Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Sep 5, 2017
    90
    Dream Daddy‘s dads are likable and charming, and the storylines that play out are engaging. But for me, DD succeeded not because of its deft handling of romantic love, but on the strength of its portrayal of a healthy relationship between parent and child. And, Internetty as it is, DD represents the best of the Internet — its existence is a gentle, implicit reproach of Trump and those like him who would seek to ‘other’ the vulnerable of our society and stoke the flames of the culture wars. In contrast, DD imagines a world where being queer isn’t even a topic of conversation — its queer characters just are.
  2. Aug 1, 2017
    85
    With wonderful writing and art, this game is amazing. There are a few flaws in the mini-games that can be mostly forgiven. I would absolutely recommend giving this dating game a chance. Definitely worth it.
  3. Aug 2, 2017
    82
    Between the delightful little flourishes, this is a game that wants to make you think. And feel.
  4. Aug 10, 2017
    80
    At its core, this is a game that’s funny and good-hearted, presenting a world where a single queer dad’s ability to be a good father is never called into question. It’s a pretty cool accomplishment for a silly game birthed from a meme.
  5. Jul 28, 2017
    76
    Fantastically written and life-affirming dating simulator that doesn't use all of its potential.
  6. Aug 9, 2017
    75
    By sanitizing the romantic aspects inherent to queer dating, Dream Daddy succeeds in being a feel-good story but not a feel-good story, if you catch my drift. It is, at the very least, wonderfully inclusive, with avatar customization options that allow for significant flexibility in defining your dad's identity. The entirely hunky cast of supporting dads is also quite diverse, though some of their sound bites are unusually low-quality and compressed. Maybe that's something the developers can address down the line. As it stands, Dream Daddy is still a worthwhile endeavor thanks to the quality of its moment-to-moment writing. It's just a shame the romance feels so sterile.
  7. Jul 28, 2017
    75
    Dream Daddy is a surprisingly wholesome game about fatherhood, and about finding love again after loss. The well-written dialogue surprised me, and so did the fact that it is an incredibly heartwarming game. Rather than focusing on titillation, Dream Daddy has a cast of characters that are both real and diverse, even if it doesn’t always bring enough depth to the topics it tackles.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 95
  2. Negative: 19 out of 95
  1. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    Having played this game, I cannot find anything bad from it besides for the occasional sadness from some of the routes. The writing is amazingHaving played this game, I cannot find anything bad from it besides for the occasional sadness from some of the routes. The writing is amazing and the character designs could not have been any better. My computer can even run this game on Daddy settings, showing the compatibility of this game between systems even on the lower end of the graphic quality spectrum to the most high quality computers/laptops. I am a fan of this and I recommend that you play it, and no the game is not fully voiced and the creators even said that it would not be. Full Review »
  2. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    I was absolutely psyched by the game when I first heard about it. As a gay man, seeing a non sexualised lgbt dating game made my day.

    The
    I was absolutely psyched by the game when I first heard about it. As a gay man, seeing a non sexualised lgbt dating game made my day.

    The audio is fun, the characters are so incredibly realistic (and so are the dialogues, my friends and I could barely contain our laughter at some of the jokes; finally a game that understands nowadays' humour!)
    You could chose to have a cis or trans character, let him have a wife or a husband in the past, and the dialogue choices all made me giggle out loud. The moments with your daughter are endearing, and overall, actually made me shed a tear at some point. This game is a guilty pleasure that keeps on giving.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 21, 2017
    7
    Not a Game Grumps or visual novel fan but had a blast with Dream Daddy regardless.

    The humor is funny and tasteful, characters are
    Not a Game Grumps or visual novel fan but had a blast with Dream Daddy regardless.

    The humor is funny and tasteful, characters are endearing and likeable
    The mini games are a nice break up from the story but some need to be explained a little more than they are
    The campaign is short and to the point but could use more than three dates per character and an ending that doesn't feel rushed.

    This is a comfort food game. Filling, not extremely difficult but most importantly, wholesome. It's personally worth the pricetag currently but if you're still weary, wait until a steam sale.
    Full Review »