the characters are deep and well scripted, and the story compliments the setting very well. All in all, this is a worthwhile game for any fan of RPG games and older shooters, but fans of linear modern shooters may feel frustrated by the lack of guidance and strong RPG elements, as well as the weak shooting system. This could definately open the doors for more Deus Ex games, although a graphical overhaul may be required.
    Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2020
    0
    Plain boring. **** outdated controls. Tedious dialogues. Yet it's STILL 20$. Don't buy this overpriced trash.

See all 769 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.