Domina Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Acquire, train, upgrade, and whip your brutish gladiators towards bloody victory in the ruthless arenas of ancient Rome.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 15, 2017
    80
    An interesting take on the management/strategic genre with a lot of potential for streaming entertainment.
  2. 80
    Domina frustrated me beyond belief, but in the best way. I thought I had planned a match out to perfection, got slaughtered, but loved every minute of it. I only wish there was more to the game, as restarting again at square one became a little tedious after a while. Despite that, I will still revisit it time and again for a quick fix of blood and profanity.
  3. May 9, 2017
    73
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Jul 19, 2017
    60
    Domina is so indolent that some might describe as a bad game. I don’t necessarily disagree. You might as well watch Spartacus on Starz. The graphics are probably better. The thrills of occasional action are probably more elaborate. But when it comes to RPing a lazy Roman noble who can barely be arsed to lift his arm high enough to give the wrist enough play for a dismissive flick, there’s nothing better than lolling around in the shade with Domina.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. It has quite a few moving parts, but each part is very simple. It really is oddly similar to one of those keep-clicking-the-numbers games, but pinned with a more meaningful structure and shallow but engagingly frantic combat.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jan 30, 2019
    9
    Roman Hotline Miami!
    Great idea and implementation, beautiful graphics, captivating gameplay and chic music, just like in Hotline Miyami!
    I
    Roman Hotline Miami!
    Great idea and implementation, beautiful graphics, captivating gameplay and chic music, just like in Hotline Miyami!
    I recommend!
    Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2017
    8
    Its a solid strong simluation which is really easy to learn but hard to master and I realy like it. Thing is, most people hate the lack of aIts a solid strong simluation which is really easy to learn but hard to master and I realy like it. Thing is, most people hate the lack of a save function, but give it a chance: its only 2 hours playtime:

    What you do: you are the "manager" of a ludus, the place where gladiators are trained. you have only one year time to prepare for the big final fights, to be accepted for them you have to beat several heroes called champions.

    the tough thing is the multiple micro management and the handling of the ressources - like in all sims.

    It has a great soundtrack, does never lag or crash, the fights are always exciting - and yes you can control a fighter as soon as you have learned it.

    A hard rougle like simulation game with more depth as it looks like in the first second!

    Worth it if you like indie games ;)

    here you find my first look at the game in German:

    https://youtu.be/bJ-OCBWxksg
    Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2019
    8
    Fun little game to play now and then. I think that the game lacks much but I also like the simple concept.
  4. Apr 3, 2017
    7
    Interesting game that is designed for Twitch integration, it can make some runs very fun through its interesting mechanics. So far the gameInteresting game that is designed for Twitch integration, it can make some runs very fun through its interesting mechanics. So far the game has balancing problems and the last fight is almost impossible to beat but this game might have a bright future if further developed. It's also pretty cheap, making it ideal for streamers and group of friends to try. Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2017
    5
    Bought this game due to relatively good reviews and cheap price. It seemed like a bit of squad and base building mixed with some nice visceralBought this game due to relatively good reviews and cheap price. It seemed like a bit of squad and base building mixed with some nice visceral combat. Whilst this is true, I found the game lacking in any of the elements that make other games of the same type fun or interesting.

    You build up a squad of fighters and you can make improvements to your base but it rarely feels like it's important to the results of your fights. Sometimes you feel like you're going to be soundly beaten and then your underpowered guy manages to somehow win. In others you feel it should be a simple fight and then you get decimated. The fights are too short and messy to be able to appreciate them properly, and even worse, unlike Darkest Dungeon or XCOM (more expensive games TBF) when you actually lose a squad member or upgrade them, you rarely care as the characters are never fleshed out. If you actually try to rename them to make them more personal then the game actually punishes you with weakened morale.

    Overall a thoroughly bland and bang-average effort, albeit with pretty good music.
    Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2018
    0
    Super boring and super cluncky control.
    Not worth both your time and your money.
    Micosoft's Minesweeper is a lot more entertaining than this
    Super boring and super cluncky control.
    Not worth both your time and your money.
    Micosoft's Minesweeper is a lot more entertaining than this garbage.
    Expand