Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Oct 10, 2014
    95
    Even if you've never played a tower defense game before or are looking to get into the genre, this is a good one to start out on.
  2. CD-Action
    Mar 17, 2015
    90
    Has everything required to claim the first place in my private ranking of tower defense games. [03/2014, p.73]
  3. Sep 26, 2014
    90
    Defense Grid 2 is hard. Make no mistake about it. I hit my first wall at level 8 and found an uphill climb after that. Those new to the tower defense genre will find its difficulty curve unforgiving. Yet, somehow, this challenge ends up feeling rewarding.
  4. Sep 25, 2014
    90
    Defense Grid 2 is a fairly typical Tower Defense game at its core, but the layers of complexity give it a lot more staying power and replay value than you are likely accustomed to. With 21 campaign levels, and plans to offer countless more as downloads, there is no end to how much time you can spend with DG2, and that's not even counting fighting for placement on the leaderboards... or multiplayer. DG2 is a shining example of Kickstarter done right.
  5. Sep 24, 2014
    83
    Defense Grid 2 isn't just another tower defense game, it's the best new tower defense game.
  6. Oct 22, 2014
    80
    Defense Grid 2 is, quite obviously about defence, but it's also about being passive, about observing morally grey conflicts play out in front of you - without your input.
  7. Oct 15, 2014
    80
    It might be thin on story and full of bizarre chatter, but solid mechanics and great game modes make this a jolly great time for anyone with an interest in towers, defence or raspberry lollipops.
  8. Oct 14, 2014
    80
    Defense Grid 2’s new variations on the original’s excellent tower defense gameplay pulled me right back into the compulsively addictive quest to destroy all aliens with a minimum of expenditure.
  9. Oct 8, 2014
    80
    A lack of ambition isn't necessarily a problem here—for players looking for solid Tower Defense, DG2 has a decent story, plenty of well-built levels, and truly impressive number of gameplay modifiers and modes, and it has handily replaced DG1 as the most technically adept game of its type.
  10. Oct 7, 2014
    80
    Everything you can expect from a tower defense game can be found here; only the inherent limitations of the genre can be criticized in it.
  11. Oct 1, 2014
    80
    Defense Grid 2 takes everything we know from the first game, adds clever new ways to both build upon, and improves your strategies. On top of this we find a sometimes hilarious story told by a bunch of misfit AI's.
  12. Sep 30, 2014
    80
    Maybe it won't change the rules of the genre, but Defense Grid 2 is a total package. It plays fine, it's addictive and has a lot of features. You won't be bored and you'll enjoy every drip of it. If you liked its predecessor, you won't be disappointed.
  13. Sep 30, 2014
    80
    It's a basic tower defense and Defence Grid 2 doesn't even try to innovate, but it remains on of the most solid tower defense games around.
  14. Sep 29, 2014
    80
    This is a good sequel, and even though it is not a great step forward in the franchise, it is indeed a game that those who enjoyed the original will have fun playing.
  15. Sep 29, 2014
    80
    Defense Grid 2 is not a revolutionary sequel, it plays more like a subtly refined version of the first part. The successor to one of the best tower defense games is no revolution but still in the first class of the genre.
  16. Sep 29, 2014
    80
    Defense Grid 2 is a solid effort in the tower defense genre. The game is packed with plenty of different towers and well designed maps, though the campaign only lasts five to six hours if you don't consider the alternate levels.
  17. Sep 26, 2014
    80
    Defense Grid 2 is a stellar tower defense game that manages to bring back the great recipe of its predecessor, while adding plenty of elements to make it more complex.
  18. Sep 26, 2014
    80
    This is a well planned and content rich but also very conservative tower defense.
  19. Sep 24, 2014
    80
    Defense Grid 2 doesn’t redefine the tower defense genre, but it’s well made and offers the most complete package of its kind.
  20. Nov 27, 2014
    70
    Defense Grid 2 feels like a very conservative remake featuring new maps. No bold design ideas here – everything is almost verbatim like in Defense Grid: The Awakening which was released 6 years ago, only the gameplay is a bit simplified.
  21. Oct 17, 2014
    70
    Defense Grid 2 is a good tower defense, with a simple control system and immediate mechanics which unfortunately are also the biggest limitation of the production. The game is missing the new and bold ideas that usually make the difference, and relying solely on the community may not have been a winning choice.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 90
  2. Negative: 23 out of 90
  1. Sep 23, 2014
    4
    Absolutely loved DG1. Beat the entire game + all DLC at the hardest difficulty. Unfortunately DG2 isn't more of the same. The tower changesAbsolutely loved DG1. Beat the entire game + all DLC at the hardest difficulty. Unfortunately DG2 isn't more of the same. The tower changes are silly (boost towers everywhere so now I can't see anything, what fun!). Most of the towers are now ineffective against what they are suppoesd to be used for (temporal's have almost no effect on faster aliens, inferno are useless against regenerating alies, ect...). Missile towers are now better version of meteor towers, but both are eclipsed by canon, so there's no reason to build either. Tesla's are now completely useless.

    On top of that the maps are very linear, with much less strategy than in DG1. The optimal path in now clearly obvious and there's very little strategy or tactics involved.

    Its sad, with almost 100 hours spent in DG1, I'm already done with DG2 after just 9.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 23, 2014
    3
    I'm a Defense Grid 1 lover. And I was really waiting for DG2, but what a disappointment. I'm glad they took out "Command tower" and the % ofI'm a Defense Grid 1 lover. And I was really waiting for DG2, but what a disappointment. I'm glad they took out "Command tower" and the % of more resources, it was the only good thing. But the game feels bad. I didn't like the graphics, couldn't find anti-aliasing. The towers feels lame, so you have to build too much towers, making a visual pollution. The level 3 towers don't feel powerful at all, the inferno tower can't target properly, and even the level 3 inferno tower won't make damage... and won't burn a lot of aliens...
    Tesla don't feel particularly useful. Missile too. All towers seem a bit of the same..., just spam and spam towers all over the map.
    DG1 was so detailed. Every one of tower you built or upgraded felt important and unique, and some very powerful.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 4, 2014
    0
    This game suffers, like most PC games today from severe Consolitis.

    I only played 5 minutes until I deleted the game: your mouse cursor
    This game suffers, like most PC games today from severe Consolitis.

    I only played 5 minutes until I deleted the game: your mouse cursor does not move. Instead your mouse moves the camera (intended for game pad play). Your mouse cursor gets LOCKED to only be able to move vertically when you open the build menu.
    There is no borderless windowed mode.

    0/10 because of Consolitis.
    Full Review »