Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. May 27, 2014
    74
    The first act of DreadOut shows all the potential of the full game, still in development. The atmosphere is thick and scary and wherever you go, something happens. It takes only three to four hours to beat the game, but with so many different ghosts to fend off, it's a trip that's worth your time.
  2. Aug 13, 2014
    70
    A Project Zero-like experience with poor visuals and animations, but good puzzle design and great atmosphere.
  3. May 16, 2014
    70
    Digital happiness push all the right buttons with a game that will make you think and possibly even be a little scared.
  4. Jun 5, 2014
    67
    The developers split DreadOut into two parts, and the first half is frustratingly short. It will take you 2-3 hours tops, and that’s only because the game sometimes forgets to tell you when an interactive object is nearby, forcing you to run in circles looking for it.
  5. May 22, 2014
    50
    If DreadOut's glimmers of potential are enough to push you past the mountains of frustration and poor design, don't expect a lot of reward for your struggles. The game ends with a limp cliffhanger, no narrative closure and an unenthused "To Be Continued" hanging over the credits.
  6. May 15, 2014
    46
    DreadOut revels in cliche, sometimes quite smartly.
  7. Mar 26, 2015
    45
    This second and final act shows way less care for details if compared to its predecessor, and it's a true shame.
  8. May 23, 2014
    40
    The framework of what could be a solid title is in place; perhaps even the talent to see it through. But as it stands, DreadOut is plagued with poor design choices and a small budget.
  9. May 26, 2014
    30
    Conceptually, DreadOut is interesting, but it's hamstrung by weak execution.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 96
  2. Negative: 27 out of 96
  1. May 17, 2014
    10
    nice game affter all but i see some bug in there after respawn, but i like it that ghost, grapic, and story line, t reminded me of Projectnice game affter all but i see some bug in there after respawn, but i like it that ghost, grapic, and story line, t reminded me of Project Zero/Fatal Frame a bit and this game-series was one of my favorite horrorgame-series ever Full Review »
  2. May 16, 2014
    8
    I like classic horror games like Silent Hill and Fatal Frame and this game reminds me of them. DreadOut is not perfect but a better survivalI like classic horror games like Silent Hill and Fatal Frame and this game reminds me of them. DreadOut is not perfect but a better survival horror game from mediocre games like Outlast and Slender. Full Review »
  3. May 16, 2014
    7
    I haven't played it alot. But so far I can say, that the story is not thaaat good and the graphics aren't good either. But the maingoal of aI haven't played it alot. But so far I can say, that the story is not thaaat good and the graphics aren't good either. But the maingoal of a game like this is "to scare the **** out of me". And this goal was reached.
    It reminded me of Project Zero/Fatal Frame a bit and this game-series was one of my favorite horrorgame-series ever. It brought back so many memories. And because of that I'll give the game a 7/10 !
    Full Review »