Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Dec 16, 2019
    92
    The fact that the developers found a better way to play the game through mouse/keyboard means that you certainly have a better experience to look forward to with Dragon Quest Builders 2 being on the PC. It’s the entire package on the PC, and should give something a bit different to those playing that Minecraft thing.
  2. Jan 6, 2020
    90
    Overall, this is a very solid port. While a few things could definitely be improved, it's still by far the best version of the game that you can play now, and I feel confident in giving it our strongest recommendation.
  3. Jan 2, 2020
    90
    Some building games are fun but ultimately feel aimless. Dragon Quest Builders 2 is a solid building game at the heart of a lengthy and well-written RPG, so that the building is always in the service of something, no matter how whimsical or weird. Dragon Quest Builders 2 is a fun and satisfying experience on many levels and the PC version is almost certainly the ultimate way to enjoy it, but like the console versions, it requires time and a commitment to the long game.
  4. Dec 18, 2019
    90
    It's rare to find a game that does this much right so often. With a huge amount of content, an entertaining story, and interesting, varied gameplay, Dragon Quest Builders 2 is really an unmissable title for anyone with even a passing interest in games about building.
  5. Dec 10, 2019
    90
    It was hard for me to imagine a way to expand on a game that was already so good but Dragon Quest Builders 2 has managed to do just that. A bigger story, new things to build, multiplayer and more make this an absolutely jam-packed experience. Building game enthusiasts will love the blend of crafting and survival management, while Dragon Quest fans are sure to love the unique spin on the long-running JRPG franchise, and if you’re a fan of both? Well, Dragon Quest Builders 2 is the must have game of 2019.
  6. Dec 10, 2019
    85
    The surprise element is no longer present for this second opus of the Builders series, but thanks to a huge stack of fine new features, it once again manages to hit the mark by offering a more scripted and structured alternative to Minecraft. Very generous and particularly catchy once caught in the spiral of basic construction, DQB2 remains an excessively talkative title that can occasionally get on your nerves if your only desire is to build, over and over again.
  7. Dec 11, 2019
    84
    A lighthearted romp, with plenty of opportunities for creative building and a surprisingly good story.
  8. Dec 23, 2019
    80
    Dragon Quest has usually been strictly associated with RPGs and Builders 2 proves that the series can work outside of those confines. And, if anything, the PC version makes that even more clear.
  9. Jan 14, 2020
    75
    While building is a joy, the hiccups in between make this an adequate experience for fans of the series.
  10. Jan 6, 2020
    70
    Dragon Quest Builders II is a game that provides the tools for one to craft some fascinating and detailed fantasy creations. The story is what drew me in, however. Dragon Quest Builders II is ultimately a game about fate and whether we are bound to our natures that hearkens to lore from the early Dragon Quest stories. Although rife with annoyances, the overall experience is worth it.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Jan 16, 2020
    2
    At some point in this game you will end up in a prison, where you do exactly as you are told. Meaning that you collect and waste endlessAt some point in this game you will end up in a prison, where you do exactly as you are told. Meaning that you collect and waste endless resources to build stuff other people demand from you while occasionally hitting stuff.

    All of that is accompanied by breathtaking plot logic, like not being able to return to your cell during a stealth sequence because you "tried to escape". And when you finally did it, the game crashes once more, so that you can do it all over again.

    And at some point you will wonder: Why would I want to escape? This is exactly the same crap you've been doing for roughly 30 hours now: Not having any freedom, listening to endless ramblings, being insulted, threatened and blackmailed by one-dimensional NPCs, button mashing the same three-and-a-half enemy types, sleeping and eating.

    The core idea is wonderful, and the core mechanic of building settlements, slowly progressing and unlocking new techniques, crafting stations, blocks while farming, fishing and taming creatures would make for a great game. Instead you are constantly fulfilling pointless goals, erect useless buildings, presented with 10.000 lines of dialogue where you get explanations like "This is a pumpkin" or pondering for long minutes what kind of metal you just found.

    I can't go on. The terrible music alone broke me. So if you find yourself in that prison and stumble upon the corpse of a blonde prisoner, that's me. Lay down a cube of sand in my honor. But exactly where you are told, and read through another 20.000 words of dialogue, and enjoy the crash to desktop afterwards to do it all over again.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 11, 2020
    10
    This is without any doubt one of the best games I ever played.
    The story is nothing incredible but still enjoyable, the gameplay tho is
    This is without any doubt one of the best games I ever played.
    The story is nothing incredible but still enjoyable, the gameplay tho is something special, take Minecraft, Animal Crossing and Dragon quest, combine them and you got an amazing game where you'll spend hours and hours crafting things and watching your little base grow and expand.
    Also if you are not sure about the purchase, remember that they provide an enormous demo on steam, like 15 hours of gameplay and after that you can buy and continue from where you left on the demo.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 3, 2020
    10
    I play and more if you play in Switch !!! At first I was bored but then I loved it.