User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 162

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2020
    10
    its good game and its some bugs but its stilll good game i love it It felt like I was re watching the whole Anime again.
  2. Nov 8, 2020
    10
    this is a good game but its very smiller to dragon ball xenoverse 2 but its good
  3. Oct 16, 2020
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So.. the game looks very good, its easy to pick up, and the scenes that they did from the original anime are pretty nice to rewatch. Now.. on to the negatives, for a game called Kakarot, you sure need to use Gohan for basically most of the game, I would have like to see re-imaginings from everything that happened to Goku, even though I know that the other characters have very interesting fights so it cant just be all "Kakarot". But the game feels pretty cheap, combat is fine, nothing special, the fetch quests get a bit annoying after the first few. The orb collecting mechanism feels dumb for me, I would have rather had an ability unlock by level than by level and paying with orbs, or just having AP would have been better, than just substitute the orbs for something else. As for the in game movies and conversations, after the cell saga I found myself basically skipping almost all of them, I just got bored and saturated, I saw the classic ones but to me they felt cheaply made. I mean if you compare the Naruto Ultimate Ninja games the epic moments in the series are recreated beautifully or even better than the anime in the game. Here they're just.. ok, some look better than others, some epic moments aren't even there. Really for a story that's been told a million times already in a lot of different games, it HAD to be better than what we got. I also played the God DLC which if I had known, would have played first so I could level up my main characters and just breeze through the whole game even quicker. Overall, it deserves the score it got. its mediocre at best. Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2020
    6
    Um jogo que perde um potencial enorme com tão pouco.
    O jogo em seus trailers, passa que o jogo é uma adaptação incrível e moderna do clássico anime, mas peca terrivelmente em seu conteúdo.
    começando pelas cenas pré-renderizadas, o jogo não consegue entregar algo da própria engine, apesar dos gráficos serem lindissimos e detalhados, o jogo peca ao não confiar em seu motor gráfico, O
    Um jogo que perde um potencial enorme com tão pouco.
    O jogo em seus trailers, passa que o jogo é uma adaptação incrível e moderna do clássico anime, mas peca terrivelmente em seu conteúdo.
    começando pelas cenas pré-renderizadas, o jogo não consegue entregar algo da própria engine, apesar dos gráficos serem lindissimos e detalhados, o jogo peca ao não confiar em seu motor gráfico,
    O mundo aberto apesar de parecer recheado de novidades para explorar, não passa de algo vago com varios inimigos que te atacam a cada 1km que você passa, iniciando uma luta automaticamente e só te permitindo sair dela derrotando os mesmos, tornando o jogo cansativo, massante e até mesmo frustrante, algo completamente desnecessário.
    Fora também os órbes que ficam pelos céus, comprometendo o horizonte e seu cenário deslumbrante, voar e pegar esses órbes torna o jogo não muito superior que o Superman 64...

    Amo a Cyberconnect2 e seus jogos, tanto a franquia Storm quanto Asura's Wrath, e todos eles conseguem ser mais solidos e interessantes no final do que o jogo mais importante que a desenvolvedora teve em mãos, pois estamos falando das maiores obras do mundo pop, Dragon Ball Z..
    Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2020
    5
    I couldn't even finish it. not because it's a bad game, really, it's just boring. same ol' same ol'. Why release the same game following the same ark, by the same point of view, nad with less powers each time?
    I remember DBZ: Budokai and DBZ: Tenkaishi, back in the early 2000, on PS2 and how different it was, how many characters they had, like an overwhwlming amount of fighters in the
    I couldn't even finish it. not because it's a bad game, really, it's just boring. same ol' same ol'. Why release the same game following the same ark, by the same point of view, nad with less powers each time?
    I remember DBZ: Budokai and DBZ: Tenkaishi, back in the early 2000, on PS2 and how different it was, how many characters they had, like an overwhwlming amount of fighters in the roaster. You could choose each sayin form, with the possibility to transform up or down from there. You could choose wich freeza form you'd be, wich Cell form, or different 'post-absorving-someone' Cell. Like Cell after absorving Goku. And each of of these different forms had a bunch of different -most time- exclusive powers. You could fuse fighters during battle, both potara or by the little dance, there was some kind of (really quick) QTE for it, and if you messed it up you could end up playing as a skinny old Vegeto that couldn't properly fight, for example, it was so cool.
    And even the story mode had different events instead of just one fight after the other.
    And here we are now. almost 20 years later, you can't even free fight, no 2player battle, each fighter has only 3 boring powers, and every event is the same: battle. I got really bored around Freeza, and just stoped playing.
    Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2020
    7
    This game made good use of the original animation.
    I'm satisfied as a fan, but not enough as a game.
  7. Jul 6, 2020
    8
    After a long time they released a decent game of Dragon Ball, some things like the unstoppable power of the machine are bad
  8. Jun 11, 2020
    7
    I've got a bit of a bias writing this review because DBZ was a HUGE part of my life growing up. I've been waiting for a game like this for years and now we got it! All in all, if you are a DBZ fan (and I don't know why you would be playing this game if you aren't a DBZ fan) you are going to love it. ESPECIALLY if you download the Bruce Faulconer music mod which replaces the games originalI've got a bit of a bias writing this review because DBZ was a HUGE part of my life growing up. I've been waiting for a game like this for years and now we got it! All in all, if you are a DBZ fan (and I don't know why you would be playing this game if you aren't a DBZ fan) you are going to love it. ESPECIALLY if you download the Bruce Faulconer music mod which replaces the games original soundtrack with the classic funimation soundtrack. This being said, I had a few problems with it. My main problem is that the healing item system borderline breaks the game with how OP it is. You can literally bring any amout of healing items in to a fight that you can afford and getting money is not hard. Towards the end of the game, things start to balance out a little bit but at no point in time did I ever feel that there was any real challenge to any fight other than the challenge you want to make for yourself. This game really is only as hard as you want it to be. I know a lot of people decide to just not bring in items or limit the amount of items they use but I would have preferred a system where you would only bring in say 4 healing items per fight or if you use an item, there is a cooldown before you can use another one. Just that small tweak would have balanced things in game so much more and ultimately provided a much more enjoyable and exciting experience. Second issue is with the camera. If you and the person you are fighting are at different elevations, good luck trying to figure just what the hell is going on. Sometimes the camera gets stuck behind a tree or a rock, sometimes it detaches from you all together. Besides for those 2 issues, I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this game to any DBZ fan. Expand
  9. May 8, 2020
    10
    This is by far the best Dragon Ball game in many many years. I was so hoping to see an RPG game that is kinda like the anime and not like 99% of the Dragon Ball games we had to play all these years which was just normal Beat em up games like Street Fighter skinned as a DB game and had 0 to do with Dragon Ball the Anime itself. Goku hitting Hercule with a 10x Ka Me Ha Me Ha and he gets justThis is by far the best Dragon Ball game in many many years. I was so hoping to see an RPG game that is kinda like the anime and not like 99% of the Dragon Ball games we had to play all these years which was just normal Beat em up games like Street Fighter skinned as a DB game and had 0 to do with Dragon Ball the Anime itself. Goku hitting Hercule with a 10x Ka Me Ha Me Ha and he gets just some scraches?

    I was hating all these Dragon Ball games we've been feeding all these years and FINALLY a Dragon Ball RPG game with quests, allot of exploration stuff to do, several character to lvl up, some mini games and much more. A Dragon Ball game where you FINALLY could train that strong that you could one shot most enemy who are much weaker than you just like in the Anime itself so the point of training makes finally a sense.

    A Tip for beginner. When you are 5 lvl above the enemy on the map, you can finish the fight without even starting it by Super Speed flying into them. This method saves you allllllllot of time lvling up your character from the beginning of the game. If you love Dragon Ball then this is in fact a MUST HAVE.
    Expand
  10. May 2, 2020
    9
    For example, Bandai Namco and the developers of CyberConnect2 created "Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot", a playful and extensive title for newcomers and especially for fans of the series. The plot with its numerous characters and pretty cutscenes is told properly and provides for good entertainment for the most part. The thrillingly staged fights are thanks to the simple controls always a pleasureFor example, Bandai Namco and the developers of CyberConnect2 created "Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot", a playful and extensive title for newcomers and especially for fans of the series. The plot with its numerous characters and pretty cutscenes is told properly and provides for good entertainment for the most part. The thrillingly staged fights are thanks to the simple controls always a pleasure and only gradually become more and more one-sided. Furthermore the different approaches in the course of the game, like cooking and hunting, cut a good figure and loosen up the daily game routine enormously. If you would like to have a playful and interesting game of the well-known series again, you should definitely take a closer look at "Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot" for the console or PC.

    (https://www.playmoregames.de/post/dragon-ball-z-kakarot-xb1--pc--ps4-im-test)
    Expand
  11. Mar 11, 2020
    8
    Nostalgico a mas no poder. Juego largo y grandes momentos de la serie Z. Demasiado facil el juego. Pero tras pasarmelo y meterle unas 45h me lo e pasado muy bien que es lo que importa. A partir de la mitad de juego las misiones secundarias se hacen repetitivas. Limitado a 60fps en pc. Amantes de la serie MUST HAVE
  12. Feb 22, 2020
    2
    Jugabilidad muy simple, los combos a golpes se realizan precionando el mismo botón multiples veces.

    Hay bastante contenido secundario sin interés, cliché, y que tienes que hacer para conseguir ventajas. No tiene modo versus, ni local ni online. Está bloqueado a 60fps, no puedes jugar a más de eso. Los gráficos se siguen viendo como si fueran del año 2012, siguen sin actualizar
    Jugabilidad muy simple, los combos a golpes se realizan precionando el mismo botón multiples veces.

    Hay bastante contenido secundario sin interés, cliché, y que tienes que hacer para conseguir ventajas.

    No tiene modo versus, ni local ni online.

    Está bloqueado a 60fps, no puedes jugar a más de eso.

    Los gráficos se siguen viendo como si fueran del año 2012, siguen sin actualizar a gráficos más realistas.

    Solo hay 7 personajes jugables... Por un juego que te cobran precio completo de triple A. (Goku, Gohan,
    Vegeta, Piccolo, Future Trunks, Gotenks, Vegito)

    Está censurado a no más poder, super infantilizado. Los personajes no sangran, las heridas que se hacen las censuran, si cazas dinosaurios para conseguir carne simplemente desaparecen...

    En resumen, el contenido secundario es aburrido, las peleas son aburridas y repetitivas, y viene PELADISIMO de contenido con varios DLC desde el día 1. NO TOCAR NI CON UN PALO.
    Expand
  13. Feb 14, 2020
    1
    the game is bad for a good number of reasons the first of these would be to omit a lot of scenes such as the final flash of vegeta or the fight of trunks dai ni dankai and cell or the exploration of the planet namek in addition to this they also put characters that they have nothing to do with the original story like * ahem * * ahem * android 21 and look and towa this not only makes nothe game is bad for a good number of reasons the first of these would be to omit a lot of scenes such as the final flash of vegeta or the fight of trunks dai ni dankai and cell or the exploration of the planet namek in addition to this they also put characters that they have nothing to do with the original story like * ahem * * ahem * android 21 and look and towa this not only makes no sense but also contradicts the original story the original story but there is no end to the thing then we have the "open world" that is not an open world and that could be considered a semi-open world this already if it fails to fulfill several of the promises that this would be an open world and that does not all loading screens are horrible tedious and this is bad because as the game is divided into several small minimaps you will inevitably have to go through these horrible loading screens and now we go with the combat system which is worse than that of the xenoverse and that is a tracing of this same is because the combos are very simple and it all comes down to the same circle circle or in my left click dipper left click and launch super attack this indirectly leads us to bad controls which I have no idea who really set them up who thought that to fly faster would be useful the b key on the keyboard and continuing with the same theme of the fighting The artificial intelligence of the enemies is garbage literally they do not know how to do anything other than spamming attacks and give you the impossibility of performing any combo when they turn red. and the story is boring and does not make you want to continue playing and more with those filling missions that are in each interlude of each saga and rpg mechanics does not suit him since when you do not train a character the game automatically gives you mind the necessary exp so that it is at the current level wasting all kinds of depth in the rpg system that it could have and already finally I would like to add that no matter how many units the game is sold or the rating that this has on the criticism page that It does not define if a game is good or not and with all the points that I have tried it is shown that this game despite having high sales and having very good qualifications in metracritic is a garbage Expand
  14. Feb 6, 2020
    8
    It feels like a playable series of the show. Combat is fun consistently and the characters are well portrayed. Finally a good RPG in DBZ. Its not perfect by any means, coop would be cool in certain scenarios and going farther than the typical DBZ series would be nice. Let us play Super please and the score will rise.
  15. Feb 5, 2020
    7
    First off, the game is fantastic especially on PC where it runs flawlessly at 60fps 4k. (More on this later)
    The story follows closer to Kai (I believe as I have never seen it) than it's original run.
    The English voice cast (Dub) is the voice cast from Kai (for better or for worse). There is something that feels off for me personally not hearing Frieza's or Captain Ginyu's OG voice
    First off, the game is fantastic especially on PC where it runs flawlessly at 60fps 4k. (More on this later)
    The story follows closer to Kai (I believe as I have never seen it) than it's original run.

    The English voice cast (Dub) is the voice cast from Kai (for better or for worse). There is something that feels off for me personally not hearing Frieza's or Captain Ginyu's OG voice actor (RIP 01/10/2020).

    Whilst it does have some new music, it reuses a lot of older tracks from the series which fit extremely well because playing the game really does feel like playing the anime.

    The combat is fun, flashy and fast paced but can get repetitive especially when flying around and having open world encounters, with the repeated "Better deal with this now" over and over and over again.

    CC have done an outstanding job of conveying the strengths and weakness of the bosses and fight mechanics, I do wish there were a variety of way to "win" fights, unfortunately it's always "Beat X" even when the game or story tells you that you're weak or not strong enough to beat said opponent you still have to win.

    Side quests are your typical go here, pick up X, fight the same monsters you have already beaten. There are a few that are a little more "fleshed out", but they are few and far between. Luckily there is some nice little lore bits in the quests that at least for me make them feel worthwhile.

    Having played the PC version I can't talk about the console versions, one of my pet peeves is present in this game and that is having 30fps cutscenes on a 60fps game. There is nothing more jarring than having a buttery smooth experience ruined by slowdowns whenever anything is pre-rendered.

    There is another problem with the pre-rendered cutscenes in that they're between 11MB/s to 13MB/s which sadly for a game where there is a tremendous amount of effects and things going on, on screen. It feels like you're watching a YouTube video sometimes and that sucks cause its disappointing, that this amazing game is letdown by something so easily fixed. It also seems like the cutscenes are void of AA and maybe even rendered at a lower quality and then upscaled to 1080p.

    To summarize :
    Easy 60fps 4k +
    Fantastic English dub +
    Original OST New and Old +
    Fun combat but can be repetitive + -
    Always have to win -
    Pre-rendered scenes are low quality and 30 FPS -

    Overall Dragon Ball Z Kakarot gets a 7/10 from me, a fantastic game for fans of the series and newcomers alike but is let down by shoddy encoding and 30fps cutscenes to cater to the lowest denominator.
    Expand
  16. Feb 5, 2020
    9
    Got a PC with almost 7 years old, didn't expect the game to run so well with max settings, super optimized, perfect!
  17. Feb 3, 2020
    8
    The story telling was great,albeit some iconic moments werent in the game, most were. Legit the best adaption of the anime a dbz game had, if you're a big DBZ fan you will love it, theres sweet references to the Dragon ball series as well. The progression is great tho "grinding" for exp pre-endgame isnt really worth it since you get a huge amount of exp and lvl boosts after certain momentsThe story telling was great,albeit some iconic moments werent in the game, most were. Legit the best adaption of the anime a dbz game had, if you're a big DBZ fan you will love it, theres sweet references to the Dragon ball series as well. The progression is great tho "grinding" for exp pre-endgame isnt really worth it since you get a huge amount of exp and lvl boosts after certain moments during the story. Anyone who bought the game expecting it to have multiplayer,splits screen etc didnt do any form of research and shouldnt be taken seriously, game was advertised purely as RPG and re-telling the DBZ Story. Some side quests are great since they talk about characters that we didnt see often after a point on the anime/manga. But later on its just a chore of "go get this and bring it back to me" thing. They have done some twists in the story compared to the official material which isnt too bad in some cases and in others its quite impressive. Baseball and driving are fun but after a while its boring and non rewarding, if they awarded outfits for the playable characters and supports it would have been great. Dragonball gathering is done between each saga[except Saiyan saga] and after you beat the game. What mostly sucks is the controls and the 60 FPS lock but you can remove that 60 fps lock through a mod that released recently. I finished it twice once in Japanese Dub and once in the English Dub, theres certaintly a lot to do and a lot of secrets to find but thats all there is to it, if the Time Machine was available once the game was beat it would have been better but we are waiting for this patch now. Enemies have Super Armor where if you use a Ki Attack on them or melee it wont do anything but they will still hurt you to maintain a lvl of difficulty and not spamming. Another problem is the fact theres TOO MANY enemies around, this makes it less enjoyable to explore and search for secret items as i constantly have to run away from the spot i wanna land to or be forced to fight. The game IS great but it could have been SO much better. Sadly a lot of the negativity comes from people who thought DBZ:Kakarot would have automatically Online PvP etc while it wasnt advertised so. Just to end my review, if you're a DBZ fun ull love it, the original Japanese music,original voice actors, some scenes done better than the anime even is worth it. first playthrough took me 56 hours including watching cutscenes,side quests.exploring and no rushing. Second one 35 hours while doing the same but being more experienced. If the side quests were better and more rewarding and the open world was done better it would have been a 10 from me. Expand
  18. Feb 2, 2020
    6
    Not as good as I was expecting, and somehow subpar from CyberConnect2.
    You know, the Asura's Wrath developers.

    They were on the right track, hopefully the coming DLC will give us a better experience.
  19. Feb 2, 2020
    8
    I'm a YUUUUGE DBZ fan for 30 years. I'd love to be unbiased and give this game a 10, but that wouldn't be right.

    First things first: this game is AWESOME. If you are a DBZ fan you will feel the same chills you had while watching the anime, and you'll get 20 to 40 hours of great fun. I would give it a 10 if not for the flaws below. It is the closest any game has reached to watch
    I'm a YUUUUGE DBZ fan for 30 years. I'd love to be unbiased and give this game a 10, but that wouldn't be right.

    First things first: this game is AWESOME. If you are a DBZ fan you will feel the same chills you had while watching the anime, and you'll get 20 to 40 hours of great fun.

    I would give it a 10 if not for the flaws below.

    It is the closest any game has reached to watch the anime / read the manga. The feeling of story and character growth is really excellent.

    However, it has 3 important flaws:

    1. It is FAR TOO EASY. You'll maybe struggle in 3 or 4 battles in the whole main game. The rest is a cake walk. The difficulty and the enemy AI should have been ramped up.

    2. Too many collectibles and items that ultimately feel useless. You can ignore most of the tons of things spread around the map and you'll be fine. There was fuss about the food, the fishing and so on. But all this stuff is useless. If anything, it will make the game even easier, so you would actually do well to avoid it. That feels like a waste and part of me would wish they simply fleshed out a bit better the story and didn't add all these sub-systems and items.

    3. No interesting end game. Yes, you can do battles end game, but they're just not interesting. They could have easily added somewhere a mode where you can replay some custom battles over and over, and give the option to replay parts of the story right off the bat. A tournament mode like in BT3, which would have been perfect for this game, a survival mode... basically all the modes in BT3 would have been a good addition and an incentive to continue playing and leveling up after beating the main story.
    Expand
  20. Feb 2, 2020
    6
    I am a huge fan of the Dragon ball series,watched every episode of every series,even the GT (which is non canon anymore),and the Super.I tried to like this game,but I simply can't,because it's an adaptation,but not an entertaining one.Cyberconnect 2 simply can't make an entertaining game.They use the gameplay mechanics of a PS1 generation game and make a nice graphics to it.They made theI am a huge fan of the Dragon ball series,watched every episode of every series,even the GT (which is non canon anymore),and the Super.I tried to like this game,but I simply can't,because it's an adaptation,but not an entertaining one.Cyberconnect 2 simply can't make an entertaining game.They use the gameplay mechanics of a PS1 generation game and make a nice graphics to it.They made the same with the Naruto series. Expand
  21. Feb 1, 2020
    10
    The game is so beautiful! 10/10 combat, I don't see myself getting bored of this game. I love dragon ball anime and I'll play this game forever and start over from the start when i finish it completely. It's RPG and Open World elements make the game incredible! Would recommend to anyone.
  22. Feb 1, 2020
    0
    I uninstalled this crap after less than 10 minutes! A Fcking fighting game with no multiplayer or split screen ? No versus mode? Basically you have to go through the story or else? Nothing?
    I have watched Dragon Ball a zillion times already, I don't need to go through it all again!
    FCK OFF!
  23. Jan 31, 2020
    10
    It felt like I was re watching the whole Anime again. It is Perhaps the most faithful adaptation of the Anime. Yes the game had its flaws but the overall package was amazing. And damn those amazing custscenes made me remember my whole childhood when I spent my day in front of the TV waiting to watch the Anime.
  24. Jan 30, 2020
    4
    It's extremely repetitive, not consistent, and very bad side missions, I'm playing it only because I bought and it would go to waste, the combos are only pressing O over and over, really really I expect very much out of this game, I don't know who had the idea that you can't even move because Red Ribbon Army Robots are all around the f.....ng world, it's pretty annoying, it has good thingsIt's extremely repetitive, not consistent, and very bad side missions, I'm playing it only because I bought and it would go to waste, the combos are only pressing O over and over, really really I expect very much out of this game, I don't know who had the idea that you can't even move because Red Ribbon Army Robots are all around the f.....ng world, it's pretty annoying, it has good things though. Overall It's a meh... game. Coming from a huge fan of Dragon Ball for a lifetime Expand
  25. Jan 29, 2020
    4
    I'm rather disappointed with this game.
    Every aspect of it is just lackluster.
    The story lacks many interesting scenes for character development and others are twisted around in ways they weren't in the original. It simply baffles me when I see how much cool stuff was left out. This game will rush you trough the story at full speed, no training scenes, no interesting dialogue, no cool
    I'm rather disappointed with this game.
    Every aspect of it is just lackluster.

    The story lacks many interesting scenes for character development and others are twisted around in ways they weren't in the original. It simply baffles me when I see how much cool stuff was left out. This game will rush you trough the story at full speed, no training scenes, no interesting dialogue, no cool gags that made the anime so fun to watch, nothing. And all side-missions are uninspired, unvoiced busywork.

    The fights are super-ridiculously easy and lack any kind of variety. Every enemy basically has the same dumb attacks and every boss has 2 special attacks he uses that can be easily dodged. Also because the AI is dumb as a rock and will just gladly enjoy getting beat by basic ki-blasts. Just spam the blast button and you'll win this game. Trust me, I've beat Vegeta doing this.
    One thing I want to talk about is the the fight agains Frieza. It's a bad joke, an insult to the original. It took me about 10mins to finish the whole Frieza-saga in this game. The bossfight (Goku SS VS Frieza) about 2mins. Very limited dialogue in between and completely cut short. Almost every cool attack Frieza uses against Goku is missing. WTF?

    And I want to emphasize this again: the fights are really super-super-ridiculously painfully mindbogglingly easy. There is no challenge in this game. None.

    The world is ... just another lazy open world with busy stuff... *sigh* I don't really want to talk about it, at some point I just completely ignored it and went for the main storyline. You'll forget about it, too.

    The developers decided to introduce f%%%ing D-medals and all kinds of orbs you need to collect in order to upgrade your skills, I downloaded a trainer to get rid of this grind. I recommend anyone who wants to play this to do the same. You'll fall asleep if you try to collect them, trust me.

    RPG is nonexistent in this game. No equipment, no customization, no stats to change - all the characters do auto-level-ups which is the dumbest thing I have ever seen in a Dragonball game. The only way to (temporary) improve your stats is by cooking stuff and that requires, here we go again, f%%%ing open world busywork grinding and collecting items.

    I can't really recommend this game to anyone.
    Many reviewers called this game "only for fans" but I think that especially fans (like myself) will just hate it for leaving so much cool stuff out.
    Expand
  26. Jan 29, 2020
    7
    Mediocre game covered in Beautiful DBZ colors and sounds.
    Game mechanics are crap, game progression is meh, game pad isn't configurable.

    I'm still having fun, cause I'm a DBZ fan.
    If your expecting a "decent" rpg, it isn't.
  27. Jan 26, 2020
    2
    I am sorely disappointed and filled with regret. I went by the masses of positive reviews on steam and I really don't understand why this trash anime game with dragonball cutscenes is being lauded so much. this game made me feel badly depressed that i wasted money on it. I can't even get a refund because of the store i bought it from.
    The graphhics are very poor compared to other
    I am sorely disappointed and filled with regret. I went by the masses of positive reviews on steam and I really don't understand why this trash anime game with dragonball cutscenes is being lauded so much. this game made me feel badly depressed that i wasted money on it. I can't even get a refund because of the store i bought it from.
    The graphhics are very poor compared to other dragonball games. the area design is bland and empty. the music is really lame. the gameplay is cliche and really not engaging. just play fighter z. or watch the anime.
    Expand
  28. Jan 26, 2020
    10
    Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot is by no means perfect, but it’s a solid RPG that very efficiently covers the entire Dragon Ball Z saga. There are difficulties in the game specially in ginyu force and in buu saga.Overall the game is absolutely amazing played enjoyed and ended and once again got the taste of the victory which goku had after defeating Majin buu
  29. Jan 26, 2020
    1
    They took out some of the best iconic parts. Such as vegeta and android hand iconic speech on androids feeling fear, vegeta final flash on cell, bubbles and Gregory on king Kaiser planet, so much dialogue during fight against cell, missed out on the ginyus attacking goku and missing and so on. Very annoying what a total disapointment.
  30. Jan 26, 2020
    1
    I was on the fence about this game and decided to give it a go anyway, i regret that decisions.

    - game progression / tutorial is made so by the time you're into the proper game you can no longer refund. - one of the first quests is an escort where they walk for no reason. - movement in some areas is restricted to a super slow walk. - story pacing means 1 minute of game-play to 10
    I was on the fence about this game and decided to give it a go anyway, i regret that decisions.

    - game progression / tutorial is made so by the time you're into the proper game you can no longer refund.
    - one of the first quests is an escort where they walk for no reason.
    - movement in some areas is restricted to a super slow walk.
    - story pacing means 1 minute of game-play to 10 minutes of story.
    - story movie scenes are either really good or really bad, most are bad though so you gotta watch them all just in case.
    - Skill/level progression is tightly coupled to story progression.
    - skill variations are very limited.
    - zero motivation provided to non-story content.
    - mini games are missing game elements.
    - game is expensive
    - enemies are all the same, no mechanic changes over time.
    - game feels like a chore to play.
    Expand
  31. Jan 26, 2020
    3
    This game is for the Price so Bad.
    Dont buy it.
    I had boght it for 57.00 Eur
    i have played y a frind i was so boring.
    dont buy.
  32. Jan 24, 2020
    10
    It is the Game of dbz, is awesome! I don't understand the people that says "This is not RPG" thats because this game is Action RPG no RPG. But for me is the best game of Dragon Ball.
  33. Jan 24, 2020
    6
    This is not RPG...

    Auto lv up when you end mission. Very boring exploration Mini games who show too late Side quest like from mmo generator Good story mode, but i so many cut-scenes, 60% this mode is watching story and 40% is gameplay Strange fight mechanic, when my Genki Dama disappears if enemy hit me, when i hit my enemy with special attack, he can still attack me... I
    This is not RPG...

    Auto lv up when you end mission.
    Very boring exploration
    Mini games who show too late
    Side quest like from mmo generator

    Good story mode, but i so many cut-scenes, 60% this mode is watching story and 40% is gameplay

    Strange fight mechanic, when my Genki Dama disappears if enemy hit me, when i hit my enemy with special attack, he can still attack me...

    I have problem on my pad, when i use block, sometimes i get slowmotion and menu to transformation... Man i wanna block enemy attack! no use transformation!

    Where is tournament mode?
    Expand
  34. Jan 23, 2020
    10
    For me it's a dream that came true.the game it's huge and it's an almost complete immersion to the history of dragon ball.
  35. Jan 22, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know why this game is so popular because it's so boring and destroyed the original. Expand
  36. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    It is a great game and the best way to play the anime. You can play without watching dragon ball. Its like the anime and you’ll know the important parts of dragon ball z.
  37. Jan 22, 2020
    5
    All in all, mediocre game with all aspect of the "RPG" genre being superficial, boring, useless and grinding at times. Combat is ok at it's core; but the fights themselves are often cheaps and unbalanced. You will often fight 1v3 with no hope of winning other than cheesing the fight; unless you are stuck up on healing items; which means you had to grind A LOT for money to buy those. IAll in all, mediocre game with all aspect of the "RPG" genre being superficial, boring, useless and grinding at times. Combat is ok at it's core; but the fights themselves are often cheaps and unbalanced. You will often fight 1v3 with no hope of winning other than cheesing the fight; unless you are stuck up on healing items; which means you had to grind A LOT for money to buy those. I would resume this game as a great execution of poor ideas.. Expand
  38. Jan 21, 2020
    10
    This is the DBZ game I’ve been waiting my whole life for. Not without its flaws as I do wish the side quests and combat were a bit better, but nothing’s captured the feeling of getting more powerful in a dragon ball game quite like this has. If you put in the time you can get your characters feeling truly powerful, and when playing a dbz game what more could you really want.
  39. Jan 20, 2020
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is one of the best when it comes to giving fans the world of DBZ to explore. The story follows closely to the manga/anime and lets you relive the exciting moments from your childhood. But there are some down sides that stop it from reaching the 10/10 marker. Being a dragonball fan the biggest mistake is the fact that alot of the filler episodes arent in the game. Things like princess snakes palace, going to hell and returning to snake way, seeing goku in the hospital, the side adventures in space like fake Nakim. Things like this are not even shown in the game which could of added to the story and really make you feel like your in the anime. The combat is alright for what they are going for. Thee flying this alright but not the greatest. Overall i think any dragonball fan will love this game but have a slight feeling of disappointment dut to missing events. Expand
  40. Jan 19, 2020
    0
    Disgustingly close to the older games,graphics and an expansive open world filled with nothing.
  41. Jan 19, 2020
    5
    O jogo é uma boa pedida pra os grandes fãs do anime, pois aumentar o universo da obra, porem como jogo não é tão bom assim, combate muito simples e sem grande estrategia, mundo aberto fraco e missões segundarias sem graça, alem de uns sistema de inventario horrível, ao comprar um jogo como esse você acredita que serrar uma jogo com combate excelente e historia intensa, porem o jogo é superO jogo é uma boa pedida pra os grandes fãs do anime, pois aumentar o universo da obra, porem como jogo não é tão bom assim, combate muito simples e sem grande estrategia, mundo aberto fraco e missões segundarias sem graça, alem de uns sistema de inventario horrível, ao comprar um jogo como esse você acredita que serrar uma jogo com combate excelente e historia intensa, porem o jogo é super rapado, eu só concluir a saga dos sayans e em mais de 40 minutos de jogo você luta apenas 2 vezes. Conclusão: so jogue se amar Dragon ball, pois como jogo ele é fraco demias Expand
  42. Jan 19, 2020
    10
    Just perfect. Love it. & cant stop playing! Got the ultimate edition and wouldve paid more for it too. Lol.
  43. Jan 18, 2020
    9
    It starts a little wonky but it gets real good real quick especially if you compare it to the other games
  44. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    What can i say, if you are a fan of DBZ, this game is up there among the best in the series. Its an RPG with some fantastic elements and good fighting mechanics. one can only hope there will be DBSuper DLC.

    If your a hardcore DBZ fan, dont miss out on this. Expanded story from side quests and more focused from the Manga if you are used to the Anime sequences it may be a tad different :)
  45. Jan 17, 2020
    9
    Best dbz game for me since the gba rpg. Random encounters and the open World in General could use some more love next time tho.
  46. Jan 17, 2020
    4
    Unbalanced combats, some are very easy, others very hard, to the point to have to retry several times. You can buy items to make it easier(HP recover) but for that, you must spend time farming. While too simple in some ways(empty scenarios, not much to do), It's unnecessary complex in some other ways, they tried to compensate filling it with things like the "badges with characters faces"Unbalanced combats, some are very easy, others very hard, to the point to have to retry several times. You can buy items to make it easier(HP recover) but for that, you must spend time farming. While too simple in some ways(empty scenarios, not much to do), It's unnecessary complex in some other ways, they tried to compensate filling it with things like the "badges with characters faces" system or collecting random objects. The game forces the player to do boring things to continue the story, they increase the duration of the game in the cheapest possible way. Expand
  47. Jan 17, 2020
    0
    No ultra widescreen support and the game is locked to 60 frames per second. What is this, the 00s?
  48. Jan 31, 2020
    10
    It felt like I was re watching the whole Anime again. It is Perhaps the most faithful adaptation of the Anime. Yes the game had its flaws but the overall package was amazing. And damn those amazing custscenes made me remember my whole childhood when I spent my day in front of the TV waiting to watch the Anime.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. May 1, 2020
    60
    Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot pays homage to the classic manga and anime with its faithful representation of the source material. Unfortunately, its gameplay is too thin to satisfy anyone but serious devotees.
  2. Mar 6, 2020
    85
    I am currently sitting at about 40 hours into the game and have beaten the main story, I would highly recommend Dragon Ball Z Kakarot to any fan out there. If you are looking for a serious fighting game, this is not for you. I would point this player to something more like Dragon Ball Z Fighters. If you are looking for a game that brings out your inner dragon ball anime-loving child then this is perfect for you. My only suggestion would be to not over-analyze what is missing but enjoy the new content and soak up the overall experience.
  3. Feb 19, 2020
    90
    There are dozens of Dragon Ball Z games and Kakarot represents only the latest attempt to fully retell the manga’s story in videogame form. However, the quality of the experience makes a strong argument for this entry being the last one since the cartoon graphics perfectly recreate Toriyama’s visuals and the story hits every beat far better than the anime managed to. By presenting a great story with such perfect fealty, it’s safe to say that (for now, at least) Kakarot is the definitive Dragon Ball Z videogame.