Dragon Age: Inquisition Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4248 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Select and lead a group of characters into harrowing battles against a myriad of enemies – from earth-shattering High Dragons to demonic forces from the otherworld of the Fade. Go toe-to-toe in visceral, heroic combat as your acolytes engage at your side, or switch to tactical view toSelect and lead a group of characters into harrowing battles against a myriad of enemies – from earth-shattering High Dragons to demonic forces from the otherworld of the Fade. Go toe-to-toe in visceral, heroic combat as your acolytes engage at your side, or switch to tactical view to coordinate lethal offensives using the combined might of your party. Observe the tangible, visible results of your journey through a living world – build structures, customize outposts, and change the landscape itself as environments are re-honed in the wake of your Inquisition. Helm a party chosen from nine unique, fully-realized characters – each of whom react to your actions and choices differently, crafting complex relationships both with you and with each other. Create your own character from multiple races, customize their appearance, and amalgamate their powers and abilities as the game progresses. Enhanced customization options allow you to pick everything from the color of your follower’s boots to the features of your Inquisition stronghold. Become a change agent in a time of uncertainty and upheaval. Shape the course of your empires, bring war or peace to factions in conflict, and drive the ultimate fate of the Inquisition. Will you bring an end to the cataclysmic anarchy gripping the Dragon Age? [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2014: Dragon Age: Inquisition Game Trailer at EA Press Conference
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Jan 22, 2015
    100
    The masters over at Bioware have done it again. This epic journey into the world of Thedas will steal more than 100 hours of your time, hours so full of superb gaming that you'll never forget them.
  2. Nov 14, 2014
    95
    Dragon Age: Inquisition is the best installment in the series and one of the best games in BioWare's history. There's a lot to praise: an interesting story, cool characters, big world, Skyhold. Sure, there are some minor issues and the combat system isn't perfect but the scale and attention to detail make all of that seem unimportant. An excellent game indeed.
  3. Nov 18, 2014
    92
    For people looking to get lost in a detailed world brimming with political intrigue, warring factions, tough choices that affect the story and gobs of replayability that will last you well beyond Fall and into the new year, Dragon Age Inquisition is a must buy.
  4. Nov 11, 2014
    88
    Not only one of the most expansive RPGs I’ve ever played, but one of the few that successfully fills its gorgeous, massive world with meaningful things to do and see. A frustratingly vague plot and typical BioWare bugginess drag it down a bit, but both in combat and out, Inquisition marks a welcome return to the RPG depth that made Dragon Age: Origins and Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic so magnetic.
  5. Nov 11, 2014
    85
    The first Dragon Age still is the best game of the franchise, but we've really enjoyed this one. Fans of the genre won't be disappointed.
  6. Jan 14, 2015
    80
    Despite numerous shortcomings, the new BioWare project is undoubtedly worth your attention. One of the best RPGs of 2014.
  7. Nov 17, 2014
    59
    More playground than living breathing world. BioWare opens a gigantic fantasy theme park. But unfortunately the only thing that is epic is the amount of content. Story, character behavior, quests and minigames are a mere shadow of the studio's former glory.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    In my opinion, this is the best RPG in the modern gaming world. Excellent work, Bioware. Under the glorious enlightenment and guidance fromIn my opinion, this is the best RPG in the modern gaming world. Excellent work, Bioware. Under the glorious enlightenment and guidance from EA, a game publisher with precise long-term vision in future game development, Bioware finally manages to make a RPG suitable for everyone, but not just a game accessible only to a minority of hardcore RPG players.

    DA: Origins is an old-school and medicore game only appealing to a tiny market niche. DA II breaks the medicority, and introduces the popular mass effect decision tree and button-mashing mechanics, which attracts tons of Call Of Duty (COD) and action gamers around the world, contributing to its great success. However, it still suffers from a linear and small game world, and repetitive dungeons.

    DA: Inquisition evolves from its predecessors by combining the best elements of 2 popular RPGs in modern era. It adopts the sandbox open world, lightweight RPG perspective and enormous fetch quest system from the highly praised Elder Scroll Skyrim, as well as the popular decision tree mechanism and the combat elements from another Bioware's master piece, Mass Effects 3.

    By having a cohesive reasonance of 2 best elements from 2 outstanding RPGs, and adding tons of creative elements, this game simply becomes one larger than the sum of all parts. You have a large world to explore, tons of item collection and FedEx quests to play with, and the best button mashing mechanics to finish off your opponents. Skyrim and this game is great because they both remove the annoying character stat building mechanism. Stat is now only granted from equipment, how amazing and creative, isn't it? In addition, this game adopts the perfect RPG gaming style of Skyrim, i.e. explore first, just forget the plot, which removes player's frustration to recall memory about the main quest and story line. This is just like a great and sincere invitation to all COD fans and action gamers, as well as any potential causal gamers. It caters for the taste of all gamers around the world via greatly enhancing its accessibility. It is a master of everything rather than a jerk of all trade. This is a game for everyone!

    You may worry about that the return of the old-school tactical view from the mediocre DA:Origins may ruin your fantastic game play experience. Don't worry about that, it is just implemented for those hardcore players for their happiness in pausing the game all the time, breaking the pace of combat. This game can be handled easily by controlling your own character only under an action game style. The tactics setting of companion is simplified to an user friendly level for further accessibility. In contrast to DA: Origins, you can’t set up some complicated tactics for your companions, but this is unnecessary anyway. Friendly fire is disabled by default, so just forget your companions, and let them either fight or fall. You can handle fights easily by charging upfront and having high reflex in right timing of attack, dodge and button mashing. You can enjoy a fluid flow of combat all the time!

    Overall, by removing the complexity and annoyance from old-school RPG, adding the best elements from 2 most famous modern RPGs, and introducing an exciting button mashing combat mechanics to the game, this game has reached the highest height of RPGs that none in the world could ever reach. This is a milestone of RPG development, and should be referred to in future development of RPGs. Today is an important day that marks the beginning of revolution in RPG history! A new era of RPG has come! From now on, we can step forwards and forget about all classic RPGs in the old-school days. Everyone, express your praise and gratitude towards our beloved developers, and join us to have fun in this master piece of art now!

    In case if there are expansions or sequels for this gift from god, which are highly probable considering how successful this game is, we really hope that first-person shooting mode, QTEs and the mechanism of climbing tower to reveal map can be implemented. This will further induces passion from every gamers, because these elements are universally regarded by every gamer as the best features that have ever existed in shooter and action games!

    By the way, I am looking forwards to see at least 1000 DLCs for this game, because its scope is so huge, and with so much potential to further expand on. Don't keep us waiting, our wallets are ready! We hope that our beloved developers will listen to our suggestion and request, and release the DLCs and expansions ASAP for us. ;)
    Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    Alright, the pc controls are bad, and the first starting area is rather dull. but after the story mission has ben pushed a bit, for me afterAlright, the pc controls are bad, and the first starting area is rather dull. but after the story mission has ben pushed a bit, for me after 10-15 hours of gameplay, the game realy realy takes of. it is realy good. but ofcourse there are a lot of problems, and many things seam rushed. the game deservs an 8 or a 9. many of the rewiewers who give it bad ratings seam to have played only for a couple of houars. ofcurse, this is a problem with the game, it shouldnt take 10 hours for it to realy get interesting. but for me that is not realy a big problem since i am unemployed and have no friends. Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2014
    9
    This is a good game works well on console. But it has its issues, one being when you in conversations the characters stand there like idiotsThis is a good game works well on console. But it has its issues, one being when you in conversations the characters stand there like idiots catching flies with their mouths. But i have only encountered this issue a few times. A really big issue I have with this game is the wait times, they are awful they range from a good 10 minutes to one hour and forty eight minutes i hate that but most of the issues seen are fixable. So if your on console you should buy it it's good. Can't say the same for pc, they will have to wait for it to be fixed. Overall it's pretty good i enjoy it. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2015
    5
    In the end, Dragon Age Inquisition disappoints more than it delivers. Regardless of the obvious pander to consoles and poor port, DA:I is justIn the end, Dragon Age Inquisition disappoints more than it delivers. Regardless of the obvious pander to consoles and poor port, DA:I is just a single player MMO with a beautiful world, some poignant and truly powerful moments ("In your heart shall burn" is amazing) sporadically sprinkled into a mass of detestable filler, hoping to push people beyond the 50 minute mark with uninspired writing and lazy questing.

    I truly want to like this game. I loved the first and even have a guilty adoration for the second one despite its short comings. Bioware have traded quality for quantity, depth for scale but unfortunately cannot deliver such scale as effective as some other titles such as TES or Fallout. It can be summarized as this: You have round 10 really really good main quests (each lasts around 1-2 hours depending) some companion quests that are short but kinda good (the companions are, at least, interesting), and each region you get a mediocre region quest chain as you unravel the map. The rest are complete garbage. There is no context, the dialogues for them are just quest information dumps, most of those are fetch quests, and even quests such as finding the tomb of farhiel wihch sounds awesome feels empty since the cutscenes in these quests are either bland in the style of any MMO or absolutely no cutscene at all. Completely boring.

    Combat wise, it's fun and fast paced but it gets boring as enemy variety is low, the gear you get is also lacking in different appearances and most of the time you get such boring **** (even duplicates) despite being legendaries. Its not bad, just mediocre.

    Hence, what you get is around 1-2 hours of interesting stuff, followed by 10 hours of boring stuff then continue the cycle until you have exhausted your 15 hour interesting content. It feels like watching a good TV show but after 5 minutes of good show, you get half an hour of commercials.

    Bioware, please make those RPGs that are contained, meaningful, and interesting. Linearity is good if it is done correctly.
    Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2014
    3
    I really wanted to enjoy this game, I mean really. It was the game i've been waiting for all year. Unfortunately it did not live up to theI really wanted to enjoy this game, I mean really. It was the game i've been waiting for all year. Unfortunately it did not live up to the hype, the world and story behind this game are excellent, the only reason i did not rate this a 1.

    The problem with this game is it is a BROKEN mess. Clunky controls, and an unintuitive interface. Then there is the bugs, the game feels like Neverwinter Nights 2 when released, getting crashes every 5-10 minutes. It needed another 6 months of polish and bug work, +player feedback
    Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2014
    2
    I am disappointed in the game. The developers seemed to think that creating something new would imply messing up all the game basics.I am disappointed in the game. The developers seemed to think that creating something new would imply messing up all the game basics. Navigation, movement, combat system, concept of healing - someone might think that in DA: Inquisition all these things are "revolutionary" and "realistic", but in my opinion, they are just screwed up. No fun playing the game at all.

    I don't even want to go into details. DA: Origins was a nice game; DA II had serious problems, and this one is a failure.
    Expand
  7. Jun 6, 2018
    0
    i absolutely love the dragon age games. except inquisition.

    navigation is sometimes impossible and i would jump over mountains and other
    i absolutely love the dragon age games. except inquisition.

    navigation is sometimes impossible and i would jump over mountains and other terrain to find the dot on the map.

    i got stuck three different times with no way out. it was glitched. i would reload a save and lose quests.

    then i got to the court approval objective and now i'm stuck with 1% approval and a horde of enemies i can't defeat quickly enough.

    i'm giving up on inquisition. how frustrating
    Expand

See all 1451 User Reviews