DiRT Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 111 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Formerly known as "Colin McRae Rally 2007" or "CMR '07") After a two-year break for the series, Codemasters Studios' designers have created a reinvigorated McRae experience. The new Colin McRae title goes beyond the series' point-to-point rallying to deliver the most diverse selection of(Formerly known as "Colin McRae Rally 2007" or "CMR '07") After a two-year break for the series, Codemasters Studios' designers have created a reinvigorated McRae experience. The new Colin McRae title goes beyond the series' point-to-point rallying to deliver the most diverse selection of extreme off-road competitions. Sensational gravel, mud and dirt racing events from the world over include perilous Hill Climb and collision-packed Rally Cross events. International rallying competitions are also featured, with official cars on tracks based on real roads and locations around the globe. The title also expands on beat-the-clock racing and includes events with multiple cars on track to satisfy anyone who wants to push their on-the-edge driving just that bit further. [Codemasters] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
DIRT Official Trailer 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. There are few racing games that can boast about the pains taken to authenticate the sounds of their vehicles. DiRT is one of those games.
  2. So in all, DiRT definitely stands out as a premiere racing game. The gameplay is great—though it may take a bit of getting used to for those you stick to common racing games—and the graphics help push it along as well.
  3. PC Format
    88
    A gloriously pretty and tacticle world to hurl a wide variety of cars around in. It's just a shame I can't share that with friends. [Aug 2007, p.46]
  4. A fantastic rally racing game that aims to be a fantastic all-around off-road experience, but like internet porn, next time it needs to get a little dirtier.
  5. Besides suffering from a mild identity crisis, this is a very good racing game. It is complex, demanding, and it can get pretty intense, especially in Rally races.
  6. 80
    Dirt is an excellent counterpoint to the shallower, more arcade-y MotorStorm, offering serious racing fans a full-bodied game replete with HD-gen graphics, physics, sound, and a great depth of off-road racing types.
  7. 80
    The lack of a real multiplayer mode is a huge disappointment to us. What makes this omission even worse is how short the single-player campaign is.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    I am yet to play DiRT2 and DiRT3 but this is simply superb. A really good rally game with excellent graphics (considering that it was made inI am yet to play DiRT2 and DiRT3 but this is simply superb. A really good rally game with excellent graphics (considering that it was made in 2007), very good gameplay and the kind of game which gives you a satisfaction once you have completed all the races. I have finished this game twice and I am sure I will give it one more go :) Initially it may appear tough especially if you come from the Need For Speed side of the world but once you get the hang of things and understand how the vehicles handle this is the game that you will recommend to one and all. Expand
  2. BP
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    It's much more of a "game" than GTR2, but that also makes it much more accessible, and just oh so beautiful. Each track is truly a It's much more of a "game" than GTR2, but that also makes it much more accessible, and just oh so beautiful. Each track is truly a delight to drive. Probably my favorite driving game in many years of playing racing games. Expand
  3. JayE
    Aug 10, 2009
    9
    Wow! This game is impressive. I've played all the Need For Speeds, Midnight Clubs, Test Drives, etc.. nothing comes close to the detail Wow! This game is impressive. I've played all the Need For Speeds, Midnight Clubs, Test Drives, etc.. nothing comes close to the detail and gameplay of this game! The graphics are unbelievable and the sound is great, the vehicle dynamics are honestly the best I've ever experienced! Its very realistic, but not over the top and annoying like other games. I agree that the controls are tricky and hard to get used to, so if you want to play a simplified arcade game like Sega Rally or Daytona, you have come to the wrong place. When you do master the controls (which should take a few hours+), its fun and challenging at the same time. Some tracks can be very hard to finish 1st, but its the kind of game where you don't get bored replaying the same track over and over. Every time you play, you improve your skill, and winning the race is rewarding. Driving on the German slopes in a Peugeot 307 with a Logitech G25 Steering Wheel set to 270 degrees rotation - amazing stuff! Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2012
    7
    good game but the cars handle pretty weirdly and its hard to get used to, the car set up is a little overkill and the bloom effect gets reallygood game but the cars handle pretty weirdly and its hard to get used to, the car set up is a little overkill and the bloom effect gets really annoying after a while. If your thinking about buying this over dirt 2 its probably not a great idea if you want a really good rally game spend the extra ten bucks and get dirt 2 its the best in the series in my opinion. these games are best played with a controller or wheel. Expand
  5. WillT.
    Jul 22, 2007
    6
    Looks nice but isn't a whole lot of fun to play. Controls are very difficult to master and I never really feel like I'm in control Looks nice but isn't a whole lot of fun to play. Controls are very difficult to master and I never really feel like I'm in control of the vehicles. Who wants to spend all day setting up cars just to get the game to a point where it can be fun to play? Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    5
    Many says rally racing is suppose to be fight against the time. In this particular game however, I felt I'm fighting against the car. If youMany says rally racing is suppose to be fight against the time. In this particular game however, I felt I'm fighting against the car. If you wanted to play this game without racing wheel, then you'll be just frustrated at how car handles. Handling of each car is just too sensitive, it feels more like you're driving RC car rather than fully powered 4WD rally machine. I bet most trouble you'll have in this game is just fighting against your vehicle as each brief thrust of arrow key throws your car into water puddle, cliff, or the wall that just happens to be there in right place and right time.

    Other than that, this is decent game. Graphic is very good, each rally stage is well crafted and co-driver pointing out detail of each rally stage was very interesting. Car model in particular is just breathtaking. Also being able to control replay video is also nice, too. Bumping car you'll never be able to drive into wall and just watching the car broken down piece by piece via replay never gets old.

    So, if you have racing wheel to compensate for this lousy control, feel free to play this game. It is a lot of fun if you get over it. If you are keyboard crowd, then move along. You'll probably find better experience in Colin McRae Rally 2005, and DiRT 2, if you're more casual gamer like I am, and Richard Burns Rally, if you're simulation fan to your core.
    Expand
  7. jm
    Jun 27, 2007
    2
    Unless they fix the controller issues this game is unplayable.

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers