User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 159
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KrisD
    Jan 17, 2010
    8
    right now this game deserves a number between 7-8. You can tell it's developed by a small studio and i agree with some of the flaws. While dungeons and indoor area's generally look pretty good, the graphics outside are pretty dated. This bothered me a little at first, but the world is so detailed and fun to explore, that i quickly started to look past it. So graphics aren't right now this game deserves a number between 7-8. You can tell it's developed by a small studio and i agree with some of the flaws. While dungeons and indoor area's generally look pretty good, the graphics outside are pretty dated. This bothered me a little at first, but the world is so detailed and fun to explore, that i quickly started to look past it. So graphics aren't great, but they do the job well enough. The music, like with all divinty games is excellent! Combat wasn't very convincing to me at first, but i grew into it. he game is challenging, fast and thanks to the wide selection of skills it's still pretty enjoyable. The world isn't very huge, but it's big enough and there's tons of stuff, items, gear, sidequests and dungeons to explore. The game does this very well. And it has some very cool stuff like dragon flying and having your own battle tower. hmm, i didnt mean to start writing a whole review actually :) In short, if you can look past the technical flaws (mind you, i find the game still pretty polished), there's really a lot of fun to be had. Otherwise i'd have given this game a 9. If you're a fan of action rpg's you really should check this out. finally, i don't want to preach, but don't leech games from small devs like this. buy it if you like the game! We don't want another iron lore, troika or ascaron on our hands. Expand
  2. LadyBlackness
    Jan 4, 2010
    8
    Excellent entertainment. Addictive as well as challenging I agree that every RPG fan should have this one in their collection!
  3. jhonC
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    Great game! I had a lot of fun with it! Some people I know did have technical problems with it but it worked as a charm for me. Buy it, play it, love it!!
  4. Macca
    Jan 11, 2010
    8
    Having just finished Dragon Age Origins I felt a need for some more RPG magic, and having played the demo of this before Christmas I decided to give this one some attention. Graphically, DAO it isn't but even DAO wasn't amazing in this category. Whilst the appearance is enough to immerse you but has issues with tearing that forcing Vsync on does nothing. Playing around with the Having just finished Dragon Age Origins I felt a need for some more RPG magic, and having played the demo of this before Christmas I decided to give this one some attention. Graphically, DAO it isn't but even DAO wasn't amazing in this category. Whilst the appearance is enough to immerse you but has issues with tearing that forcing Vsync on does nothing. Playing around with the game's graphical settings can reduce this to a level where it is less annoying, but I don't see screen tearing acceptable on my PC which is more than efficient to run this. So, it loses a point for that. One of the game's biggest highlights so far for me is the humour and the voice acting. Some of the conversations and mindreads will make you laugh, and even the music will give you the odd chuckle. The quests are many and enjoyable, and can be completed in various ways so as to keep you thinking, and always adds to replay value. So where does it lose it's 2nd point? Well as pointed out by another reviewer, it is the combat. I have only played 5-6 hours but that is enough to at least give a review on the games' combat system. It does leave you a little underwhelmed having come from a game such as Dragon Age, but it is not fair to compare as this game is far more twitch based, a little like The Witcher without the combos. If you retrospectively consider this combat system you can allow it's shallow feeling, because in the end, it's not like games such as Diablo 1+2 or similar action/RPG games were any more involved than this one. So, it loses a point here, but in a good way. I am yet to witness the Dragon combat, and I know this is a large part of the game later, so if that is good then i'd give this a 9, if it isn't then it's a 7. But for now I'm satisfied that I have invested in a game that will keep me engrossed for the next few weeks. Expand
  5. RubertJ
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    I really loved this game! The action is fantastic and the quests have so many possibilities. It's amazing how much time went into detail. But I must agree the ending is very bad and a cliffhanger but can't wait for the next part! Also the fact that you can create your own creature to summon whenever you need him. Not to forget the awesome feeling wen you fly as a dragon. I just I really loved this game! The action is fantastic and the quests have so many possibilities. It's amazing how much time went into detail. But I must agree the ending is very bad and a cliffhanger but can't wait for the next part! Also the fact that you can create your own creature to summon whenever you need him. Not to forget the awesome feeling wen you fly as a dragon. I just really enjoyed this game, I hope every RPG fan goes out to buy this one it's really worth your time!! Expand
  6. ColbyA.
    Sep 4, 2009
    8
    Great RPG. Great Story. Great Gameplay. Absolutely awful ending. I can't say much, because I don't want to spoil the ending, but it really was the worse ending I've ever seen in a game. You get two unique items RIGHT before the game ends - literally, you get the items, BAM - cutscene, credits. The ending is totally anti-climactic too, and totally disappointing. It's a Great RPG. Great Story. Great Gameplay. Absolutely awful ending. I can't say much, because I don't want to spoil the ending, but it really was the worse ending I've ever seen in a game. You get two unique items RIGHT before the game ends - literally, you get the items, BAM - cutscene, credits. The ending is totally anti-climactic too, and totally disappointing. It's a cliffhanger. The ending is just so bad it docked one whole point from my rating, and it's all I can talk about. The rest of the game was solid, albeit somewhat tedious to do all the sidequests (but then, I'm a completionist), and the physics could have used some work. But it was a good game. EXCEPT FOR THIS CRAPPY ENDING. I spent 5 days playing this, and the ending just... Augh! Expand
  7. jonasvb
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    It's one of the best action-rpg games i ever played. the game has a nice atmosphere and plays realy smooth. the quest are fun to do and the grafics are realy nice.
  8. LevP
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    Great game, I like it more than Dargon Age
  9. DragashT
    Nov 26, 2009
    8
    Very decent RPG. It is not perfect but Larian studios got right idea and hopefully next sequel will be more polished in certain areas. Divinity 2 is 3rd person RPG game with very fluid action and combat orientation. Really refreshing game for any RPG lover, a must have.
  10. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    This is a good game at worst it has great graphics interesting voice acting and is quite humorous at times in speech choices although being cut off from an easier option and not being able to go back is really annoying. But overall being a dragon is fun and whilst the spells that you can cast are limited in effect it is still a well balanced game.
  11. And
    Jan 3, 2012
    8
    Honestly? If you like RPGs you will love this, if you don't like RPGs you won't.

    There is no hand holding in this game, it is hard and the enemies will beat you in to a pulp if you end up in the wrong place at the wrong time, the puzzles for extra loot are quite challenging as well as requiring a lot of ingenuity from the player's part. If you don't mind the difficulty and the non linear
    Honestly? If you like RPGs you will love this, if you don't like RPGs you won't.

    There is no hand holding in this game, it is hard and the enemies will beat you in to a pulp if you end up in the wrong place at the wrong time, the puzzles for extra loot are quite challenging as well as requiring a lot of ingenuity from the player's part.

    If you don't mind the difficulty and the non linear nature of the game (you aren't really being led from place to place, you are free, and even encouraged, to explore and level up before tackling the main missions) you will find that divinity 2 (the remastered edition) is a really, really fun game that will just suck you in.

    Yes it has flaws, the graphics are pretty but simplistic, the combat is somewhat clunky and at times non responsive and physics are occasionally defied but over all it is a highly enjoyable game worth your time if you are in to RPGs, and this is the key sentence.

    If you are new to the RPG genre you will find a lot of things confusing in this game and you most likely won't be able to overlook the flaws of the game but if you can get past that, if you can actually enjoy the game and the world it is set in you will have a blast with it.
    Expand
  12. SolarC.
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    A total surprise for me !! I was waiting for Dragon Age to come out, so I bought this game while waiting and it was a very agreeable surprise : funny original quests, dynamic combat with some quite decent graphics. A pity the gameplay somtimes seems to be unbalanced (sometimes a bit too easy), but this game was really worth my money :)
  13. JonathanD.
    Jan 4, 2010
    5
    I have about 20 hours played with this title. I came into it with absolutely no expectations. I never read a review or anything and up untill I saw it on the shelf in the store, I never knew it existed. So this is a stone cold review from a baseline of zero. This is also for the console port on the 360 rather than the PC version. Graphics were to as expected for a title of this generation I have about 20 hours played with this title. I came into it with absolutely no expectations. I never read a review or anything and up untill I saw it on the shelf in the store, I never knew it existed. So this is a stone cold review from a baseline of zero. This is also for the console port on the 360 rather than the PC version. Graphics were to as expected for a title of this generation of console. A liberal use of light and shadow along with various shadings of light to set certain moods. Example would be that while exploring a cave certain fungus put off phosforescent light but of a purple hue. And it shades everything around it. Honestly I enjoyed the graphics and felt the paper doll representing the player character, scenery, and the monsters to be as well done as I have seen. It is beautifully rendered on my 56" HD TV. The background music is just that. It stays in the background, changes in certain areas to help create moods of tension when combat is immenent. It gives a folk like environment when near a farm. It does all this without you noticing which is what background sound is supposed to do. Very professional job. Voice acting couldn't benifited from a few more different voices instead of one or two guys changing the way they talked so they could be "voice #2". Its not a game breaker. Only a mild annoyance. The controls were very fluid allthough when turning the camera and rolling during combat there was some chugging on the framerate and skips did occur. It was mild but noticable. And while not a game breaker, it is the one thing that keeps me from saying everythnig moves fluidly which it doesn't. That would be a lie. Spell effects are colorfull and varied enough to not appear to be the same animation again and again but in a different color. It works for this title. Character building is very unique in its flexibiliy and how varied. Some skills are for show as they are worthless to gameplay and some have serious balance issues. I won't name them because I don't want to spoil someone's game. But there are certainly some borderline balance issues. Combat is very simple. Its a button masher with jumping and rolling for defense. You have a limited tactical ability in using landscape as cover. Line of sight for mobs can be used to easily break up large quantities of enemies into smaller more easily digested singles. Meaning when you are close enough for the name to appear, mobs notice you unless you are sneaking. If two mobs are close enough then two will notice you and the others around them will ignore. Personally I found the combat to be unentertaining and just plain bad. There is no reward. You do not win because you are a jumping, rolling, dodging machine. You win because your level is the correct number. If you are too low then spells won't work and the enemy cut through you like butter. There is nothing you can do. If you are the same level it isn't even a challenge. If you are higher level then they basically can't hurt you. You basically monitor your health bar, hit the hot key button for a potion from time to time and mash a button. There are few real tactical advantages to be had by playing well. There is no playing well. You are either of the appropriate level to be there doing that and you will succeed or you won't and you will die. The saved game system is broken so when you die.....and you will die....you have to reload. You don't respawn at a nearby checkpoint. When you reload you may or may not be clear on the other side of the world where you previously saved the other night because the way this game overwrites saves doesn't "over write" everything and keeps things from previous saves.....which can sometimes kill your game and cause you to start completely over from scratch after putting in 12 hours of gameplay. Let me tell you how happy that made me feel. I have found that when you go to save that if you don't over write and instead delete old saved game and then save a "new" one, the saved game glitches are eliminated. So at least there is a work around. Otherwise this game isn't playable unless you never die, and play straight through till the end without stopping for a break. The story is poorly concieved and the player is left wondering what is going on and who the heck that was who talked to him. You get the general idea that certain people are bad and are in need of killing. So you go kill them. You don't get to play as a dragon untill you are around level 18 or so. And the content for the "dragon" is very structered to the point where it just seeme like a cool way to get from point A to point B alot faster and along the way you get to play a mini game of shoot the bugs down. This game offers so much. Oh you get to play a dragon. Oh you get an undead servant which helps out in battle and is customizable by what body parts you collect. You have guys who abstractly go out and collect alchemy componants and based on how you equip them effects their success, time spent collecting, and if they have to be healed. You have an upgradable war tower you use which has a real effects in the game depending on if you upgrade the various platforms. There are so many cool ideas and concepts about this game that you would think it should be great. It just isn't. They were great ideas poorly implemented in some cases and not finished in others. I think that is what this game suffers from. It was released before it was done. From quest NPCs dissappearing randomly, to broken quests that you can't finish, to the game killing save bug. So if it sucks so bad then why give it a 5? Its all about perspective. When I go out and spend 50-60 dollars American on a CONSOLE title, I am supposed to be buying a finished product. This was not a finished product nor was it tested. The game wasn't a complete failure. It definatly passed the look test but not much more than that. I would suggest to people to not buy this game. Rent it. Borrow it and play it first. If you can have fun with it then evaluate the flaws on your own terms and decide. This is a game that sounds good on paper but doesn't deliver so don't be fooled. Expand
  14. Mugros-
    Nov 4, 2009
    5
    For RPG fans, not more. Everyone is talking about the good quests, the fine role-playing. Somehow everyone seems to forget the shortcomings: - extreme stuttering of the graphics. With some tweaks it is better but not gone and it is very annoying. Yes, my machine is fast enough. - Awful, awful interface. It's ugly, it's slow, everything seems to take more clicks than it should, For RPG fans, not more. Everyone is talking about the good quests, the fine role-playing. Somehow everyone seems to forget the shortcomings: - extreme stuttering of the graphics. With some tweaks it is better but not gone and it is very annoying. Yes, my machine is fast enough. - Awful, awful interface. It's ugly, it's slow, everything seems to take more clicks than it should, e.g. read a book, then you are transferred to a different inventory page. - Looting is no fun. trying to access all boxes or barrels is tiresome. The control is bad, i tried to jump from a box to a higher one and most of the time i glided from the upper box like it was covered in slime. Even if there is a nice RPG in there, it is no fun to discover it with the stuttering graphics and the awful interface and controls. Expand
  15. AndrewR
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    This game is what I've been looking for. AWESOME, period. Action-packed third-person against huge monsters dragons goes toe-to-toe with the skin-to-skin combat; Charging a dragon with melee sword in hands, blasting with courage and action combos. Can't forget the adrenaline pumped up when comboing a massive dragon directly unto it, thus win by slaying it physically. Actually I This game is what I've been looking for. AWESOME, period. Action-packed third-person against huge monsters dragons goes toe-to-toe with the skin-to-skin combat; Charging a dragon with melee sword in hands, blasting with courage and action combos. Can't forget the adrenaline pumped up when comboing a massive dragon directly unto it, thus win by slaying it physically. Actually I didn't think it's a RPG. It IS an action beat-em-up combined with stunning, huge areas to explore and interactions. The features to craft Diablo-style random items are fantastic. This game would have great replay value. This is game is simply 'awestorm' to me. Expand
  16. GeorginaM
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    A serious contender for RPG of the year, and definitely the best RPG I've played in a long long time! The dialogs and characters are very well written, there's a lot of humour (can't remember the last time I laughed that much in front of my computer!), and the many choices you get everytime make the game a pure joy from beginning to end. The combat is very dynamic, with a A serious contender for RPG of the year, and definitely the best RPG I've played in a long long time! The dialogs and characters are very well written, there's a lot of humour (can't remember the last time I laughed that much in front of my computer!), and the many choices you get everytime make the game a pure joy from beginning to end. The combat is very dynamic, with a solid strategic depth, customisation is everywhere! The story is epic and a lot more mature than most RPGs, and the balance between serious and funny quests is thoroughly polished. I can't think of any bad thing to say about the game, yes the ending is a little... shocking, but I'm certain the developers have a lot of great ideas left and I will now eagerly for the sequel! Expand
  17. BasD
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Awesome game!! This game should be more into the spotlights rather than other over-hyped games. Anyway, if you are an RPG-lover, you can't miss this one! It has been worth waiting so long for such a gem of an RPG! Thank you Larian Studios!!
  18. AlanC
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    Totally AWESOME...surely, never played something like it! Reminds me a bit of the old days... Too bad what RPG gaming has become, but Larian clearly shows us how it should be done, YEAH! Bit disappointed by the ending though, too sudden and truly lame choice made there. Tell you though...be sure to buy this one!!! It's a definite keep; I've waited too long for something like this!
  19. StevenB
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    Great Game, Great Storyline. Wonderful to fly around as a dragon in such a diverse and rich world.
  20. Bangzz
    Nov 26, 2009
    2
    The first single player RPG ever to implement intercontinental lag! It is very difficult to tell what is going on in a fight - Animations are jerky, visuals are terribly pixelated, rendering is stuttery, the menus have 5-20s of delay on every action no matter what the settings used. Story seems solid, but poor gameplay mechanics (you win by jumping backwards) and worse performance on a The first single player RPG ever to implement intercontinental lag! It is very difficult to tell what is going on in a fight - Animations are jerky, visuals are terribly pixelated, rendering is stuttery, the menus have 5-20s of delay on every action no matter what the settings used. Story seems solid, but poor gameplay mechanics (you win by jumping backwards) and worse performance on a high-end gaming machine (i7, GT280, latest drivers etc) means this game is completely overshadowed by genre titles 5 years older. Expand
  21. Jun 15, 2018
    0
    Worst rpg I've ever played. Graphic is horrid, gameplay is horrid, plot is horrid, and the ending is just a huge letdown. I wonder if they wrote the whole plot in the bathroom while drunk, because it does feel like it.
  22. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This game is sweet. It took me 20 hrs before i even was allowed to turn into a dragon, and then the game just opens up. You think you've seen everything and the games just keeps getting bigger, more complex and interesting. It's a european RPG through and through so if you need hand holding or can't understand the idea of having multiple ways to finish a quest (or even start a quest) andThis game is sweet. It took me 20 hrs before i even was allowed to turn into a dragon, and then the game just opens up. You think you've seen everything and the games just keeps getting bigger, more complex and interesting. It's a european RPG through and through so if you need hand holding or can't understand the idea of having multiple ways to finish a quest (or even start a quest) and proceed through the game then stay well away and don't come here and cry about it. The combat in this game is some of the best for a european RPG i've ever played (i've gone through about 35 hrs now as a warrior spec) and it just flows really nicely. Between your pet, dragon form, lair and the rest of the maps (think of it as having very large zones [larger than STALKER] that you can travel between or directly to with different teleport systems or by simply walking or flying through the levels. It is simply EPIC. I think it is definitely worth a playthrough again as a spellcaster. The game is well balanced but rewards your dedication. Early on for the first couple of hours the combat will be hard until you figure out that you can dodge spellcasters. Expand
  23. May 16, 2011
    9
    This review is for the Dragon Knight Saga (ED+FoV) version available on Steam.
    Whoever complains about the graphics either has them turned all the way down, or needs prescription strength glasses. The graphics are beautiful and well done, and have higher resolution textures than most newer games I've played.
    I've rarely seen an RPG of this calibre - there's a couple clunky encounters, but
    This review is for the Dragon Knight Saga (ED+FoV) version available on Steam.
    Whoever complains about the graphics either has them turned all the way down, or needs prescription strength glasses. The graphics are beautiful and well done, and have higher resolution textures than most newer games I've played.
    I've rarely seen an RPG of this calibre - there's a couple clunky encounters, but the writing quality is significantly superior to many far larger budget games I've played, and there is an element of humor in almost every aspect of the game that doesn't undermine the plot at all. I only wish more games understood the value of good writing.
    The voice acting is also above average, though suffers slightly for having too few distinct voices - honestly, I'd prefer that to having a larger number of distinct yet poorly acted voices.
    The gameplay itself is mixed - melee is definitely somewhat clunky, but ranged combat plays quite well.
    The game is very reliant on quests, but the quests are actually interesting (again, the value of good writing).

    Of the technical issues so many reported, I can only say the vast majority seems to have been fixed now. The only issues I ran into was the graphics engine occasionally needed to be restarted, and once in a great while the game would crash on switching between areas (more so in FoV than ED).

    Overall, whatever faults this game might have had originally, the version that exists today is quite well done minus a handful of poorly designed encounters. It remains one of the only examples of an RPG with good writing I've seen in recent years, and that alone makes it worth buying for any RPG enthusiast in my book.
    Expand
  24. Feb 20, 2011
    7
    I got this along with the Flames of Vengance, and was lost in FoV thought I had better play this first. I give it a 7 for a few different reasons. I con-cure w/another reviewer that the combat (warrior) was difficult at time, as I continously lost sight of my targets. The graphics are also a bit dated, but I still found teh landscape beautiful. Dragon form was awesome! Come on whoI got this along with the Flames of Vengance, and was lost in FoV thought I had better play this first. I give it a 7 for a few different reasons. I con-cure w/another reviewer that the combat (warrior) was difficult at time, as I continously lost sight of my targets. The graphics are also a bit dated, but I still found teh landscape beautiful. Dragon form was awesome! Come on who doesn't like flying. I don't think that this game deserves such a stinker rep. Expand
  25. Jul 27, 2013
    4
    Okay, I bought this game in mind that the first Divinity was a great game. My verdict is Ego Draconis is mediocre, lacking. The one key thing IMO is that the world isn't full enough, enemies don't seem interesting, there aren't many little things laying around which you can read, there's very little lore and such. The next issue is the dragon combat parts, they just take way too longOkay, I bought this game in mind that the first Divinity was a great game. My verdict is Ego Draconis is mediocre, lacking. The one key thing IMO is that the world isn't full enough, enemies don't seem interesting, there aren't many little things laying around which you can read, there's very little lore and such. The next issue is the dragon combat parts, they just take way too long because it's so simplistic, you have a very small number of abilities whereas there are a lot of turrets to take down considering you have to defeat dragons first. Enemy dragons respawn but the problem is that there is a whole bunch of them. Next is the font...the numbers which pop up when you deal damage, the numbers in your stats screen...it's horrible. Larian simply didn't have the budget/experience for this game which is a shame since they're a talented bunch. Ego Draconis is not memorable but I was happy to support Larian. Expand
  26. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story is very interesting and will keep you involved. The combat is a lot of fun and I enjoy the various moves you can perform. The character is well animated even the way they flip off the top of ladders. Becoming a dragon is a nice touch that can't be ignored. Expand
  27. May 13, 2012
    8
    Been playing this game for a few weeks now and her goes my review. Graphic: 9 The Graphic is dark age mostly, but there are light areas in the game, but as always in my book, graphic is the last thing on the list to a good game. I would not recommend playing this game on a 32" as I do, but it works okay. Sound: 8 The sound is actually good, but some places you get tired of what I callBeen playing this game for a few weeks now and her goes my review. Graphic: 9 The Graphic is dark age mostly, but there are light areas in the game, but as always in my book, graphic is the last thing on the list to a good game. I would not recommend playing this game on a 32" as I do, but it works okay. Sound: 8 The sound is actually good, but some places you get tired of what I call small sound bugs. Like tumbling sounds of a keg rolling, which keeps repeating it self. It gets really annoying. Gameplay: 8 I almost gave this one a 9, but there are just things which makes the gameplay a little heavy. Though in general I will say that the whole setting of the game, the UI and the little funnies are what makes this game worth playing. I love the little puzzles of the game and the, sometimes lame, references to books, TV and other small enjoyments of life. The mindreading part is great and really makes the game different. I also love the little videos in your skill menu where you are shown how the skill you are looking at works. And all the funny characters you meet. So if you really want a game which steals away time and feels larger than it is. Then you should go with this one. For my overall review I could give the game 9/10, but my gut tells me to give it 8. The sound bug thing is actually my biggest hates for this game and even then I would totally recommend it. My official score is 8, but for you deep RPG lovers out there, you should take it as a 9 and go buy the game. Oh and it does run fine on Win7 64bits Home Edition Expand
  28. Dec 24, 2014
    3
    I love rpgs, from baldurs gate to skyrim to dark souls. This game has serious flaws, the combat is dull, the variety of enemies mean nothing, just the same kind of archer, melee, magic users skinned for different races.

    The quests feel utterly unentertaining the story bland and I just can't see any redeeming features of it.
  29. Mar 23, 2021
    6
    I am divided here as I want to sing the games praise despite the flaws as it ended as some of the best (= positive) disappointments in videogames for me. To spare you trouble I would recommend playing “The Dragon Knight Saga” as this games story is not resolved and was continued in the expansions “Flames of Vengeance” which is added in this. It is an action RPG set in the world ofI am divided here as I want to sing the games praise despite the flaws as it ended as some of the best (= positive) disappointments in videogames for me. To spare you trouble I would recommend playing “The Dragon Knight Saga” as this games story is not resolved and was continued in the expansions “Flames of Vengeance” which is added in this. It is an action RPG set in the world of Rivellon. It has the uniqueness that SMALL SPOILER WARNING (If the title did not already spoil it for you) you can transform into a dragon approx halfway through the game. This puts the focus on aerial combat and exploration in 3 dimensions END OF SMALL SPOILER. The story starts with your avatar / playercharacter as newest member of the Dragon Slayers who will face the introduction ritual that gives him/her the unique abilities and will start the first hunt with his seniors. However some unexpected twist will occur and change the faith of your character and Rivellon. Gameplay wise it is an action RPG but not with focus on evading or blocking via button pressing. You chose freely between the standard classes mage, ranger, warrior or priest as you can learn or upgrade abilities freely only restricted by the needed character level. Some are quite devastating like the explosive arrows for rangers (a weak class without it) or more specifically the magic spells magic missile or magic blast. Be warned it is old school. With this I mean not just following quest markers to your targets. You have to do it the hard way and also the world is mostly open for you to explore (= You can run into enemy groups at much higher level that wipe the floor with you). The rest is good standard as there is an enhancement and alchemy system for you to use which at the end gets some amazing results (Disenchant equipment with good enhancement to make the spell available). Bonus points for some good puzles and riddles. Another unique thing is that you find sometimes part of creatures which have a use and will support you immensely. Later in the game you can upgrade something to get even more options. Other positives are the mind reading options in conversations (For the price of experience points you can get additional info's or something that might be even better), quest can be solved sometimes in different ways and some good writing with humor. So far and good and it sounds like we are on the 9-10/10. However there are some mayor and minor weaknesses I already announced above. The game freezes often when I exited a room which happen a lot (stopped counting at 12 times) but nearly never in the second half of the game and also once during quick travel. I encountered twice invulnerable enemies (Standard enemies / not story or quest related). There are hard difficulty spikes in the game. Firstly in the first actual map Broken Valley. You have hard times between level 5 and 10 and secondly after you can explore the Orbas Fjords around level 18 up to level 23 (Remark: I played a ranger / archer which suck at the beginning but it is also valid to some extend for other characters). This was more running the gauntlet than fun but also a somehow enjoyable challenge. The final dungeon is a plague. I died faster than I could react and had to puzzle things out. The controls are not that great with keyboard and mouse in the parts you need precise jumps. Finally the conclusion is a disappointment and will lessen the rating. Like already mentioned get “The Dragon Knight Saga” for the whole experience. This might be the make or break point for some. I have mixed feelings here. I think I give some advice: Always use experience as additional quest reward as money is no problem (max level for me was 34 but I have read things from 32 to 37 if you exploit some things). A summoned creature helps in dividing enemy attention. Would not waste much skill except for the demon you can get at level 20 as you have another option it you get 4 parts and a necromancer (possible in Broken Valley). You can use cheap tricks like attacking from higher (unreachable) ground (If positioned correctly arrows and spells will hardly hit you). Alternatively you can attack from afar, run away as you are faster than the enemies and attack from afar again (Rinse and repeat). Enhancements are firstly weak but will become really potent or useful. You can use potions from the menu (no short delay). Lastly just level up as there seems to be a system that helps too (My status increases were often not enough to explain why I could deal a bit easier with enemies). Back to the review: Presentation wise the game looks good and I was surprised how well it ages. The soundtrack was sometimes fantastic enough that I wanted to get the tracks. Overall this is a devisive game for me. If has parts that are excellent and other parts that I hate. A good but disappointing experience will be my conclusion. Expand
  30. Dec 23, 2018
    4
    I'm really surprised, I played the game after I had played Divinity Original Sin I and II and what hit me was the incoherent plot, overly weird world, quite frankly not many things work in this game. After some time I just got a headache and didn't manage or wanted to complete it.
  31. Mar 28, 2017
    3
    Le jeu est assez joli ma foi mais très exigeant aussi : on se retrouve à tout enlever pour avoir un rafraîchissement correct, ce qui le rend nettement moins joli... La maniabilité est bizarre et fait penser à un hack & slash mal branlé tandis que le monde ultra-générique et benêt est peu motivant. Si la VF est de bonne qualité, pourquoi toujours montrer le texte des dialogues simultanémentLe jeu est assez joli ma foi mais très exigeant aussi : on se retrouve à tout enlever pour avoir un rafraîchissement correct, ce qui le rend nettement moins joli... La maniabilité est bizarre et fait penser à un hack & slash mal branlé tandis que le monde ultra-générique et benêt est peu motivant. Si la VF est de bonne qualité, pourquoi toujours montrer le texte des dialogues simultanément ? ça brise l'immersion. Enfin, la difficulté mal gérée, l'équilibrage indigne d'un jeu de rôle et le manque de finition patent ôtent toute vélléité de poursuivre une aventure bien fade au demeurant. Expand
  32. Jun 17, 2020
    10
    One of the best games I've played. Great and thrilling story line that captured me through more than 100 hours (both the main game and the DLC). The mission and the variety of how to solve those missions and the uniqueness of each one sets it apart from your normal mission games. The story line is so good that it sucks you into that world it is creating and the the music is so good that itOne of the best games I've played. Great and thrilling story line that captured me through more than 100 hours (both the main game and the DLC). The mission and the variety of how to solve those missions and the uniqueness of each one sets it apart from your normal mission games. The story line is so good that it sucks you into that world it is creating and the the music is so good that it is suiting for each situation.
    Control, coming after playing Divine Divinity/Beyond Divinity and Divinity:Original Sin, I needed some time to adjust (I adjusted after around 20 hours of playing). but after that, i got through the game, maybe using a keyboard was not helping as much as well.

    A must play game...
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. It's not a perfect game, but the surprise of the year: A lot of great gameplay, lots of fresh ideas and a lot of fun. You may like some things more than others, but where else can you annoy a dragon again and again by shouting the name of his nemesis?
  2. Larian Studios have managed to create good quests that make fun because of all the odd characters and the great self-depreciating humor. But at the same time the game lacks comfort, so that the player has to have a lot of patience in order to see the end.
  3. Divinity II - Ego Draconis is definitely a very solid roleplaying game, which is unfortunately lacking at some points. For roleplaying fans nevertheless a must have.