Diablo III Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9810 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Diablo III picks up the story twenty years after the events of Diablo II. Mephisto, Diablo, and Baal have been defeated, but the Worldstone, which once shielded the inhabitants of the world of Sanctuary from the forces of both the High Heavens and the Burning Hells, has been destroyed, andDiablo III picks up the story twenty years after the events of Diablo II. Mephisto, Diablo, and Baal have been defeated, but the Worldstone, which once shielded the inhabitants of the world of Sanctuary from the forces of both the High Heavens and the Burning Hells, has been destroyed, and evil once again stirs in Tristram. Playing as a hero from one of five distinct character classes, players acquire powerful items, spells, and abilities as they explore new and familiar areas of Sanctuary and battle hordes of demons to safeguard the world from the horrors that have arisen. Diablo III features a custom 3D-graphics engine to render lush indoor and outdoor areas of Sanctuary with a high level of detail and vivid special effects. The game's physics-enhanced environments are interactive and destructible, offering traps and obstacles that create added danger for players and monsters alike. These elements, along with a new quest system and random scripted events, have been integrated into the game’s random-level generator, giving Diablo III the ultimate combination of dynamic gameplay and replayability. Cooperative and competitive play are available online through an upgraded version of Blizzard Entertainment’s renowned online gaming service, Battle.net. [Blizzard Entertainment] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Diablo III: Reaper of Souls - Opening Cinematic
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. May 24, 2012
    100
    Games this thoughtfully crafted don't happen very often, and the care that Blizzard has taken with Diablo 3 shows in every facet of its design and execution. It might not be perfect, but after 45 hours, I'm not sure where it missteps, and after 45 hours, I feel like I've only scratched the surface of what it has to offer. Diablo 3 is almost evil in how high a bar it's set for every PC action RPG to follow, and I wouldn't be surprised to see that bar remain for a very long time.
  2. May 24, 2012
    95
    While at first glance Diablo III seems to be a step back from it's predecessor, it's actually more complicated, and ultimately, a more satisfying experience.
  3. May 20, 2012
    92
    Getting online and into the game though, rewards players with one of the most engaging single-player and co-op experiences in the business, so if you have patience and can look past Blizzard's biggest oversight, you're in for one of the year's best games.
  4. 90
    Forget the semi-lame beta. This is the real deal. Diablo III is as addictive as ever. A beauty to enjoy with friends and a great experience. The story might not be the best ever, the music not as bombastic as we could want, but the gameplay is intact. And so is the loot. Oh yes. The loot. Well, back to the game we go. There is a another nightmare to be had.
  5. May 19, 2012
    90
    It may not be the action-rpg-messiah that some may have expected, but it easily matches its predecessors... Blizzard's new creation defends the throne with a mix of proven gameplay and tons of features.
  6. May 22, 2012
    85
    There's a good chance you've played games a lot like Diablo III before, and at no point does it dare to surprise you by tinkering with its tried-and-true formula. But it creates such an enticing world and offers up such enjoyable abilities that it makes that formula feel fresh again.
  7. Jun 13, 2012
    45
    There is absolutely no denying that Diablo III continues to maintain the high artistic standards that it has kept over the years. But the dumbed character and inventory systems, coupled to the ridiculous always-on connection and the breathtaking arrogance of the"you'll play how we tell you to play" attitude makes playing this title a damned shame instead of a hell of a good time.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    I haven't had this much fun playing a game since Diablo II came out. After playing for several hours, I really can't complain about much. II haven't had this much fun playing a game since Diablo II came out. After playing for several hours, I really can't complain about much. I haven't ran into a single bug myself, which is rather incredible for a game that just came out, though bugs do exist. I can't really think of any ways to make the game better. It's incredibly fun and addicting. They did a great job with this one. I'll probably be playing this game for many, many years to come.

    Also, why are people reviewing this game that haven't even played? Regardless of how good/bad you think it is, nobody cares about reviews from someone that hasn't played the game.
    Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    Great game. Launch has nothing to do with the actual enjoyment factor of this game, please ignore cry babies. Cut-scenes are great, story isGreat game. Launch has nothing to do with the actual enjoyment factor of this game, please ignore cry babies. Cut-scenes are great, story is entertaining, game play is solid, music is great, atmosphere is immersive. Playing with friends is extra enjoyable. Extremely pleased with how well the launch went considering how many people are actually trying to play. Got in and stayed on with 4 friends for 7 hours with 0 problems. Haters gonna hate. Expand
  3. Aug 3, 2015
    8
    I just don't get how people are sooo angry with D3... I actually hardly believe they really played the game more than 10 minutes...

    I
    I just don't get how people are sooo angry with D3... I actually hardly believe they really played the game more than 10 minutes...

    I played Diablo II thousands of hours. I played Median XL Hardcore up to the point I was bored loosing 200h+ character and starting again at Act 1 with the possibility to die level 10 in the first quest...

    In what is Diablo 3 so sub-par? I don't see in any of those red dots providing any real reason.

    Let's think about it for a second...

    You cannot attribute skill points: SO WHAT? You play a Mage in D2? You put everything in Vitality and Mana and that's it. You save some points in case of a looted item requires some strenght or dexterity. Ok... Is that mineblowing experience? NO IT'S NOT, IT'S JUST USELESS.C'mon... Let's stop joking. It was just boring... Miserable argument.

    "Naaah Diablo 3 suxxxx, You only have 6 skills + 3 passive while in Diablo 2 you had so many (from F1 to F12)". You NOOBS!!!! In Diablo 2, you had 120 skill points (a bit more with the quests). If you put points here and there, you die. You had to put all the points in, guess how many skills since you can put maximum 20 points in one skill?? 6 Skills!!! Oh my God!!!!! It is less than Diablo 3... So again a miserable argument... And actually Diablo 3 skill system is much better. According to your loot you will change your skills and you actually REALLY use your 6 active skills, which is far more than Diablo 2 where you used maybe 2 or 3 active skills, the rest being passive.

    What more???? "ho it's not challenging". Ok, vanilla D3 wasn't at all. Got a point. However since the 2.2 patch it is challenging. As a Hardcore player, it really is... As in Diablo 2 Median XL, make a single mistake, you're just dead. It is as challenging as Diablo 2 Median XL, the challenge just comes a couple of 10 hours later.

    "Yeah yeah, you can choose your difficulty", but in Nephalem Rifts you cannot... And the whole point in the game is that one. Nephalem rifts, getting harder and harder, as in Diablo 2.

    "Diablo 3 is just like farming over and over". C'moooon BULL***T!!!!! Diablo 2 it was the same. With all of my friends we did hours of farming since Median XL is extremely difficult... I remember farming the Sewers in Act 2 (in Normal difficulty already...) for hours: even less rewarding than Nephalem Rifts.

    The game however is not perfect. You can play max at 4 which is really something they could avoid. You cannot trade objects, even if playing a private game. However it still makes sense, since D3 can be very challenging the affixes of the items are made so that it fits with your class. No reason to trade then. In the end, yes, you play the way Blizzard wants you to play. But I'm fine with it.

    I love opening the game when I have 20m free, opening a rift, empty it with the same adrenaline rush I had in Median XL. Kill the boss, feel relaxed, looking at the loot, optimize, shut down my computer. In this, Diablo 3 is just perfect. It reallt fitts my needs.

    Yes hardcore players play 2000h+ do rifts level 50+, but there really is place for casual gamers as I am now, as I just mentionned, you can play for 20m and go. Which something you couldn't do in Diablo 2. You start playing Diablo2, you need to play hours.
    Expand
  4. May 29, 2012
    2
    Disappointment
    This pretty much sums the entire game.. and big. .fat.. disappointment.
    If you played D1 or D2 or both and are expecting the
    Disappointment
    This pretty much sums the entire game.. and big. .fat.. disappointment.
    If you played D1 or D2 or both and are expecting the same experience....dont bother.
    After reading the reviews (witch I have to agree 100% with) I find myself surprised that no one has mentioned the HORRIBLE loot system this game has... I mean.. DEAR GOD! One of the things that made D2 "fun" to play was the loot, but in this game is just crap.. Maybe Im too used to WoW's format..blues are better than white...yellow (in this case is better than blue) and orange (witch are legendary items are far better than any other color) well.. this is not the case.. you can find a legendary or a yellow and 20 min later find a blue item witch is a lot better than both, at the same lvl requirement .... what?
    Another observation....I found me a really nice "Wizard" hat.... and by wizard I mean "only a wizard can equip" .. with dexterity and strenght for stats... again.. .what? The random factor on item's stats is absurd!
    Last but not least.. loot rewards.. you can get a yellow out of a damned barrel! or random champion packs, but when you kill a boss.. when you kill DIABLO..THE LAST BOSS IN THE GAME.. he drops 1 or 2 blues..it feels so .. unrewarding.
    Expand
  5. May 16, 2012
    1
    I'm giving it a 1. It would be a 9-10.....IF I could play it single player without having to worry if the servers are going to go down andI'm giving it a 1. It would be a 9-10.....IF I could play it single player without having to worry if the servers are going to go down and kick me out of the game. I'm so upset about it that I'm planning on returning what I consider a 9-10 game. Only because I'm able to only get a hour, two max of playtime without being kicked off due to server issues...for a SINGLE player game that is terrible. Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2020
    0
    Diablo gamer from release of Diablo 1 and yeeeeee Diablo 3 developers are brain dead.
  7. May 19, 2012
    0
    This game is unplayable because of DRM. I have 6Mbps ADSL Internet connection and pings in other games like 80-120ms. In D3 my average ping isThis game is unplayable because of DRM. I have 6Mbps ADSL Internet connection and pings in other games like 80-120ms. In D3 my average ping is of 600-1000. This is incredibly unplayable even at single player campaign.
    I've wasted 60 euros just because Blizzard was a trusted company for me till here. I don't care about graphics and sound, i don't care about many years of development of that game. I simply log in, watch my hero "jumping through space" in lags and i quit.
    Expand

See all 4719 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.