Dragon Quest XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 233 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon Quest XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age tells a captivating tale of a hunted hero and is the long-awaited role-playing game from series creator Yuji Horii, character designer Akira Toriyama and composer Koichi Sugiyama.

    While it is the eleventh mainline entry in the critically acclaimed
    Dragon Quest XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age tells a captivating tale of a hunted hero and is the long-awaited role-playing game from series creator Yuji Horii, character designer Akira Toriyama and composer Koichi Sugiyama.

    While it is the eleventh mainline entry in the critically acclaimed series, Dragon Quest XI is a completely standalone experience that features entirely new characters, a beautifully detailed world, finely tuned turn-based combat, and an immersive story that will appeal to long-time fans and franchise newcomers alike.

    A young man, about to participate in his village's coming of age ceremony, travels to a Sacred Stone alongside his childhood friend. After a series of unexpected events, this intrepid adventurer learns he is the reincarnation of a legendary hero from a forgotten age. The young hero sets forth into an unknown world on a journey to unravel the mystery of his past... but the welcome he receives is far from warm. Upon revealing his identity to the King, the hero is branded as "The Dark spawn" and hunted by a relentless army. Fleeing from his pursuers, the hero assembles a band of endearing adventurers who believe he is actually The Luminary reborn. The hero and his newfound companions embark on a quest that will take them across continents and over vast oceans as they learn of an ominous threat facing the world.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dragon Quest XI - 'The Legend of Luminar' Official Trailer | E3 2018
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Sep 23, 2018
    88
    Dragon Quest 11 successfully counts on traditional JRPG virtues in a contemporary look, becoming the best current title of the genre.
  2. Nov 5, 2018
    83
    Dragon Quest XI may delight even the staunchest opponents of JRPGs.
  3. Aug 28, 2018
    80
    There’s some good stuff in Strange Brigade, such as its unique visual style and its deliberate kitsch narration. But if you’re used to Horde-type games, it won’t be challenging and fresh enough to entertain you.
  4. Sep 11, 2018
    68
    A JRPG for people who haven’t played one in a while, basically. Well-made, but disappointingly safe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    One of the best JRPGs ever made. It is turned based, and I WANTED that. Some of the twist I saw coming; but, holy moly....some I didn't. It isOne of the best JRPGs ever made. It is turned based, and I WANTED that. Some of the twist I saw coming; but, holy moly....some I didn't. It is almost 3 games in one; you will see..... Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2018
    10
    finally a Dragon Quest! great game. a masterpiece! this genre is difficult to come by
  3. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    This is my first Dragon quest game. It was a beautiful experience for me. It is the JRPG of the year for me. I really love it. When I firstThis is my first Dragon quest game. It was a beautiful experience for me. It is the JRPG of the year for me. I really love it. When I first arrived to a town other than the MC's hometown I said to my self this is the best town in all of the game I swear it. But that was I kept going to another town to another. Every town has a beauty of it's own.

    Gameplay on the other hand was turn based and I loved it. No complain there.

    The music on the other hand. I never skipped the opening everytime I boot the game. It is basicallyh the national anthem for a video game.

    ALl in all it is a game for JRPG fans. Now I know why Japan loved this game.

    Sad thing is I have that feeling again that a unfillable void in my heart. I wish there was a DLC for this but it looks like they already included everything on this game. It really has a lot of content.
    Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2018
    10
    One of the best JRPGs ever made
    Is that a bold statement ? Yeah - but it's also the truth
    This takes everything that made Dragon Quest VIII
    One of the best JRPGs ever made
    Is that a bold statement ? Yeah - but it's also the truth
    This takes everything that made Dragon Quest VIII an awesome game , and cranks it up to . . you guessed it . . . 11.
    Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2018
    10
    This game is incredible, it is perfect in everything. I loved every second I played it. It has no bad points, I love it with all my heart
  6. Jan 5, 2019
    9
    Dragon Quest VIII: 2004. Se guardaba la partida en la iglesia.
    Dragon Quest XI: 2018. Se guarda la partida en la iglesia.
    Consejo:
    Dragon Quest VIII: 2004. Se guardaba la partida en la iglesia.
    Dragon Quest XI: 2018. Se guarda la partida en la iglesia.

    Consejo: Acordaros de guardar en la iglesia.
    Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2019
    7
    This is the first Dragon Quest game I've played so I'm not looking at this game with nostalgic eyes. I am a big fan JRPGs in general and thisThis is the first Dragon Quest game I've played so I'm not looking at this game with nostalgic eyes. I am a big fan JRPGs in general and this game was decent but not the best and it suffers from some horrible design decisions.

    Pros.
    * Graphics are top notch for a JRPG. The style is very beautiful. I found myself stopping and looking around in first person view a lot.

    Cons.
    There's a lot listed here but they are minor inconveniences. Overall the game is very good.

    * The world map is not labeled. I found the world map to be completely useless. I spent more time than necessary running around because the map wasn't labeled and since this game is fairly new the information wasn't on google either.
    * Very slow menus. Some of the menus take more than 5 seconds to activate. I'm running an i7-4790K and gtx-970. I've never had a game menu take that long. It's insane. It usually happens in the same menu every time. When I first open the fun-size forge and when I activate a skill from the skill tree. This problem is compounded by the fact that the game has so many repetitive menus. Does it really need to ask me if I want to keep playing? Whenever a music jingle is playing during a menu, it won't let you advance until the music stops. Every single level gained has to be tapped through and in some less frequent places like after a quest.
    * You can only sell 9 items at a time. I don't know who thought that was a good idea but that made me slam my head on the table. On top of that, it takes about 5 button presses to sell something and with the menus being so slow, it becomes a major annoyance.
    * Giving seeds/items, in general, is so slow. I have a ton of seeds I wanted to give to a player but when I give them one it takes me all the way back to the item menu. It takes 6 button presses to give one seed. It takes about 1 minute 18 seconds to give 50 seeds. Why they don't ask how many to give? I don't know.
    * Default music is too loud. It default sound settings has everything set to 6. I had to turn the music down to 2.
    * Tabbing out of the game doesn't stop the music. A lot of times, I'll tab out of the game to watch a YouTube video but the game music keeps playing. It very annoying. There's no way to pause the music so each time I would have to go into the system settings to turn off the music.
    * Cutscenes are annoying. I wish the cutscenes would advance automatically. Instead, after a character has finished talking, I have to press a button to continue. The voice overs will sometimes have a long pause after a sentence so you think it's time to press continue but they weren't done talking and I've just missed some dialogue. Or the opposite will happen. They'll be finished talking and I won't know it. The only way to be certain is to read along with the text at the bottom but then I miss the visuals. It would have been much better if the cutscene advanced automatically and if the subtitles were optional.
    * Autorun is worthless. I used it about 5 times in 110 hours and only to see if it could be useful. Some of the maps are big but not that big.
    * Music. One of the big things I love about JRPGs is the music. Sadly, I just wasn't feeling it in this game. The overture (played during the intro) was the only song I enjoyed. I'm not even going to talk about MIDI vs orchestration. I'm talking about the melodies and repetitions. The soundtrack is very short. None of the characters had their own theme. Every theme was completely different and unrelated. Nothing tied itself together. The same music is used over and over again. It's almost comical in some areas. This music? Again? lol I can forgive bad quaily if the song is catchy but none of the songs were very catchy. In Final Fantasy and Ni No Kuni, I wouldn't leave some areas until the best part of the song was over because the songs were that good. That never happened in this game.
    * Textures. They're good but the resolutions are all over the place. Some really small objects have overly sharp textures while other really big noticeable objects have low-resolution textures.
    * Lack of graphics settings. I have a gtx-970 which is not good enough to run this game at max-settings in some areas. In those areas, my frame-rate would drop to less than 30 but those areas were rare. Even after turning down all the settings I was still dipping into the 40s.
    Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most-Anticipated Videogames Coming This Fall

    The Most-Anticipated Videogames Coming This Fall Image
    Published: August 29, 2018
    Preview over 20 of the most-anticipated video games arriving this fall, including Red Dead Redemption 2, Spider-Man, Fallout 76, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, and more.