DOOM Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3180 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There is no taking cover or stopping to regenerate health in campaign mode as you beat back Hell’s raging demon hordes. Combine your arsenal of futuristic and iconic guns, upgrades, movement and an advanced melee system to knock-down, slash, stomp, crush, and blow apart demons in creativeThere is no taking cover or stopping to regenerate health in campaign mode as you beat back Hell’s raging demon hordes. Combine your arsenal of futuristic and iconic guns, upgrades, movement and an advanced melee system to knock-down, slash, stomp, crush, and blow apart demons in creative and violent ways. In multiplayer, dominate your opponents in DOOM’s signature, fast-paced arena-style combat. In both classic and all-new game modes, annihilate your enemies utilizing your personal blend of skill, powerful weapons, vertical movement, and unique power-ups that allow you to play as a demon. DOOM SnapMap is an easy-to-use game and level editor that allows for limitless gameplay experiences on every platform. Anyone can snap together and customize maps, add pre-defined or custom gameplay, and edit game logic to create new modes. Instantly play your creation or make it available to players around the world. [ID/Bethesda] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Doom - Demons, Power Weapons and Power-Ups
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. May 21, 2016
    100
    It ticks off every item on a list of things a modern Doom should have, including several items you didn't even know were on the list in the first place. They may not make shooters like this anymore, but the runaway success of this game serves as long overdue proof that they really should.
  2. May 22, 2016
    90
    For fans of single-player FPS campaigns DOOM is a juggernaut, and some of the most fun I’ve had in gaming for years. It’s never going to grab you with an engrossing plot of spectacular linear set pieces, but the flawless combat ensures DOOM just never lets up.
  3. Games Master UK
    Jul 25, 2016
    90
    Meaty multiplayer and a campaign that plays like a sustained electric shock. Eye wateringly fun. [July 2016, p.60]
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 14, 2016
    87
    Doom proves that id can still surprise, and even better, can make good games. Excellent single player gets a tad repetitive towards the end, but it really does not matter. Multiplayer is boring as Hell. [June/July 2016]
  5. Game World Navigator Magazine
    May 18, 2016
    85
    The first half of the game takes place in believable, but not exemplary colonial buildings on Mars. Only when Marine gets to Hell does the game really get into gear: the number and strength of opponents begins to match Marine’s phenomenal murdering skills, and Doom finally transforms into a fierce, high-speed shooter that’s all about holding your own in the middle of a demon’s horde and making sudden comebacks when all seems lost. And yet, even in Hell the game manages to give you breathers to explore and look for secrets. [Issue#209, p.52]
  6. May 20, 2016
    80
    Doom manages to challenge the conventions of the first-person shooter genre by going back to its roots. It will have you breathing heavily, cursing in frustration, and screaming in triumph. The multiplayer is a bit of a letdown, but the campaign is absolutely glorious.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Jul 6, 2016
    60
    A tribute to Doom that leaps to great heights, but fails to fully stick the landing. [Issue#252, p.60]

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 655
  1. May 13, 2016
    10
    Doom is excellent. Im not gonna lie here, my initial expectations were low, I expected a slow pace modern wannabe shooter consistent with theDoom is excellent. Im not gonna lie here, my initial expectations were low, I expected a slow pace modern wannabe shooter consistent with the quality of games ID put up recently. I was blown away, I am a massive fan of the series and saw that this doom was everything I wanted. It is fast-paced, gore filled fun that only doom can deliver. My original guess was that it was going to pander to console players by making it slower ( I thought this after I saw the scroll wheel that slowed down game play.) It has been a long while since I have seen a shooter with intelligent map design, design which rewards players for playing the game at a faster pace, in fact I rarely found myself stopping in between combat, if at all. There is secrets galore in this game to. Not only that but the game itself is absolutely beautiful. From the large bosses to the small imps for pistol fodder every part of the game does not lack in design, This game reinvigorated my faith in ID. The online has obviously improved since the beta (Its great, i didn't get the chance to play the beta but I heard complaints) With a larger selections of weapons. In fact I see so many modding possibilities for the multiplayer on PC. After playing leagues and leagues of modern shooters this is the most refreshing multiplayer I have played in a while and will suck in hours and hours of my time I haven't really played around with snap map yet, but Ill be looking forward to it!. Anyway this reinvigorated the franchise and will forever be known as a classic, Amazing job id, i look forward for more Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2020
    10
    Очень крутоe возвращение великой игры в виде беспощадного и захватывающего шутера
    Ожидание того стоило!
    Очень крутоe возвращение великой игры в виде беспощадного и захватывающего шутера
    Ожидание того стоило!
  3. Jan 14, 2020
    10
    Such an amazing game! must buy for any action game fans!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
  4. Mar 31, 2020
    9
    Best game of 2016
    Awesome weapons, great demons, great music, great level design, great collectibles.
    My only big problem with this game is
    Best game of 2016
    Awesome weapons, great demons, great music, great level design, great collectibles.
    My only big problem with this game is that lot of areas look visually samey.

    9/10
    Expand
  5. May 16, 2016
    9
    My god, this game is so **** good. To the beginning to the end pure classic old school FPS with a lot of secrets and really really funMy god, this game is so **** good. To the beginning to the end pure classic old school FPS with a lot of secrets and really really fun gameplay. The only thing that sucks is the multiplayer that is really a bonus. This is the type of game you need to start playing the first time on hard (ultra-violence) to really enjoy it at 100%. Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2021
    8
    This is how you reboot a franchise! Doom 2016 manages to capture the original feel of the classics (or at least the feeling I get when playingThis is how you reboot a franchise! Doom 2016 manages to capture the original feel of the classics (or at least the feeling I get when playing them) which is feeling like a total badass even when the odds are against you or like a loser when you die over and over and over. All around a great single-player experience that tries to be different in an industry so saturated with "run, hide, shoot, hide" type games, the Snap-Map feature is also extremely fun, especially when you try to design your own maps. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2020
    0
    Their is no reason what so ever to buy a game for $80 install all the drivers and updates and find out your Bluetooth Airpods ( That work withTheir is no reason what so ever to buy a game for $80 install all the drivers and updates and find out your Bluetooth Airpods ( That work with every game, movie and song on your computer) do not work with Doom Eternal. I spent 2 hours trying to troubleshoot the game. Listen, I am not paying $80 to trouble shoot THEIR game. My Airpods work fine with the latest Resident Evil 3 demo release so why not this game?
    I'm so glad I refunded this, not because of just the audio but the other reviews are kind of an eye opener of what was to come after this first problem.
    They call it Foreshadowing.
    I'll wait for the $10 steam sale and hopefully by then all the bugs will be patched.
    Expand

See all 655 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2016

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2016 Image
    Published: January 5, 2017
    The results of our 7th annual user poll are in! Find out which albums, movies, TV shows, and games were the favorites of the Metacritic community in 2016.