Duke Nukem 3D Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 503 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prepare yourself for the ultimate 3D Slugfest. Murderous aliens have landed in futuristic Los Angeles, and the humans suddenly find themselves atop the endangered species list. The odds are a million-to-one. Just the way Duke likes it. Dive into realistic 3D scenarios, with 28 totallyPrepare yourself for the ultimate 3D Slugfest. Murderous aliens have landed in futuristic Los Angeles, and the humans suddenly find themselves atop the endangered species list. The odds are a million-to-one. Just the way Duke likes it. Dive into realistic 3D scenarios, with 28 totally realistic levels, as you drive the sinister aliens through the streets of LA, out to an orbiting station, and onto the surface of the moon itself! An you'll be armed to the teeth with 10 hi-tech weapons. Clear crowds with the pump action Assault Shotgun, blast through enemies and walls with the Rocket Propelled Grenade, splat enemies under foot after blasting them with the Shrinker, cut through trouble with the 3-barel Ripper machine gun, set DukeMatch traps with the wall-mounted Laser Mine, watch enemies shatter after cooling them off with the Freeze Cannon, and 4 more! [FormGen] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Duke Nukem Mobile 3D Official Movie 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. PC Gamer
    93
    It's the ultimate game for unleashing all your pent-up aggression. It is the most astonishing game we've laid our eyes on for ages! In fact, it makes pretty much every PC game we've ever seen - "Doom" included - like slightly dull. Honestly! [July 1996, p.78]
  2. It's more inventive, and more entertaining, than "Doom." I know they've had long enough to get it right (but so have many others, who've tried and failed). [PC Zone]
  3. Where Duke really excels is it's beautiful backgrounds. The game settings are magnificently rendered. They have all kinds of animated objects built into them, and the attention to detail is terrific. Hopefully, with Duke Nukem on the scene, the days of endless identical looking corridors and rooms are finally gone for good!
  4. Alien scum in the final version of DN3D are still tricky devils ducking for cover, teleporting in and out, lying in ambush, and even laying traps in later episodes. However, the monsters are still stupid enough to walk into a tripbomb so overall intelligence isn't perfect.
  5. I couldn't stop laughing while playing this extremely enjoyable trip through what unfolds like a 1950's science fiction B-movie: Space Aliens Invade Earth for Women!...Duke Nukem has what most first-person shooters don't - character!
  6. It's rare when a game comes along that really kicks your ass. 3D Realm's full version of Duke Nukem 3D is just that kind of posterior pummeler. With its free-flowing 3D action, over-the-top weapons, and ruthlessly attitudinal protagonist, Duke Nukem will have PC gamers worldwide rubbing their rumps with spine-tingling glee.
  7. Gameplay is ultimately what we're interested in, and in this area, Duke is the king. But so what? If 3D Realms really wants to impress us, they can move beyond this type of gameplay.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 60
  2. Negative: 2 out of 60
  1. ShawnH.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    A classic. I can still remember some of the dialogue years later. "Shake it baby", or "Do you wanna dance?", and the classic "That's A classic. I can still remember some of the dialogue years later. "Shake it baby", or "Do you wanna dance?", and the classic "That's gotta hurt". The game featured 28 levels, and an extra 11 levels were added later. The wide open levels kept me playing for hours, especially since I was obsessed with finding every hidden area in the game. Duke Nukem and Lo Wang (from Shadow Warrier) were my two favorite characters from the 90's era. "You want to wash Wang, or you want to watch Wang wash wang?" Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2020
    10
    Uno de los mejores personajes jamás creados en la industria de los videojuegos, un juego que dio vida a todos los shooters de hoy en día juntoUno de los mejores personajes jamás creados en la industria de los videojuegos, un juego que dio vida a todos los shooters de hoy en día junto con los míticos juegos de su época como DOOM, Wolfenstein y QUAKE. Es una pena que no se haya hecho un reboot de la saga como hicieron con el legendario DOOM. Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    Probably my favourite and definitely the most fun FPS ever. LAN sessions of Duke Nukem 3D were just insane, so much fun, such fantasticProbably my favourite and definitely the most fun FPS ever. LAN sessions of Duke Nukem 3D were just insane, so much fun, such fantastic gameplay, I tried it recently again and it still is the same level of fun, it didn't age at all, just a pity that Duke ended up so bad with Forever title, that should never happened. First 2 levels in LA were so amazing to play in multiplayer it's not even funny. 10/10 Expand
  4. Mar 3, 2017
    10
    What a game, so original and fun to play... great level design and action packed to the teeth!

    The Duke is next to Lara Croft the biggest
    What a game, so original and fun to play... great level design and action packed to the teeth!

    The Duke is next to Lara Croft the biggest star from the PS1 era, I spend hours running around in claustrophobic corridors wondering where I'm supposed to go.

    Oh, and you just gotta love his funny quotes:

    - "Damn, I'm looking good!"
    - " It's time to kick ass and chew bubble gum. And I'm all out of gum."

    -
    Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Duke Nukem 3D was my actual first fps game I ever played, more than 15 years ago, even if there was Doom and many others before (withoutDuke Nukem 3D was my actual first fps game I ever played, more than 15 years ago, even if there was Doom and many others before (without mentioning Quake). But Duke Nukem 3D was special and it's also one of those games that basically never gets old for several good reasons: the gameplay is fun, fast and varied; the levels are detailed, huge, and all fun to explore; the enemies are always around the corner and can even scare you off if you get unprepared; weapons are many and varied and always opens to many possibilities of fighting the aliens. And the main character had a charme and personality, and wasn't silent like many other characters of that time but actually talked and just made fun of the enemies all the time! And now, we can get the entire Duke Nukem 3d collection, with all the expansions and with also upgraded controls and graphics, even though this game is meant to be played on bad resolutions! For the controls, I'm glad they upgrade it since it's hard nowadays to use the simple arrows to move and use alt for sidewalking. But that's just a minor incovenience. The game itself is splitted into episodes: my version (from Steam) has 7 episodes plus the classic version (basically the one with bad resolution and can use the old setups), and each episode is splitted from 6 to more or less 10 levels, which can last from 10 minutes to even 30-40 minutes, depending on which difficulty you're playing and if you wish to explore the levels for secrets (which usually are worth). The levels are huge and are varied, showing how good were fps back then. My only complain about the levels, are mostly on 3 episodes in particular: Lunar Apocalypse (first game, second episode) is, in my opinion, the most boring episode of all simply because of the lack of variety on the levels and for the over-usage of some enemies only, while Nuclear Winter expansion has some of the hardest enemies I've fought. Duke it out in the D.C is good but can feels a little repetitive too. But for the most part, the levels are still good: just some aren't exceptional. I also have another "big" complain on the weapons we can get, simply because at least 70% of them aren't very useful: I never found a good way to use the Wall Traps for example, as well as the Shrinker/Expander and the Frostthrower are extremely situationals and only works for few enemies (Shrinker works greatly on those big gatling-gun aliens!); the pistol would be good if it wasn't that it's the only weapon that needs a reload, has only a 12 round magazine...and it's weak as crazy (and useful only for killing slimes); the minigun is good but, in my opinion, has a very low magazine (200 rounds), and it takes some hits to kill some enemies; the RPG is great but you must be careful, since even at middle range you can easily get hurt...and considering you hardly meet enemies from far away, this weapon is a double-edged sword. The Devastator, on the other hand, doesn't have the issue of explosion ranges (for the most part)...but it's very inaccurate and eats your rockets much faster (one shot is 2 rockets). In the end, the most useful weapons are the shotgun (2-3 shots and they're dead, except big ones), the Pipe Bombs (can be thrown and be ignited anytime you want, without risks of being hurt yourself). These aren't exactly flaws that ruin the gameplay but just my personal opinion on some weapons that, frankly, I hardly used, resulting in using the shotgun for 90% of the game. For the rest, this game is flawless and I can easily suggest it to anyone who enjoyed the original game and likes shooters who aren't realistic...for those who can't stand the old graphics and such I don't know what to say, since the only game that has a small resemblance of Duke Nukem, is Serious Sam. If you're an old school player from the dos era, you can't miss this along with Doom, Heretic, Hexen and many others. For the others...give it a look and see how were "real" shooters back in the days: surely unrealistic, but fun and exciting as crazy! Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    A great old school FPS game, just as fun to play today as it was back in the 90's. Hunting for keycards, tapping walls for secret areas andA great old school FPS game, just as fun to play today as it was back in the 90's. Hunting for keycards, tapping walls for secret areas and shooting sprite-enemies with an arsenal of fancy toys is a very refreshing break from all those "realistic" modern shooters. But what really "makes" this game is the protagonist - his quips just never cease to entertain. And if the archaic controls put you off, there's an excellent mod called DukePlus, which implements keyboard and mouse controls, along with a bunch of other modernizations and fixes. So, if you ever feel like knocking some alien heads good ole 90's style, look no further. Duke 3D has what you need. Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Dec 2, 2008
    1
    game doesnt even deserve my time. fucking awful. first of all, the aliens look like pigs, and if that wasn't enough for you, duke nukemgame doesnt even deserve my time. fucking awful. first of all, the aliens look like pigs, and if that wasn't enough for you, duke nukem is pretty lame. he has this nerdy blonde buzzcut and twerp-trousers, it's terrible, I felt no love for the character, and thus didn't care when I dided. the controls were slippery at best, 1/10, bad game. i only enjoyed the strippers Expand

See all 60 User Reviews