• Publisher: ZA/UM
  • Release Date: Oct 15, 2019
Disco Elysium Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Disco Elysium is an open world role playing game. You’re a detective with a unique skill system at your disposal and a whole city block to carve your path across. Interrogate unforgettable characters, crack murders or take bribes. Become a hero or an absolute disaster of a human being.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Disco Elysium - Epic Games Store Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Apr 10, 2020
    100
    A murder mystery set in a rich, fictional setting, Disco Elysium is told with sweeping profundity and hilarious absurdity. With no combat to impede story progression, this is a choice-driven role-playing adventure that deftly raises the bar of quality for the medium.
  2. Oct 21, 2019
    100
    There’s depth, hundreds of hours of replayability and above all, an experience you won’t forget. With humour, panache, wit and genuinely touching moments, this is a hell of a story.
  3. Nov 4, 2019
    95
    I loved it, though I barely understood much of it. It's a wild ride despite being mostly walls of text. It's the only game where I honestly couldn't say what I thought my character would do at any given turn because I felt I barely knew him, and that was, I feel, by design. You're getting to know him as you're making the choices that define him. Like you are, in a way, with yourself in real life.
  4. Oct 16, 2019
    90
    Disco Elysium wants to get you in touch with the voices in your head. This detective RPG calls back to the old Infinity Engine games like Planescape: Torment and Baldur's Gate, but it put a unique spin on everything. With a beautiful oil painting aesthetic, it also features a system that treats your skill like additional party members, each with their own opinions on your actions. Ultimately, every lengthy run-though of Disco Elysium is about the consequences of your choices and actions, adding up to some fantastic stories. A great, surprising entry into RPG canon.
  5. Nov 21, 2019
    90
    It’s not very often that a game of this calibre comes along. Disco Elysium is mad with psychedelic energy, unabashedly dramatic, and dangerously well-written. I wish, like the detective, I could forget all about Disco Elysium, if only to experience it again as if for the first time. It’s truly one of the greatest RPGs ever released.
  6. Nov 3, 2019
    90
    With the quality of writing and the inventiveness of design, Disco Elysium brilliantly faces the traditions of role-playing. In doing so, it paradoxically succeeds in overcoming them where more "innovative" titles have failed, demonstrating that innovation is not enough as the sole aim and motivation to make a great game, but that a great game can be, by virtue of its qualities, innovative.
  7. Oct 21, 2019
    70
    A fiercely original take on traditional computer role-playing games that often seems unrefined and self-indulgent but is still a welcome shake-up of genre norms.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 280
  1. Oct 15, 2019
    10
    A unique Game of a kind, that revolutionize the RPGs with a level of writing rarely achieved elsewhere.
    True Detective plus Bukowski meets
    A unique Game of a kind, that revolutionize the RPGs with a level of writing rarely achieved elsewhere.
    True Detective plus Bukowski meets Pixar’s Inside Out where your thoughts and psyche are your skills and they talk to you.
    Just a masterpiece.
    Expand
  2. May 23, 2020
    10
    I rarely write reviews if at all, but I love this game so much that I feel like I have to spend a few minutes spewing praise for it.

    This
    I rarely write reviews if at all, but I love this game so much that I feel like I have to spend a few minutes spewing praise for it.

    This game is really fun to play; it might not seem like that because it's pretty much 99% reading with no fast-paced combat or any combat at all, but the writing makes hours of playing in one sitting a really easy thing to do (even for me, who prefers mindlessly killing enemies in games to reading). The art style is beautiful, all the character portraits and the environment are straight up eye candies. The different side quests are also interesting because even the miscellaneous characters are entertaining to interact with. I also love how the skills you have also affect the narrative and how it's written, making you want to replay with different type of cops. The different themes in the game are well-tackled and the game balance them incredibly well with a great ratio of serious and more lighthearted moments. Despite the serious and dark themes that are ever present in the game, it didn't feel overwhelming for me who generally prefers lighter themes. Regarding the skill checks, this game makes failing them not really punishing. There are definitely times when you want to succeed on the checks, while if you fail there's a chance that you can die. So, I'm not saying that failing checks won't affect you in any way. But sometimes failing checks are just so entertaining and funny that you won't want to succeed.

    While there are a lot of other things to say i just wanna finish with:

    I love Kim Kitsuragi

    literally one of my favorite characters in any game ever. And although there are lots of factors that make me love this game, he is definitely a big one. To me great characters really make a good story and Kim made a big impression on me.

    This review is all over the place and not well organized but it is from my heart (cringey, i know). I honestly write this because I just want to share some love on this game that has become one of my favorite games of all time.
    Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2019
    10
    This game shot from "what the heck is this and why should I care?" to "This is one of the best examples of games as art" within an hour. ItThis game shot from "what the heck is this and why should I care?" to "This is one of the best examples of games as art" within an hour. It went from there to "This is one of my favorite games ever," within 10.
    A true triumph of risks, polish, and care, that in my opinion stands as one of the best of the decade.
    That said, it's not for everyone. Its dialog can be a bit abstract, and there's certainly a LOT of reading. I can see why there are people who wouldn't like it.
    I just really, really do.
    Expand
  4. 4y4
    Feb 25, 2020
    9
    Great game! I have had many funny moments playing this game. Watch some gameplay on YouTube before buying it so you will know if it's for you.
  5. Oct 27, 2019
    9
    I think it's dark and it looks like it's rain, you said
    And the wind is blowing like it's the end of the world, you said
    And it's so cold,
    I think it's dark and it looks like it's rain, you said
    And the wind is blowing like it's the end of the world, you said
    And it's so cold, it's like the cold if you were dead
    And you smiled for a second
    I think I'm old and I'm feeling pain, you said
    And it's all running out like it's the end of the world, you said
    And it's so cold, it's like the cold if you were dead
    And you smiled for a second
    Sometimes you make me feel
    Like I'm living at the edge of the world
    Like I'm living at the edge of the world
    It's just the way I smile, you said

    Writing 10/10. Graphics 8/10. Interfacing 5/10. Inland Empire 11/10. Shivers 11/10.
    Expand
  6. Jan 24, 2020
    7
    There are a lot of lovely innovations in this game: dialogue trees with inanimate objects, conflicting personality traits arguing within you,There are a lot of lovely innovations in this game: dialogue trees with inanimate objects, conflicting personality traits arguing within you, internalizing thoughts and developing your character's philosophy, legitimately thought-provoking ideas, and some very psychedelic artwork. But, the total experience is less than it should be. The descriptions in the long list of philosophical ideas and the 24 different skills make for fun reading, but in gameplay terms they wrote more ideas than they could implement. What's the difference between putting skill points into Inland Empire, Shivers, and Half-Light...beats me? How does your political identity as a fascist/communist/nationalist change how you solve a murder case? Like so many games based on choices, the story channels you into choke-points where your decisions have discrete but not-very-important effects. Whether you rant about the evils of corporatism or the superiority of the lactose intolerant races, other characters just seem mildly amused or confused by you, and they seem very unaffected by whatever things you say.

    Disco Elysium feels like it is stuck in the wrong medium. It feels like a really great novel that is stuck trying to fill in all the boring bits in-between scenes. Wandering the landscape of Revachol leads to a few fun encounters, but mostly you're clicking on boxes and just finding loose change. I would love to see this game's razor wit applied to a book or film, where it could really shine. But as a game, it felt like a lot of setups and payoffs that didn't really advance the story.
    Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2021
    0
    I was bored...yes, yes.. I've played everything...so, what is this? Looks weird... not my style game...but what the heck...let's try it. Wow!I was bored...yes, yes.. I've played everything...so, what is this? Looks weird... not my style game...but what the heck...let's try it. Wow! It was so haunting and the story captivated me (and my HDAD usually finds me skipping over). The sound track was amazing...ala Blade Runner. The sound track alone had me coming back to play. So isolating, so dark...yet so funny too. I very much recommend this game...even if its not your style game. Expand

See all 280 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2019

    The Best Videogames of 2019 Image
    Published: January 3, 2020
    We reveal the best games released for each platform in 2019, as well as our overall game of the year.