Draugen Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Draugen is a single-player, first-person Fjord Noir mystery set in 1920s Norway. Explore a picturesque coastal community in your search for your missing sister, accompanied by your gregarious and enigmatic young ward.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. May 28, 2019
    90
    Draugen didn’t make me a fan of walking simulators overall, as its excellent insight is more exceptional than a norm. However, it made me a fan of Edward and Lissie and the particular brand of storytelling designed around them. I was happy and most curious when the ending credits promised that the dynamic duo will return.
  2. May 31, 2019
    80
    Draugen is not a revolutionary game, but it is a smart one. The story teeters between being overly explanatory and too ambiguous but never manages to succumb to either. Additionally, the two lead characters feel deftly crafted and relatable. The short length and a lack of replay value may deter some, but Draugen is a mystery worth losing yourself in.
  3. Jul 8, 2019
    80
    A psychological mystery meets the scenic fjords of Norway to bring you a new genre of fjord noir. Join Edward Charles Harden and his ward Lissie in their search for Edward's lost sister and unravel the mystery of the village of Graavik.
  4. May 28, 2019
    70
    Simple mechanically, yet sophisticated in its story, Draugen is a brief exploration of grief, trauma, and mental illness wrapped in a compelling mystery that only occasionally drops the ball.
  5. Jun 6, 2019
    70
    The idea of companion gives some personality in a genre that is not renowned by the inclusion of secondary characters. We miss more cohesion between the different plots, especially in the final part.
  6. Jun 5, 2019
    67
    Draugen is a frustratingly creative attempt from Red Thread Games that some will appreciate, while others brush it aside without much thought.
  7. May 29, 2019
    50
    The game forsakes worldbuilding as it increasingly gives itself over to making the most digressive of statements.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Jun 1, 2019
    10
    Absolutely loved it, fascinating story but the fun of character interactions is what drives the game. Short, but very nice to be able toAbsolutely loved it, fascinating story but the fun of character interactions is what drives the game. Short, but very nice to be able to finish it in a busy schedule. Not all games needs to be 100 hours. Embrace it as a movie. Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2019
    10
    Totally loved it:
    - Great storytelling
    - Fantastic characters - Beautiful setting - Great character conversations - Brilliant voice acting
    Totally loved it:
    - Great storytelling
    - Fantastic characters
    - Beautiful setting
    - Great character conversations
    - Brilliant voice acting (nice to hear you again, Kian Alvane!)

    Mostly linear, let's you make some choices in conversations, which will lead you through the game.
    You also get the chance to come to your own conclusions.

    My biggest advice: take your time. Really. Don't rush. Wander off as much as you can.

    I hope there will be more of Edward and Lissie in the future!



    s
    Expand
  3. May 31, 2019
    10
    I'm giving this game 10/10 just because people're giving this game 1 point because they still think this is a horror. Normally I'd give thisI'm giving this game 10/10 just because people're giving this game 1 point because they still think this is a horror. Normally I'd give this game 9/10 but honestly. I can't leave metacritic with 4,5/10. This game deserves better Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2019
    9
    A brilliant game. Ignore the stiff lip sync and enjoy the mood, the story, the music, the graphics and a really good description of aA brilliant game. Ignore the stiff lip sync and enjoy the mood, the story, the music, the graphics and a really good description of a Norwegian village stuck by disaster... Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2019
    7
    Favorite Thing: The story wastes very little time getting interesting.
    Least Favorite Thing: There's a twist halfway through that sort of
    Favorite Thing: The story wastes very little time getting interesting.
    Least Favorite Thing: There's a twist halfway through that sort of spoils the ending. You can see it coming.

    Date Completed: 2019-06-22
    Playtime: 3.5h
    Enjoyment: 7/10
    Recommendation: It's a walking simulator but one buoyed with a good story.
    Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2019
    7
    Nice game and nice story. Very interesting story really. Almost from start i have realized things about Lissie and i wondering about what willNice game and nice story. Very interesting story really. Almost from start i have realized things about Lissie and i wondering about what will happen with the main heroes. 7/10 only for short game, sorry Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2019
    0
    Another Ragnar Tornquist dud! I watched gameplay on Youtube and had to turn it off after the first 20 minutes. That girl is so extremelyAnother Ragnar Tornquist dud! I watched gameplay on Youtube and had to turn it off after the first 20 minutes. That girl is so extremely annoying I winced every time she spoke! The protaganist is extremely boring and the plot is absolutely unrealistic. #1 I'd leave that brat, Lissie, at home!! #2 Why didn't he notify the Norwegian authorities if his sister has gone missing? People who are giving this game a 10 are either brainwashed TLJ fans or absolutely nuts. Tornquists' games have gone increasingly downhill since TLJ & Dreamfall. He can't even make a game without getting funded by the government of Norway. Was hoping things had changed after the Dreamfall Chapters disaster but they have not! Don't waste your money. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews