Doki Doki Literature Club! Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 544 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hi, Monika here!

    Welcome to the Literature Club! It's always been a dream of mine to make something special out of the things I love. Now that you're a club member, you can help me make that dream come true in this cute game! Every day is full of chit-chat and fun activities with all of my
    Hi, Monika here!

    Welcome to the Literature Club! It's always been a dream of mine to make something special out of the things I love. Now that you're a club member, you can help me make that dream come true in this cute game!

    Every day is full of chit-chat and fun activities with all of my adorable and unique club members:

    Sayori, the youthful bundle of sunshine who values happiness the most;
    Natsuki, the deceivingly cute girl who packs an assertive punch;
    Yuri, the timid and mysterious one who finds comfort in the world of books;
    ...And, of course, Monika, the leader of the club! That's me!

    I'm super excited for you to make friends with everyone and help the Literature Club become a more intimate place for all my members. But I can tell already that you're a sweetheartwill you promise to spend the most time with me?
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 2, 2018
    90
    Funny, sad, and with the sharpest teeth, Doki Doki Literature Club is one of the most pleasant surprises of 2017.
  2. Oct 24, 2017
    90
    Doki Doki Literature Club! is totally free and one of the best visual novel ever made.
  3. Jan 21, 2018
    87
    Doki Doki Literature Club is a visual novella that masterfully manages to creep up on you, shatter the 4th wall with a sledgehammer and land it on your unsuspecting face.
  4. Feb 14, 2018
    85
    Doki Doki Literature Club is a mind boggling and hard hitting horror game that takes tried and tested formulas of both visual novels and dating sims and turns them on their heads. The themes and story pack a punch, and stayed with me long after I had finished playing. It may require commitment from some to get through but the reward for those who stick it is more than worth it
  5. Jan 19, 2018
    80
    The first hour or so are intentionally insufferable. Some of the best horror takes its time establishing what’s normal, because it has to show you what it’s going to break. Without normal, you wouldn’t know what’s weird. Without real, you wouldn’t know what’s surreal. Without victims, you wouldn’t know what’s monstrous. Without the anime dating sim, you wouldn’t know Doki Doki Literature Club.
  6. Jan 15, 2018
    70
    This game is an interesting one which presents as a common "visual novel" game but in the end presents a totally different approach as the game progress. In the end it feels very mixed with some aspects where the game done well but in other ones it doesn't.
  7. CD-Action
    Feb 8, 2018
    55
    A horror game disguised as a dating sim. First couple of hours are boring and written poorly to the degree of being hard to digest for me, then things get better, but the story is still shallow and the substance plays second fiddle to the form. [01/2018, p.61]
Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 148
  1. Nov 11, 2017
    10
    Maybe I shouldn’t give this game a 10/10. I mean, it’s a virtual novel-dating simulator. What about that warrants the praise of a masterpiece?Maybe I shouldn’t give this game a 10/10. I mean, it’s a virtual novel-dating simulator. What about that warrants the praise of a masterpiece?

    Well. That is not something I am willing to discuss in this review. I don’t even wanna say anything about this game. Just experience it for yourself (not really a review if you don’t talk about the game, I know, but please trust me on this one, ok?).

    What I will say though, is that it’s free on steam and is one of the biggest surprises of the year for me. It’s characters, music, graphics, plot—you might be surprised at just how fantastic it all is.
    Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2018
    10
    A free visual novel that should be played with as little information as possible. If you are not into this genre (like me), try this one outA free visual novel that should be played with as little information as possible. If you are not into this genre (like me), try this one out as it gets much more interesting the more you read. Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very good game. This game gives you the feeling of "this game is amazing". 10/10 Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2021
    9
    You will have to read a lot in this indie Anime masterpiece!

    If you are looking for an emotional roller coaster this is just what you was
    You will have to read a lot in this indie Anime masterpiece!

    If you are looking for an emotional roller coaster this is just what you was looking for!

    The game will trick you on multiple occasions. At the beginning you’ll learn the basics of the characters and later you will discover a ton more thrilling details.

    DDLC has one of the best soundtracks which I’ve ever witnessed, it is simple but great. It changing from scene to scene. So keep the music on ;)

    It’s not that time consuming but while playing you’ll get lost in time, it’s very enveloping (just make sure to save the game so that you won’t lose any progress).

    And an advice: check your game files after the twist and afterwards, read the notes.
    Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2017
    9
    Its been awhile since i had so much fun in VN series.

    Story : its about MC meet 4 grill and he decide to join his childhood friend club
    Its been awhile since i had so much fun in VN series.

    Story : its about MC meet 4 grill and he decide to join his childhood friend club
    Animation : even if the game is free, without a doubt the animation is nice UNTIL **** HAPPENS.

    I know VN isn't a type of a game everyone can enjoy, but as a VN, this game could be 1 of the best.

    Spoiler : the 4th wall in this series is pretty deep.
    Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2019
    8
    It's genuinely creepy, disturbing and weird. Since that's what Dan Salvato was going for, that's a good thing.
  7. Nov 9, 2018
    0
    De lo peor que he leido. Absurdo e incoherente. No entiendo la puntuación media. Desde luego, la gente ha leido muy pocos libros...

See all 148 User Reviews