DOOM Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2280 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There is no taking cover or stopping to regenerate health in campaign mode as you beat back Hell’s raging demon hordes. Combine your arsenal of futuristic and iconic guns, upgrades, movement and an advanced melee system to knock-down, slash, stomp, crush, and blow apart demons in creativeThere is no taking cover or stopping to regenerate health in campaign mode as you beat back Hell’s raging demon hordes. Combine your arsenal of futuristic and iconic guns, upgrades, movement and an advanced melee system to knock-down, slash, stomp, crush, and blow apart demons in creative and violent ways. In multiplayer, dominate your opponents in DOOM’s signature, fast-paced arena-style combat. In both classic and all-new game modes, annihilate your enemies utilizing your personal blend of skill, powerful weapons, vertical movement, and unique power-ups that allow you to play as a demon. DOOM SnapMap is an easy-to-use game and level editor that allows for limitless gameplay experiences on every platform. Anyone can snap together and customize maps, add pre-defined or custom gameplay, and edit game logic to create new modes. Instantly play your creation or make it available to players around the world. [ID/Bethesda] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Doom - Demons, Power Weapons and Power-Ups
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. May 21, 2016
    100
    It ticks off every item on a list of things a modern Doom should have, including several items you didn't even know were on the list in the first place. They may not make shooters like this anymore, but the runaway success of this game serves as long overdue proof that they really should.
  2. May 22, 2016
    90
    For fans of single-player FPS campaigns DOOM is a juggernaut, and some of the most fun I’ve had in gaming for years. It’s never going to grab you with an engrossing plot of spectacular linear set pieces, but the flawless combat ensures DOOM just never lets up.
  3. Games Master UK
    Jul 25, 2016
    90
    Meaty multiplayer and a campaign that plays like a sustained electric shock. Eye wateringly fun. [July 2016, p.60]
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 14, 2016
    87
    Doom proves that id can still surprise, and even better, can make good games. Excellent single player gets a tad repetitive towards the end, but it really does not matter. Multiplayer is boring as Hell. [June/July 2016]
  5. Game World Navigator Magazine
    May 18, 2016
    85
    The first half of the game takes place in believable, but not exemplary colonial buildings on Mars. Only when Marine gets to Hell does the game really get into gear: the number and strength of opponents begins to match Marine’s phenomenal murdering skills, and Doom finally transforms into a fierce, high-speed shooter that’s all about holding your own in the middle of a demon’s horde and making sudden comebacks when all seems lost. And yet, even in Hell the game manages to give you breathers to explore and look for secrets. [Issue#209, p.52]
  6. May 20, 2016
    80
    Doom manages to challenge the conventions of the first-person shooter genre by going back to its roots. It will have you breathing heavily, cursing in frustration, and screaming in triumph. The multiplayer is a bit of a letdown, but the campaign is absolutely glorious.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Jul 6, 2016
    60
    A tribute to Doom that leaps to great heights, but fails to fully stick the landing. [Issue#252, p.60]

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 462
  1. May 13, 2016
    10
    Doom is excellent. Im not gonna lie here, my initial expectations were low, I expected a slow pace modern wannabe shooter consistent with theDoom is excellent. Im not gonna lie here, my initial expectations were low, I expected a slow pace modern wannabe shooter consistent with the quality of games ID put up recently. I was blown away, I am a massive fan of the series and saw that this doom was everything I wanted. It is fast-paced, gore filled fun that only doom can deliver. My original guess was that it was going to pander to console players by making it slower ( I thought this after I saw the scroll wheel that slowed down game play.) It has been a long while since I have seen a shooter with intelligent map design, design which rewards players for playing the game at a faster pace, in fact I rarely found myself stopping in between combat, if at all. There is secrets galore in this game to. Not only that but the game itself is absolutely beautiful. From the large bosses to the small imps for pistol fodder every part of the game does not lack in design, This game reinvigorated my faith in ID. The online has obviously improved since the beta (Its great, i didn't get the chance to play the beta but I heard complaints) With a larger selections of weapons. In fact I see so many modding possibilities for the multiplayer on PC. After playing leagues and leagues of modern shooters this is the most refreshing multiplayer I have played in a while and will suck in hours and hours of my time I haven't really played around with snap map yet, but Ill be looking forward to it!. Anyway this reinvigorated the franchise and will forever be known as a classic, Amazing job id, i look forward for more Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2018
    10
    As a single player game it would've gotten my game of the year nomination. The campaign is beautifully designed, with appropriate difficultyAs a single player game it would've gotten my game of the year nomination. The campaign is beautifully designed, with appropriate difficulty progression and enough unlocks to keep things fresh throughout. Although some might feel it deviates too much from the original games by adding unlocks and upgrades, it makes the combat, in my opinion, so much more tailored to your personal style. I spent all my points on the rocket launcher and the double-barreled shotgun, but my roommate decided to spend the points he earned on the gauss cannon instead. It's fulfilling and each fight is tactical, letting you choose how to engage the enemy, when to use your special weapons and when to glory kill demons to quickly gain health to get back into the fight. The weapons are powerful and intense, and Id should be commended for making the campaign one of the best FPS experiences this year.
    SnapMap's ok. I don't use it much other than to make stupid arenas where ludicrous amounts of demons spawn. I've heard complaints of limitations due to consoles but in all honesty you really need to be ambitious to push those limits.

    Multiplayer is kinda dull. The weapons feel weak and there's no teamwork. The demon rune system is alright, but I've seen a good share of teams doing nothing but running solo against the demon only to get rekt. It's a bit too much like Halo, and that's a pity. It feels boring and it doesn't really commit to either fanbase of modern shooters and arena shooters. leaving you with a surprisingly generic experience. Also remove glory kill animations. In multiplayer you're as good as dead if you stand still in an animation. I really don't like the token system. Why should someone spawn with extra armor? I hope that doesn't come back. There's a lot of customization, but you'll need to unlock them. They range from different armor sets, colours, wear and tear levels and light schemes and emblems. Well done there except it's obvious some colours help you blend into the environment better.
    EDIT post update 6.66 I feel the multiplayer is more balanced and fun, but due to the declining population of the game, I feel that this game should almost solely be judged on its campaign. Perhaps Quake Champions will fill the multiplayer old school shooter slot. who knows.

    Graphically looks superb. The gun models look great and the environments are eye candy. A lor of praise for the team who made going to hell a sightseeing trip. A lot of pop in textures when loading and the draw distances aren't so great, but when everything works(which is most of the time) it looks great. I maintained a solid 60FPS and I can't wait to see how the Vulkan patch helps performance. I can't tell many differences switching from medium to high quality anyway, but the low graphics settings are pretty demanding themselves so be warned you'll need a decent rig to run 60 FPS.
    EDIT: the vulkan patch didn't do much for me, tested on GTX 970 and 1080. AMD users may get a bigger performance boost.

    Is there a story? Not really but I'm not here for one. Is there a tutorial? No not really. You start and off you go! there's hints and stuff but honestly it's great to see a game without a half-hour tutorial. Ending was mehhhhhhhhhhhhh but I wasn't really committed anyways. There's optional lore for those who want to read it.
    The music is great. Mick Gordon really captured the tone and energy of the game. It feels aggressive, with rock and metal pounding during the intense gunfights. I hope the OST gets released. It is one of the best soundtracks this year.
    What would I say needs improvement? I gave it a 10, but that's based off how much i enjoyed it. If i could pay just 40 USD and only get the campaign, there's not much I can really complain about. Fix the multiplayer and some of the weirder glitches here and there and it'd be fine.
    Also the easter eggs are amazing. I'm still missing one mini doom-guy figurine but I'll keep looking.
    EDIT I have found it now.
    Expand
  3. May 15, 2016
    10
    Completely masterpiece. True old school, hight speed arena shooter with amazing levels design. But beware - only ULTRA VIOLENCE and NIGHTMARECompletely masterpiece. True old school, hight speed arena shooter with amazing levels design. But beware - only ULTRA VIOLENCE and NIGHTMARE are fun, other diff levels are completely useless for my opinion. Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2018
    9
    Rip and tear. Has old-school vibes to the level design, controls are tight, secrets are nice, soundtrack gets you pumped up and visuals areRip and tear. Has old-school vibes to the level design, controls are tight, secrets are nice, soundtrack gets you pumped up and visuals are top notch. The multiplayer is bad however. Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2016
    9
    This game is great.Really love it.Includes a lot of fun.Glory kills amazing.To be honest Doom was best FPS game i played since Half life 2.IfThis game is great.Really love it.Includes a lot of fun.Glory kills amazing.To be honest Doom was best FPS game i played since Half life 2.If you are giving this game 0-4 rating.No offense but you are idiot.:)

    Buy it.

    Play it.

    You gonna love it.Believe me. :)
    Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2018
    8
    The game is solid and the guns are nice. The game design is "ok" nothing to especial but work. And the soundtrack is very good.
    I hope ID
    The game is solid and the guns are nice. The game design is "ok" nothing to especial but work. And the soundtrack is very good.
    I hope ID take all the good things and create, great second part
    Expand
  7. Mar 27, 2018
    0
    This would be an ok game but for the POS checkpoint save, what dumbass thought that would be a good idea for pc game. It woudn't be so bad butThis would be an ok game but for the POS checkpoint save, what dumbass thought that would be a good idea for pc game. It woudn't be so bad but there are so few of them and at stupid points in the game. I played the original when it came out and loved it and the sequel but this is just ruined by a bad decision that makes the game so damn frustrating and unecessarily drawn out. It might not be so bad if it wasn't so repetitious but oh my it just got worse by the chapter. One way to make a boring short game sooooo much longer I suppose.....never again! Expand

See all 462 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2016

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2016 Image
    Published: January 5, 2017
    The results of our 7th annual user poll are in! Find out which albums, movies, TV shows, and games were the favorites of the Metacritic community in 2016.