DOOM Eternal Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5443 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DOOM Eternal is the direct sequel to 2016's DOOM. Developed by id Software, DOOM Eternal delivers the ultimate combination of speed and power, along with the next leap in push-forward, first-person combat. As the DOOM Slayer, you’ll return to take your vengeance against the forces of Hell.DOOM Eternal is the direct sequel to 2016's DOOM. Developed by id Software, DOOM Eternal delivers the ultimate combination of speed and power, along with the next leap in push-forward, first-person combat. As the DOOM Slayer, you’ll return to take your vengeance against the forces of Hell. Set to an all-new pulse-pounding soundtrack composed by Mick Gordon, you fight across dimensions as you slay new and classic demons with powerful new weapons and abilities. [Bethesda] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
First 25 Minutes of Doom Eternal Gameplay
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Mar 22, 2020
    100
    The result is a dozen levels that span an incredibly diverse range of locations that eclipse everything you can see in DOOM (2016) in just the first couple hours. Double jump, dash, and wall climbing create the opportunity for platforming puzzles and sprawling worlds that the developers have maximized to their full potential.
  2. Mar 27, 2020
    95
    If you loved DOOM 2016 I think you’re are going to love DOOM Eternal. It takes the best parts of 2016 and somehow finds a way to improve on them. Throw in some amazing easter eggs, new enemy types, movement mechanics and level design and you have a formula for amazing. Sure it’ll take a level or so to figure out this new combat rhythm but once you find it, you’ll never want to go back.
  3. Mar 17, 2020
    94
    Doom Eternal is a ceaseless, panicked nightmare that pushes you to point and click with more skill and style than ever before.
  4. Mar 17, 2020
    90
    DOOM Eternal is an fast-paced, gory and excellent game. The weapons feel great, the new systems and gadgets make the combat flow even better than the previous game. The levels are bigger and easier to navigate, and when the combat flow hits you nothing is better. Shooting, freezing and blowing up hoards of demons have never been better.
  5. Mar 20, 2020
    90
    Doom Eternal kicks ass. It's smarter than it looks, faster than it looks, and somehow even more fun than it looks. A triumph—except for the platforming.
  6. Mar 17, 2020
    85
    Doom Eternal’s combat encounters are, quite possibly, the best in the genre. Snappy movement, a varied arsenal and executions, alongside a soundtrack that mixes atmospheric synths with pounding drums and devastating downtuned guitars all feed into the game’s trademark frenetic action. There’s unrivaled euphoria in crushing a demon’s head underfoot before moving on to kill hundreds more of his friends in equally brutal ways. Really, the only thing holding Doom Eternal back from reaching its full potential is its platforming which – although improved – take up too much time that could have been spent doing what Doom Eternal does best: letting you shoot the literal Hell out of scores of demons.
  7. Apr 1, 2020
    60
    It can be tedious and exhausting. Its faux angst and exuberance and hellstory can be grating. It’s probably a level or two too long. But in the end, there’s something so lovable about Doom Eternal, so endearingly goofy about the gory glory kills, so affectionate in the way a monster looks at me cross-eyed as I shove a blade up through its chin and out of the top of its skull. The conventional wisdom is that the monsters in this rebooted Doom gameplay are resources, and what I call shortage is just the necessary harvesting of a monster crop. But more to the point, they’re my playmates in this hopped-up jungle gym with its trampolines and swing bars and tunnels. We’re all in this together to make a colorful over-the-top playground with blaring metal music and blazing quick movement and splatter gunplay and chainsawyering. It’s enough to win over even the coldest critical heart.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 25, 2021
    10
    Incredibly fun and huge replay value when it comes to figuring out new moves, combos, and other mechanics. Enjoyed the movement mechanics andIncredibly fun and huge replay value when it comes to figuring out new moves, combos, and other mechanics. Enjoyed the movement mechanics and the huge trial and error moments I faced during the game. You can't just go in making dumb decisions, you have to mentally plan it out and know what you're doing and execute it well. Very enjoyable! Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2020
    10
    Эта игра отдельное удовольствие которое выходило за 2020 год. Я бы сказал что игра просто шедевральна на мой вкус. всем рекомендую к покупке))Эта игра отдельное удовольствие которое выходило за 2020 год. Я бы сказал что игра просто шедевральна на мой вкус. всем рекомендую к покупке))
  3. Jun 10, 2021
    10
    Yes has you can see that pretty intense gameplay cause this game is a FAST-FPS like quake.
    The level design is just incredible and artistic
    Yes has you can see that pretty intense gameplay cause this game is a FAST-FPS like quake.
    The level design is just incredible and artistic direction is breathtaking. For all monster and mobs there is different AI for each one and all of the weapons are so much powerful. The most important for me is the diversification of the gameplay cause all demons have a strength and weakness.
    Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2021
    10
    A lot has already been said on why this game is masterpiece of an action game. This post is for new players and debunking the garbage negativeA lot has already been said on why this game is masterpiece of an action game. This post is for new players and debunking the garbage negative reviews and lies on this site. I've never seen a game have such weak and poor takes against it like Doom Eternal.

    1. Hating on this game for having a more cartoony artstyle really? Doom was never a serious series until Doom 64 and Doom 3. The enemy designs and art style is paying homage to Doom 2 you stupid morons.

    2. Second is the muh low ammo. Yes in the start of the you have a low ammo count. The game is trying to teach you to be more cautious about burning ammo like a brain dead moron and is nudging you to basic weapon switching. The game also is guiding you to target weakpoints of enemies. None of this is mandatory its just the game teaching you this stuff in the start of the game hoping that you learn these lessons later in the game. You can still beat this game on Nightmare spamming 2 of the same guns later on but the start of the game really tries discourage players from doing that because that is objectively a boring stupid way to play. You can also brute weapon switch against enemies and never need to target weakpoints because of the insane damage output you can give to enemies. The game has very high skill gap which is a sign of very well designed combat system something you don't see in most games. Once you upgrade ammo, Praetor Suit points in Explosive Piñatas(get ammo from explosive barrels) and Thicker Skin(damage resistance from barrels) this game floods the player with ammo. So this complaint is obviously from people who never actually played much of this game. Also one Chainsaw pip will always regenerate and levels will always have ammo or fodder zombies around.

    3. The game forces me to play one way. This is a lie. This game actually has soo many different weapon mod combos and playstyles its actually crazy. Doom youtubers like Under the Mayo still is finding new weapon mod combos 1 year after the games launch.

    4. Muh platforming and puzzles. Doom 1 and Doom 2 had platforming and puzzles. Admittedly these games had simple forms of platforms and puzzles due to nature of them being not real 3D games. It wasn't until Quake 1 did id implement vertical platforming. John Cormack and John Romero would have 100% made a level like Nekravol if they had the tech to do it in the 90s. I also don't get it. So do you morons really think walking in a boring corridor for 5 mins is better than more complex jumping puzzles? The platforming is honestly really easy and breeze. The fact that there a people that struggled with it is sad. The purpose of it was to give players a break from the combat(which there is a lot of in this game), allow for more complex level design, and to sharpen the players air maneuverability skills for the large arenas in the game.
    Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2020
    10
    There is no way in hell, (see what I did there) this game is worse than Doom 2016. There is more enemy variety, The levels are large andThere is no way in hell, (see what I did there) this game is worse than Doom 2016. There is more enemy variety, The levels are large and sprawling with demons, the environments are beautiful and more color variety when it comes to the environments too. The enemies weaknesses are very clear to understand and I enjoy quick switching between weapons. This game challenging yet rewarding, Because there is less ammo you have balance all your tools in order to beat this game. The best way to stay alive is too move and keep killing demons, as it should be and and the action only slows down in between fighting arenas and even in between levels there are tough enemies to fight too. I see a lot of people complain about it not having enough ammo. Well that is what the chainsaw is for. the chainsaw has a cool down because you will need it a lot. It seems that the people that are giving this game bad reviews because they don't know how to play it. If they would try to learn the game more maybe they would enjoy it more. Expand
  6. May 5, 2020
    9
    This game is a masterpiece.

    Looks awesome. The action is awesome. It is very nostalgic with many references from the 90s games and
    This game is a masterpiece.

    Looks awesome.

    The action is awesome.

    It is very nostalgic with many references from the 90s games and the game itself is a tribute to the game that made FPS be what it is today. So much that you can actually play it in Doom Eternal, though it is hidden.

    The lore is cool, but I dont think they should with that night sentinel medieval thing too much. I think they should stick with the futuristic space marine with big badass guns thing vs demons and all sorts of unholy evil creatures stuff.

    The ambience, immersion, and tension is better with DOOM 2016. Doom Eternal also made me feel tense whe playing the first playthrough, but not because of huge immersion and dark things happening there, but because i knew this game was harder and the many ways it could just screw me throwing multiple enemies with new and daring mechanics all at once. It was a thrill because i knew it is chalenging ad tha would require much from me. But this game still does a great job, though with a different aproach to that.

    Too many mechanics should overwhelm some people, but i think the core audience just loves it. Particularly the dash I use all the time because im required to in order to dominate the combat, but i dont like it. Makes it feel like playing Tracer from Overwatch, which has a totally different feel to every Doom game. I dislike that and would like to play Doom just with that awesome classic really fast pacing Doomguy's regular walk has. Also having monkeybars around every corner further breaks immersion and doesnt feel like it's something that belongs there. The action is good, but it doesnt feel right.

    Battlemode i found a bit sucky. I usually just play it to complete events and thats it. DOOM 2016 had a much better multiplayer. I reckon they didnt follow the same model so people would maybe go to Quake Champions for that.

    There a few bugs, most of them seems to be visual. Skins dont work very properly. If u wanna make ur skins work right for aome reason u gotta switch off the weapon skins. They have a really good variety of skins both at the present but also upcoming for a game that doesnt monetise that.

    Anyways best action I ever had the pleasure of playing. Best FPS I ever played along with Doom 2016. Both this and DOOM 2016 each with a different feel, although most of it is the same.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2022
    0
    id software's mismanagement of the franchise's OST and music creator Mick Gordon is a disgrace and should be apologized for. Corporate cultureid software's mismanagement of the franchise's OST and music creator Mick Gordon is a disgrace and should be apologized for. Corporate culture is a cancer in general, but it seems it ate away id Software's integrity. The fans and the franchise deserves better than the current Id management. Marty Stratton should publicly apologize and resign. His behaviour is inexcusable. Expand

See all 2657 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 20 Best Video Games of 2020 So Far

    The 20 Best Video Games of 2020 So Far Image
    Published: July 10, 2020
    We rank the 20 highest-scoring videogames (for any platform) released during the first half of 2020.
  2. Fall Videogame Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Games

    Fall Videogame Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: August 23, 2019
    Get details on the most notable games headed to consoles and PC between now and the end of 2019.
  3. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.